126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.15, Get your D800/D4 now !

jchue73
post Apr 30 2012, 02:41 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(swaichia @ Apr 28 2012, 09:36 PM)
unsure.gif anyone upgrade from d700 to D800 because D800 have 100% viewfinder?
Well, personally not a feature that I specifically looked for but nice to have. Now I have to re-train myself because last time with D700, you would frame it differently as compared to the D800 which will capture exactly what you see in the viewfinder.

QUOTE(seather @ Apr 29 2012, 12:28 AM)
that is why next week going back to test the 16-35 when they have stock... tongue.gif

i like to take those sweeping landscape pics... like u standing in front of a great temple/hall/building and getting that awe perspective smile.gif
Ah, that explains why they are pushing the other lenses... rolleyes.gif Did they push to you the 24mm f/1.4?

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 29 2012, 01:05 AM)
Actually, my main upgrade points from D700 to D800 would be the 100% VF and new AF module which is supposedly better than D700's.
The AF and metering is indeed better. drool.gif

QUOTE(seather @ Apr 29 2012, 03:08 AM)
coz he knows i can never afford it atm tongue.gif why try to sell a BMW to a person who can barely afford a honda
Well, the 35mm f/1.4 isn't exactly Honda pricing, if you know what I mean...

QUOTE(seather @ Apr 29 2012, 03:08 AM)
agreed.. very specialized lens... plus it is expensive... not something i will buy juz to play play unless i know what i wan to do wif it... got the skills to backup the gear  icon_rolleyes.gif
Don't understand... What special skills do you need to have when shooting with the 14-24? To me, it's just the same as any other UW lens.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 30 2012, 01:03 AM)
if u need the extra 2/3 stop, then just buy D4 tongue.gif
LOL
celciuz
post Apr 30 2012, 07:50 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(seather @ Apr 30 2012, 12:27 AM)
i was only interested in the voigtlander only (RM1760), the 35mm i juz asked for fun...

i juz stating the prices of the 20mm + 35mm combo for comparison wif the 14-24 smile.gif

wif 4.8k.. enough for me to buy the 16-35mm f4 + 50mm 1.8g ady...

i am considering the 50mm1.8g becoz it is lower in price... later if i need the extra 2/3 stop.. then only think about spending that extra 1k wink.gif

if i mostly shoot at f2.8 for the 50mm... i think the 1.8g is good enough smile.gif

plus for the price for a 50mm 1.4g.. can get a 85mm 1.8g...  laugh.gif
50mm and 85mm are lens for different purpose... you can't compare them like that sweat.gif

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 30 2012, 02:41 AM)
Well, personally not a feature that I specifically looked for but nice to have. Now I have to re-train myself because last time with D700, you would frame it differently as compared to the D800 which will capture exactly what you see in the viewfinder.
Ah, that explains why they are pushing the other lenses...  rolleyes.gif Did they push to you the 24mm f/1.4?
The AF and metering is indeed better.  drool.gif
Don't understand... What special skills do you need to have when shooting with the 14-24? To me, it's just the same as any other UW lens.
LOL
CY no like jchue73, poison poison sad.gif LOL!
seather
post Apr 30 2012, 10:54 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 30 2012, 01:03 AM)
if u need the extra 2/3 stop, then just buy D4 tongue.gif
epic rclxms.gif

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 30 2012, 02:41 AM)
LOL
i need a travel wide angle.... 16-35 gives me more flexibility at a lower price than the 20mm + 35mm or 14-24 smile.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2012, 07:50 AM)
50mm and 85mm are lens for different purpose... you can't compare them like that  sweat.gif
yeah... juz comparing prices n individual needs smile.gif the most $$ standard 50mm vs specialist portrait lens...
celciuz
post Apr 30 2012, 11:04 AM

14,037 posts

16-35 is only good as a wide angle... that's all about it. f/4 is the big downside.. sad.gif even on my D700 sensor ISO performance.
seather
post Apr 30 2012, 11:33 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2012, 11:04 AM)
16-35 is only good as a wide angle... that's all about it. f/4 is the big downside.. sad.gif even on my D700 sensor ISO performance.
i seem some of ur pics taken by the 16-35. they influence me to consider the 16-35 rclxms.gif
iloveOov
post Apr 30 2012, 11:35 AM

