142 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S

n0v1ce
post Dec 6 2012, 10:07 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 5 2012, 09:34 PM)
If you could link me to the file, I'll download the media (720p RMVB) and try to play it for ya and let ya know.
I've got no idea where to download RMVBs from (plus the quality is  sweat.gif ). I prefer MKVs (720p/1080p) and then AVIs (480p/SD). brows.gif
thx but those series were given by my friends .
have you ever try those youtube clips .flv (AVC) or .webm (VP8) ? or HD .avi (XviD) ?
TechnoDude94
post Dec 6 2012, 10:49 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Dec 6 2012, 10:07 AM)
thx but those series were given by my friends .
have you ever try those youtube clips .flv (AVC) or .webm (VP8) ? or HD .avi (XviD) ?
Yes, I've tried the one bolded and highlighted in blue.
Full HD 1080p AVI movie container encoded in Xvid played smoothly without stutter but do note, I downscaled the resolution of XBMC to 720p. But I honestly don't notice the difference between 720p and 1080p on a 42". Or maybe just my eyes... sweat.gif
TechnoDude94
post Dec 6 2012, 10:52 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(aidlover @ Dec 6 2012, 09:34 AM)
any idea where can i find cheap powered usb hubs?
those china powered usb hubs doesnt come with adapter
I'm going to buy one today. Planning to get the Belkin USB 4-Port Powered Desktop Hub.
More expensive but it's powered and it's Belkin. flex.gif It comes with a power cable btw.

This post has been edited by TechnoDude94: Dec 6 2012, 10:52 AM
quadcube
post Dec 6 2012, 11:41 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 6 2012, 10:52 AM)
I'm going to buy one today. Planning to get the Belkin USB 4-Port Powered Desktop Hub.
More expensive but it's powered and it's Belkin. flex.gif It comes with a power cable btw.
Why so rich? :'( I have to even design my own USB hub for power only :'(
quadcube
post Dec 6 2012, 11:42 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(aidlover @ Dec 6 2012, 09:34 AM)
any idea where can i find cheap powered usb hubs?
those china powered usb hubs doesnt come with adapter sad.gif
Walk into lowyat and u will find plenty..or maybe if u lazy,then try eBay,might be cheaper but plus shipping almost the same
n0v1ce
post Dec 6 2012, 11:50 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 6 2012, 10:49 AM)
Yes, I've tried the one bolded and highlighted in blue.
Full HD 1080p AVI movie container encoded in Xvid played smoothly without stutter but do note, I downscaled the resolution of XBMC to 720p. But I honestly don't notice the difference between 720p and 1080p on a 42". Or maybe just my eyes... sweat.gif
ok , thx for the info , meaning Pi is powerful enough to soft decode the 1080p AVI source thumbup.gif
why downscale since your source is full hd ?
wiraone
post Dec 6 2012, 12:28 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Dec 6 2012, 10:00 AM)
I think they cannot handle the number of consumer transactions/requests/support calls ordering the RPi and disrupt their normal operations that usually handle biz users or few electronic hobbyists..
I was told that it's Raspberry policy which doesn't allow them to sell directly to end consumers.

Here is what they wrote to me when they cancelled my earlier order:

"Sorry that now we check so strictly as to follow the regulation of this raspberry pi."

Anyway, just order it under your company name and deliver it to the office lah. That should work.
C-Fu
post Dec 6 2012, 01:48 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Dec 6 2012, 12:28 PM)
Anyway, just order it under your company name and deliver it to the office lah. That should work.
Yep. And there're always people in my office, so parcel never gets undelivered.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 6 2012, 01:57 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Dec 6 2012, 11:41 AM)
Why so rich? :'( I have to even design my own USB hub for power only :'(
Lol, I'm a poor kid only mate. I've got no idea how to design my own USB hub.
And my soldering skills are pretty bad to say the least. rolleyes.gif
But you could link me/help me design, I'll really appreciate it and will buy you a cuppa! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Dec 6 2012, 11:50 AM)
ok , thx for the info , meaning Pi is powerful enough to soft decode the 1080p AVI source
why downscale since your source is full hd ?
Yes, RPi is powerful enough for playing AVI-contained movies encoded in Xvid @ FHD 1080p resolution.
However, when you access the menu/OSD/on-screen display while the FHD 1080p (AVI/Xvid) movie is being played, it (movie) will stutter every 5 seconds.

