• 4" SAMOLED 800X480 curved display
• TouchWiz Gingerbread Android 2.3
• 4.85" X 2.48" X 0.38" form factor
• 1.3MP front, 5MP back camera w/ LED Flash
• 8GB / 16GB internal memory w/ microSD support
• 768MB RAM
• 1500 mAh battery
• Compass (Magnetometer), Proximity, Gyroscope, Accelerometer

Samsung added a new star to its Galaxy universe today, with the release of the Galaxy Advance S. Powered by a 1GHz dual-core CPU, this handset boasts a four-inch, 480 x 800 Super AMOLED display, and packs up to 16GB of memory, along with 768MB of RAM. The device also supports HSPA connections at speeds of up to 14.4Mbps, and boasts a five megapixel rear-facing camera, along with a 1.3 megapixel shooter, up front. As far as software goes, the Advance S will ship with Android 2.3 Gingerbread, plus a full suite of Samsung's apps, available via its Hubs and ChatON services. No word yet on pricing...

Engadget

This post has been edited by phantomash: Jan 31 2012, 09:18 AM
JAYworm
post Jan 30 2012, 09:10 PM

1,131 posts

if the price is same with sony xperia P then i will choose sony biggrin.gif
http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_xperia_p-4436.php
boonwuilow
post Jan 30 2012, 09:20 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

hmm...
i thought galaxy s2 is a replacement for Galaxy S...
danielcmugen
post Jan 30 2012, 09:38 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Jan 30 2012, 09:20 PM)
hmm...
i thought galaxy s2 is a replacement for Galaxy S...
They wanna fill in every single gap in the market
Holyboy27
post Jan 30 2012, 09:41 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 30 2012, 09:38 PM)
Very plausible. Seriously, I thought the Galaxy S plus was the replacement. Then the galaxy W.

I think Samsung's strategy is to have a model for every size. 3.7, qwerty, 4.0, 4.3, 5.0 7.0 8.9 10.1
XeactorZ
post Jan 30 2012, 10:08 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(JAYworm @ Jan 30 2012, 09:10 PM)
if the price is same with sony xperia P then i will choose sony  biggrin.gif
it still rumor yet
and i think this sgs advance should be same price with SGR
cuz spec almost the spec @@
boonwuilow
post Jan 30 2012, 10:12 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 30 2012, 09:38 PM)
and then the phone price will drop again...
ZRong223
post Jan 30 2012, 10:34 PM

864 posts

What the... If this phone will be released in Malaysia, I will kill Samsung for not releasing Galaxy R to Malaysia.
soulseeker6187
post Jan 30 2012, 10:58 PM

2,774 posts

so this one is S+ update?
boonwuilow
post Jan 30 2012, 11:28 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Jan 30 2012, 10:34 PM)
What the... If this phone will be released in Malaysia, I will kill Samsung for not releasing Galaxy R to Malaysia.
hmm...
hard to say...
Samsung Galaxy Xcover haven't reach malaysia yet...
nothing_nth
post Jan 30 2012, 11:54 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

this is ridiculous ... just like... ip3g > ip 3gs...ip4 > ip4s...
save lots of cost in R&D ya?!
Atsutane-Shirane
post Jan 31 2012, 12:34 AM

1,458 posts

The curve similar to Nexus S... The front look still similar to iPhone... doh.gif They should ditch the middle button already...
boonwuilow
post Jan 31 2012, 08:23 AM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Jan 31 2012, 12:34 AM)
The curve similar to Nexus S... The front look still similar to iPhone... doh.gif They should ditch the middle button already...
4 button like other android phone will be nicer...
twhong_91
post Jan 31 2012, 10:07 AM

1,637 posts

Samsung officially reveals Galaxy S Advance

http://www.soyacincau.com/2012/01/31/samsu...nce/#more-19840

alwinnng
post Jan 31 2012, 04:30 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(JAYworm @ Jan 30 2012, 09:10 PM)
if the price is same with sony xperia P then i will choose sony  biggrin.gif
most probably cheaper than sony...
littlepencil
post Jan 31 2012, 05:47 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Jan 30 2012, 08:55 PM)

