32 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Mass Effect 3 Spoiler Edition, Discuss about storyline here.

Enclave Recruit
post Mar 21 2012, 06:53 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Mar 21 2012, 06:14 PM)
Not the final fight with 4 banshees and a reaper shooting lasers at you?
QUOTE(hahli9 @ Mar 21 2012, 06:28 PM)
This part I even had problems on normal.  sweat.gif
This part is very simple only. You are not required to kill all or any. Just take cover and wait for EDI to give the green light then run to the control panel once hammer weapon system syncs with normandy.
memphiz_zero88
post Mar 21 2012, 06:57 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(Enclave Recruit @ Mar 21 2012, 06:53 PM)
This part is very simple only. You are not required to kill all or any. Just take cover and wait for EDI to give the green light then run to the control panel once hammer weapon system syncs with normandy.
like that oso hard, since banshee will come and kill you sweat.gif sweat.gif

Enclave Recruit
post Mar 21 2012, 06:59 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Mar 21 2012, 06:57 PM)
like that oso hard, since banshee will come and kill you  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Just keep running away from them. Move from one cover to another. I didn't bother to fight them.

Then when EDI called, I ran faster than Usain Bolt
monza84
post Mar 21 2012, 07:59 PM

2,059 posts

^ahahaha, same la..managed to kill 2 banshees and the other i only let em run around..take cover and wait for EDI signal...
SteamieHP
post Mar 21 2012, 08:25 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Mar 21 2012, 06:14 PM)
Not the final fight with 4 banshees and a reaper shooting lasers at you?
This one you only need to watch your distance. Once the truck is online. Quickly run and press the button. No need waste time shooting.
Edit: Your choice for partners also matter imo. Bring partners who can lob grenades. James (frag grenade) or Javik (lift grenade). Can buy you some time to shoot while they flinch.
Biotic combination also will do; Liara and Javik. Dark Channel + Warp = sexplosion. I brought these two.

The Kai Leng part was hard because the tight room. In insanity enemy keep spamming grenades. One hit kill.

This post has been edited by SteamieHP: Mar 21 2012, 08:31 PM
hahli9
post Mar 21 2012, 09:50 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(SteamieHP @ Mar 21 2012, 08:25 PM)
This one you only need to watch your distance. Once the truck is online. Quickly run and press the button. No need waste time shooting.
Edit: Your choice for partners also matter imo. Bring partners who can lob grenades. James (frag grenade) or Javik (lift grenade). Can buy you some time to shoot while they flinch.
Biotic combination also will do; Liara and Javik. Dark Channel + Warp = sexplosion. I brought these two.

The Kai Leng part was hard because the tight room. In insanity enemy keep spamming grenades. One hit kill.
I found Kai Leng easier than 4 banshees.
The only reason I beat the 4 banshees is because I found an M-560 Hydra sweat.gif
secondrate
post Mar 21 2012, 11:25 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

To Mass Effect 3 players

Hear more on this in April huh?
Spiritviper
post Mar 21 2012, 11:33 PM

77 posts

Just finished my first playthrough.

hahli9
post Mar 22 2012, 05:27 AM

284 posts

Good read, it is essentially a very well detailed explanation of why the indoctrination theory is true.
Kidicarus
post Mar 22 2012, 12:26 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(hahli9 @ Mar 21 2012, 05:22 PM)
The Matrix and Spider-Man was alright to me. The endings fit what the movies were. Though maybe I should watch them again, I watched Matrix when I was a kid and last time it was all, "Explosion! Yay!"

The difference here is you are comparing movies to games. In games, the endings CAN be patched, they can be changed if the developers see a better way to end them. I can't say anything about Star Wars since I haven't watched the initial trilogy recently. And wtf Romeo & Juliet? ME3 was never a love story was it? I can't say I've read Romeo & Juliet so I can't give any more in-depth analysis of the story but seriously, comparing ME to Romeo & Juliet is just nonsense.

And just to answer your initial statement, there is no expectation that ME3 would be a true masterpiece. The thing I said was that ME3 would be a masterpiece if the indoctrination theory were true. Please don't just read a single sentence and throw the rest of my post out the window. There was however an expectation of more than 1 ending with 3 slight differences between them. The developers have always said that the endings would weigh in all your choices from the previous games. That was why you were given the option to import your save files. If in the end, no matter what you did, you'd separate all the races of Mass Effect by destroying all the mass relays then what the hell was the entire of mass effect's plot for? Throughout the whole of ME3, you go uniting all the races. The Turians and the Krogans, the Quarians and the Geth. What was that for? Just to build an army strong enough to get on the crucible? Mass Effect was more than a war against the Reapers, it was Shepard's effect on the galaxy. This human race, an infant of galactic travel, uniting the races to bring about a common cause: Survival through any means. And if that means is the destruction of the Reapers then so be it.

