Hyundai Elantra MD V4, Launching now!

selvenz
post Apr 2 2012, 03:40 PM

841 posts

i am pretty sure they will drop the price or give a discount on this, if not this batch for sure the next batch. HSM is known for this, a little patience will go a long way
selvenz
post Apr 2 2012, 03:51 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(ivn79 @ Apr 2 2012, 03:46 PM)
According to conversation wit SA yestreday, Lame Darby not giving any discount for these models in their history, only price hike due to high demand.

Can anyone confirm this?
none of these models are having sales pronlems during launch unlike elantra

by the way the tuscon sales have taken a dip with the new kia sportage, sa also throwing in HU units for hi spec 2.0 sonata, some offer cash discount...but just me 2 cents
selvenz
post Apr 2 2012, 04:01 PM

841 posts

im not sure but i have not ever seen a negative car launch like the elantra ( their FB page, low yat , paul tan sites all have negative user comments.)
they must be seriously cracking their head to deal with this PR nightmare.
No doubt there will be the first batch buyers eager to get the 1.8H and 1.6 HS but i doubt they can maintain the sales momentum for batch 2, or once the new proton is launched followed by a host of new 2012 models coming soon

although i booked for the 1.8HS , i plan to wait till second batch , so that they can iron out all the local defects before deciding , i figure by end may or early june they would have exhausted all the 1st batch and might need some new promos for batch 2

This post has been edited by selvenz: Apr 2 2012, 04:03 PM
selvenz
post Apr 2 2012, 04:09 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Apr 2 2012, 04:07 PM)
This is not wat I'm seeing in the prelaunch event. Ppl placing booking left n right. And according to bro fluidic already 1600 booking just for the weekend just in PJ. Imagine wat will happen when nationwide launch?
Also, another former already saw the memo to increase price if too laku, just like wat happened to Tucson.
The saddest part is, Tucson sell so long dy still no "FL power food mirror"(YES! Even Tucson top spec no power food mirror!!!). Lost hope dy if want to wait for FL only buy.
ohh well if no discount or lower price for second batch then i guess elantra not for me!!!

SA @ glenmarie also says price putting people off, only one selling like hot cakes is 1.8HS but not sure how many will follow thru,

This post has been edited by selvenz: Apr 2 2012, 04:10 PM
selvenz
post Apr 2 2012, 04:14 PM

841 posts

by the way 1600 bookings , loan approval rate is down across all dealers and models.
with new BNM rules a lot more difficult to qualify for loan based on 1/3 of NETT Income not Gross like the old days.

Already My SA mention got people being rejected by PBB and MBB
selvenz
post Apr 2 2012, 04:18 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Apr 2 2012, 04:14 PM)
People are expecting the price to be similar with Forte. Many people still feel that Korean cars are not yet up to the standard to be a direct competitor with Japs so they need to be cheap. tongue.gif
im not expecting similiar to forte roughly i feel its overpriced by about 7k OTR for all models. 7k might not be much for some people but in todays economy every cent counts , i dont care how much you make.
selvenz
post Apr 2 2012, 04:23 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Apr 2 2012, 04:17 PM)
This one even more interesting with 8 competitors. brows.gif
http://www.motortrend.com/roadtests/sedans...on/viewall.html
Civic vs Corolla vs Cruze vs Elantra vs Focus vs Jetta vs Mazda3 vs Forte
am really liking the new focus, suppose to be here 3rd quater
selvenz
post Apr 2 2012, 04:25 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(pangning @ Apr 2 2012, 04:24 PM)
why shouldnt they? Korean, both kia and hyundai, undercut japan and europe carmakers in every other countries.

ofcourse people will complain, duh... Competitve pricing and warranty are korean selling points.
'
agreed !
selvenz
post Apr 2 2012, 04:30 PM

841 posts

well the new forte will be based on the current elantra MD platform "abang adik ma" so if you are patient enough but all depends on naza we might be able to get new forte 1 year after korea launch
selvenz
post Apr 4 2012, 07:26 AM

841 posts

sad but true after due consideration i have decided to cancell booking and go for sportage !!

but then again lol
selvenz
post Apr 5 2012, 02:50 PM

841 posts

ss2 sa 1.8 available to test drive

selvenz
post Apr 7 2012, 08:53 AM

841 posts

ss2 has a 1.8hs available for test drive
selvenz
post Apr 8 2012, 08:40 PM

841 posts

if im not mistaken even next gen forte and optima k5 also 2013 sonata etc will be using the nu engine as they begin phase out of theta engines
only that some countries have GDI ether 1.8 or 2.0 and some MPI
selvenz
post Apr 8 2012, 09:00 PM

841 posts

honestly i sat in the k5 , sportage and 2.0 forte after my elantra 1.8 test drive. and went back to test drive 1.8 hs again,

Optima 30k more clear winner ( but naza is my biggest worry) their sc just dont know shit!) if any of the electronics fail i doubt they will be able to diagnose and rectify on the spot i saw 2 units according to manager has been there for a month plus awaiting advice from korea

forte 2.0 yes have paddle shifter etc but i never use at all also i drop by 2 Naxa sc just to look see at their service center full of forte there with various problems elctronic etc, most tell me its a ckd naza issue

sportage (just plain underpowered)

elantra 1.8hs, yes i know the price is higher and nvh (but nothing kl auto cant solve with sound proofing)

looks like im leaning back to elantra dammit decisions!!
selvenz
post Apr 8 2012, 09:13 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Apr 8 2012, 09:01 PM)
it really begs the question... 112K, is this price reasonable?

Inspira how many airbags?

Added on April 8, 2012, 9:03 pm

u mean nothing money can't solve....

bro if money not a concern for u.... plenty of other choice...

i think Elantra is great, the price just make me think at least 100 times more... if it's wise to really pull the trigger for this one....
I agree but I went to kl auto few times have seen new civic, Camry , Mazda ,golf,polo, sonata all going for soundproofing so nvh quite subjective

Yes price is a concern but my main concern is warranty and fc, to be honest elantra worldwide has proven its value depends if we want to accept

If you read most of the reviews it's 90% positive and by the way the nvh is not just an issue in Malaysia , it's the same complain all over the world.
selvenz
post Apr 10 2012, 07:40 AM

841 posts

my sonata(2007 nf) when i bought it did not have it but service center trough the diagnostic computer just set it for me and let me choose the speed before lock

0.0494sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:58 AM