Hyundai Elantra MD V4, Launching now!

V12Kompressor
post Apr 8 2012, 05:27 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 8 2012, 05:22 PM)
does the elantra 1.6 from SD comes with the same engine as korean version? Korean Avante comes with 1.6GDI and 1.6 GDI Blue saver....
The SD Elantra says, Gamma 1.6 MPI D-CVVT

Are they the same?
not the same.

GDI is direct injection and MPI is not. All thanks to the quality of our Malaysian petrol.
caddilac
post Apr 8 2012, 05:27 PM

QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 8 2012, 05:22 PM)
does the elantra 1.6 from SD comes with the same engine as korean version? Korean Avante comes with 1.6GDI and 1.6 GDI Blue saver....
The SD Elantra says, Gamma 1.6 MPI D-CVVT

Are they the same?
Different. Worldwide Elantra (exclude parallel imported) is getting MPI engine and only South Korea gets GDi engine.
alxdc
post Apr 8 2012, 05:28 PM

71 posts

ic thanks
so which is a better engine?
V12Kompressor
post Apr 8 2012, 05:30 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 8 2012, 05:28 PM)
ic thanks
so which is a better engine?
The GDI lump. Because it can offer more hp and at the same time using less fuel.
alxdc
post Apr 8 2012, 05:50 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Apr 8 2012, 05:27 PM)
Different. Worldwide Elantra (exclude parallel imported) is getting MPI engine and only South Korea gets GDi engine.
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Apr 8 2012, 05:27 PM)
not the same.

GDI is direct injection and MPI is not. All thanks to the quality of our Malaysian petrol.
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Apr 8 2012, 05:30 PM)
The GDI lump. Because it can offer more hp and at the same time using less fuel.
meaning.....they are using an older engine? Is Honda I-vtec and Toyota Dual VVT-I and Nissan CVTC using direct injection?

This post has been edited by alxdc: Apr 8 2012, 05:51 PM
WieBoy
post Apr 8 2012, 07:35 PM

33 posts

Any1 here test to bang the door? Was actually disappointed when heard the sound, the door close like not firmly tight!

And when open the door, is like everythng feel very loose.

the driver and passenger seat behind is a hard plastic, what is that damn thing?

i purposely try tear it put very softly, and it just easily open like this?? R u sure about the fixing is firmly screw?

Imagine if is some1 kid or noty boy go n tear it out.

Come on, this is a showroom car, how can display it with such minor thing did not properly

checked. I did not show it to any1 cuz i duwan spoilt every1 party. If is other buyer saw it. i duno wad will happened.

Kiding
post Apr 8 2012, 08:22 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 8 2012, 07:35 PM)
Any1 here test to bang the door? Was actually disappointed when heard the sound, the door close like not firmly tight!

the driver and passenger seat behind is a hard plastic, what is that damn thing?

i purposely try tear it put very softly, and it just easily open like this?? R u sure about the fixing is firmly screw?

Come on, this is a showroom car, how can display it with such minor thing did not properly

checked. I did not show it to any1 cuz i duwan spoilt every1 party. If is other buyer saw it. i duno wad will happened.
To me, the door close feeling of Elantra is definitely lost to Prius C, I have same feeling as you, I don't feel a firm close. perhaps CKD quality is like that.
caddilac
post Apr 8 2012, 08:25 PM

QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 8 2012, 05:50 PM)
meaning.....they are using an older engine? Is Honda I-vtec and Toyota Dual VVT-I and Nissan CVTC using direct injection?
It is still a new engine just different technology. The Gamme and Nu with Dual-CVVT on Elantra is less than 2 years old. Honda, Toyota and Nissan did not use GDi engine in our market too.
figure8
post Apr 8 2012, 08:27 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

it look like the the passenger's hair nearly touch the roof tongue.gif
caddilac
post Apr 8 2012, 08:30 PM

Actually using hard plastic behind the front seat is very common on luxury car. You can see that in many Merc, BMW or Audi models. smile.gif
I like the sound of the front door but not so with the rear. I didn't notice about the loose piece next time go see. tongue.gif

Added on April 8, 2012, 8:35 pm
QUOTE(figure8 @ Apr 8 2012, 08:27 PM)
it look like the the passenger's hair nearly touch the roof tongue.gif
His hair was quite tall. 2 inches? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by caddilac: Apr 8 2012, 08:35 PM
selvenz
post Apr 8 2012, 08:40 PM

841 posts

if im not mistaken even next gen forte and optima k5 also 2013 sonata etc will be using the nu engine as they begin phase out of theta engines
only that some countries have GDI ether 1.8 or 2.0 and some MPI
V12Kompressor
post Apr 8 2012, 08:42 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 8 2012, 05:50 PM)
no, just that both engines are developed for different market.

But TBH, the current "newly" launched Elantra is actually quite old already. wink.gif
caddilac
post Apr 8 2012, 08:42 PM

QUOTE(selvenz @ Apr 8 2012, 08:40 PM)
if im not mistaken even next gen forte and optima k5 also 2013 sonata etc will be using the nu engine as they begin phase out of theta engines
only that some countries have GDI ether 1.8 or 2.0 and some MPI
Yea. Now China already using 2.0 Nu on Sportage and K5 to replace to Theta 2.0. rclxms.gif
tunasandwich
post Apr 8 2012, 08:50 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(tony @ Apr 8 2012, 04:22 PM)
talk about rear head room and legroom..i purposely sit at the back and let my wife test drive.

