Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

abgkik
post Aug 24 2012, 10:35 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Aug 24 2012, 02:54 PM)
The SHO which i encountered define anything deeper than 1.5m is considered a confined space, but when i ask him...if an open space with the size of 100 x 200 (meters) with 2m deep, is it considered confined space? Well..he couldn't answer me..
Ha ha..

Added on August 24, 2012, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(edriem @ Aug 24 2012, 01:48 PM)
Salam Jumaat guys ! anyone can give me a list of company that offer graduate program?

petronas, technip, dialog?, shell, slb,
Give a call to company and speak to HR, ask them...
Even now also I call hiring manager to ask if have any vacancy..

This post has been edited by abgkik: Aug 24 2012, 10:40 PM
murthatosai
post Aug 25 2012, 12:59 AM

65 posts

any API certified inspector around here??? wanna ask some question.

planning to get API 510 cert next year. the probem is i got a red green colour blind. is this gonna cause trouble???

unlike NDT or WI, API does not require an eye test as far as i know. does power plant, palm oil processing plant, oil and gas plant allow colour blind person to work inside there???
Elaine Ooi
post Aug 25 2012, 03:50 AM

22 posts

hi guys, do anyone know about Jessen & Jebsen Lurgi company or anyone very work for that company before? I want to know about the workload, income, and career advancement for the mechanical engineering position. It requires to handle the oleochemical process plant.
plplpl
post Aug 25 2012, 08:43 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Aug 24 2012, 08:51 AM)
Anyone of you heard of GeoEast (M) Sdn Bhd before? I had been invited for the technical test and maybe possible interview for the position of mud logger trainee.
I think it's Geoservices dealing with mudlogging services. You can google its website.
hj.pet
post Aug 25 2012, 11:07 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Aug 24 2012, 08:51 AM)
Anyone of you heard of GeoEast (M) Sdn Bhd before? I had been invited for the technical test and maybe possible interview for the position of mud logger trainee.
may i know how did u apply for the post?

QUOTE(plplpl @ Aug 25 2012, 08:43 AM)
I think it's Geoservices dealing with mudlogging services. You can google its website.
from the description of the position posted bg canonpixma, of course it deals with mudlogging services. unfortunately, there is no official website after i googled for it. or did i get it wrong?
CANONPIXMA
post Aug 25 2012, 12:01 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(plplpl @ Aug 25 2012, 08:43 AM)
Yup, its Geoservices and its dealing with mudlogging services. Anyone working here? By reading previous post, it seems like mudlogger is the worst job in an oil rig..

QUOTE(hj.pet @ Aug 25 2012, 11:07 AM)
may i know how did u apply for the post?
from the description of the position posted bg canonpixma, of course it deals with mudlogging services. unfortunately, there is no official website after i googled for it. or did i get it wrong?
I apply thru Schlumberger official website, I suppose. I think they pass my resume to some other company.
The address for the test is:
Geoeast (M) Sdn Bhd
A Schlumberger Company
16th floor, East Wing, Rohas Perkasa,
No. 9, Jalan P. Ramlee,
50250, Kuala Lumpur.
And they also mentioned, "The position offered is Mud Logging Trainee for one of Schlumberger companies - Geoservices".
So, I'm abit confused now rclxub.gif
buncho89
post Aug 25 2012, 04:58 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Aug 25 2012, 12:01 PM)
Yup, its Geoservices and its dealing with mudlogging services. Anyone working here? By reading previous post, it seems like mudlogger is the worst job in an oil rig..
I apply thru Schlumberger official website, I suppose. I think they pass my resume to some other company.
The address for the test is:
Geoeast (M) Sdn Bhd
A Schlumberger Company
16th floor, East Wing, Rohas Perkasa,
No. 9, Jalan P. Ramlee,
50250, Kuala Lumpur.
And they also mentioned, "The position offered is Mud Logging Trainee for one of Schlumberger companies - Geoservices".
So, I'm abit confused now  rclxub.gif
Geoeast is the name of the sdn bhd company but its actually geoservices, the company under slb. Its a good place to start but if u hv a better job offer out there, dont bother with mudlogging haha.
hj.pet
post Aug 25 2012, 06:29 PM

