Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing
kebulan
Jul 20 2012, 08:12 PM
Hi guys,I got a job offer as Commissioning Engineer at Petrofac. Im just curious about the job scope as CE whether onshore or offshore..I went for the interview but the manager didnt mention clearly about the scope and etc..I just graduated for UM in Chemical Engineering and currently working as Asst Project Eng at an EPCC company as main con for Gas Msia dealing with onshore gas pipeline system,hope u can help me in this..tq
Qirana82
Jul 20 2012, 10:20 PM
selamat menjalani ibadah puasa kepada forumer yg beragama islam...  Added on July 20, 2012, 10:21 pmsharing info.. New Opening Jobs at CHIYODA MALAYSIA SDN. BHD. Permanent Staff:- 1. Senior Project Planner & Scheduler Engineer 2. Business & Development Executive 3. Project Manager Contract Staff. Base at Tanjung Langsat 1. Construction Manager 2. Safety Officer 3. Site Clerk 4. Material Control Contract Staff. Base at Bintulu. 1. Site Supervisor 2. Field Engineer 3. QC Inspector Interested, please write to munahanim@chiyoda.com.my This post has been edited by Qirana82: Jul 20 2012, 10:21 PM
NewbieBetta
Jul 20 2012, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jul 17 2012, 12:47 PM) Let me put things into perspective,as a fresh grad working in the field,you can earn on average 15k/month with one of the big services company.This doesn't includes all the perks like free accomodation,etc... a fresh grad working in consultancy probably earn around 3k-4k/month.The pay for field engineer will also increase based on your experience,a senior field engineer with 2-3 years experience easily rakes in 20 to 25k/month on average. may i know in which service & which company are paying that much?
december88
Jul 20 2012, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jul 20 2012, 10:28 PM) may i know in which service & which company are paying that much? The big 3 offer competitive remuneration. The more days you work on the field the more you will earn. Schlumberger is the top dog, pays good money but you will be owned by them, not many last beyond 3 years especially on wireline. That being said this role is not for everyone which explain their recruitment process.
EquinoX
Jul 21 2012, 12:38 AM
Anyone here know about ACG Marineoil International Sdn Bhd? I mean work environment, pays and etc.
backspace66
Jul 21 2012, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(december88 @ Jul 20 2012, 11:37 PM) The big 3 offer competitive remuneration. The more days you work on the field the more you will earn. Schlumberger is the top dog, pays good money but you will be owned by them, not many last beyond 3 years especially on wireline. That being said this role is not for everyone which explain their recruitment process. i couldn't agree more
mohdyakup
Jul 21 2012, 04:56 AM
QUOTE(Qirana82 @ Jul 20 2012, 10:20 PM) selamat menjalani ibadah puasa kepada forumer yg beragama islam...  Added on July 20, 2012, 10:21 pmsharing info.. New Opening Jobs at CHIYODA MALAYSIA SDN. BHD. Permanent Staff:- 1. Senior Project Planner & Scheduler Engineer 2. Business & Development Executive 3. Project Manager Contract Staff. Base at Tanjung Langsat 1. Construction Manager 2. Safety Officer 3. Site Clerk 4. Material Control Contract Staff. Base at Bintulu. 1. Site Supervisor 2. Field Engineer 3. QC Inspector Interested, please write to munahanim@chiyoda.com.my Chiyoda has a bit unsavoury working environment. Asal tahan jak hahaha  Ramei telah mencabutkan diri kerana tidak tahan
noruazumi
Jul 21 2012, 05:12 AM
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jul 21 2012, 04:56 AM) Chiyoda has a bit unsavoury working environment. Asal tahan jak hahaha  Ramei telah mencabutkan diri kerana tidak tahan  A friend joined a few months back, already been called by HR because he was 10 mins late in the morning for a few times due to unexpected traffic jam caused by accident.
