7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

ronnie
post Apr 24 2012, 10:33 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Apr 24 2012, 10:30 AM)
credit card hard to use for retail shopping.

and i aint gonna shop at tesco and giant, their item too expensive,

and using card at place like mcd and kfc during lunch peak hour is real malu. and sometime some smart staff tell us credit card offline, no cards.....

these cashless plastic aint really universal than cash.

and kfc 5% off for cimb credit card also useless when they say credit card offline (i see them take it offline in some case....)

and some merchant see us use credit card muka masam, as credit card merchant fee 2-3% reduce their profit.
If you go to such places, better use cash.... else time to upgrade your "taste"
ronnie
post Apr 25 2012, 09:50 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 24 2012, 09:50 PM)
i might give it a miss coz the complimentary stuffs are all in KL. somemore no spouse for the room also  biggrin.gif but really looks good on paper. just spend 60 mins listening and get all these stuffs.
when attending such "brain-wash talk" ensure you leave after 60mins with the voucher. Stand your ground of not buying anything.
ronnie
post Apr 29 2012, 09:58 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(shawnk @ Apr 29 2012, 06:34 PM)
Wei like that so troublesome... need 3 drivers!
Pump on subsequent days lah.... don't tell me the petrol tank always empty on same day ?
ronnie
post Apr 30 2012, 11:26 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Apr 30 2012, 11:20 PM)
Bring along your partner or friend (if you still single) and say married, they don't check your marriage certificate doh.gif . All they want is just couple share this plan. Because married couple mostly worried about health issue. wub.gif

Beside SCB card holder, this invitation applicable to UOB card holder as well... nod.gif
How to self-invite ?
ronnie
post May 3 2012, 11:55 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ May 3 2012, 11:02 PM)
CIMB offering FPAM member WMC for annual income RM150k. Surprising only need to either mail or fax the form together with IC and name card only. I was wondering how about income proof? How do they know?
What's FPAM ?
ronnie
post May 4 2012, 12:13 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ May 3 2012, 11:56 PM)
Financial Planning Association of Malaysia.
Basically those CFP registered with them.
those in FPAM sure know their finances are strong...else how to plan for people ?
ronnie
post May 7 2012, 10:55 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 7 2012, 10:04 AM)
I dont follow your previous posts but it depends on the hotel which function they use..

For Hotels (usually) they have Pre-Authorisation functions which they use it to "lock/reserve" the amount of credit from ur card for 2 reason, 1 for making sure u have enough money in card and 1 for "room rate + deposit" they add together.
eg. room rate RM200 + RM100 deposit they will do pre-auth RM300.
The receipt will be shown as "Pre Auth" instead of normal "SALE" that u see..

And on the checkout day they will have to do an "Offline Sale" (the correct way) by using the previous receipt transaction number, without the need of your physical card, and the amount will be RM200..
After they done offline sale and settlement at the end of the day, the previously locked RM300 will be released and the real amount RM200 be charged to your card..

However, if some cashier just lazy to do "offline sale" and they ask for your physical card and perform a normal "SALE" then your card will be charged at that amount, and your locked RM300 will still be locked until 7-14 days then only be released..

Hard to understand?
What happen if the PRE-AUTHORISATION amount is insufficient ? Would the cashier need the physical card ?

This post has been edited by ronnie: May 7 2012, 10:55 AM
ronnie
post May 7 2012, 10:59 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 7 2012, 10:57 AM)
What do u mean insufficient?

If your card available limit is RM200 and cashier tried to do pre-auth RM500, it will probably declined.
Then u have to use another card..
Let's say upon check-in the PRE-AUTHORISE RM5,000 to your card.
When check-out, the whole bill is RM7000, does the cashier perform OFFLINE SALES for RM5000 and physical new swipe at RM2500 ?
ronnie
post May 7 2012, 12:48 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Petrol Pre-Authorisation at Shell pump using Maybabnkard 2 AMEX has SMS Transaction Alert.
ronnie
post May 8 2012, 12:50 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 8 2012, 10:05 AM)
I never receive neither... And not all transaction also got SMS either..
Last sunday went to Maxis to pay bill with Amex on the spot receive sms...Then went to dinner but no sms for that.
Did you send in a request to set the Transaction Alert Limit via email for Maybankard 2 AMEX ?
I receive SMS later (after turn on my phone). So far no missing SMS Transaction alert.