226 posts

Mondy blur spam xD

This post has been edited by iloveOov: Apr 30 2012, 11:36 AM
ifer
post Apr 30 2012, 11:58 AM

4,637 posts

Not to mention the barrel distortion is almot WTF?
It's practically a fish eye at 16mm hahaa
celciuz
post Apr 30 2012, 02:05 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(seather @ Apr 30 2012, 11:33 AM)
i seem some of ur pics taken by the 16-35. they influence me to consider the 16-35  rclxms.gif
hmm.gif then again, current UWA line up is 14-24 and 16-35. 16-35 range is more practical most of the time, but I like the 17-35 more due to the f/2.8 though.

QUOTE(ifer @ Apr 30 2012, 11:58 AM)
Hahaha, not that extreme. But the 'good' thing about the distortion is that it is linear, easily corrected if needed.

Added on April 30, 2012, 2:06 pm
QUOTE(iloveOov @ Apr 30 2012, 11:35 AM)
Mondy blur spam xD

The framing didn't work for me, her left hand being cropped sad.gif get her to pose differently with the left hand would be better perhaps.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Apr 30 2012, 02:06 PM
Tanakwagu_noh
post Apr 30 2012, 02:30 PM

Photographer
866 posts

Mondy blur spam xD

bro, tell her i love so much. hehe icon_rolleyes.gif
iloveOov
post Apr 30 2012, 03:40 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Tanakwagu_noh @ Apr 30 2012, 02:30 PM)
bro, tell her i love so much. hehe icon_rolleyes.gif
ok lolz

Agito666
post Apr 30 2012, 03:45 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2012, 02:05 PM)
hmm.gif then again, current UWA line up is 14-24 and 16-35. 16-35 range is more practical most of the time, but I like the 17-35 more due to the f/2.8 though.
Hahaha, not that extreme. But the 'good' thing about the distortion is that it is linear, easily corrected if needed.

Added on April 30, 2012, 2:06 pm
The framing didn't work for me, her left hand being cropped sad.gif get her to pose differently with the left hand would be better perhaps.
is that not good for chop off the part of the hand?
kinda blur with human photography haha... include the hand will looks better ar?
because if zoom out a bit to include hand...will the face too small to see? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: Apr 30 2012, 03:47 PM
paksiew
post Apr 30 2012, 04:33 PM

106 posts

Kodak X Nikon

This post has been edited by paksiew: Apr 30 2012, 04:35 PM
jchue73
post Apr 30 2012, 04:58 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2012, 07:50 AM)
CY no like jchue73, poison poison sad.gif LOL!
Poison? Where got? tongue.gif

Oh, like that you need D4. rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(seather @ Apr 30 2012, 11:33 AM)
i seem some of ur pics taken by the 16-35. they influence me to consider the 16-35  rclxms.gif
LOL... CY, now who poison who now... sweat.gif

Mondy blur spam xD

thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ifer @ Apr 30 2012, 11:58 AM)
We need a 17mm TSE lens.

QUOTE(iloveOov @ Apr 30 2012, 03:40 PM)
ok lolz

Same girl? wub.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 30 2012, 03:45 PM)
kinda blur with human photography haha... include the hand will looks better ar?
because if zoom out a bit to include hand...will the face too small to see?  unsure.gif

Actually there's no right or wrong lah. But generally those are the rules to follow. I've seen great photos also that break a lot of conventional rules.
Agito666
post Apr 30 2012, 05:10 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 30 2012, 04:58 PM)
Poison? Where got?  tongue.gif
Oh, like that you need D4.  rclxm9.gif
LOL... CY, now who poison who now...  sweat.gif
thumbup.gif
We need a 17mm TSE lens.
Same girl?  wub.gif
Actually there's no right or wrong lah. But generally those are the rules to follow. I've seen great photos also that break a lot of conventional rules.
ya i know there is no specific rule, i just wan ask what is his feel if chop off hands... or add back hands....there is some reason like we wan include or exclude something in photograph. just wan ask the reason behind and take note tongue.gif
Beanie2304
post Apr 30 2012, 05:54 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Apr 29 2012, 02:53 PM)
Yea I was at Bersih and kena two tear gases lol! Brought a d7k and a 16-35..

how i wished i brought the 70-200! 50 meters where ambiga was giving her speech at masjid jamek!
Ah, how I wish I have a 70200. I'll definitely bring it up in a nearer range.

