117 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

satz
post Aug 19 2012, 09:45 AM

310 posts

Hello everyone, just wanna ask if there is any internship position for september 2012.. for any ONG or Chemical industries.. Pursuing chemical engineering 3rd year now.. applied so many places buy yet to receive any replies..

Thx. satztg@gmail.com
tatagal
post Aug 19 2012, 09:57 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(Jacobs @ Aug 19 2012, 02:14 AM)
Project management dept. Nope, havent graduate yet, still have one month
i believe rwp should be fine if u plan to venture in ong industry. unless u hv better offer,else should go for it!
Daily Kaizen
post Aug 19 2012, 04:30 PM

208 posts

Hello everyone! smile.gif
I've been reading those threads covering the Oil & Gas industry, first of all, would like to say a BIG THANKS to all of you that have contributed to the thread, the feedback and opinion from all of you really opened my mind and gave me some insights into the Oil & Gas industry.

Coming from a non-technical background, a business degree, as I would like to study and explore more about the Oil & Gas industry, what kind of books/ reading materials that all of you would recommend me to go for? Or any other avenues that enables me to learn more about the industry?

Have been browsing through the Amazon website for some book on Petroleum Economics, and the followings are some books that come out in the top of the lists:

Petroleum Economics: Issues and Strategies of Oil and Natural Gas Production, by Rognvaldur Hannesson
An Introduction to Petroleum Technology, Economics and Politics, by J.G Speight
The Global Oil & Gas Industry: Management, Strategy and Finance, by Andrew Inkpen and Michael H. Moffett
Nontechnical Guide to Petroleum Geology, Exploration, Drilling and Production, by Norman J. Hyne
The Petroleum Industry: A Nontechnical Guide, by Charles F. Conaway

Some of those books, if not all, appear to me as text-book like reading materials, is there any good books out there about the industry that all of you can recommend for laymen?

Thank you! smile.gif
nash9701
post Aug 20 2012, 11:51 AM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

my friend mentioned to me "Upstream is the one who making money, compare to downstream" but i just think, if there is no downstream at all, what is the purpose of upstream? Just wonder as now Exxonmobil planning to sell some of their downstream business like Esso in PD, Japan TonenGeneral Sekiyu etc.

(^__^)

This post has been edited by nash9701: Aug 20 2012, 11:52 AM
yunodie
post Aug 20 2012, 02:59 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(Daily Kaizen @ Aug 19 2012, 04:30 PM)
Hello everyone!  smile.gif
I've been reading those threads covering the Oil & Gas industry, first of all, would like to say a BIG THANKS to all of you that have contributed to the thread, the feedback and opinion from all of you really opened my mind and gave me some insights into the Oil & Gas industry.

Coming from a non-technical background, a business degree, as I would like to study and explore more about the Oil & Gas industry, what kind of books/ reading materials that all of you would recommend me to go for? Or any other avenues that enables me to learn more about the industry?

Have been browsing through the Amazon website for some book on Petroleum Economics, and the followings are some books that come out in the top of the lists:

Petroleum Economics: Issues and Strategies of Oil and Natural Gas Production, by Rognvaldur Hannesson
An Introduction to Petroleum Technology, Economics and Politics, by J.G Speight
The Global Oil & Gas Industry: Management, Strategy and Finance, by Andrew Inkpen and Michael H. Moffett
Nontechnical Guide to Petroleum Geology, Exploration, Drilling and Production, by Norman J. Hyne
The Petroleum Industry: A Nontechnical Guide, by Charles F. Conaway

Some of those books, if not all, appear to me as text-book like reading materials, is there any good books out there about the industry that all of you can recommend for laymen?

Thank you! smile.gif
The Prize by Daniel Yergin
microb
post Aug 20 2012, 03:37 PM

QUOTE(abgkik @ Aug 11 2012, 07:51 PM)
For Mechanical engineering student, BAB will put you under commissioning team, installation team or package engineer team..
As for graduate trainee, your senior/supervisor will ask your help to assist them on hands on work which is at vendor fabrication yard or at Shipyard. This is the fun begin, as most of FPSO project will execute at overseas (Singapore etc), require you to travel to yard.. Working onshore on board the FPSO.. Amount of allowance you will receive is good..
If you under commissioning or installation team, they may require you to go offshore during commissioning and hook up (1 month to 4 months)..
There is no requirement for you to work on OSV..

Working environment in BA is good for entry level if you manage to be it's graduate engineer, you will learn, experience and master your knowledge.. 5-6 years later, if you decide to join other company like SBM, etc, working environment in new company should be easier for you..
does it mean that most of the time a fresh grad will nid to work under the hot sun and tough shipyard environment/ offshore?
how often will there be a chance to work in an office-based environment?
Do u know anything about the bonus and increment for the employee in the company ?

This post has been edited by microb: Aug 20 2012, 05:42 PM
jonuslee
post Aug 20 2012, 03:51 PM

Simple Guy with a Simple Life
1,167 posts

anybody work in schlumberger?does test and sustaining engineer need to travel??
shenshenshen
post Aug 20 2012, 05:10 PM

1,368 posts

Hi there, Selamat Hari Raya to muslims.

Wanna ask about the job prospect of Kencana petroleum Versus Bumi Armada as fresh graduate in electrical design engineer.

