Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.15, Get your D800/D4 now !

seather
post Apr 3 2012, 03:57 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Apr 3 2012, 01:15 PM)
Hmmm its quite funny that Nikon added the 28-300mm as the d800 kit lens while at Lensrental.com suggest you not to use it with D800

Here's the link! D800 Lens selection process

Woahh nice pictures from the Motorshow!! Are there any up coming similar events? I also interested to shoot Thai girls! Haha
this is gonna be really awkward for me...

my fren pre-ordered a D800 recently... (had a D7000 wif 18-200 b4) but dunno the difference between FX n DX until I explained it...

since so much money blown on the body, and the criteria is a light + jack of all trades lens for traveling, so my fren asked if the 28-300 is ok...

i said yes sweat.gif doh.gif

seather
post Apr 19 2012, 01:57 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(makaroni @ Apr 19 2012, 01:45 PM)
yeah, i dont understand why nikon put 24mp on entry level body, its look like all newer body after this will have 24 & above mp, D7100 perhaps?drool.gif
official press release...

http://press.nikonusa.com/post/2012/04/19/...-video-quality/

This post has been edited by seather: Apr 19 2012, 01:59 PM
seather
post Apr 26 2012, 10:33 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 26 2012, 10:21 AM)

nikon rumor

D600!? i wan huat number like D800  whistling.gif
D700s whistling.gif

hopefully it is in the USD2~2.5k price range n uses the D4 sensor....

no more interested in D800 liao rolleyes.gif
seather
post Apr 27 2012, 01:51 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 27 2012, 09:03 AM)
more D600 rumor:

http://nikonrumors.com/2012/04/26/more-nik...00-rumors.aspx/

---

so i heard D600 will be dont have AF motor....hmmm FX without AF motor  shocking.gif
possibru?

maybe...
since last time D800 in nikon rumor and when they said it is 36mp and almost everyone didn't believe it XD
Nikon wanna sell more of their AF-S FX lens.. don wan ppl buy new FX body then go buy 2nd hand lenses tongue.gif

if the RRP is USD1500, wouldn't it eat into the market share for D300s (RRP USD1699) + successors?

i am still sticking with my prediction of USD2000 tongue.gif if i am wrong, then i will have money for one more lens laugh.gif
seather
post Apr 28 2012, 09:46 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

hi all, need ur opinions... today i went to shop to inquire about the 50mm f1.4D/f1.8g and 16-35mm VR f4...

i plan to buy UWA to take landscape while traveling plus a 50mm as a light weight, all rounder lens to compliment the UWA

but but.. the owner n his son poisoned me with the 35mm f1.4/g and Voigtländer 20mm f/3.5 cry.gif

when i compared the 50mm f1.4d n 35mm 1.4g, the image sharpness and color richness of the 35mm is much better than the 50mm

any opinion on these lens, especially the Voigtländer? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by seather: Apr 28 2012, 09:53 PM
seather
post Apr 28 2012, 10:15 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Apr 28 2012, 09:56 PM)
http://www.kenrockwell.com/voigtlander/20mm-f35.htm

20mm  and 35mm diff is big.
just get which focal you really comfortable with.
ya... i wanna get the 16-35mm VR F4 n 50mm 1.4D combo...

but they recommended me get the 35mm 1.4G & 20mm Voigtländer instead...

i love the small size of the Voigtländer, it is so small n light that you can put it in ur front pocket..

the Voigtländer is half the size of the nikon 20mm

plus they say the less elements between the subject n sensor, generally IQ will be better... any true?
seather
post Apr 29 2012, 12:06 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 28 2012, 11:48 PM)
u compare 50mm f/1.4D with the 35mm 1.4G of cos got so big difference...1 is such a old lens.
if you stop down the 50mm to around f/2.2 then you will see improvement in sharpness and contrast.

imo, i think the shop thinks u are a waterfish.
35mm 1.4G and voigtlander...here fishy fishy fishy tongue.gif

just get 16-35 and 50mm 1.8G should be good enough.
nah.. they r pushing the voigtlander only since i looking for a UWA... i tamak and play wif the 35mm... tat is why got poisoned tongue.gif

they also loan me the nikon 20mm together with the voigtlander to take a few pics , ask me take home to view in the pc and compare...

after doing some research online, mite juz get the 85mm 1.8g (for shooting my mate during travel) + voigtlander (for landscape)

they oso not totally treat me as water fish la... they only intro me the 50mm 1.4d although they have the 50mm 1.4g in stock...

This post has been edited by seather: Apr 29 2012, 12:08 AM
seather
post Apr 29 2012, 12:23 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Apr 29 2012, 12:12 AM)
the G version of the lens usually have better quality tho~ that is if you feel paying the extra 'dough' is worth it that is..
extra 1k for 2/3 stop (50mm 1.8g -> 50 1.4g) or extra RM750 to upgrade from a 1.4D lens is a price i don't think i can pay at the moment... sweat.gif ... i don make money from the gears i buy...

seather
post Apr 29 2012, 12:28 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 29 2012, 12:12 AM)
20mm? sure u dont want to go wider? tongue.gif
landscape dont necessary have to use wide angles all the time.
telephoto also can be used to isolate certain areas u dont want in etc.
that is why next week going back to test the 16-35 when they have stock... tongue.gif

i like to take those sweeping landscape pics... like u standing in front of a great temple/hall/building and getting that awe perspective smile.gif

seather
post Apr 29 2012, 03:08 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 29 2012, 12:40 AM)
why the shop never poison you with 14-24?
coz he knows i can never afford it atm tongue.gif why try to sell a BMW to a person who can barely afford a honda

