161 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Credit Cards MACH by Hong Leong Bank Credit Card, The card that reflects your Lifestyle

TSjonjack88
post Jul 9 2012, 09:41 PM, updated 10y ago

456 posts

Introducing MACH by HongLeong Bank

The Credit Card that rewards you for being you. Customise your card to match your personality and boost your cashback rewards in 12 different categories from
Movies to Dining.

https://www.machbyhongleong.com/mach-credit-card

Start off with choosing EITHER one of three FREE packages which includes

1. Social
- 10% Cashback on all Movie outlets: GSC, TGV, MBO, Cineleisure and Cathay (MCC 7832)
- 2% Cashback on All bars and nightclubs including: Zouk, Mist, Milk, Movida, Hard Rock Cafe, Red Box, Finnegan's etc. (MCC 5813)
- 3% Cashback on all event tickets bought from AirAsia RedTix, TicketCharge, TicketPro and all Rock Corner outlets

2. TrendSetter
- 2% Cashback on Major Style outlets: Uniqlo, Cotton On, Esprit, Topshop, Topman, Forever 21, Zara, Converse, G2000, Charles & Keith
- 1% Cashback on All tickets & hotels purchased with AirAsia
- 5% Cashback on ALL Dining outlets (MCC 5811, 5812, 5814)

3. Savvy
- 2% Cashback on Health & Fitness: Celebrity Fitness, Fitness Concept, True Fitness, Fitness First, GNC's, Watson's and Guardian
- 3% Cashback on Mobile: DIGI, Celcom & Maxis
- 2% Cashback on Groceries: Giant, Tesco, Cold Storage, and many more (MCC 5411)

Also
3 extra categories to choose from
- 1% Additional Cashback on ALL online purchases
[Example: You can COMBO it when you buy GSC movie tickets Online, giving a total of 11% Cashback]
- 2% Cashback on Tech stuff including: Machines, IT Hypermarket, Epicenter and so much more (MCC 5045 and 5732)
- 2% Casback on Departmental purchases: Parkson, Tangs, Debenhams, M&S, Isetan and Metrojaya

each category is capped at RM100 per quarter per month. meaning if you hit your threshold of RM100 cashback for Dining, you will not be entitled for more cashback the following month till the new quarter starts

Other expenses such as Petrol etc: 0.2% Cashback capped at RM50 per month

ONLY pay RM5 every 3 months to enjoy additional categories of CashBack! here's how the mechanism works:

Scenario 1
Person A took Social Package
Free Categories: Movies, Nightlife and Events
Person A wish to take up Tech and Online
Person A then will ONLY pay RM5 per category to enjoy Cashback on these 2 categories until the quarter ends.
so total fees to pay is only RM10!

Scenario 2
Person B wishes to get ALL categories:
Person B only pays RM5 for all other categories that's not included in the package
so Person B pays RM5 X 9 = RM45 every 3 months to enjoy ALL categories given

Example:
Dining Category. maximum cashback for 3 months is capped at RM100.
July: you spent RM1500 on dining: RM75
August: RM1000 on dining: RM25 cashback, the rest burned
September: RM800 on dining: no cashback as reached the treshold
October: RM900 on dining: RM45 cashback (cycle is renewed)

Cashback period is renewed every 1st day of the new Quarter: 1st of Jan, 1st of April, 1st of July, 1st of Oct
each add-on category is subject to a fee of RM5 for each calendar quarter. the Fee charged will be apportioned for a new cardholder depending on the opening date of the Mach Card account and the same will be rounded to the nearest cent.

Not only that, there's more
If a customer is not sure on what additional categories to take on. he can start off with any these 3 packages.
customer can logon to HongLeongConnect to view their credit card account, and from there they can click whichever categories they would like at anytime.
Whenever you add a new category, the category will only start giving you cashback during the next NEW quarter, same goes to the RM5, which will be charged to the person on the next NEW quarter.
To swap just wait for the next quarter to start over and unclick the previous category, and click on another category the customer prefers before the new quarter starts.

example:
Say you intend to buy a Dell laptop via online but you're not sure when..
so you start of with the Savvy package.
you wish to get 2% Tech and 1% Online to save up on your Dell Laptop on the following quarter,
So you click these 2 packages, no charges until the NEXT new quarter starts. after the new quarter starts, you can then purchase your Dell Laptop with 3% Cashback.

PRO-RATED RM5
The pro-rated RM5 for every new category is only applicable when you applied and MACH card, and you wish to add additional category in the application form.
Example: you took the Savvy Package with add-on Movies category when you applied your MACH Card.