Which would be the better?
microb
post Aug 20 2012, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(shenshenshen @ Aug 20 2012, 05:10 PM)

Wanna ask about the job prospect of Kencana petroleum Versus Bumi Armada as fresh graduate in electrical design engineer.

Bumi Armada offers u the position as a fresh electrical engineer? if not mistaken every fresh graduate will be absorbed into their graduate development program 1st.
shenshenshen
post Aug 20 2012, 05:52 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(microb @ Aug 20 2012, 05:44 PM)
Bumi Armada offers u the position as a fresh electrical engineer? if not mistaken every fresh graduate will be absorbed into their graduate development program 1st.
nope, just comparing. According to my friend and IMO, both of these company has almost similar package. just that Bumi Armada offers more on-site exposure then Kencana.

I would like to know if the experience on-site is counted separately or the experience you have in oil and gas field is counted as a whole. Regardless whether its field or in-office experience.

Most larger oil companies only hired personnel with >3 years experience in Oil and Gas Industry.
BillySteel
post Aug 20 2012, 11:53 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(shenshenshen @ Aug 20 2012, 06:52 PM)
nope, just comparing. According to my friend and IMO, both of these company has almost similar package. just that Bumi Armada offers more on-site exposure then Kencana.

I would like to know if the experience on-site is counted separately or the experience you have in oil and gas field is counted as a whole. Regardless whether its field or in-office experience.

Most larger oil companies only hired personnel with >3 years experience in Oil and Gas Industry.

Design engineers I taught are usually office engineers. In kencana if you are located at the yard then you can still gather site experience but through own initiative.
butets
post Aug 21 2012, 12:05 AM

salam eidul fitri...

Hi..anyone here know about easy region?

i got an iv wit them..need some guidance..
Stefanov
post Aug 21 2012, 12:06 AM

400 posts

Dear seniors :

How will you guys gather true site experience?
or I just write it myself on my resume?

Or I gather all the work progress for that particular project,
and attach for my future use for resume purpose for justification by HR?

But IMHO, for fresh start, should concentrate on paperworks and design instead of field works.
Get yourself familiar with specifications used in the industry. You don't even have think to read and think while in field jobs

sometimes, i fell like i am 'bangla' doing the field jobs.

This post has been edited by Stefanov: Aug 21 2012, 12:08 AM
shenshenshen
post Aug 21 2012, 12:52 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Aug 20 2012, 11:53 PM)
Design engineers I taught are usually office engineers. In kencana if you are located at the yard then you can still gather site experience but through own initiative.
ya ya...that's why i mentioned in-office .....

just wanna know if the office experience working for OnG company is counted also as OnG experience as a whole? or do they particularly select ppl with on-site/hands-on experienced personnel
BillySteel
post Aug 21 2012, 02:43 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(Stefanov @ Aug 21 2012, 01:06 AM)
Dear seniors :

But IMHO, for fresh start, should concentrate on paperworks and design instead of field works.
Get yourself familiar with specifications used in the industry. You don't even have think to read and think while in field jobs

How to gather true site experience.....work on site.

I can say this much. Oil and gas is not rocket science thus only those dealing with the unknown (etc: subsea/deepwater/geology/material) are hard obviously while those which are already known by modern technology or has been done before can be obtained by asking the right questions and a little common-sense (experience plays a role here).

All engineers need to familiarize with specs site or not.

Engineer's don't do the bangla job we have bangla's for that field specialists are probably the ones doing the labour.

For me I believe that site experience is the first step because this is the area where experience matters while designing......well already got standards, papers etc... to help and designing always got books to learn from.

As to how they hire site-people I can't say gotta ask the more experience people here.
NearN
post Aug 22 2012, 07:21 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(satz @ Aug 19 2012, 09:45 AM)
Hello everyone, just wanna ask if there is any internship position for september 2012.. for any ONG or Chemical industries.. Pursuing chemical engineering 3rd year now.. applied so many places buy yet to receive any replies..

Thx. satztg@gmail.com
wow..same with my situation,me also currently looking for internship,btw which uNi r u from? smile.gif
mangoman
post Aug 22 2012, 07:48 PM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(Stefanov @ Aug 21 2012, 12:06 AM)
Dear seniors :

Agreed with the above comment. Field experience should come first before design. From field experience, you know how things work, how to maintain and operate a certain equipment, then only you know how to design stuffs that are practical, maintenance and operation friendly.
I have met a lot of new engineers design platforms without any field experience. As a result, there are a lot of problems occurred during the HUC and operation. For me, it is simple. If you design something, make sure u go to field also to confirm again, what you see in P&ID, pictures and GA drawings do not necessary tell the whole story, there are many things that you will discover when you see it for yourself onsite. It only applies for brown field project. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mangoman: Aug 22 2012, 07:50 PM
feekle
post Aug 22 2012, 08:31 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

Dear seniors :

A good engineer is someone who get his hand dirty to understand things..if ur too egoistic about getting dirty or being bangla, skip to other field, i think M;sia had enough number of paperwork engineers already..

This post has been edited by feekle: Aug 22 2012, 08:35 PM
abgkik
post Aug 22 2012, 09:00 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(shenshenshen @ Aug 20 2012, 05:10 PM)

Bumi Armada..
ivanau88
post Aug 22 2012, 09:05 PM

3,777 posts

Dear seniors :

Trust me friend. I started off as an engineer also known as kuli. Was a bitter experience but fruitful after that. If you know what I meant, tat.

117 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:38 AM