312 posts

oh. no wonder lah. its actually geoservices though. thanks biggrin.gif
ch_teo
post Aug 25 2012, 10:31 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(murthatosai @ Aug 25 2012, 12:59 AM)
any API certified inspector around here??? wanna ask some question.

planning to get API 510 cert next year. the probem is i got a red green colour blind. is this gonna cause trouble???

unlike NDT or WI, API does not require an eye test as far as i know. does  power plant, palm oil processing plant, oil and gas plant allow colour blind person to work inside there???
depends on the nature of your job scope. those chart/graphs reports maybe in color. some plants processing chemicals maybe in colors. so depends on your employer.
also, an auditor may doubt your qualifications in physical examinations. some employers demanding that API 510/570 inspector shall not be color blinded. you may have issue in interpreting NDT results/thermographic charts.
the trick here is your employer/clients (clients may request-check your qualifications/physical examinations) & yourself.

Quote:
ASNT-TC-1A, 2006
8.2 Vision Examinations

8.2.1 Near-Vision Acuity. The examination should ensure natural or corrected near-distance acuity in at least one eye such that the applicant is capable of reading a minimum of Jaeger Number 2 or equivalent type and size letter at the distance designated on the chart but not less than 12 inches (30.5 cm) on a standard Jaeger test chart. The ability to perceive an Ortho-Rater minimum of 8 or similar test pattern is also acceptable. This should be administered annually.

8.2 Color Contrast Differentiation. The examination should demonstrate the capability of distinguishing and differentiating contrast among the colors and shades or gray used in the method as determined by the employer. This should be conducted upon initial certification and at 5-year intervals thereafter.

Added on August 25, 2012, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(feekle @ Aug 24 2012, 06:45 PM)
well our case..we will be constructing a water detention pond which is part of an oil terminal upgrading project. The pond size is as mentioned earlier. In safety meeting, the SHO brought up about confined space topic & went on explaining the needs to send workers for training, then i went on asking him giving the pond case example which in my opinion is a largely open space also im puzzled how DOSH come out with this requirements, what i mean is, there should be a scientific explanation or maybe size ratio between length, width & depth which define an area to be certified as confined space. The definition is vague IMO.
SHO coming from NON-TECHNICAL background is a pain in the ass to deal with. Nuff said.
IMHO, pls ask from DOSH directly. if not categorise as confined space, ask for some letter like "waiver" (may incur certification $) or if yes, then it may incur additional cost (certification like the SHO mentioned, safety features design) in your project which lot of employers do not like.
no accident happen at the water detention pond, then good. if any accident happen (touchwood), then things may become ugly.
LOTO & PTW may come into play too...

am in OCTG operations, not in plant oil terminal, so no idea.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Aug 25 2012, 10:58 PM
alvinkhorfire
post Aug 26 2012, 09:51 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Aug 6 2012, 06:32 PM)
All you need to get into OnG is networking. One does not need a colourful degree but one does need the attitude of always willing to learn and am productive.
@Noyze

Could you share any networking tips for freshies, especially in term of job search? After all, we freshies may not get the chance to mingle with the hiring managers, as they may deem us not worthy enough to interact.

Thanks. notworthy.gif
murthatosai
post Aug 26 2012, 11:21 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Aug 25 2012, 10:31 PM)
depends on the nature of your job scope. those chart/graphs reports maybe in color. some plants processing chemicals maybe in colors. so depends on your employer.
also, an auditor may doubt your qualifications in physical examinations. some employers demanding that API 510/570 inspector shall not be color blinded. you may have issue in interpreting NDT results/thermographic charts.
the trick here is your employer/clients (clients may request-check your qualifications/physical examinations) & yourself.
Quote:
ASNT-TC-1A, 2006
8.2 Vision Examinations

8.2.1 Near-Vision Acuity. The examination should ensure natural or corrected near-distance acuity in at least one eye such that the applicant is capable of reading a minimum of Jaeger Number 2 or equivalent type and size letter at the distance designated on the chart but not less than 12 inches (30.5 cm) on a standard Jaeger test chart. The ability to perceive an Ortho-Rater minimum of 8 or similar test pattern is also acceptable. This should be administered annually.