You know, there's a reason they let you unite the Geth and Quarian last. They want that choice to still be in your head when you make the choices at the ending. Knowing that you've united the Geth and Quarian before, why would you choose to destroy? You have single-handedly caused and experienced the unification of an organic and a synthetic race. That Shepard would not argue against the holographic synthetic God starchild is just nonsense. On the brink of death, a God appears before you and tells you that you can throw all you have accomplished away, control what you have sought to destroy and right after you just told TIM that you can't control them, you have to destroy them or unite all synthetic and organic life <- What Reapers have been doing, serving you plates of bio-synthetic death machines made from organics harvested throughout the galaxy.

Sorry, I got sidetracked but to just accept the ending of Mass Effect is like you haven't played the previous games at all. People aren't pissed because they want this game to be god damn bloody brilliant, they are pissed because all of their actions in the games culminates in a select screen at the end. And initially, my post was to incite discussion on the indoctrination theory and suddenly some people take parts of my post out of context and start a pointless argument.
You're already comparing ME to Romeo and Juliet by talking up ME3's potential to be a brilliant literary masterpiece. I don't see why you can't patch book and movie endings. As mentioned earlier, George Lucas seems to enjoy patching his movies, who shot first Han or Greedo? Steven Spielberg replaced his fed's guns with mobile phones. Books can be interactive as well, in the 80s choose your own adventure type game books were all the rage, where if you didn't like the ending you made a different decision.

Also, don't forget that if you don't import, you're forced to either lie to the krogan or you open the universe to a new era of krogan over population and tyranny, and you are forced to make the decision that causes the extinction of either the geth or the quarians. Why can't blowing everything to kingdom come be a viable alternative then? If you make all the right decisions and everyone's holding hands before the final battle, why can't control or synthesis be a suitable ending for people who wanted to make those decisions?

You spend the whole game building the crucible with no idea what it does apart from the fact that it's a weapon. As shepard mentions, you're basically a kid with a loaded gun.. you don't learn anything more about the weapon until the end when the catalyst explains the purpose to you. You basically can't argue because you don't know any better. Why does it have to be a "godchild", can't it be a sophisticated VI that's in charge of running the citadel, or really just a "plot device" to move the story along?

All their decisions from the previous 2 games culminated in the entire 3rd game. The third game is just one long end game of resolving outstanding storylines.

Hey it's a happy ending for the galaxy as well. Irrespective of whether you strand people on alien planets and destroy all means of communication, the fact the stargazer and child are around means that ultimately it all worked out.

Good read, it is essentially a very well detailed explanation of why the indoctrination theory is true.

Force feeding indoctrination theory as fact is no different from what the tin foil hat theorists are doing in this thread http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...hl=moon+landing

To quote Dr. Ray Muzyka:

The journey you undertake in Mass Effect provokes an intense range of highly personal emotions in the player; even so, the passionate reaction of some of our most loyal players to the current endings in Mass Effect 3 is something that has genuinely surprised us.

I really believe that this is the reason we got the endings we got. Because bioware didn't know better.
TSEdison83
post Mar 22 2012, 02:17 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

Maybe something like "Aftermath" DLC.
Currylaksa
post Mar 22 2012, 02:38 PM

1,616 posts

haha biggrin.gif I was wondering the same thing
memphiz_zero88
post Mar 22 2012, 02:44 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

^ dafuq laugh.gif
Currylaksa
post Mar 22 2012, 02:51 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Mar 22 2012, 02:44 PM)
^ dafuq laugh.gif
have you wondered how your 2 squadmates suddenly teleported back to Normandy at the end? rclxub.gif
Kidicarus
post Mar 22 2012, 02:52 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Mar 22 2012, 02:51 PM)
have you wondered how your 2 squadmates suddenly teleported back to Normandy at the end? rclxub.gif
That explains so much rclxms.gif
evolove15
post Mar 22 2012, 02:55 PM

something
687 posts

the same thing happened to me. I romanced Liara on ME3, and during the final battle I brought Liara and Garrus. I kinda regretted that decision cause I thought they were vaporized when Harbinger shot that laser at us...

... then at the final cutscene I was WTF!!?? when I saw both of them came out of Normandy unscathed. Traitors!!
gaeria84
post Mar 22 2012, 02:57 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Mar 22 2012, 02:51 PM)
Space magic. tongue.gif
Grif
post Mar 22 2012, 03:41 PM

378 posts

EDIT: One more.

This post has been edited by Grif: Mar 22 2012, 03:43 PM
memphiz_zero88
post Mar 22 2012, 03:47 PM