Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing
abgkik
Aug 22 2012, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(Stefanov @ Aug 21 2012, 12:06 AM) Dear seniors :
How will you guys gather true site experience? or I just write it myself on my resume?
Or I gather all the work progress for that particular project, and attach for my future use for resume purpose for justification by HR? For true site experience, I will elaborate it together with the Project that I involved. Itemize the project line by line and describe your scope of work for each project. Write on site experience if you have it in your scope of work.. FYI, you need to impress and convince the hiring manager rather than HR as HR sometimes can be sooo stupid. I have hard time to explain '5 Years experience with 2 FPSO projects' is not similar with '5 Years experience with 5 FPSO projects' to HR. They only look into 5 Years experience. This post has been edited by abgkik: Aug 22 2012, 09:26 PM
noruazumi
Aug 22 2012, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(Stefanov @ Aug 21 2012, 12:06 AM) Dear seniors : How will you guys gather true site experience? or I just write it myself on my resume? Or I gather all the work progress for that particular project, and attach for my future use for resume purpose for justification by HR? But IMHO, for fresh start, should concentrate on paperworks and design instead of field works. Get yourself familiar with specifications used in the industry. You don't even have think to read and think while in field jobs sometimes, i fell like i am 'bangla' doing the field jobs. You should join semiconductor & electronics industries. They worked in air-conditioned labs and rooms.
ch_teo
Aug 22 2012, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(mangoman @ Aug 22 2012, 07:48 PM) Agreed with the above comment. Field experience should come first before design. From field experience, you know how things work, how to maintain and operate a certain equipment, then only you know how to design stuffs that are practical, maintenance and operation friendly. I have met a lot of new engineers design platforms without any field experience. As a result, there are a lot of problems occurred during the HUC and operation. For me, it is simple. If you design something, make sure u go to field also to confirm again, what you see in P&ID, pictures and GA drawings do not necessary tell the whole story, there are many things that you will discover when you see it for yourself onsite. It only applies for brown field project.  1 of our clients' mandrel was designed by someone who is only paperworks and lady from china and know nothing about its usage in the field.  i was so disappointed as such reputable company employs such person without field experience and without knowing the actual field usage of the oiltools to design... the drawing dimensions were incorrect and causing torque-up issue, then starting to blame us...lolx! at the end after some investigation, they admitted their wrongs and correct their database drawings... This post has been edited by ch_teo: Aug 22 2012, 10:23 PM
azraeil
Aug 23 2012, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(nash9701 @ Aug 20 2012, 06:51 AM) my friend mentioned to me "Upstream is the one who making money, compare to downstream" but i just think, if there is no downstream at all, what is the purpose of upstream? Just wonder as now Exxonmobil planning to sell some of their downstream business like Esso in PD, Japan TonenGeneral Sekiyu etc. (^__^) A Lot of Oil companies do upstream only because downstream, the margin is small and you really need an integrated organisation to be able to make money downstream. Upstream can just produce the oil and sell it directly in the commodities market. Let other people do the refining etc.
Daily Kaizen
Aug 23 2012, 09:58 AM

QUOTE(yunodie @ Aug 20 2012, 02:59 PM) The Prize by Daniel Yergin Hello yunodie, Thank you very much for your generous recommendation! I've read through the book reviews, and watched a number of videos of Daniel Yergin, what I would say it, awesome insights by awesome author! Can't wait to grab a copy of the book! Thanks again!
Stamp
Aug 23 2012, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(mangoman @ Aug 22 2012, 07:48 PM) Agreed with the above comment. Field experience should come first before design. From field experience, you know how things work, how to maintain and operate a certain equipment, then only you know how to design stuffs that are practical, maintenance and operation friendly. I have met a lot of new engineers design platforms without any field experience. As a result, there are a lot of problems occurred during the HUC and operation. For me, it is simple. If you design something, make sure u go to field also to confirm again, what you see in P&ID, pictures and GA drawings do not necessary tell the whole story, there are many things that you will discover when you see it for yourself onsite. It only applies for brown field project.  from my experience in the engineering consultanc, for any brownfield project, usually the job will not be given to junior engineers. brownfield project is very messy and requires experienced engineers to handle the work.
Stefanov
Aug 23 2012, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(abgkik @ Aug 22 2012, 09:19 PM) For true site experience, I will elaborate it together with the Project that I involved. Itemize the project line by line and describe your scope of work for each project. Write on site experience if you have it in your scope of work.. FYI, you need to impress and convince the hiring manager rather than HR as HR sometimes can be sooo stupid. I have hard time to explain '5 Years experience with 2 FPSO projects' is not similar with '5 Years experience with 5 FPSO projects' to HR. They only look into 5 Years experience. Alright, thanks for this. This clear off my doubts.
azumamaro
Aug 23 2012, 10:35 PM
dear all sifu2.. need to ask sumthing.. currently im working in a manufacturing industry .. next month my working exp will be ngam2 1 year.. after some time of thinking , I've decided to apply for O&G jobs..
basically I wan to apply for "instrument/control engineer".. finding the one for fresh grads or 0 year experience (which is rare >_<) ..
Few things came up in my mind:-
1. my degree is biomedical electronics engineering (basically electronics engineering with biomedical application)... will the word "biomedical" reduce the chance for me in getting the job? probably have to highlight all the electronics subjects in my CV.
