Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S

quadcube
post Dec 27 2012, 11:59 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Dec 27 2012, 08:41 AM)
yup. BT as in bit torrent (assuming we use it for legitimate download  laugh.gif )

hmm...so how do u transfer the files in to the SD? u r using a linux/unix/mac machine, correct?

Added on December 27, 2012, 9:19 amcurious, what do u all make use for the GPIO pin? connect to arduino? connect to various sensor?
i transfer using windows,raspberry install samba server..window uses samba natively.final experience: drag and drop biggrin.gif

no idea,but i did some reading,they actually use python to control the pins..able to connect to arduino,sensors,do some googling,full of tutorials
projeremy
post Dec 29 2012, 11:11 PM

14 posts

anyone have any idea on how to set up a Home Automation system into R-Pi which function as a gateway. Newbie here.
ati radeon
post Dec 30 2012, 12:51 AM

454 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Dec 26 2012, 01:52 AM)
yes it can. when i am home, i have the Rpi(running raspbmc) connected to my family's shared folders on their laptops and pc all via wireless network, everything works fine so far.
thanks bro, deleted raspbian wheezy installed xbmc. and yea i get to work it like media center. other than that can it be like a normal linux interface with network functions like ubuntu? (i know pi doesnt support ubuntu now, i would require to setup samba server)

i believe most of us are still very new to these stuffs, if anyone can make a list of OS with their functions would be best. very much appreciated.
totally_skint
post Dec 30 2012, 09:04 AM

1,184 posts

How do I get RaspBMC to output video via composite?
Old CRT TV shows no signal.
C-Fu
post Dec 30 2012, 09:16 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Dec 30 2012, 09:04 AM)
How do I get RaspBMC to output video via composite?
Old CRT TV shows no signal.
old crt got problem lah kot. my composite to vga adapter in lowyat works well enough.
quadcube
post Dec 30 2012, 10:07 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Dec 30 2012, 12:51 AM)
thanks bro, deleted raspbian wheezy installed xbmc. and yea i get to work it like media center. other than that can it be like a normal linux interface with network functions like ubuntu? (i know pi doesnt support ubuntu now, i would require to setup samba server)

i believe most of us are still very new to these stuffs, if anyone can make a list of OS with their functions would be best. very much appreciated.
i'm using wheezy running samba server smile.gif
totally_skint
post Dec 30 2012, 11:46 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Dec 30 2012, 09:16 AM)
old crt got problem lah kot. my composite to vga adapter in lowyat works well enough.
But how did you get signal out via composite (settings or is it auto detect>)
satz
post Dec 30 2012, 11:50 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(projeremy @ Dec 29 2012, 11:11 PM)
anyone have any idea on how to set up a Home Automation system into R-Pi which function as a gateway. Newbie here.
What kind of home automation device ur using..? Or self built..? If self built u gotta play with the gpio pins..
unrealweapon
post Dec 30 2012, 04:58 PM

it's painful.
865 posts

when i linked my pi to company network, i managed to surf the internet without a problem ..

however, i cant access asp.net pages hosted locally. It just would not show.

anyone encountered this problem before ?

projeremy
post Dec 30 2012, 08:37 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(satz @ Dec 30 2012, 11:50 AM)
What kind of home automation device ur using..? Or self built..? If self built u gotta play with the gpio pins..
Home automation using WiFi , ZigBee and Ethernet.
CocoMonGo
post Dec 31 2012, 12:53 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

Dang i think i OC and OV my Raspberry Pi until cacat liau. When i issue "reboot" command it just shutdown but never turn back on. So FYI to all dont OV to 8. OV 6 still ok.
skywardsword
post Jan 1 2013, 11:23 AM

680 posts

Happy New Year Pi users!

For new year, I loaded the latest Raspbmc.

1. Samba works, transfer out of pi is 8-9mb/s, copying files into pi is only 5mb/s - weird... last time I did not note this down. But see below.
2. able to install and run transmission.
3. However during play back of anime 720p for some reason got lag a bit. I wonder whether the *download for pi got messy, since before I was able to stream from my desktop 1080p with data of 8-9mb/s bitrate smoothly.
4. Overclock of 30% overall for all setting works fine too. <did not stress test, just playing videos only>

Anyhow, Raspbmc is still as painless for me to set up and be able to enjoy file sharing, transmission operation + xbmc.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Jan 1 2013, 11:23 AM
pysh
post Jan 1 2013, 07:40 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Dec 30 2012, 11:46 AM)
But how did you get signal out via composite (settings or is it auto detect>)
it should be auto detect.. unlike audio you have an option to change from audio jack or HDMI.
Suspect your TV resolution cannot cope hence giving no signal?
Try plugin to HDMI TV and set resolution to lower ones and try again?

totally_skint
post Jan 1 2013, 09:38 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(pysh @ Jan 1 2013, 07:40 PM)
it should be auto detect.. unlike audio you have an option to change from audio jack or HDMI.
Suspect your TV resolution cannot cope hence giving no signal?
Try plugin to HDMI TV and set resolution to lower ones and try again?
Will try the resolution settings.
Currently set to 900x1600 because it's connected to 20" LCD monitor via DVI.
Does Raspbmc auto detect the monitor's resolution?
I did not set video resolution.
I just installed Raspbmc and it was already set to 900x1600 when I checked video settings.
doraemon2629
post Jan 2 2013, 09:36 PM

38 posts

anyone order at rs-online website other than element 14 website as mentioned?

saw they hv ex- stock
quadcube
post Jan 2 2013, 10:41 PM

1,924 posts

completed the 5v regulator for the pi biggrin.gif
totally_skint
post Jan 3 2013, 12:49 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Jan 2 2013, 10:41 PM)

completed the 5v regulator for the pi biggrin.gif
Nice!

How many amp output?
And how many volts going in?
quadcube
post Jan 3 2013, 10:11 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Jan 3 2013, 12:49 AM)
Nice!

How many amp output?
And how many volts going in?
Amp output 1.5,voltage input from 7-30v,typical 7805 regulator,will tweak it to allow adjustable voltage and more amp but have to do some test first

satz
post Jan 3 2013, 11:23 AM

310 posts

Hello everyone. Finally i have already completed my project.
A wireless counter with web access and database storage.

- 4 threads for counting
- Graph for the counting time
- nginx web access (PHP links to the local sqlite3 database)
- database using sqlite3
- sensor voltages are passed to the pi via a level shifter like board
(Self made)
- ambient temperature almost 40 degrees, 2x 12cm 24V fan is used.

Sensor used :

The board to get readings :

The whole device : (pi inside, 4A psu, sensor board)

Terminal program to read data and safe to database :

Web output :

To view saved data :
intothefantasy
post Jan 3 2013, 11:23 AM

1,561 posts

sifu sekalian, i wanted to ask is it possible for me to install xbian + Raspbmc in the same sd card? possible to choose which to boot? what must i do in order to do so to my sd card?

This post has been edited by intothefantasy: Jan 3 2013, 11:27 AM

142 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:03 PM