Say the time your card account was succesfully create on the 10th of August.
so currently your card can enjoy the Savvy Package cashback + the Movies cashback.
as for the Movies package, the RM5 will be deducted base on the pro-rate of:

(51/92) X RM5 = RM2.77 (Rough Example)

This will only apply when the person applies the card. thereafter there will be no more pro-rated RM5 as whenever the person wants to add additional category the new category can only receive cash back on the next NEW quarter.

Annual Fee waiver is mentioned in the first page of the application form
here's the criteria quoted from the form:
1st year AF Waiver
Subsequent year annual fee waiver subject to Condition 1 or Condition 2
Condition 1: Min spend per annum RM8,000
Condition 2: Min number of swipes per annum, 12 times

QUALIFYING CRITERIA:

Minimum Gross Income of RM24000 per annual
Income Documents of
1. Mandatory IC
Optional of Either one:
2. EPF 2012 & 2011
3. 3 months of Payslip & Bank Statement
4. Business owners: Borang SSM & Borang B with 2 years in business

To know more visit:

MACH

Terms and Conditions:
https://www.machbyhongleong.com/product-ter...ach-credit-card

ALL comments about this card and feedback are welcome.. after all this is a discussion topic..

MACH Card's dining covers MCC 5811, 5812, & 5814 - source
Excludes - Drinking Places, Bars, Taverns, Cocktail Lounges, Nightclubs and Discotheques (MCC 5813) and those listed below:

! ATTN: No 5% Dining Rebate for The Below Listed Merchants

#
103 Coffee Workshop @ Sri Petaling

A
A Slice of Heaven @ Pavilion
AMPM Café @ USJ21
Ante Kitchen & Bar @ One Utama
Arang F&B SB @ Bayan Lepas

B
BETJEMAN & BARTON @ 1Utama
BOTANICA&CO REST & BAR @ Bangsar South
Brussels Beer Cafe @ Jaya One, Menara Hap Seng
BreadFruits @ Taman Desa
Buddies @ IOI City Mall
Buns and Meat @ Lake Fields

C
Coffee Bean

D
DePastry @ Setapak
Don Kaiten Restaurant @ Klang Parade

E
E&O Penang 1885 Restaurant

F
Fatboy's The Burger Bar @ Bangsar
Four Seasons @ Empire Subang
Franco @ Avenue K KLCC, Mid Valley
Fresco Restaurant @ Jaya Grocer Empire Mall
Fresh Tea Creative @ Butterworth
Frisky Goat Cafe @ TTDI
Frisson Coffee Bar @ Damansara Uptown

G
Gravy Factory

H
Haven Harbour @ Penang
Heartbeans Coffee
Hinz Mama @ Menjalara Cheras

I
Ikea Restaurant Damansara

J
Jack & Co @ Icon City
Juice Works @ 1 Utama

L
Lala Chong Seafood Restaurant
Little Bally Cafe @ SS2
Loong Kee @ Jalan Alor

M
Marche Movenpick @ Pavilion KL
MG's Vegetarian Café @ Damansara Uptown
Miam Miam Sdn Bhd @ Gurney Paragon
Moonlight @ Sri Petaling
Morganfield's @ Mid Valley

N
Nam Heong Kopitiam @ USJ Subang Jaya, Pavilion
Naughty Babe Dirty Duck
Naughty Nuri's
New Orleans @ Genting Highlands

O
Ole Ole Bali
Onde-onde @ Citta Mall

P
Pepper Lunch @ Sunway Pyramid
PULP by Papa Palheta @ Bangsar

R
Ramen Village @ Nu Sentral
Red Kettle @ Taman Desa
Restaurant Peranakan Place @ Nu Sentral

S
S'mores Bar&Restaurant @ Bangsar South
Sarkies Corner (buffet dining) @ Eastern&Oriental Hotel Penang
Six Inch Cafe @ Kepong
Social @ Publika
SOUPER TANG @ 1Utama
Starbucks @ Tesco Kepong Village, Jusco Metro Prima, IPC
Sushi Jiro @ Sunway Pyramid

T
Tai Thong @ Odeon Kepong
Taste Gallery @ Cheras Mahkota
The Bee @ Publika
The Pantry @ Bangsar
The Zun Express @ Mid-Valley
Tous Les Jours @ Empire Subang Jaya

Y
Yeast Cafe @ Mid Valley

This post has been edited by fruitie: Apr 28 2018, 03:41 PM
Human Nature
post Jul 9 2012, 09:47 PM

- student of human nature -
26,517 posts

Wow, very innovative. Cant get to the card using normal HLB website?
TSjonjack88
post Jul 9 2012, 09:51 PM

456 posts

Yeap.

have to access via http://www.machbyhongleong.com

Baru launch today
alexwsk
post Jul 9 2012, 10:02 PM

4,090 posts

smart but cash back too little
Human Nature
post Jul 9 2012, 10:12 PM

26,517 posts

Generation Y has spoken,
and we listened.
You spoke. We listened. This is your bank.
You helped define who we are.

