Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S

azrash
post Nov 17 2012, 01:44 AM

1,174 posts

is anyone going to get another one soon? looking to purchase one as well!

Edit: read that they are offering free shipping, nice! no need for a bulk purchase now

This post has been edited by azrash: Nov 17 2012, 01:46 AM
azrash
post Nov 20 2012, 06:07 PM

1,174 posts

they better have stock! lol

going to order one soon. the free delivery offer is only till the end of November ?

the link posted by skywardsword shows for limited time only
azrash
post Nov 26 2012, 03:38 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Nov 26 2012, 01:46 PM)
Mine's been on for several days now since I got it. It runs at temperatures of around 53C on load, which is perfectly fine. panas sikit sikit je.
53C is with the heat sink installed or without? my Rpi just arrived today, can't wait to go back to my home town and start toying around with it.

sorry to ask, but how do you use the bigger heatsink (100mmx100mm) with the Rpi?
azrash
post Nov 26 2012, 11:38 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Nov 26 2012, 04:17 PM)
without. some say you can get as low as 47C with 3 heatsinks. 

as for bigger heatsink, i wouldn't recommend it. a lot of the parts on the board are as high as the chip, and unless you really know what you're doing, i don't think you should. but hey, try lah and tell us biggrin.gif

haha nope, i think the three heatsinks is good enough for me. all i have in mind is just to make the pi as a media player for an old flat screen. and maybe another one as a NAS in the future. love the fact that it is small,cheap and power efficient. can't wait to see what they'll come out with in the future models
azrash
post Nov 29 2012, 11:03 AM

1,174 posts

i have ordered twice during this offer, they wont deduct the 20 straight away in the website. normally they will show the free shipping offer in the invoice emailed to you.

if the item is still processing, just email them and tell that you forgot to put the free freight special instruction. that is what i did when i first ordered my pi and they helped to change it to free freight for me
azrash
post Nov 29 2012, 01:57 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Nov 29 2012, 12:59 PM)
Guess what, I just received an email for the acknowledgement of order and it says amount charged to card is RM111!

Haha, I'm assuming they deducted the shipping fee (RM20) in the acknowledgement of order but didn't show it during the order confirmation when checking out at element14's website. And nope, I didn't put in free freight either as a special instruction.

And, my ETA is tomorrow! Really quick service, order yesterday night and receive a working day after from SG. thumbup.gif
true! they should have just show the free delivery at the website, easier. lol. yeap they are damn fast, i got my Rpi and HDMI cable the following day.

now just waiting for the clear case enclosure to arrive tomorrow! read the reviews that this case is one the best fit for the Rpi . they have just re-stocked the case 14++ left in SG @ RM28.70
http://my.element14.com/jsp/search/product...jsp?SKU=2113799

This post has been edited by azrash: Nov 29 2012, 01:58 PM
azrash
post Nov 29 2012, 07:41 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Nov 29 2012, 03:11 PM)
It looks really nice. I also prefer the clear one over the white or black one.
Will try the Punnet cardboard case for a while first or maybe DIY one out from an old cassette tape like what C-Fu did. flex.gif
this guy made a better layout based on the punnet cardboard case. he tried the punnet case and there were some parts that do not fit nicely, so he improved the layout here http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=6500 just remember to print in actual size.

eh, even c-fu bought the clear one tongue.gif

damn, pi flavours eh, damn nice. definitely a premium case, 22 euro.

This post has been edited by azrash: Nov 29 2012, 07:41 PM
azrash
post Dec 1 2012, 10:38 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Dec 1 2012, 01:12 PM)
Yeap,they came 10 in the morning while I was still in my bed..element14 ETA is next Monday,but I got it today
lucky youuu! i ordered a case and a usb to microusb cable, ordered wednesday after midnight, so technically thursday early morning. eta given was friday, and based on previous shipment, the item would be delivered the following day if you ordered in the morning or before afternoon. but it did not arrive on friday, have to wait for monday, gah. haha now i am out of town and cant use the case till next thursday. thank god for an old cassette case found in the storage room tongue.gif
azrash
post Dec 6 2012, 11:39 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Dec 5 2012, 01:04 PM)
Seems the latest batch sold by element14 are made in China .. the three units just arrived today are all made in China and not UK as of the previous batches.
same here! i thought mine was from UK, i just checked the box and didnt pay much attention to the board itself. i have only noticed when another forumer said that black audio port is made in china. doh.gif

the case from element 14 fits nicely! the board doesnt move at all if you try to shake the case smile.gif
azrash
post Dec 9 2012, 11:05 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Dec 9 2012, 10:42 PM)
We need a smiley for when we burn holes in our pockets. tongue.gif
lol, true. technodude, hopefully you'll get a uk version. but i have read that element14 still produce some in china for asia market and because demand is high
azrash
post Dec 22 2012, 05:34 PM