The reason I downscale to HD-Ready 720p since my source is FHD 1080p is because to play FHD 1080p it's quite processor intensive towards the RPi, causing video stuttering and I hate video stuttering while accessing OSD (to seek/fast forward/rewind/subtitles/audio video settings, etc).

This is a drawback because it's only RM111 of hardware. These are some acceptable trade-offs as expected. Furthermore, I don't notice the difference between FHD 1080p and HD-Ready 720p. When your RPi is running @ HD-Ready 720p @ 60Hz, everything is smooth as butter! brows.gif
edex
post Dec 6 2012, 02:01 PM

203 posts

just follow this guide http://www.instructables.com/id/Adding-an-...-cheap-USB-hub/
TechnoDude94
post Dec 6 2012, 02:10 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(edex @ Dec 6 2012, 02:01 PM)
Thanks a lot mate! Unfortunately, I don't have the parts required. doh.gif
Will probably go get the parts (Jln. Pasar?) and DIY it though!
alucard89
post Dec 6 2012, 03:00 PM

4,454 posts

Hey guys, what type of remote that works for raspberri?
Rite now I have the HP MCE remote, will this work as simple as plug and play, or do I need to configure it to get it working?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004PXJGXU

Also, what skin works best for xbmc, other than confluence?
n0v1ce
post Dec 6 2012, 03:32 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 6 2012, 01:57 PM)
Yes, RPi is powerful enough for playing AVI-contained movies encoded in Xvid @ FHD 1080p resolution.
However, when you access the menu/OSD/on-screen display while the FHD 1080p (AVI/Xvid) movie is being played, it (movie) will stutter every 5 seconds.

The reason I downscale to HD-Ready 720p since my source is FHD 1080p is because to play FHD 1080p it's quite processor intensive towards the RPi, causing video stuttering and I hate video stuttering while accessing OSD (to seek/fast forward/rewind/subtitles/audio video settings, etc).

This is a drawback because it's only RM111 of hardware. These are some acceptable trade-offs as expected. Furthermore, I don't notice the difference between FHD 1080p and HD-Ready 720p. When your RPi is running @ HD-Ready 720p @ 60Hz, everything is smooth as butter! brows.gif
but the source still 1080p right ? so the processing intensity should be still the same for descaling unless you re-encode the 1080p to 720p
quadcube
post Dec 6 2012, 04:17 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 6 2012, 01:57 PM)
Lol, I'm a poor kid only mate. I've got no idea how to design my own USB hub.
And my soldering skills are pretty bad to say the least. rolleyes.gif
But you could link me/help me design, I'll really appreciate it and will buy you a cuppa! biggrin.gif

Haha! I'm gonna build mine this week I think if I have time to go to Jln pasar..will post a pic of it when I'm done
TechnoDude94
post Dec 6 2012, 04:23 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 6 2012, 03:00 PM)
Hey guys, what type of remote that works for raspberri?
Rite now I have the HP MCE remote, will this work as simple as plug and play, or do I need to configure it to get it working?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004PXJGXU

Also, what skin works best for xbmc, other than confluence?
I don't have any remote but you may check RPi verified peripherals here:
http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeripherals#USB_Remotes

As for XBMC skin, I'll definitely recommend xTV SAF. Light and makes me feel at home (ATV).

