127 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

Nokia 808 The New King of Cameraphone!, Available now!!

nicholasbeh
post Jun 10 2012, 08:29 PM

4,518 posts

when I read Andy's comment,I'm actually laughing nonstop.samseng samseng nonstop.Lol.btw, still the same conclusion.Nokia never listen to their customers.especially insist the super handsome guy to be their ceo.
Andy214
post Jun 10 2012, 10:14 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jun 10 2012, 03:35 PM)
I disagree the WP interface is better than Android/iOS. It's smoother but that's because it doesn't render many things, mainly text and rectangular solid colours and bitmaps. Also too many limitations (Zune, no file manager, USB/Bluetooth transfer, no ogg vorbis or mkv support).

If I disable live wallpapers, use black colour wallpaper, limit my homescreen to 1 and widgets to simple ones the performance of Android also on par with WP.

That's why I am more impressed with this 808 Symbian. It doesn't cheat by just rendering rectangles and text. It has non-rectangular widgets and icons but still performs well.
Yup, with Andriod/Symbian, we have choice to keep it simple, or customize it to our liking. There key point here is CHOICE. With iOS/WP, there is no such option, user are forced to accept and live with it. A smartphone being a mobile computing device with phone feature, these restrictions and limitations simply just does not fit or isn't not common/normal. Those are the characteristics of a media player device.

Anyway, for WP UI, it's has the web look and feel, I encounter a bug/error, and it throws a bunch of HTML codes. Then it hit me, it feels exactly like a web based OS, thus the 2D Flat Look and Feel.
Some may like the Metro UI, but I found many people find it plain and dull; While some may like it at first, but slowly they feel it's boring already. I guess for people who prefers simplicity might like it more; Just like some people prefer Matte look over glossy finish on cars, and the Matte look may be interesting for a while but later it will become boring.

Added on June 10, 2012, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 10 2012, 08:29 PM)
when I read Andy's comment,I'm actually laughing nonstop.samseng samseng nonstop.Lol.btw, still the same conclusion.Nokia never listen to their customers.especially insist the super handsome guy to be their ceo.
LoL, my side use it a lot, we have a lot of Samseng kia and Samseng poh =P
Many of them are from Nokia (aka PaiKia; Samseng vs PaiKia, lol)..... some switch to HTC, but now Samseng is gaining lotsa popularity. Most of them used to not liking Samseng brand, but look at Samseng today, very Samseng. =P

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 10 2012, 10:19 PM
emino
post Jun 10 2012, 10:27 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

THIS THREAD IS POISONNN!
LuckyGod
post Jun 10 2012, 10:27 PM

159 posts

@aspire2oo6 when u getting 808? I wan to c ur sample photos biggrin.gif
eaglehelang
post Jun 10 2012, 10:32 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 10 2012, 10:14 PM)

LoL, my side use it a lot, we have a lot of Samseng kia and Samseng poh =P
Many of them are from Nokia (aka PaiKia; Samseng vs PaiKia, lol)..... some switch to HTC, but now Samseng is gaining lotsa popularity. Most of them used to not liking Samseng brand, but look at Samseng today, very Samseng. =P
Haha, Samseng again. Btw, are you planning to get this 808? Or waiting for Rangers?
nicholasbeh
post Jun 10 2012, 10:34 PM

4,518 posts

from the accounting point of view,it's not they cant take off the restrictions,its all about profit.look at android,the first gen galaxy s doenst smooth at all even with 1ghz a8,power vr sgx 540,it supposed to be smooth but its not at all.even monster spec like galaxy s 2 sometime lag n hang as well.if wp take off all of the restrictions,nokia have to place in a better specs like at least dual core or even better specs to make it smooth.hence the profit margin will decrease drastically.nokia always concern about their net profit instead of customer demand like the SE(few years ago).anyway,i have to say again,CEO is the main factor.whenever CEO propose any idea in the meeting room,its easy to get sufficient amount of vote for his idea because CEO in any company always has a team backup him.

the one who dont want support the CEO idea will lose in the office politic so the CEO is always like a dictator in a company although its democracy by voting.(i think that's y Anssi Vanjoki left)

i got to say the root of the Symbian OS itself is very strong,mature(at least there is true multitasking).UI in Belle improved a lot which is competitive.its kinda disappointing/big lost for Elop/nokia abandoning it.
deddo
post Jun 10 2012, 10:35 PM

• D •
743 posts

I'm planning to get red color PureView but when I asked Nokia people (Pavilion and Lowyat), they've no idea when the red is coming. They even said the black and white color are limited per day. Everyday got reserved or sold-out early.
Andy214
post Jun 10 2012, 10:38 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Jun 10 2012, 10:32 PM)
Haha, Samseng again. Btw, are you planning to get this 808? Or waiting for Rangers?
Ranger not getting, they're not pushing 808, fully Lumia as Lumia is now their BREAD and BUTTER. Hence, why the cool treatment on 808, and most probably why it's priced higher than Lumia 900.
Anyway, not Rangers don't just get the units, there is challenge and they will only give out few units for those rangers who won the challenge.