Waiting for review by Gen-X tongue.gif
benkocw
post Jul 9 2012, 11:58 PM

What a good product indeed except for petrol hehe...

bump for your thread bro....

1000% support~! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by benkocw: Jul 10 2012, 12:00 AM
airline
post Jul 10 2012, 01:01 AM

7 stars
7,923 posts

Nice feature but customer service sucks
Have essential card, don't even want to use it

Don't understand why their customer service is terrible for cards and loans

Say will call back but don't
Gen-X
post Jul 10 2012, 01:04 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 9 2012, 10:12 PM)
Waiting for review by Gen-X  tongue.gif
haha, no lah, this one I will skip a full review and do a mini here because it is too complicated rclxub.gif Can pay RM5 to add category some more. Really innovative. First of all there is an annual fee of RM160. And if a guy wants all categories it will cost RM45 every 3 months or RM180 per year. So total fee RM340/year (what a lousy number 340) sweat.gif

For general transactions, the card is just as bad at the card I awarded the Worst CC in Malaysia with 0.2% cash back. So I guess I should award this card the runner up to the worst credit card in Malaysia, hahaha.

And I not sure what jonjack88 meant in his example when he stated "ALL Cashback categories are capped at RM100 per 3 month"? Does this mean per category or total cash back earn FROM all categories is cap at RM100 every 3 months.

Moreover no points are awarded, which means once you hit the cap you earn nothing, who is so free to go keep track on their spending for 3 months? Then again we talking about GenY with Smart phone tongue.gif

Noted the annual income RM24K, this card (and the mach account comes with Personal Loan) all it does it entice GenYs to spend and spend more unnecessary. If you see the entire website of mach by HLB, it's all about spending money!!!

Like my article on titled Life - Pay Now with Credit Cards Earn Later or Save For Retirement , the younger GenYs can choose which way they want to go.

Having said that, the 5% Cashback for Dining and 2% shopping at Uniqlo and Cotton On looks good if the cap is RM100 every 3 months for each category. Say you get the card for dining, with a cap of RM100 every 3 months, that's pretty good because you can spend up to RM2K on food every 3 months to earn maximum cash back; but remember, there is an annual fee of RM160, so once again you are not earning 5% cash back.

But you know what, if the card is Free for the First Year, I might just get the card and earn 5% cash back for dining everyday smile.gif But with RM400 cash back cap per year and less GST I will only get maximum 4.375%.

For the other categories excluding movies, the Free For Life MBB 2 AMEX with 5X TP just as competitive or better. Actually the MBB 2 AMEX "better" at Red Box i.e. buy 3 get 1 free.

Come to think of it, maybe I should go do an article on this card and point out to GenYs that assuming they do earn RM100 every 3 months with cash back of 2.5% (say average), it means they need to spend RM4,000 or RM1,333 per month (on selected category) when they earning RM2-3K/month (if one earns RM3K above, they would have MBB 2 AMEX with OCBC TMC and earn 5% cash back from almost all categories offered by mach except for movies and some fashion outlets).

However for those who have overspend, getting unsecured loan is easy with HLB credit cards- click here to read my article Hong Leong Bank Credit Cards - What Are They Good For?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 6 2013, 04:07 PM
benkocw
post Jul 10 2012, 01:16 AM

This card capping is independent for each category. Per quarter is RM100 per category。

Which means that each category is capped total up cannot exceed RM100 per quater.

If you tick one of the three packages, you already have 3 categories. So total up you have RM300 for the three categories per quarter.

The packages you tick are totally free.

If you want pick additional category, which is outside of your package then only need to pay RM5 for the additional category for a quarterly basis. You may add or change the categories, and even packages by quarterly basis through HL Connect. (It will implemented very soon)

For transaction that outside of the categories you choose, you still can enjoy 0.2% cash back, including oversea transaction. Capping are RM50/month.

Hopes my clarification can makes you all understand a bit. (I'm JonJack88's friend) smile.gif

There is some mistake about my clarification, just change it regarding capping for 0.2%. Hopes it won't confusing you all. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by benkocw: Jul 11 2012, 12:34 AM
Human Nature
post Jul 10 2012, 01:29 AM

26,517 posts

Is there any annual fee waiver for the 1st year?
ronnie
post Jul 10 2012, 07:30 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

As for me I would choose
2. TrendSetter
- 2% Cashback on Major Style outlets: Uniqlo, Cotton On, Esprit, Topshop, Topman, Forever 21, Zara, Converse, G2000, Charles & Keith
- 5% Cashback on ALL Dining outlets
The 5% for Dining can compliment my OCBC Titanium Mastercard.
RM100 per quarter means RM2000 for 3 months of Dining 5% rebate.... quite OK for me.
2% at UniQlo is also a shop I frequent (which doesn't accept AMEX)
Definitely the rest of the 1%-3% rebate not tempting AT ALL.