Samsung Galaxy S Advance GT-i9070

• 1Ghz ST-Ericsson NovaThor U5500 dual core CPU
• 4" SAMOLED 800X480 curved display
• TouchWiz Gingerbread Android 2.3
• 4.85" X 2.48" X 0.38" form factor
• 1.3MP front, 5MP back camera w/ LED Flash
• 8GB / 16GB internal memory w/ microSD support
• 768MB RAM
• 1500 mAh battery
• Compass (Magnetometer), Proximity, Gyroscope, Accelerometer

when will launch?

Added on January 31, 2012, 5:47 pmwhen will launch?

This post has been edited by littlepencil: Jan 31 2012, 05:47 PM
TSphantomash
post Jan 31 2012, 05:51 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(littlepencil @ Jan 31 2012, 05:47 PM)
when will launch?

Added on January 31, 2012, 5:47 pmwhen will launch?
could be February, March, or April laugh.gif

basically no date is announced yet, but that's my guess
Excoldplay
post Jan 31 2012, 09:49 PM

17 posts

Hope can upgrade to 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich
JAYworm
post Feb 1 2012, 12:20 AM

1,131 posts

anyone know what is the gpu using? sgx540 or mali400?

Added on February 2, 2012, 6:48 pm
QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jan 31 2012, 04:30 PM)
most probably cheaper than sony...
lol expected selling at 500+ usd while sony xperia P selling at 300+usd only biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by JAYworm: Feb 2 2012, 06:48 PM
kilsmap
post Mar 7 2012, 11:41 AM

93 posts

got some news...launch date could be mid April, and launching price could be below RM1500...
syin16
post Mar 7 2012, 12:52 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(JAYworm @ Feb 1 2012, 12:20 AM)
anyone know what is the gpu using? sgx540 or mali400?

Added on February 2, 2012, 6:48 pm
lol expected selling at 500+ usd while sony xperia P selling at 300+usd only  biggrin.gif
most probably mali400, but not sure about the configuration, it could either be mali400mp, mp2 or mp4, if the configuration is mp4, definitely worth the price cause expect similar gpu performance to gs2

nova thor

Mali400MP

This post has been edited by syin16: Mar 7 2012, 12:53 PM
ahnee92
post Mar 13 2012, 01:39 PM

Home sweet home
908 posts

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Jan 30 2012, 11:54 PM)
this is ridiculous ... just like... ip3g > ip 3gs...ip4 > ip4s...
save lots of cost in R&D ya?!
thumbup.gif
mar90
post Mar 13 2012, 04:07 PM

340 posts

this is just a galaxy s on dual core and bit more ram. hmm
arm_90
post Mar 30 2012, 08:59 AM

238 posts

haiz... i'm planning to get SGW... if this S Advance coming out soon, should i wait for this phone?? hard to make a choice...
kilsmap
post Mar 30 2012, 08:23 PM

93 posts

better wait for this one la... im suspecting the price could dip below RM1400...
arm_90
post Mar 31 2012, 01:04 AM

238 posts

hurm.... mybe wait for this...
KennyL5
post Apr 7 2012, 12:53 PM

14 posts

just got offer from PBB CC,RM1399 RRP
kilsmap
post Apr 8 2012, 11:56 AM

93 posts

wah...already available? saw in mudah at RM1229... dunno if its true... at melaka summore, too far to check for myself..

This post has been edited by kilsmap: Apr 8 2012, 11:59 AM
annoymous1234
post Apr 8 2012, 01:48 PM

7,617 posts

Damn Samsung! What about s plus? U made it then u ignore it! Now u just add a bit more ram and call it advance. Give us ics! Screw u Samsucks! I hate u!!!