Might be getting the 808, but in dilemma with N9. N9 is nice to use, with good sharing support (which I use mostly - can upload to specific FB album, choosing resolution/quality, removing metadata), and the social integration with FB, Skype... If the PureView comes with MeeGo, that'll be simple awesome, but MeeGo lacks on apps, much more worst than Symbian...

SUSKuLi
post Jun 10 2012, 10:45 PM

You won't like me when I'm angry
1,293 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 10 2012, 10:38 PM)
Ranger not getting, they're not pushing 808, fully Lumia as Lumia is now their BREAD and BUTTER. Hence, why the cool treatment on 808, and most probably why it's priced higher than Lumia 900.
Anyway, not Rangers don't just get the units, there is challenge and they will only give out few units for those rangers who won the challenge.

Might be getting the 808, but in dilemma with N9. N9 is nice to use, with good sharing support (which I use mostly - can upload to specific FB album, choosing resolution/quality, removing metadata), and the social integration with FB, Skype... If the PureView comes with MeeGo, that'll be simple awesome, but MeeGo lacks on apps, much more worst than Symbian...
I'm a fan of Meego as well. Wished Nokia had chosen it rather than windows phone.
nicholasbeh
post Jun 10 2012, 10:46 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 10 2012, 10:45 PM)
I'm a fan of Meego as well. Wished Nokia had chosen it rather than windows phone.
just make it multi platform.every camp fans happy.peace! icon_rolleyes.gif
Andy214
post Jun 10 2012, 10:48 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 10 2012, 10:34 PM)
from the accounting point of view,it's not they cant take off the restrictions,its all about profit.look at android,the first gen galaxy s doenst smooth at all even with 1ghz a8,power vr sgx 540,it supposed to be smooth but its not at all.even monster spec like galaxy s 2 sometime lag n hang as well.if wp take off all of the restrictions,nokia have to place in a better specs like at least dual core or even better specs to make it smooth.hence the profit margin will decrease drastically.nokia always concern about their net profit instead of customer demand like the SE(few years ago).anyway,i have to say again,CEO is the main factor.whenever CEO propose any idea in the meeting room,its easy to get sufficient amount of vote for his idea because CEO in any company always has a team backup him.

the one who dont want support the CEO idea will lose in the office politic so the CEO is always like a dictator in a company although its democracy by voting.(i think that's y Anssi Vanjoki left)

i got to say the root of the Symbian OS itself is very strong,mature(at least there is true multitasking).UI in Belle improved a lot which is competitive.its kinda disappointing/big lost for Elop/nokia abandoning it.
CEO give idea, usually, who dare to go against or vote against? I think the first thing these people need to do is to get out of their comfort chair and take a look at customer's demand and issue they're facing. I mean, how hard is it to not understand the important of bluetooth file transfer. Moreover, this is a long issue SINCE iPhone. Think of the humiliation the user have to suffer when he/she can't do this simple thing.
And talk about Smoke by Windows Phone, how about challenging who is faster to send file to another phone? WP will need to upload to SkyDrive or send through email, and then the other phone will need to go and download it from email or SkyDrive. Just how stewpid is that? Isn't this obvious enough, how come they cannot see it and still didn't implement such simple feature to user? Smartphone is suppose to make user life more convenient, moreover, WP motto "Putting People First". Whatever happen to that?
I just can say, I'm very glad the 808 PureView is NOT using WP. I believe many Symbian owners (especially N8) who still prefer the customization and flexibility are glad with this too, at least they still have a PROPER upgrade for their phone, and at the same time, Nokia able to maintain some of their Symbian customers before they jump to Androids.

QUOTE(deddo @ Jun 10 2012, 10:35 PM)
I'm planning to get red color PureView but when I asked Nokia people (Pavilion and Lowyat), they've no idea when the red is coming. They even said the black and white color are limited per day. Everyday got reserved or sold-out early.
There's no plan for RED color. But Avaxx did mention they're trying to bring it in. Maybe if there's enough demand? Or maybe wait for AP set?

Added on June 10, 2012, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 10 2012, 10:45 PM)
The initial plan was MeeGo as high end device, a league/level higher than smartphone as it's a much more powerful/capable OS than the rest. But then... WP comes in.... and it has to make Nokia to only use WP, I have no idea why, while Samseng, HTC and the rest, who also has WP is also multi-platform and making money from each platform.

