Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S

intothefantasy
post Oct 19 2012, 09:56 AM

1,561 posts

tempted to try out this raspberry pi...i would like to know what should i order in order to basically start it out as a noob? do i really need the SD card? and was wondering what is the different between the hdmi cable sold in element 14 compared to our normal hdmi cable? is it a mini hdmi cable from the other end? i mean raspberry using mini hdmi connector instead?

This post has been edited by intothefantasy: Oct 19 2012, 09:57 AM
intothefantasy
post Oct 19 2012, 10:14 AM

1,561 posts

ok so can i confirm my list here just incase any modification can be told here to prevent getting wrong stuff

raspberry pi
http://my.element14.com/raspberry-pi/raspb...12mb/dp/2191863

micro usb power
http://my.element14.com/pro-signal/rpusb1-...1-8m/dp/2115733

SD card (samsung comes with debian)
http://my.element14.com/samsung/raspberry-...-4gb/dp/2113756

hdmi cable 2m
http://my.element14.com/pro-signal/rp007/l...d-2m/dp/2113609

black casing
http://my.element14.com/multicomp/mc-rp001...lack/dp/2113798

with the SD card comes with a debian OS...can i uninstall it and install other OS?

This post has been edited by intothefantasy: Oct 19 2012, 10:15 AM
intothefantasy
post Oct 19 2012, 10:24 AM

1,561 posts

ermm i am ok with the extra hdmi cable since the price is low...but only the sd card cost abit...so this means i can buy any sd card brand outside? the 4gb looks quite small the size...perhaps i can source a bigger size in lowyat then...so the rest of the checklist is ok? the micro usb power should be correct right from what u mention previously
intothefantasy
post Oct 19 2012, 06:25 PM

1,561 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Oct 19 2012, 10:24 AM)
The steps i do.
1. plug ethernet to the pi. insert SDcard that I loaded the eg Xbian distro
2. plug in power micro-usb
3. wait like 20seconds then on my PC connected to same network, run Advance IP scanner to get raspberry pi's IP on the network(required just for first time usually)

4. use putty to ssh into the pi. <by default most distro enables ssh on pi to run on startup>
<at this stage you can run command line stuff, sudo apt-get ....>

5. if you require UltraVNC, then follow all this sos from myraspberrypiexperience- set up on ur Win pc and usually just one time.

Added on October 19, 2012, 10:29 am
recommendation is dont buy those super cheap SD card. this page got horror story of countless SD card not working... to get a picture of what dont work.
I can only attest that my Sandisk ultra mobile class 6 32 gb work very nicely for the past 4-5months.

And it is a reasonable price at 100+    compared to a rip off I received for buying locally at a cellphone shop for 8gb RM$60
u brought is the microsd one right? using the adapter?
intothefantasy
post Jan 3 2013, 11:23 AM

1,561 posts

sifu sekalian, i wanted to ask is it possible for me to install xbian + Raspbmc in the same sd card? possible to choose which to boot? what must i do in order to do so to my sd card?

This post has been edited by intothefantasy: Jan 3 2013, 11:27 AM
intothefantasy
post Jan 3 2013, 07:09 PM

1,561 posts

hmm question..tried this raspberry and seems awesome but it could not detect my 2.5 WD pasport hdd...is it because of not enough power? it is 500gb size....
intothefantasy
post Jan 4 2013, 03:40 PM

1,561 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Jan 4 2013, 08:52 AM)
regarding the wireless adapter would disconnect once a while.... do u manage to root cause the issue?
is it hardware? (wifi adapter/ wifi router), power surge? (i think u r using a battery pack?), software? (RPI is not that powerful, just adequate. or is ur code?), or location? (where u place the router/rpi box)?
how do u connect the RPI? direct into RPI usb slot?
if u direct into RPI slot, u might wanna try to power ur rpi using a 2A USB  port (eg: ipad/tab charger)
hmm u means the ipad charger is the plug head right? that will allow usb to connect to it? if yes i will try it later since i have that

0.0530sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:50 PM