8.2 Color Contrast Differentiation. The examination should demonstrate the capability of distinguishing and differentiating contrast among the colors and shades or gray used in the method as determined by the employer. This should be conducted upon initial certification and at 5-year intervals thereafter.
thanks for the info. i guess there is not much things to do for a color blind person. being rejected numerous times for this problem. cant work as a soldier,police, bomba, even banks doesnt want CB person. semiconductor also don wan, ndt also difficult. offshore is a no no. don wan to get stuck in my job right now. wanna go further.

do u have any idea how can i improve myself???

now working as a qc for metal fabrication factory. got diploma and ASNT VT & MPI. they never ask for visual test hihihi.
what should i do to go further??
ryanlum
post Aug 26 2012, 03:20 PM

251 posts

are there alot of freelancers in the oil and gas industry?
johnrck99
post Aug 26 2012, 06:24 PM

88 posts

hi forumers,

anyone have any idea how much exxonmobil malaysia pay for instrument& control engineer with 7 years experience?

this is for their engineering and research office.

if you have information like:
- annual leave
- bonus
- increment
- medical benefits
- insurance coverage
- career development/ training
- work environment
any useful info, please share with me.

appreciate your help. many many thanks

tatagal
post Aug 26 2012, 07:38 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(johnrck99 @ Aug 26 2012, 06:24 PM)
hi forumers,

anyone have any idea how much exxonmobil malaysia pay for instrument& control engineer with 7 years experience?

this is for their engineering and research office.

if you have information like:
- annual leave
- bonus
- increment
- medical benefits
- insurance coverage
- career development/ training
- work environment
any useful info, please share with me.
appreciate your help. many many thanks
How much you are being offered / expecting?
CANONPIXMA
post Aug 26 2012, 08:00 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(buncho89 @ Aug 25 2012, 04:58 PM)
Geoeast is the name of the sdn bhd company but its actually geoservices, the company under slb. Its a good place to start but if u hv a better job offer out there, dont bother with mudlogging haha.
Is mudlogging really that bad? haha! actually im not sure whether I should work or continue my master degree in geophysics. Any advice?
johnrck99
post Aug 26 2012, 08:49 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(tatagal @ Aug 26 2012, 07:38 PM)
How much you are being offered / expecting?
R u one the staff there? Can share a bit?

expect more than 15k.
SUSJohnDoe93
post Aug 26 2012, 08:54 PM

58 posts

Hey guys, sorry if this isn't the best place to post this, but since this is where I can find the best people to answer me...

So I've got this interview for admission at UTP coming up, and I've applied to do Petroleum Engineering (undergraduate degree). Obviously at some point they'll ask me why I want to do Petroleum Engineering and all I've got so far is the following:

- I want to be part of something big (energy industry)
- Great job prospects
- Attracted to the idea of extensive travelling
blush.gif

Do you have anything I could add to that? I was planning to say that I've read the opinions of people in the industry (by that I mean this thread and others on Lowyat, but they don't need to know that) as part of my research. Also I'm gonna say UTP grads are in greater demand in the industry (is that true?) and that's why I'm keen on enrolling there. What are your thoughts? smile.gif

This post has been edited by JohnDoe93: Aug 27 2012, 04:11 PM
buncho89
post Aug 26 2012, 09:04 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Aug 26 2012, 08:00 PM)
Is mudlogging really that bad? haha! actually im not sure whether I should work or continue my master degree in geophysics. Any advice?
go further ur studies if you can haha...
CANONPIXMA
post Aug 26 2012, 09:24 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(buncho89 @ Aug 26 2012, 09:04 PM)
go further ur studies if you can haha...
Haha! it seems like everyone telling me the same thing. Haha! smile.gif
plplpl
post Aug 26 2012, 09:31 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Aug 26 2012, 09:24 PM)
Haha! it seems like everyone telling me the same thing. Haha! smile.gif
mudlogging pay is no good...unless you are planning to use it as a stepping stone...however mudlogging gives you a chance to learn all the rig operations.

117 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 >Top

0.0240sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:49 AM