This post has been edited by annoymous1234: Apr 8 2012, 01:50 PM
SUSMatrix
post Apr 8 2012, 04:03 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(arm_90 @ Mar 30 2012, 08:59 AM)
haiz... i'm planning to get SGW... if this S Advance coming out soon, should i wait for this phone?? hard to make a choice...
I think S Plus is more worth it than W. Advance is just like SGS2 with a little less RAM i think. I thought i saw it here already? Maybe AP sets.
adie82
post Apr 9 2012, 01:14 PM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

SenQ got it for RM1299 .For Plus One Member RM50 discount + 3 years warranty

Added on April 9, 2012, 1:15 pmthis fon will receive ICS?

This post has been edited by adie82: Apr 9 2012, 01:15 PM
SUSMatrix
post Apr 9 2012, 01:27 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(adie82 @ Apr 9 2012, 01:14 PM)
SenQ got it for RM1299 .For Plus One Member RM50 discount + 3 years warranty

Added on April 9, 2012, 1:15 pmthis fon will receive ICS?
Don't dream. Anyway, it looks like good buy, maybe buy this for my wife...considering SGW, Nexus One-V and this now.

Hopefully, they've refined this from the SGS2 and reduce all the hanging problems...(fingers crossed).
kilsmap
post Apr 9 2012, 02:02 PM

93 posts

haha...why not...if we are talking 18 months software support from Samsung, it could get ICS...hardware is good and capable...but the price is certainly attractive, can go even below RM1200...
adie82
post Apr 9 2012, 10:02 PM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

if samsung release ICS for this... then maybe can consider this fon coz it comes with mali400..

annoymous1234
post Apr 9 2012, 10:16 PM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ Apr 9 2012, 02:02 PM)
haha...why not...if we are talking 18 months software support from Samsung, it could get ICS...hardware is good and capable...but the price is certainly attractive, can go even below RM1200...
samsung? software support?? HA!!! S plus is less than 18 months and samsucks just throw it in the trash.. the valur pack that they gave us was pointless as there is so many bugs in it
SUSMatrix
post Apr 9 2012, 11:01 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Apr 9 2012, 10:16 PM)
samsung? software support?? HA!!! S plus is less than 18 months and samsucks just throw it in the trash.. the valur pack that they gave us was pointless as there is so many bugs in it
Even if they make ics for it, it's probably full of bugs like the s2 ics. Best thing not to update samsung phone if it's not broken....

syin16
post Apr 12 2012, 01:36 AM

665 posts

anyone know whether the st ericsson nova thor u8500 is open-hardware? if it is, probably gonna gets lots of support due to easiness of datasheet. Anyone can tell me senq wan got nfc or not?
adie82
post Apr 19 2012, 11:48 AM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

http://www.soyacincau.com/2012/04/16/samsu...nced-at-rm1299/
kilsmap
post Apr 27 2012, 01:04 PM

93 posts

now locally available...check ur prices here, here, and here... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
dannygeni
post Apr 27 2012, 04:01 PM

1,804 posts

stock available now..ori . samsung super amoled screen is always Best screen around

This post has been edited by dannygeni: Apr 28 2012, 08:44 AM
Neo|ofGeo
post Apr 28 2012, 10:23 AM

Stop Complaining and Read
3,142 posts

Just bought the Original Set yesterday

Compare with Galaxy W which also bought yesterday

the Samsung Galaxy S Advance is really worth it for its pricetag and specs
wish it around RM1k though
but still no cover and official screen protector in Malaysia in stock yet
kilsmap
post Apr 28 2012, 11:40 AM

93 posts

haha...nice bro...looking forward to get one today...currently seeking for rooting methods, to make sure we can fully utilise this phone early on..
nietz
post Apr 28 2012, 12:14 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Apr 28 2012, 10:23 AM)
Just bought the Original Set yesterday