mhyug
Jul 21 2012, 05:17 AM
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jul 21 2012, 04:56 AM) Chiyoda has a bit unsavoury working environment. Asal tahan jak hahaha   Ramei telah mencabutkan diri kerana tidak tahan  you know i think until a person retires, there will always be that next company better then their current work place  call it a change of pace /wind , new challenges etc but us being humans its in our nature and gods law perhaps that we can never be satisfied.(me included) This post has been edited by mhyug: Jul 21 2012, 05:18 AM
mohdyakup
I don't know about Chiyoda KL, but at Chiyoda Btu the environment is not really pleasant. A bit 'chinaman' style of company, and working with some Japanese really make you headache one...
noruazumi
QUOTE(heero yu @ Jul 19 2012, 06:22 PM) Hello, everyone. Curious to know, I have a chronic Hepatitis B carrier and i am about to go for Petronas medical check up as assigned by the company i join (DHI Services). IN my situation, will i be ever to pass the medical check up, since i am chronic carrier? How the medical check-up goes? As far as I know, you will be tested for Hep-B and others. But I am not sure the deciding factor for the doctor to declare you fit or not fit to work offshore. Added on July 21, 2012, 5:20 amQUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 20 2012, 03:47 PM) haih.. trust for this 2 position, require min 10-12 years of experience.. If you have like 7-8 years, prolly you can give it a try. This post has been edited by noruazumi: Jul 21 2012, 05:20 AM
noonies_naruto
Jul 21 2012, 07:49 AM
how common do you see accounting graduates working in O&G?
if there is, which department are they usually assigned to?
I've got seniors who always get sent to oil rigs and spend months there.
But I heard the pay is quite good, on top of that, you don't get to spend any during those months! can save maa!
What are the chances for a fresh accounting graduate in O&G? and usually, what is the starting salary?
abgkik
Jul 21 2012, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jul 21 2012, 07:49 AM) how common do you see accounting graduates working in O&G? if there is, which department are they usually assigned to? I've got seniors who always get sent to oil rigs and spend months there. But I heard the pay is quite good, on top of that, you don't get to spend any during those months! can save maa! What are the chances for a fresh accounting graduate in O&G? and usually, what is the starting salary? thanks accounting will work at Finance and Acc Department ler..
meonkutu11
Jul 21 2012, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(Binyamin @ Jul 20 2012, 07:33 PM) rig crew's are among the highest paid laborers in the world. The highest position would be the driller which you can work your way up from a rough neck or roustabout. I don't know about Malaysia but in NZ the drillers there get about 250K NZD. In low pay sh!t hole Malaysia that is a ticket to a good pay. C'mon! its 1 month on 1 month off. Get over it! If your friend is in Casing and in Malaysia, he is probably in Weatherford. maybe in NZ driller is the highest but in malaysia OIM still the no1 boss on the rig for drilling contractor. most of the time you will only get 4-4 rotation once you get hire direct with the company normally for position AD and above...include maintenance personnel... Normally for post Rousabout,Roughneck,Derrickman,Pumpman supplied from manpower company....
alhakam88
Jul 21 2012, 11:41 PM

Does anyone know where can i make prescribed safety glass for working offshore in KL?
backspace66
Jul 22 2012, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:41 PM) Does anyone know where can i make prescribed safety glass for working offshore in KL? tried the shop at ground floor of wisma (sorry i don't know the actual name of the building),this building is just beside suria KLCC.
mohdyakup
Jul 22 2012, 01:19 AM
Accounting background for O&G can jump in areas such as Project Accountant, Economist, Financial Controller, Analyst, Hydrocarbon Accounting.
In Petronas, ideal subsidiary Co. for finance peoples to join is PETCO, a trading house dealing with oil movement & hydrocarbon accounting analysis
noruazumi
Jul 22 2012, 05:34 AM
QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jul 22 2012, 12:26 AM) tried the shop at ground floor of wisma (sorry i don't know the actual name of the building),this building is just beside suria KLCC. Wisma Sentral?! That's my hangout place. Hehe.
ch_teo
Jul 22 2012, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:41 PM) Does anyone know where can i make prescribed safety glass for working offshore in KL? you can try sungei wang too. but one get what one pay for. some of the coating on the lens quality does not last. start to peel off after certain period.
noruazumi
Jul 22 2012, 11:33 AM
I wear goggle on top of my glass.