2. i have a minor colour blindness (green colour "deficiency" lol). will it hinder my work as instrumentation/control engineer? i heard colour preferences for most of the softwares can be changed.
mangoman
Aug 24 2012, 07:02 AM
QUOTE(Stamp @ Aug 23 2012, 10:03 AM) from my experience in the engineering consultanc, for any brownfield project, usually the job will not be given to junior engineers. brownfield project is very messy and requires experienced engineers to handle the work. You'll be surprised that there are quite many new engineers (from consultant) involved in the brownfield project.
CANONPIXMA
Aug 24 2012, 08:51 AM
Anyone of you heard of GeoEast (M) Sdn Bhd before? I had been invited for the technical test and maybe possible interview for the position of mud logger trainee.
Stamp
Aug 24 2012, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(mangoman @ Aug 24 2012, 07:02 AM) You'll be surprised that there are quite many new engineers (from consultant) involved in the brownfield project.  i was in the o&g consultancy for more than 15 years. during my time leading a brownfield project, junior engineers were assigned only minor works. we relied on senior engineers for the major part of the work. you could screw up a brownfield project if you didnt do it properly. as a matter of fact, sometime clients insisted only senior engineers to be involved in a brownfield project. im not sure about the consultants' present practice as far as assigning work to their engineers for brownfield projects. now im on the client side, i will always insist on senior engineers (from consultants) to work in brownfield projects for the company. This post has been edited by Stamp: Aug 24 2012, 08:59 AM
feekle
Aug 24 2012, 01:20 PM
HSE guy here? would like to ask what us the real definition of confined space? Is it only determined by the height (1.5m or more)?
edriem
Aug 24 2012, 01:48 PM

Salam Jumaat guys ! anyone can give me a list of company that offer graduate program?
petronas, technip, dialog?, shell, slb,
ixus
Aug 24 2012, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(jkl1980 @ Aug 24 2012, 01:43 PM) Hi there, does anyone know which OnG Comp is hiring Fresh Graduate Engineer (Mech)? Searched Jobstreet n some comp website stil cant find any  Try Petronas. Please register urself in discoverpetronas.com
ch_teo
Aug 24 2012, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(feekle @ Aug 24 2012, 01:20 PM) HSE guy here? would like to ask what us the real definition of confined space? Is it only determined by the height (1.5m or more)? Industry Code of Practice for Safe Working in a Confined Space 2010 . Clause 2 Definitions. If one is a M'sia qualified safety officer/NEBOSH/any country qualified safety officer, he/she is really fail if not able to define and evaluate the situation to suit the workplace. the gained qualified safety officer qualifications are just "pay" for "paper".
feekle
Aug 24 2012, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(ch_teo @ Aug 24 2012, 02:46 PM) Industry Code of Practice for Safe Working in a Confined Space 2010 . Clause 2 Definitions. If one is a M'sia qualified safety officer/NEBOSH/any country qualified safety officer, he/she is really fail if not able to define and evaluate the situation to suit the workplace. the gained qualified safety officer qualifications are just "pay" for "paper". The SHO which i encountered define anything deeper than 1.5m is considered a confined space, but when i ask him...if an open space with the size of 100 x 200 (meters) with 2m deep, is it considered confined space? Well..he couldn't answer me..
mieza
Aug 24 2012, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(feekle @ Aug 24 2012, 02:54 PM) The SHO which i encountered define anything deeper than 1.5m is considered a confined space, but when i ask him...if an open space with the size of 100 x 200 (meters) with 2m deep, is it considered confined space? Well..he couldn't answer me.. Haih ask him to read book.. Confined space is any space that is large enough and configured so that an employee can bodily enter and perform assigned work, has limited or restricted means for entry or exit and is not designed for continuous employee occupancy..
ch_teo
Aug 24 2012, 03:21 PM
i straight to the point --> HSE UK and you analyse your case yourself. as an engineer shall be able to analyse. unless again, the "engineer"'s paper is "bought". i can't evaluate for you as i have not seen your case on-site and/or your design. honestly, i am fed up with most of the safety officer in Msia except a few really good ones. better the safety officer pay scale channel to me as need my consult to advise them back. they are specialist and suppose to be very good in their competency. This post has been edited by ch_teo: Aug 24 2012, 03:22 PM
feekle
Aug 24 2012, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(ch_teo @ Aug 24 2012, 03:21 PM) i straight to the point --> HSE UK and you analyse your case yourself. as an engineer shall be able to analyse. unless again, the "engineer"'s paper is "bought". i can't evaluate for you as i have not seen your case on-site and/or your design. honestly, i am fed up with most of the safety officer in Msia except a few really good ones. better the safety officer pay scale channel to me as need my consult to advise them back. they are specialist and suppose to be very good in their competency. well our case..we will be constructing a water detention pond which is part of an oil terminal upgrading project. The pond size is as mentioned earlier. In safety meeting, the SHO brought up about confined space topic & went on explaining the needs to send workers for training, then i went on asking him giving the pond case example which in my opinion is a largely open space also im puzzled how DOSH come out with this requirements, what i mean is, there should be a scientific explanation or maybe size ratio between length, width & depth which define an area to be certified as confined space. The definition is vague IMO. SHO coming from NON-TECHNICAL background is a pain in the ass to deal with. Nuff said. This post has been edited by feekle: Aug 24 2012, 06:48 PM