Compare with Galaxy W which also bought yesterday

the Samsung Galaxy S Advance is really worth it for its pricetag and specs
wish it around RM1k though
but still no cover and official screen protector in Malaysia in stock yet
May i know is 8gb or 16gb ?
Neo|ofGeo
post Apr 28 2012, 12:19 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(nietz @ Apr 28 2012, 12:14 PM)
May i know is 8gb or 16gb ?
its 8GB

nietz
post Apr 28 2012, 12:22 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Apr 28 2012, 12:19 PM)
its 8GB
Oic...okie,thanks...i thought got 16gb..huhu...
Neo|ofGeo
post Apr 28 2012, 12:27 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(nietz @ Apr 28 2012, 12:22 PM)
Oic...okie,thanks...i thought got 16gb..huhu...
i just grab 8GB
beside it support MicroSD slot
why bother?

jack3218
post Apr 29 2012, 09:18 PM

119 posts

so how was it ? everything fine ? Bettery life, gps locking and etc XD !!! and hopefully battery can last more thn 1 day under heavy usage lolz
tehsuam
post Apr 30 2012, 12:12 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Apr 28 2012, 12:27 PM)
i just grab 8GB
beside it support MicroSD slot
why bother?
what is the different with 2GB ROM and 8GB Storage in this phone?
Neo|ofGeo
post Apr 30 2012, 10:14 AM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(tehsuam @ Apr 30 2012, 12:12 AM)
what is the different with 2GB ROM and 8GB Storage in this phone?
i don't know about ROM though
currently using under stock settings
din't dare to root it just yet
beside the cover for the phone still haven't reach malaysia
so does the screen protector

@jack3218
because it have samoled,you can view it fine under lowest brightness settings
so the battery can last up to 16 hour of heavy duty for now
that is music though
not sure about gaming since i don't have time for that just yet

tehsuam
post Apr 30 2012, 01:51 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Apr 30 2012, 10:14 AM)
i don't know about ROM though
currently using under stock settings
din't dare to root it just yet
beside the cover for the phone still haven't reach malaysia
so does the screen protector
@jack3218
because it have samoled,you can view it fine under lowest brightness settings
so the battery can last up to 16 hour of heavy duty for now
that is music though
not sure about gaming since i don't have time for that just yet
i view one at KB Mall.. it show that USB Storage is just 3.9GB, when i ask the seller, he said internal memory is 8GB.. i dont bother to argue..
the device memory is 2GB.. maybe this is the ROM..

the selling price is 1189 for SME unit and less 100 for AP..
adie82
post Apr 30 2012, 02:52 PM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

QUOTE(tehsuam @ Apr 30 2012, 01:51 PM)
i view one at KB Mall.. it show that USB Storage is just 3.9GB, when i ask the seller, he said internal memory is 8GB.. i dont bother to argue..

samsung style always like that...

it separate internal memory into 2 part

let say 4gb for apps and another 4 gb for data/USB storage
4gb for apps are invisible...
jack3218
post Apr 30 2012, 03:41 PM

119 posts

seem like this phone is not popular lolz ... how come !! Phone spec wise and price is ok ~

tehsuam
post Apr 30 2012, 03:45 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ Apr 30 2012, 03:41 PM)
seem like this phone is not popular lolz ... how come !! Phone spec wise and price is ok ~
this phone still new here and Samsung didn't promote it yet (in Malaysia)..
jack3218
post Apr 30 2012, 04:01 PM

119 posts

well i think some1 should create an official tread about this phone XD !!!
kilsmap
post Apr 30 2012, 04:49 PM

93 posts

haha...since not a lot of people have it yet, maybe its best to postpone it...btw, a happy user!! but currently trying to get it rooted... someone? haha...
jack3218
post Apr 30 2012, 06:59 PM

119 posts

lol so fast think about root ? well so far is not in xda forum yet if not mistaken cause no ppl ask for it lol
tehsuam
post Apr 30 2012, 08:55 PM

27 posts

celcom already offer the phone bundle with their packages..
SUSMatrix
post Apr 30 2012, 10:15 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(tehsuam @ Apr 30 2012, 01:51 PM)

This is correct. about 3GB-4GB will go MIA hidden somewhere...all Samsung phones like that. SGS2 only has about 11-12GB despite the specs says 16GB.

