7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

ronnie
post Jun 12 2012, 10:45 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 12 2012, 04:18 PM)
36 months!! By that time already got 2 newer products and the guy still paying for his obsolete gadget, haha

And if use MBB 2 AMEX at Harvey Norman up to 12 months installment plan still can earn equivalent 2.5% with Treats Points (e.g. RM1000K = RM25) plus up to RM50 cash back on Saturdays or Sundays for single swipe instead of RM10 or RM15 cash voucher with AmBank CC.
Some like to pay for very very looooooooooooooong time.
ronnie
post Jun 14 2012, 10:08 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Jun 14 2012, 10:03 AM)
wanna ask you guys about your experience with Hong leong bank call center.

i had 2 bad experince.
1st time: i called to ask about 1% cash rebate on Essential. that lady confused me with Fortune card.

2nd time: just recently, i caledl to ask the max. credit can be utilised for BT. i even gave her the scenerio where the card is having 100% unutilised credit, no outstanding balance or any transaction. The reply from her is " Sir, i'll have to check with my superior and get back to you.
Me:" how long does it take?"
she: " i'm not very sure, but it will take at least 2~3 working days".
i was speechless.... she can't even answer a very basic question..

maybe mine is just isolated case, what about you guys?
Go add on to the complain in the Hong Leong CC thread...
ronnie
post Jun 14 2012, 01:30 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(otherwise @ Jun 14 2012, 10:17 AM)
I would like to ask your opinion on the option below.

My friend has a credit card debts amounting to RM10k. However, recently his company paid bonus to him around RM13k.

So he is in dilemma should he:                   

a. Pay lumpump the credit card debts; or

b. Get an ASB certificate for RM10k and apply overdraft, the money can use to pay the interest and invest in stock market actively.

My advise to him is to pay lumpusum the credit card debts
Of course option [a]... option [cool.gif may create more debt.
ronnie
post Jun 15 2012, 05:53 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 15 2012, 11:24 AM)
Free starbucks card worth RM10 for any Rm200 purchase at paradigm mall. that means u will get maximum 5% rebate if u spend exactly rm200

http://www.rhb.com.my/Whats_New/cards/coffee/main.html
*Limited to 100 Starbucks card a day. Redemptions must be made on the same day of purchase at RHB Booth Paradigm Mall located at Level G.

ronnie
post Jun 16 2012, 09:24 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Last month, I had to pay my CC bills one day after the Due Date

No Retail Interest Charged
UOB, SCB

Retail Interest Charged
HLB
mad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

So be careful with HLB CC and make sure you pay before or on the Due Date.
I've asked for waiver from their CS.... and they told me to pay the Interest first, wait to be creditted in the next statement doh.gif doh.gif vmad.gif mad.gif
ronnie
post Jun 16 2012, 10:44 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jun 16 2012, 11:10 AM)
I thought the current policy is; you will only be charged interest if you missed the due date by 2 days? Wasn't this implemented by BNM?
Are you sure BNM has this rule for grace period ?
ronnie
post Jun 17 2012, 12:28 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Jun 17 2012, 12:10 AM)
The latest ABM policy is no late fees if payment received/clears after 3 days from due date, which does not necessarily mean the same as no interest charged. As per the example, different banks interpreted the policy differently. Basically if you are not sure, just pay before the due date.

http://www.abm.org.my/upload/Further%20rel...dit%20cards.pdf
At least HLB did not charge Late Fee Charges.... interest and late fees are 2 different charges
ronnie
post Jun 25 2012, 09:37 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 25 2012, 08:29 AM)
HSBC Amanah MPower Visa Platinum Cash Back Credit Card -i

Until end of 2012, the HSBC MPower Platinum Credit Card i earns you 8% cash back for petrol, dining and groceries. But like always, you need to read the terms and conditions.

Click here to read my article titled HSBC Amanah MPower Visa Platinum 8% Cash Back - Is It Really 8%?
We should only spend RM1501 on petrol, dining and groceries on Weekends ONLY, in order to maximise the 8% cash-back

Participating merchants nationwide:
Petrol – Shell, Caltex and Petronas;
Groceries – Giant, Tesco and Carrefour.
Dining – Any spend that are made at local merchants categorised as Dining in the Merchant Category Codes

This post has been edited by ronnie: Jun 25 2012, 09:42 AM
ronnie
post Jun 25 2012, 09:57 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 25 2012, 09:48 AM)
but their maximum cashback card holder can earn is only rm50. that mean 50/1501 = 3.3% only
So smart of HSBC to "cheat" using marketing terms.
ronnie
post Jun 29 2012, 02:45 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Axell @ Jun 29 2012, 10:24 AM)
Which CC had the good benefits for petrol pump purpose? Can give some recommendation?

Looking at Standard Chartered Business Visa Gold Credit Card now...
SCB Business Visa has zero points + 0% rebate for Petrol purchases
ronnie
post Jul 17 2012, 09:47 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(crabbypatty @ Jul 17 2012, 09:32 AM)
Hi guys. I'm trying to understand how the credit card interest rate works.