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Apr 29 2012, 01:09 AM)
14-24 F2.8 is not so flexible for normal occasion...
kinda hard for most of d ppl...
so i skip that and go 16-35...
but 14-24 is indeed a very very poisonous lens...
if nikon come out with a 16-35 F2.8 den will be perfect...
agreed.. very specialized lens... plus it is expensive... not something i will buy juz to play play unless i know what i wan to do wif it... got the skills to backup the gear icon_rolleyes.gif

btw got 17-35mm f/2.8 mar... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by seather: Apr 29 2012, 03:08 AM
seather
post Apr 29 2012, 05:38 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 29 2012, 12:48 PM)
hmm, i thought 35mm 1.4G + voigtlander costs way more than a 14-24.
and the shop did poison u with that combo right? tongue.gif
he quote me 35mm 1.4g (RM4800) + voigtlander 20mm f3.5 (RM1760) = RM6560...

yeah abit more expensive than the 6k 14-24 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by seather: Apr 29 2012, 05:38 PM
seather
post Apr 30 2012, 12:27 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Apr 29 2012, 11:16 PM)
that's quite a hefty gear that you are going for considering you said you can't pay the extra 1k/750 for the upgrade since you dun make money from the gears you buy..  rclxub.gif there's just too much that i cannot understand i guess.. i think i should learn more.. sad.gif

i was only interested in the voigtlander only (RM1760), the 35mm i juz asked for fun...

i juz stating the prices of the 20mm + 35mm combo for comparison wif the 14-24 smile.gif

wif 4.8k.. enough for me to buy the 16-35mm f4 + 50mm 1.8g ady...

i am considering the 50mm1.8g becoz it is lower in price... later if i need the extra 2/3 stop.. then only think about spending that extra 1k wink.gif

if i mostly shoot at f2.8 for the 50mm... i think the 1.8g is good enough smile.gif

plus for the price for a 50mm 1.4g.. can get a 85mm 1.8g... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by seather: Apr 30 2012, 12:33 AM
seather
post Apr 30 2012, 10:54 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 30 2012, 01:03 AM)
if u need the extra 2/3 stop, then just buy D4 tongue.gif
epic rclxms.gif

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 30 2012, 02:41 AM)
Well, the 35mm f/1.4 isn't exactly Honda pricing, if you know what I mean...
Don't understand... What special skills do you need to have when shooting with the 14-24? To me, it's just the same as any other UW lens.
LOL
i need a travel wide angle.... 16-35 gives me more flexibility at a lower price than the 20mm + 35mm or 14-24 smile.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2012, 07:50 AM)
50mm and 85mm are lens for different purpose... you can't compare them like that  sweat.gif
yeah... juz comparing prices n individual needs smile.gif the most $$ standard 50mm vs specialist portrait lens...
seather
post Apr 30 2012, 11:33 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2012, 11:04 AM)
16-35 is only good as a wide angle... that's all about it. f/4 is the big downside.. sad.gif even on my D700 sensor ISO performance.
i seem some of ur pics taken by the 16-35. they influence me to consider the 16-35 rclxms.gif
seather
post May 1 2012, 05:46 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

test shot with a nikkor 105mm vr micro lens smile.gif

This post has been edited by seather: May 1 2012, 05:46 PM
seather
post May 3 2012, 02:08 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ May 1 2012, 07:10 PM)
is this just pure 105mm micro ... nothing else attached?
also, is this taken at 1:1? ... makes me envy over my tamron sp90 ..lol.

can share the exif info? thanks
that is a cropped photo blush.gif testing b4 paying the shop...

nothing else attached.. not even UV filter... juz the lens n body but i set the PC to Vivid

Exif Info

anyway.. i always here ppl say tamron macro lens are better? hmm.gif
seather
post May 4 2012, 01:03 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

pic spam~ 1st proper outing with the 105mm VR micro icon_rolleyes.gif

sorry if the DOF abit thin... taken around 6pm without tripod... so i cant bring down the F stop.... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by seather: May 4 2012, 01:11 AM
seather
post May 5 2012, 02:29 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ May 5 2012, 12:44 AM)
hie sifus,i bought a 70-300mm lens.Can someone teach me how to use this lens? I realised it cannot take pics of stuff that are near to you..
this is the AF-S 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR rite? a FX lens? hmm.gif

the minimum focus distance for ur lens is 1.5m from the focal plane.... or about 1.3m from the front of the lens...

shooting in tight areas? if not, juz stand far far away and tembak saja la laugh.gif

This post has been edited by seather: May 5 2012, 02:33 AM
seather
post May 5 2012, 07:33 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(DJSoo @ May 5 2012, 02:58 PM)
do u guys think how much i can sell my Nikon D90 ..
new set now (body only) is RM2k... depends on ur age n shutter count la...
seather
post May 7 2012, 02:23 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

Mini Voigtländer 20mm on a giant D700 tongue.gif

QUOTE(avanpiper @ May 7 2012, 09:20 AM)
no this is my first dslr, had a Sony cybershot before, thinking of upgrading and trying dslr for a change. thanks for the guide!  icon_rolleyes.gif
u can dl the official Nikon Club Malaysia guide book here smile.gif

http://www.nikonclub.com.my/pages/Insight.aspx?id=106

This post has been edited by seather: May 7 2012, 02:26 PM

0.0802sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:11 AM