Let's hope we get first year Annual Fee Waiver + 1-year Free Govt Service Tax

This post has been edited by ronnie: Jul 10 2012, 08:59 AM
ronnie
post Jul 10 2012, 07:38 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

How is calculated as "per quarter" ?
- Based on Calendar Quarter. i.e. "Jan-Mar / Apr-Jun / Jul-Sep / Oct-Dec"
- Each calendar quarter begins on the 1st of Jan, 1st of April, 1st of July, and 1st of Oct respectively.

2. TrendSetter
- 5% Cashback on Major Style outlets: Uniqlo, Cotton On, Esprit, Topshop, Topman, Forever 21, Zara, Converse, G2000, Charles & Keith
- 5% Cashback on ALL Dining outlets

STYLE category is 2% only... please edit accordingly.

Terms & Conditions : https://www.machbyhongleong.com/product-ter...ach-credit-card

This post has been edited by ronnie: Jul 10 2012, 07:43 AM
gerrardling
post Jul 10 2012, 07:44 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

The card benefit is not bad. Annual fee can be waived upon 12 swipes in a year BUT HLB customer service is the thing that stops me from applying this card
ronnie
post Jul 10 2012, 07:48 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jul 10 2012, 07:44 AM)
The card benefit is not bad. Annual fee can be waived upon 12 swipes in a year BUT HLB customer service is the thing that stops me from applying this card
Also never pay late for the statement Due Date or kena Retail Interest Charges (like me, but waived 2x)
ronnie
post Jul 10 2012, 07:55 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

HLB Mach's MCC Code range for Dining and Grocery is smaller compared to OCBC Titianium's

11.The Cash Rebate will be calculated on the 1st of each month (rounded to the nearest Ringgit Malaysia). The cumulated Cash Rebate shall be credited monthly to the Cardholder’s Statement. For the avoidance of doubt, any Cash Rebates due to the Cardholder will be posted in the credit card account and reflected in the Cardholder’s Statement for the particular month. In the event the Cash Rebate due to the Cardholder falls on or after the 1st day of the month, the Cash Rebates will only be reflected in the Cardholder’s Statement in the following month.

Does this mean same system as Maybankard 2 AMEX ?

This post has been edited by ronnie: Jul 10 2012, 08:03 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 10 2012, 08:46 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 10 2012, 07:38 AM)
STYLE category is 2% only... please edit accordingly.

Terms & Conditions : https://www.machbyhongleong.com/product-ter...ach-credit-card
Thanks for highlighting above.

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jul 10 2012, 07:44 AM)
Annual fee can be waived upon 12 swipes in a year BUT HLB customer service is the thing that stops me from applying this card
Bro, where you got this info? I can't seem to find it anywhere in the T&C.

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 10 2012, 07:55 AM)
HLB Mach's MCC Code range for Dining and Grocery is smaller compared to OCBC Titianium's
Bro, you go get this card and start a new thread - Places that Earn 5% for Dining with the mach by HLB smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 10 2012, 08:47 AM
gerrardling
post Jul 10 2012, 09:03 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 10 2012, 08:46 AM)
Bro, where you got this info? I can't seem to find it anywhere in the T&C.
i got it from HLB agent, dont know why it didnt stated in the T&C. For those who want to apply this card, you have to go to either Mid valley or IOI mall puchong to apply for it
ronnie
post Jul 10 2012, 09:05 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jul 10 2012, 09:03 AM)
i got it from HLB agent, dont know why it didnt stated in the T&C. For those who want to apply this card, you have to go to either Mid valley or IOI mall puchong to apply for it
Any other "freebies" ... the 12 swipes for Annual Fee waiver need to be in Black & White to be 100% sure.
HLB Sales Agent (like their CS) is rather unreliable.
gerrardling
post Jul 10 2012, 09:11 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 10 2012, 09:05 AM)
Any other "freebies" ... the 12 swipes for Annual Fee waiver need to be in Black & White to be 100% sure.
HLB Sales Agent (like their CS) is rather unreliable.
so far, never heard of it. Maybe you can go to their special booth setup at IOI and mid valley to check out ?
Human Nature
post Jul 10 2012, 10:02 AM

26,517 posts

This card will be a hit due to the income requirement. Card design and colour is kinda attractive, looks just like Citibank Premier Miles.

161 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0151sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:08 PM