I was quite behind opposite Burger King (MJ station), near Lee Rubber building. Got some shots only, not much. =)

I kena tear gases also. No sign of gas can be seen but the smell and sting of it just... ahhh ==

QUOTE(zhinsara @ Apr 29 2012, 03:04 PM)
Sup chaps!! Were you all in yellow? I was there...wearing grey with my GF. Got lots of "you guys media ah" questions.

Repost from showcase..malas wanna link up again.

We were there until 15 mins before all hell broke loose. And it was doing so so well before that. sigh.

Awesome man, I can see you were quite near and moving around a lot. We must form a team for the next (if the election still keeping their dirty stuff under).

Anyway, my not-so-great write up on my blog http://www.aprilfy.com/2012/04/428-bersih-30.html

428 Bersih 3.0 Set on Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/seohyun-beani...57629559839638/
celciuz
post Apr 30 2012, 06:07 PM

14,037 posts

because if zoom out a bit to include hand...will the face too small to see?  unsure.gif

Self preference, I didn't like the girl's arm cropped... but if the arm wasn't cropped I think will look better. As for how to avoid, use different pose with the left hand if don't want to zoom out.

Poison? Where got?  tongue.gif
Oh, like that you need D4.  rclxm9.gif
LOL... CY, now who poison who now...  sweat.gif
thumbup.gif
We need a 17mm TSE lens.
Same girl?  wub.gif
._. D4 is out of reach sad.gif D800 is the sweet spot for me doh.gif oh no poisoned T_T

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 30 2012, 05:10 PM)
ya i know there is no specific rule, i just wan ask what is his feel if chop off hands... or add back hands....there is some reason like we wan include or exclude something in photograph. just wan ask the reason behind and take note tongue.gif
Self preference lo, maybe most people focus at the face and.. else where(?)... but I see it as a whole pix.
ifer
post Apr 30 2012, 08:11 PM

4,637 posts

We need a 17mm TSE lens.

If Nikon really release one hor, i will splash 20k for the D800E with this lens without thinking
amduser
post Apr 30 2012, 08:51 PM

5,542 posts

if that picture show the hand in frame it will look more pleasant, if me i will do that, if i want to crop the hand i will crop until just before the elbow

sometime you doesn't need to show the face only, if can show the environment is great as well nod.gif

QUOTE(Beanie2304 @ Apr 30 2012, 05:54 PM)
Ah, how I wish I have a 70200. I'll definitely bring it up in a nearer range.

I was quite behind opposite Burger King (MJ station), near Lee Rubber building. Got some shots only, not much. =)

I kena tear gases also. No sign of gas can be seen but the smell and sting of it just... ahhh ==
Awesome man, I can see you were quite near and moving around a lot. We must form a team for the next (if the election still keeping their dirty stuff under).
Anyway, my not-so-great write up on my blog http://www.aprilfy.com/2012/04/428-bersih-30.html

428 Bersih 3.0 Set on Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/seohyun-beani...57629559839638/
i dont think forming a team in this kind of event is a good idea, better just split up and go different section to get more shots, if stick together you all need to frequently check out on each other make sure everyone stay together, good for own safety but you wont be able to take much picture compare to when you are alone

that's just my assumption anyway, never went to this kind of events like bersih before
hidden830726
post Apr 30 2012, 09:09 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Apr 30 2012, 08:11 PM)
If Nikon really release one hor, i will splash 20k for the D800E with this lens without thinking
Rich tongue.gif
lpyycy
post Apr 30 2012, 09:44 PM

121 posts

Dear All,

do you all have any experience that sending camera for warranty without receipt, only with warranty card, is this acceptable?

i am planning to send my body to repair, there are water mark on the image sensor.

is it true that sending direct to PKNS at Petaling Jaya will be much more faster than BTS?

appreciate for your sharings and advice ^^

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:10 PM