fred131
post Apr 12 2012, 01:24 PM

163 posts

Please call Mr. Keith Hon who is the Service Advisor in
Sime Darby Auto Hyundai Sdn.Bhd.
Temasya Industrial Park
Tel : 03-7628 2500, 03-7628 2530 if you got any enquiry..

Mr. Mathi also can...
sean8509
post Apr 12 2012, 01:31 PM

50 posts

Bro-San, Our Player Price Been Release : check it out by click in the site below

My Webpage

This post has been edited by sean8509: Apr 12 2012, 01:33 PM
kudi
post Apr 12 2012, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(OperaGhost @ Apr 12 2012, 11:59 AM)
Thanks mate. Have yet to test drive the forte 2.0

Elantra 1.6 FullSpec vs Forte 2.0

What's the verdict frm all the sifu here? Appreciate all ur input in helping me making a good decision. Cheers!
As yesterday was a holiday. A great day to go test drive the Elantra again. Which I managed to do.
I've also tested drive the Forte 2.0 SX the day before at Bangsar showroom.

This round with the 1.8 Elantra, I have a friend along with me who is also a car enthusiast. So we managed to test drive 2 rounds with a longer route.

Verdict,

Space:
Cabin space is equally good and comfortable for the 2, with Forte having the better headroom for sure.
This time I have the SA for Elantra to attempt to slide in his legs underneath the front seats. He too acknowledged the space is low for the rear legroom to have the shoe comfortably tug under the seats. I believe this is because of the result of lowering the car roof, hence sacrificing the seat height.
Rear headroom too is low, but still manageable. Any tall person would have to slide front and sitting on your waist, knees pull back. I dont know if this will be comfortable for longer rides.

Front Console:
To be honest, at first sight the Elantra's console seems elegant. But the built does look cheap though.
Top panel are softer than the Forte, but I dont think it matters that much. As I stare longer at the console, I do noticed how empty the console is. In fact it looks boring after a while.
Forte on the other hand just looked black! However the buttons are nicely equipped with red backlight. It feels like a conti car console. For my taste I think this look will last. And I think Peter Schreyer has done a good job with it. It gives a sense of interest on the console if you are a geek like me.

Steering:
Both Elantra 1.8 and Forte 2.0 are motor driven steering, with the Elantra 1.8 feeling lighter. The Forte seems stiff, feels heavy. The hand grip on the steering for Forte seems thicker as well. So its a matter of preference and palm size for the driver then.

LCD HU:
The positioning for the HU on the Elantra is terrible. The SA acknowledge that they are in the process of sourcing for a "visor" for the HU, how hilarious. As I measure the depth for the visor, it almost measured 2 inches to properly cover the glares. Furthermore, the SA claims that the 7 inch dark tint on the front windscreen may help to resolve the problem. I doubt this will help at all as the HU is angled poorly to address the issue. The only solution I can see is to have a better LCD panel. Maybe AMOLED?
Forte's HU is angled lower therefore prevents the glaring issue.

Engine:
Forte's 2.0 definitely has the better power. Not to forget that having the flappy gearshift on the steering for the Forte makes it easier to drive manually. We tested on the Elantra on manual while attacking some corners, it can be dangerous to drive on 1 hand.
Both cars are equally quiet while cruising normally. However the Elantra does make a louder engine noise at higher rev. This the SA confirms as well.

Safety:
There is no competition here. 6 airbags vs 2 airbags. We got the SA into some arguements over this. As usual the SA mentioned that lets not compare with the Forte, in fact take out the Forte for the comparison. But this is impossible to think so because you cant have selective comparison over competition.

Another reason given is that the Forte is an aged model, having the older platform as the Avante. In fact the newer model for the Forte will be priced as close as the Elantra, which is more than RM100K.
Well I disagree because lets compare to the Koup pricing at RM116K. The new SX 2.0 will not priced too closely to the Koup. Furthermore, even if the new Forte 2.0 is priced more than RM100k, at least the specs are full.
Unlike the Elantra priced at RM112k, the important feature like safety airbags are taken away, basic features like auto folding side mirrors are taken away, no flappy pedals, heck even the remote horn alarm switch is taken out.

Bottomline is, it is like paying premium but not getting the full package. It is a whole different story if the specs are premium and worth every single penny.
coral35
post Apr 12 2012, 01:42 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Apr 12 2012, 12:01 PM)
i'm considering these 2 now as well... is it just the rear seats that made u steer away from the Mazda 3?

with additional of 12K, you get (promotion now is 3 years free maintenance and Free GPS/DVD or 2K rebate):
- 6 airbags
- 6 speakers
- Paddle shifters
- Auto Dimm rear mirrors
- Power Foldable mirrors
- Full size spare tyres
- Better handling
- 2.0 engine (although paper specs seems not much difference with Elantra, not sure bout real life perf and also what's power to weight ratio)
What does Elantra have and Mazda 3 doesn't:
- Sunroof
- Nappa Leather
- Better FC
- 5 years and 300,000KM warranty
- Road side assist
- ESP / Traction control / VSM (this one really need to confirm, I'm not sure)

I've also done some comparison of some paper specs (correct me if I'm wrong please):

Forte 2.0
156Ps @ 6,200rpm
194Nm @ 4300rpm
Weight: 1,336 kg
Mazda 3 2.0
145Hp @ 6500rpm (147Ps)
182Nm @ 4500rpm
Weight: 1,296 kg