I'm planning to pay RM3000 with credit card and plan to split then pay back in 2 months; RM1500 each month. Story here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2430650

I'm using the online calculator in bankinginfo.com.my and if I put the interest rate at 15% and current balance at RM1500, the total interest charges is at RM324 and tenure to pay off is 34 months.

So does that mean that my interest charges is only RM 27 (324 / 12) if I were to pay off in the second month?

Never ever swipe more than you can pay shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

You should based the calculation on highest interest of 18% per annum.
Balance outstanding for the next month = [RM1500 + any new swipes] x 1.5% per month
I recommend stop swiping until you paid the 2nd RM1500 part to avoid paying interest on the new swipes.
ronnie
post Jul 17 2012, 12:35 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Jul 17 2012, 10:06 AM)
hi got question about the RHB tesco card..

say everything u swipe got 2xpoint..
i swipe my 1st time yesterday to activate it the bill is RM 19.00 but the receipt only show point earn this visit : 9 point? ( shouldnt it be 19?)
anyone can help?

thanks in advance.
RM19 / 2 = 9.5 ... round down to 9 ClubCard points
Don't know how the extra 1 ClubCard point from Tesco RHB CC works.

The rebate is not true 2%/5% ... be aware.
ronnie
post Jul 22 2012, 11:24 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ Jul 22 2012, 11:03 PM)
Recently I just get employed and is less than a month from start working. I want to know is there any minimum requirement for working duration in order to subscribe credit card?
All I need is GSC Hong Leong only where I spend alot of time watch movie there and hope to get discount.. Gross Income would be over 30k. Any idea?
Instead of Hong Leong GSC, I would recommend Hong Leong MACH Credit Card which offers 10% for Movie tickets (GSC, TGV, MBO, Cineleisure and Cathay)
Details : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2421215
ronnie
post Jul 24 2012, 11:11 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Jul 24 2012, 07:35 PM)
Effective 1 July 2012, enjoy auto Annual Fee Waiver for your RHB Credit Card... brows.gif
All CC should have this feature smile.gif
ronnie
post Aug 9 2012, 11:01 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(j-insigh @ Aug 9 2012, 10:18 AM)
Hey fellow Lyn-ers,

Have some Qs, need guidance here. I have this HLB GSC card, which I had for first year (this year 2nd year but havent been charged Govt charges rm50). My wish to terminate this card before the Govt charges, and I just saw the unbilled statement online, stated Aug they will charge RM50 into my account. Refer below.

[attachmentid=2991615]

Is it possible I just pay my usage, and terminate my card? Or I am stuck as I had used the card for AUG month? Please advice accordingly. I wish to cancel this HLB card immediately.
You should have send the cancellation notice in July 2012 (before GST is charged).
HLB (being a kiasu bank) will insist you pay the RM50 GST. Put a reminder to cancel in July 2013.
ronnie
post Aug 9 2012, 11:10 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(j-insigh @ Aug 9 2012, 11:07 AM)
I just called CS and gt a guy ask me go pay out the unbilled amt minus the RM50. I gonna try and push my luck. smile.gif Kiasu bank, make us users more KIASU! biggrin.gif i am opting for better card than this GSC card.. not very useful for me for past 12 months!
Best of luck !!!

ronnie
post Aug 14 2012, 08:42 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(lee9171 @ Aug 14 2012, 08:34 AM)
Any bro/sis got experince on cash withdrawal using cc?

I withdraw RM5k on July 20 and fully paid by July 23, of course as standard, bank charge me 5% for cash withdrawal, that's fine.

My credit card statement dated Aug 6 received, I saw there are additional charges RM 2.XX for cash withdrawal interest. I called the bank and they inform it's cash advance interest fees with charge at 1.5% per day.

How can I completely stop the daily interest charges? by putting in excess money for cc account? or call the bank to stop it?
The day you withdraw Cash from Credit Card, you will be charged DAILY interest (18% per annum aka 1.5% per month).
If you have cash, why withdraw from CC ?
ronnie
post Aug 14 2012, 08:52 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(lee9171 @ Aug 14 2012, 08:48 AM)
Exceed daily withdrawal limit and bank not open weekend.
blush.gif blink.gif No way the bank is going to waive/offset the interest. That's how they make money.
ronnie
post Aug 14 2012, 09:08 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(lee9171 @ Aug 14 2012, 08:57 AM)
That's I understand but looking forward to see how I can stop the interest...

need to call the bank and ask ady....
What makes you think that the bank stop charging you interest ????
You are getting money from unsecured loan (aka CC)....

If you can pay the CC in advance, might as well you open another CASA at another bank with the money ?
ronnie
post Aug 14 2012, 05:49 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(dig_dug @ Aug 14 2012, 05:21 PM)
at first I am worry but after that he sent me a mail using his ocbc email address only I dare to proceed to sent my details to tat guy.
I didnt request him to pm me, He c i drop some comments asking for the ocbc CC I think....
a bit worry
What's the username.... ?

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0420sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:50 AM