I am 180cm tall and yes, if u sit straight at the back, the roof is just inch away, but who's gonna sit straight at the back for the whole journey ?

talk about leg room, my knee didnt touch the front seat at all for the whole journey.

are those testers all big size american or what ? or they are expecting a legroom of a limousine coz the price are 10k more than forte ?
hard to say one... i think those with longer body and shorter legs, will feel very tight in the rear room.... where else leg long body short person will feel okay...

my friend is taller than me bout 2-3CM, but when we're both in the rear seats, i feel very clsoe to the roof, while my fren's one is still acceptable....

Door thump cannot compare with Civic at all.... doors hard plastic really big let down...

I feel 1.8 is not underpower at all... but car feel damn light.... almost wobbly compared to Civic 2.0.... rear passenger complain exhaust very loud when tekan at low speed (revving)...

and who said the NVH is good at the drivers seat needs to get their ears checked... i tested the Pug 308T and Civic 2.0 right after Elantra... and i feel NVH still a long way for the Elantra... do u agree?
caddilac
post Apr 8 2012, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Apr 8 2012, 08:50 PM)
hard to say one... i think those with longer body and shorter legs, will feel very tight in the rear room.... where else leg long body short person will feel okay...

my friend is taller than me bout 2-3CM, but when we're both in the rear seats, i feel very clsoe to the roof, while my fren's one is still acceptable....

Door thump cannot compare with Civic at all....  doors hard plastic really big let down...

I feel 1.8 is not underpower at all... but car feel damn light.... almost wobbly compared to Civic 2.0.... rear passenger complain exhaust very loud when tekan at low speed (revving)...

and who said the NVH is good at the drivers seat needs to get their ears checked... i tested the Pug 308T and Civic 2.0 right after Elantra... and i feel NVH still a long way for the Elantra... do u agree?
NVH is not all about engine noise. Overall 308 is the best but tyre roar of Elantra is definitely much better than Civic. At higher rev Elantra is noisier than Civic but in normal driving I can't really tell any big difference between Elantra and Civic:P
SUSkevin23
post Apr 8 2012, 08:55 PM

1,803 posts

Its a averAge car at best. Trying to be jack of all trades but master of none.
WieBoy
post Apr 8 2012, 08:57 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Apr 8 2012, 08:50 PM)

Door thump cannot compare with Civic at all....  doors hard plastic really big let down...

Exactly bro, NVH still a decade away to achieve, but i can accept that bcuz is from Hyundai. Speed, Throttle, Torque is not the main purpose for

Elantra buyers.

However, i m very doubt about the parts installment quality from Inokom.

Any1 knw 2nd badge of elantra will be better than current wan? i dun mind pay even more but promise to get more upgrades.
tunasandwich
post Apr 8 2012, 09:00 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Apr 8 2012, 08:55 PM)
NVH is not all about engine noise. Overall 308 is the best but tyre roar of Elantra is definitely much better than Civic. At higher rev Elantra is noisier than Civic but in normal driving I can't really tell any big difference between Elantra and Civic:P
erm... Civic new one comes with what tyre ah? Elantra one i saw is Continental... should be lauya one right?

Engine noise for the 1.8 is loud too... is like sikit sikit it tries to rev d.. so i feel when i try to give it a bit more power, it goes into 3500 - 4000, before upshifting from 3rd to 4th...

dunno why so slow to upshift?

does it not feel wobbly? and corners? like very light... don't dare to press, have to hard break.... Pug one most chun, tbh but interior too "french" for my taste...

where else the Civic and Pug upshifts very smoothly...

sighz... now gotta try Mazda... last hope
selvenz
post Apr 8 2012, 09:00 PM

841 posts

honestly i sat in the k5 , sportage and 2.0 forte after my elantra 1.8 test drive. and went back to test drive 1.8 hs again,

Optima 30k more clear winner ( but naza is my biggest worry) their sc just dont know shit!) if any of the electronics fail i doubt they will be able to diagnose and rectify on the spot i saw 2 units according to manager has been there for a month plus awaiting advice from korea

forte 2.0 yes have paddle shifter etc but i never use at all also i drop by 2 Naxa sc just to look see at their service center full of forte there with various problems elctronic etc, most tell me its a ckd naza issue

sportage (just plain underpowered)

elantra 1.8hs, yes i know the price is higher and nvh (but nothing kl auto cant solve with sound proofing)

looks like im leaning back to elantra dammit decisions!!
tunasandwich
post Apr 8 2012, 09:01 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 8 2012, 08:57 PM)
Exactly bro, NVH still a decade away to achieve, but i can accept that bcuz is from Hyundai. Speed, Throttle, Torque is not the main purpose for

Elantra buyers.

However, i m very doubt about the parts installment quality from Inokom.

Any1 knw 2nd badge of elantra will be better than current wan? i dun mind pay even more but promise to get more upgrades.
it really begs the question... 112K, is this price reasonable?

Inspira how many airbags?

Added on April 8, 2012, 9:03 pm
QUOTE(selvenz @ Apr 8 2012, 09:00 PM)

nothing kl auto cant solve with sound proofing)

u mean nothing money can't solve....

bro if money not a concern for u.... plenty of other choice...

i think Elantra is great, the price just make me think at least 100 times more... if it's wise to really pull the trigger for this one....

This post has been edited by tunasandwich: Apr 8 2012, 09:03 PM

128 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:15 PM