Civic 2.0
155PS @ 6500rpm
188Nm @ 4500rom
Weight: 1,315 kg

Elantra 1.8
148 HP @ 6500rpm
178 Nm @ 4700rpm
Weight: 1,304 kg

It does look like the Elantra is not under power, to be honest.
for M3 rear seat is really tight and i would say uncomfortable for 3 person. and i think skyactive and facelift version only out around end of the year or next.. so if u buy now.. few months later, u might feel zzz...
however, tis is a driver car, at driver seat the feeling is awesome with so many buttons on the steering. the exterior looks i think m3 more towars sporty looks and elantra more toward elegance/comfort type of car.

b4 i went to elantra and test drive.. i already decided on M3, however after considering that i going to marry and may have baby soon, a spacious rear passenger seat is still better... looking at elantra spec .start stop button, keyless entry, VSC and etc.. i actually found nothing tat i dont like except No power retractable mirror and ECM.. which i think nothing is perfect so i just take it as it is.

so in the end.. elantra 1.8 is my choice...

tunasandwich
post Apr 12 2012, 01:47 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(coral35 @ Apr 12 2012, 01:42 PM)
for M3 rear seat is really tight and i would say uncomfortable for 3 person. and i think skyactive and facelift version only out around end of the year or next.. so if u buy now.. few months later, u might feel zzz...
however, tis is a driver car, at driver seat the feeling is awesome with so many buttons on the steering. the exterior looks i think m3 more towars sporty looks and elantra more toward elegance/comfort type of car.
b4 i went to elantra and test drive.. i already decided on M3, however after considering that i going to marry and may have baby soon, a spacious rear passenger seat is still better... looking at elantra spec .start stop button, keyless entry, VSC and etc.. i actually found nothing tat i dont like except No power retractable mirror and ECM.. which i think nothing is perfect so i just take it as it is.

so in the end.. elantra 1.8 is my choice...
so the Mazda 3 really doesn't have ESP / Traction control / VSM?

mav3rick
post Apr 12 2012, 01:48 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Apr 12 2012, 01:47 PM)
definite no on that. only ABS, BA and EBD
coral35
post Apr 12 2012, 01:54 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Apr 12 2012, 01:47 PM)
yeap.. m3 don have that
TSFluidicSculpture
post Apr 12 2012, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Apr 12 2012, 01:11 PM)
hmm.. i was being told that only first 2 years will cover parts. after that its only the engine and gearbox. can bro fluidic confirm this?
thanks bro..
It's the same with every car, no such thing as a full warranty.

The only reason it's less obvious because the gap between a usual 3 years warranty is so much smaller than a 5 years warranty.
ezral007
post Apr 12 2012, 02:24 PM

20 posts

hi guys whoever interested in red elantra can go to glenmarie branch to view it.
got some pics for u all bros. Enjoy.

harpyboy
post Apr 12 2012, 02:27 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 12 2012, 01:21 PM)
this is the topic i alwiz voice out to my SA, replied me dun wry, ervythng under warranty and maintenance very cheap dun wry.

WTH, so frustrated! Ask him to list me everyhtng, and how much is the "Cheap" he refer. Replied. Duno.
haha. mine was better at least. he asked me refer to their current Tucson.. which I presume is similar also.
I know transmission and timing chain are maintenance free... others don't know..

but warranty wise no one has confirmation?

SUSryanliew87
post Apr 12 2012, 02:47 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ezral007 @ Apr 12 2012, 02:24 PM)
hi guys whoever interested in red elantra can go to glenmarie branch to view it.
got some pics for u all bros. Enjoy.

hyper metallic ada hmm.gif

QUOTE(harpyboy @ Apr 12 2012, 02:27 PM)
haha. mine was better at least. he asked me refer to their current Tucson.. which I presume is similar also.
I know transmission and timing chain are maintenance free... others don't know..

but warranty wise no one has confirmation?
typical SA will say yea yea everything under warranty dun worry...when real problem comes they become very specific....this we dun warranty that we dun warranty....then u hav to pay additional service fees
wei
post Apr 12 2012, 02:48 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Yeah, want to see the gray one. Will swing by to check it out in real life.

This post has been edited by wei: Apr 12 2012, 02:53 PM
ezral007
post Apr 12 2012, 03:00 PM

20 posts

hyper metallic takde unfortunately.
jusjus88
post Apr 12 2012, 03:05 PM

đøƝד ѿӧᶉᶉẙ , ḃᴇ Ĥåρρў
1,173 posts

The red is a great striking colour, but if you compare the white beside, it seems to show out the fluidic-ness of the tailights better.

Red seems to be "cover up" all the red colour of the tail lights.

The covered hyper silver at the far behind seems nice leh (whether it's hyper silver or not) brows.gif
ihatemyguts
post Apr 12 2012, 03:27 PM

105 posts

Hmm... thanks for the photo bro ezral.
The red doesn't seem very striking. Will have to go see it in the metal to be sure.
ezral007
post Apr 12 2012, 03:37 PM

20 posts

its not as striking as white but its quite cun actually. the downside is it suppresses the beauty of the tail light.
joanalooidog
post Apr 12 2012, 03:39 PM

2,823 posts

just to confirm, elantra's gearbox no need to change ATF?
Someone told me on that and I'm quite surprise, but feels like not possible.
Anyone has the service schedule for elantra?
heng84
post Apr 12 2012, 04:24 PM

307 posts

hyundai.com.my has finally updated their homepage.. now got elantra inside lol after so long
coral35
post Apr 12 2012, 04:40 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Apr 12 2012, 04:24 PM)
hyundai.com.my has finally updated their homepage.. now got elantra inside lol after so long
no ar.. still no details... only 1 page of elantra..
heng84
post Apr 12 2012, 04:41 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(coral35 @ Apr 12 2012, 04:40 PM)
no ar.. still no details... only 1 page of elantra..
har?
go click showroom then click elantra

128 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:04 PM