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Dec 6 2012, 03:32 PM)
but the source still 1080p right ? so the processing intensity should be still the same for descaling unless you re-encode the 1080p to 720p
Yes, the source is FHD 1080p. I'm not sure how the descaling process works but all I did was choose:
Settings, System, Video, Output resolution @ 1280X720p @ 60Hz instead of default 1920X1080p @ 60Hz.
Hope I've helped mate. This is a resolution kick-down and not so much of a video file descale.
Sorry for the confusion mate! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(quadcube @ Dec 6 2012, 04:17 PM)
Haha! I'm gonna build mine this week I think if I have time to go to Jln pasar..will post a pic of it when I'm done
Okies okies, awesome mate! I hate driving to Jln. Pasar, the traffic jam is horrendous and parking is a bit*h to find.
n0v1ce
post Dec 6 2012, 07:14 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 6 2012, 04:23 PM)
Yes, the source is FHD 1080p. I'm not sure how the descaling process works but all I did was choose:
Settings, System, Video, Output resolution @ 1280X720p @ 60Hz instead of default 1920X1080p @ 60Hz.
Hope I've helped mate. This is a resolution kick-down and not so much of a video file descale.
ya , i got u , i was saying you process the same source (1080p in this case) , the only diff is you choose to output in 720p , but decoding wise is still the 1080p file , so i think that is not gonna help in mitigating the processing intensity . unless you re-encode the 1080p to 720p (with lower bitrate) , then your cpu could be relieved by decoding a 720p file rather than 1080p
TechnoDude94
post Dec 6 2012, 07:23 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Dec 6 2012, 07:14 PM)
ya , i got u , i was saying you process the same source (1080p in this case) , the only diff is you choose to output in 720p , but decoding wise is still the 1080p file , so i think that is not gonna help in  mitigating the processing intensity . unless you re-encode the 1080p to 720p (with lower bitrate) , then your cpu could be relieved by decoding a 720p file rather than 1080p
Alright, good to know. Btw, which XBMC package are ya gonna use? OpenElec, Xbian or RaspBMC?
IMO, RaspBMC is the most full featured (biggest footprint too). I'm currently using RaspBMC. icon_rolleyes.gif

Btw, If you find that it stutters there are some tips to 'speed up' your RPi.
Such as disabling thumbnails, RSS feeds, etc.

Anybody here using xTV SAF skin on RaspBMC?
I can't seem to fast forward/rewind by clicking or dragging the slider on the OSD bar. sad.gif
It's as though the slider on the OSD bar isn't click-able or anything... With this, I've to revert back to Confluence skin and it does lag a tad bit. Help guys?
C-Fu
post Dec 6 2012, 08:47 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 6 2012, 07:23 PM)
Alright, good to know. Btw, which XBMC package are ya gonna use? OpenElec, Xbian or RaspBMC?
IMO, RaspBMC is the most full featured (biggest footprint too). I'm currently using RaspBMC. icon_rolleyes.gif

Here is a very short and simple summary of all flavours:

OpenELEC - almost bleeding-edge, fast, for those who want the most recent of XBMC.
RaspBMC - stable, the most active community, most support of hardware
Xbian - very bleeding-edge, always the latest, using nightly builds than stable builds. for those who want the absolute newest features of XBMC. may or may not break hardware with each version. not following GPL since no sourcecode, community not friendly and not supportive.
quadcube
post Dec 6 2012, 09:06 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 6 2012, 04:23 PM)
I don't have any remote but you may check RPi verified peripherals here:
http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeripherals#USB_Remotes

As for XBMC skin, I'll definitely recommend xTV SAF. Light and makes me feel at home (ATV).
Okies okies, awesome mate! I hate driving to Jln. Pasar, the traffic jam is horrendous and parking is a bit*h to find.
Well,I always walk there from times square,haha! Train and walk,save the earth
azrash
post Dec 6 2012, 11:39 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Dec 5 2012, 01:04 PM)
Seems the latest batch sold by element14 are made in China .. the three units just arrived today are all made in China and not UK as of the previous batches.
same here! i thought mine was from UK, i just checked the box and didnt pay much attention to the board itself. i have only noticed when another forumer said that black audio port is made in china. doh.gif

the case from element 14 fits nicely! the board doesnt move at all if you try to shake the case smile.gif

142 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:01 AM