Nokia, now relying solely on WP, has to compete with the giant Samseng, HTC and others for WP phones. It's though, unlike Apple, which only they have iOS. Moreover, Samseng is now more popular, they have latest hardware and release fast. An extremely tough competition to Nokia.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 10 2012, 10:53 PM
nicholasbeh
post Jun 10 2012, 10:55 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 10 2012, 10:48 PM)
CEO give idea, usually, who dare to go against or vote against? I think the first thing these people need to do is to get out of their comfort chair and take a look at customer's demand and issue they're facing. I mean, how hard is it to not understand the important of bluetooth file transfer. Moreover, this is a long issue SINCE iPhone. Think of the humiliation the user have to suffer when he/she can't do this simple thing.
And talk about Smoke by Windows Phone, how about challenging who is faster to send file to another phone? WP will need to upload to SkyDrive or send through email, and then the other phone will need to go and download it from email or SkyDrive. Just how stewpid is that? Isn't this obvious enough, how come they cannot see it and still didn't implement such simple feature to user? Smartphone is suppose to make user life more convenient, moreover, WP motto "Putting People First". Whatever happen to that?
I just can say, I'm very glad the 808 PureView is NOT using WP. I believe many Symbian owners (especially N8) who still prefer the customization and flexibility are glad with this too, at least they still have a PROPER upgrade for their phone, and at the same time, Nokia able to maintain some of their Symbian customers before they jump to Androids.
There's no plan for RED color. But Avaxx did mention they're trying to bring it in. Maybe if there's enough demand? Or maybe wait for AP set?
they know the market demand actually,as i said earlier,the main problem of a company is always the CEO.he chased out many nokia top management staff which is meego,symbian supporters n wp haters.there are a lot of examples,one of the example is anssi vanjoki.TBH,pureview camera module in wp is insulting the camera module.y?wp software are fixed(the zoom in zoom out,ND filter,pureview setting wont be available in lumia),the white balance are extremely lousy.

This post has been edited by nicholasbeh: Jun 10 2012, 10:57 PM
andrekua2
post Jun 10 2012, 11:02 PM

13,469 posts

Lately there's so much discussion in Symbian forum about how bad is Symbian or Nokia situation is right now rather than focusing on the phone itself.

I don't see them in the reviews :-P

Oh well, how to improve.

faizalmzain
post Jun 10 2012, 11:21 PM

1,416 posts

WARNING:

pictures heavy post ahead.

here's the comparison between panasonic GF photo taken last year and pureview at full resolution for each camera.

since the photo from GF2 already went through auto post processing using paint shop pro, so i did the same thing with pureview photo sample.

same object, similar distance and light condition.

GF2 photo sample

pureview sample

unedited photo from pureview

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Jun 10 2012, 11:21 PM
Emo_Boy
post Jun 10 2012, 11:23 PM

★Safe_Trader★
1,808 posts

Official release d?
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 11:40 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 10 2012, 11:21 PM)
WARNING:

pictures heavy post ahead.

here's the comparison between panasonic GF photo taken last year and pureview at full resolution for each camera.

since the photo from GF2 already went through auto post processing using paint shop pro, so i did the same thing with pureview photo sample.

same object, similar distance and light condition.

GF2 photo sample

pureview sample

unedited photo from pureview

abang faizal,
both the 808 pictures just showed char siew pau......

and i can't believe that's the GF2 quality..........

Added on June 10, 2012, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(Emo_Boy @ Jun 10 2012, 11:23 PM)
Official release d?
yes

This post has been edited by feimeng: Jun 10 2012, 11:42 PM
ksking
post Jun 10 2012, 11:44 PM

~The King Of K Song~
910 posts

Pureview 3MP, 1/10 f2.4 iso 50, macro focus, flash off
faizalmzain
post Jun 10 2012, 11:45 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(feimeng @ Jun 10 2012, 11:40 PM)
abang faizal,
both the 808 pictures just showed char siew pau......

and i can't believe that's the GF2 quality..........

Added on June 10, 2012, 11:42 pm

yes
generally GF2 is not good in low light condition. sony nex 3 fared much better in low light condition
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 11:47 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 10 2012, 11:45 PM)
generally GF2 is not good in low light condition. sony nex 3 fared much better in low light condition
ic......
both 808 pictures still showing red X......
faizalmzain
post Jun 10 2012, 11:48 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(feimeng @ Jun 10 2012, 11:47 PM)
ic......
both 808 pictures still showing red X......
maybe it's too large for you?

i can see it just fine here

Added on June 10, 2012, 11:48 pmdirect links for 808 sample

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2452552/2012-06-10-0313.jpg

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2452552/2012-06-10-0313edit.jpg

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Jun 10 2012, 11:48 PM

127 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:10 PM