1,174 posts

@kid.itech
the multicomp cases fit very nicely, i have the clear one and if you try to shake the whole thing, nothing would move. so, pretty good fit
azrash
post Dec 26 2012, 01:52 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Dec 25 2012, 10:28 PM)
just ordered a RPI, clear case with card reader.

i glance through most of the replies, many recommended playing as media center when connected to NAS. can it play through the network shared folder?

im a bio grad, i guess this is as far as i can use the pi. lol
yes it can. when i am home, i have the Rpi(running raspbmc) connected to my family's shared folders on their laptops and pc all via wireless network, everything works fine so far.
azrash
post Jan 6 2013, 09:37 PM

1,174 posts

this is a bit off topic from raspberry pi, but it is regarding Rpi's alternative, the ODROID. it is getting an official nightly from CyanogenMod. not surprising since it is an Exynos based device, but hell. tongue.gif

can refer at the cm dev's G+ posts here https://plus.google.com/115049428938715274412/posts
azrash
post Jan 7 2013, 06:58 PM

1,174 posts

can order from elements14 malaysia
azrash
post Jan 18 2013, 06:46 PM

1,174 posts

both are the licensed manufacturers for Raspberry Pi. they should be the same.

Just check to make sure you are getting the latest revision if you getting the model B. the newer variant has 512MB RAM.
azrash
post Jan 19 2013, 10:04 AM

1,174 posts

thanks c-Fu for sharing, i couldn't find a thread on the changelog of these revision in R-pi official forum. Would you mind sharing such link if there is any?

i will check my board version later smile.gif
azrash
post Jan 6 2014, 02:40 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jan 4 2014, 06:03 PM)
The problem is confusion of ETA. There are 2 ETA, even when I called to element14, the lady was also confused why the system have 9th as ETA and 27th as delivery date. She assure me that it will arrive in 4-5 days so I take her words for it

On the other hand, I've also purchased the Adafruit Pi Box from element14 too. Status is delivered.
4-5 days should be accurate. I ordered mine early last year and it shipped from Singapore. ordered at Monday night and got it on Wednesday. last time they had free shipping, so i added in some usb to micro usb cables as well, they are cheaper than branded ones here.
azrash
post Jan 24 2014, 10:48 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Jan 24 2014, 08:34 PM)
is there some guide/script/process that can auto email an email to my eg hotmail account the current ip address of my dsl modem/router.

So that I can connect via remote transmission to add or remove torrents?

might be better if you use the dynamic dns route. that way you don't have to re setup the IP address everytime. I currently use dynamic dns for my PC as my RPi is only streaming content from the PC.

you can check a guide for dynamic dns for RPi here http://blog.mivia.dk/free-dynamic-dns-for-raspberry-pi/

QUOTE(edmunz @ Jan 24 2014, 08:36 PM)
saw RS Components Malaysia selling at RM111, issit the same thing?
http://malaysia.rs-online.com/web/p/proces...t-kits/7568308/
same thing. bought mine from elements 14 at the same price. both are licensed manufacturers of RPi
azrash
post Jan 30 2014, 11:13 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jan 29 2014, 02:16 AM)
The way I did it, is to set up in my router settings.
1. set a static IP for RPi #1 (I have many RPis at home, and all with different mac addresses... thus different ip settings can be set) like 192.168.1.234 for example
2. set a free dynamic dns on my router itself, like no-ip
3. set port forwarding so if it goes to a particular port, like 12345 it will route it to 192.168.1.234
4. set in xbmc RPi so it accepts the port.

a cleaner method indeed.

what are they used for? different tasks? or streaming device for multiple rooms?
QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Jan 30 2014, 12:14 AM)
Yaloh...i just get rm1000 small form pc for him then

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jan 30 2014, 01:56 AM)
that might be better for him I think. but you should wait a bit more, as there are few manufacturers who are making a motherboard with built in amd cpu + gpu that's really cheap.
iinm asus has amd cpu + gpu that is e450, slightly faster but still very cheap. but yeah, there are a lot of affordable motherboard with built in amd cpu+gpu in one die. you'll save a lot there.

or salvage old PC that you have and install linux. i am doing this for my family's usage. faster than winxp and easier to manage.

This post has been edited by azrash: Jan 30 2014, 11:15 PM
azrash
post Feb 2 2015, 08:12 PM

1,174 posts

anyone looking to buy one from element 14 can get it at the link below

Raspberry Pi 2 - element 14 link

element14 free delivery offer

This post has been edited by azrash: Feb 2 2015, 09:55 PM