This post has been edited by ronnie: May 8 2012, 12:52 PM
ronnie
post May 8 2012, 11:43 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 8 2012, 01:34 PM)
Where to set? I thought that is only for ATM/Online withdrawal limit?
Go read the whole thread for details... or search for ronnie's posting
ronnie
post May 9 2012, 11:11 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Definite Collection @ May 9 2012, 11:08 PM)
hi all.. im having problem with HLB CC currently.. it's giving me so much trouble for 2 weeks.. i wanted to buy online using the CC, but it keep prompt the error that my cc is not registered with verified by visa.. I've keep calling the cc helpdesk, they keep telling me that my phone number already registered.. when i call the last few times, they say, "miss this one time password (OTP) doesnt need much registration" this really annoyed me.. if no need registration, then why i cant use it?
anyone faced the same issue before? really appreciate your help...
Have you registered your Mobile number with HLB ?
ronnie
post May 11 2012, 11:15 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(whyee @ May 11 2012, 11:08 PM)
public bank cards offer 8.88 rebates again.
Do read the T&C : http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/images/tc_save.pdf
ronnie
post May 11 2012, 11:57 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(whyee @ May 11 2012, 11:21 PM)
yeap, lots of t&c. have to meet spending requirements and not guaranteed.

Added on May 11, 2012, 11:25 pmif only the 8.88 becomes permanent feature. then its good.
Tan Sri Teh won't be soooo generous
ronnie
post May 12 2012, 11:12 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

1. The Qualified Cardmember is required to make the minimum payment due on each monthly statement latest by the statement due date in order to enjoy the 0% finance charges.

4. The 0% finance charge offer is applicable to all transactions including cash advances, balance transfers and ZIIP transactions charged to the Qualified Cardmember’s credit card account.

Does that mean we can get 8-month 0% for cash advance ?
Of course you still need to pay the initial Cash Advance Fee, and 5% minimum amount due.

This post has been edited by ronnie: May 12 2012, 11:14 AM
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 11:19 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 23 2012, 11:10 PM)
For those with experience using CC in Australia before, do you need to key in any pin number?
Always mention to select Credit to pay for your product... cos their EDC can select Debit or Credit
ronnie
post Jun 3 2012, 09:13 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Jun 1 2012, 05:35 PM)
hi guys, wanna ask those who are using eon or hong leong bank credit card, do you ever encounter before a situation where it sms you and tell you that you have debited an amount from ur account which is actually not a big amount..

this is my case, i use my card to pump petrol and then after around 10 minutes i receive a sms from 66600 saying that my card no. / transaction no. and the petrol station address/name and i had debited RM200 from my account..

the transaction number and the petrol station address is same as the one i visited and same as the transaction number on the receipt.

but the problem is i pump RM20 only...how on earth it debited RM200 which is 10X more...

guys, anyone encounter or using the same card before?

thanks  smile.gif
This RM200 amount is called pre-authorized amount when swipe at petrol pump. nothing to worry about.
ronnie
post Jun 8 2012, 08:18 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Jun 8 2012, 06:55 PM)
Yes and No. Visa and Mastercard logo yes is a worldwide standards. But no to some reason. For EG, my colleague went to not so famous country, and try to swap he's Maybank Platinum CC. But the salesman/shop refused to swap the CC, coz he doesnt recognised 'Maybank' eventhough with MASTERCARD and Platinum marks on it. This is additional measurement that includes in my criteria, as my job is not only heading to big country but more focusing to LDP (Least Developed Country).
Clearly, the merchant has not travelled enough.... as long as the Visa / Mastercard logo is on the CC, it will work.
ronnie
post Jun 11 2012, 04:18 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(aLpHa-Ev7 @ Jun 11 2012, 04:12 PM)
hi guys,

I have a standing car hire purchase with Hong Leong. On the site, it says i can file an standing monthly payment of the hire purchase to my credit card.

Would there be any charges? Would this charge for the monthly installment be eligible for cash rebate/points?
Why not you call up Hong Leong Bank to confirm this ?
ronnie
post Jun 12 2012, 12:53 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

T&C : http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Promotions/C...CityTCEngBm.pdf

This post has been edited by ronnie: Jun 12 2012, 12:56 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top