Added on April 30, 2012, 10:18 pm
QUOTE(adie82 @ Apr 30 2012, 02:52 PM)
samsung style always like that...

it separate internal memory into 2 part

let say 4gb for apps and another 4 gb for data/USB storage
4gb for apps are invisible...
The 2 part thing is an Android issue...the apps partition max 2GB only. On SGS2. 2GB for apps partition, 10GB or so for 2nd partition and 3GB went MIA...not really sure why. Maybe as internal temp space for the OS to use.

I think on Android 3.2 and above, all becomes one partition already. My Galaxy Tab 7.7 only has 1 partition (Honeycomb 3.2). ICS phones also single partition. Gingerbread and below all has this legacy issue.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Apr 30 2012, 10:18 PM
takashiyert
post May 1 2012, 09:22 AM

650 posts

wishing this set will have ICS ..... since it really capable to trun it... in addtion d S3 seem around d courner
kilsmap
post May 1 2012, 01:33 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ Apr 30 2012, 06:59 PM)
lol so fast think about root ? well so far is not in xda forum yet if not mistaken cause no ppl ask for it lol
haha..actually some people have asked for it...just that this phone is very new, doesn't even have their kernel source released by Samsung yet...Me myself have been working on it, but so far no luck...Keep getting stuck...
kel32
post May 1 2012, 06:05 PM

205 posts

million dollar question is will this GS Advance get update to ICS. It's a new phone with dual core.
jack3218
post May 1 2012, 08:43 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 1 2012, 01:33 PM)
haha..actually some people have asked for it...just that this phone is very new, doesn't even have their kernel source released by Samsung yet...Me myself have been working on it, but so far no luck...Keep getting stuck...
WOW GOOD luk thn XD hope u can somehow root it lolz !!!
bugijun
post May 2 2012, 09:26 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(kel32 @ May 1 2012, 06:05 PM)
million dollar question is will this GS Advance get update to ICS. It's a new phone with dual core.
knowing samsung...its gonna be a longgggg wait...
jack3218
post May 2 2012, 07:22 PM

119 posts

well i dont think so it will have ICS update ...
ipayallan
post May 4 2012, 09:32 AM

20 posts

Satisfied user.. Got it yesterday
t0m_0rRow
post May 4 2012, 01:36 PM

how bout the battery life? i saw tat it's battery capacity is 1500mah which i doubt it can last 4 a day since it's a dual core phone...

This post has been edited by t0m_0rRow: May 4 2012, 01:37 PM
jack3218
post May 4 2012, 04:17 PM

119 posts

ANother satisfied user ? Seem like it doest need to root it at all ... Stock rom is sufficient and problem free lolz
cloudwan
post May 4 2012, 04:45 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 4 2012, 04:17 PM)
ANother satisfied user ? Seem like it doest need to root it at all ... Stock rom is sufficient and problem free lolz
Too early to tell yoo.. Gip a week or more then see how lor.. 1st day buy ofkos seems no problem.. smile.gif
kilsmap
post May 4 2012, 10:58 PM

93 posts

well, the battery life is quite good...i managed to get about 36 hours with a single charge, with moderate usage of internet, 3g always on, gmail sync always on, and some gaming...we might be close to rooting it as well, if someone's willing to be the 'sacrifice goat'...hahahahaha...
dragonkiat
post May 6 2012, 12:50 AM

240 posts

According to Celcom official website , the Galaxy S Advance comes with 16GB . How come ?
SUSMatrix
post May 6 2012, 08:53 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dragonkiat @ May 6 2012, 12:50 AM)
According to Celcom official website , the Galaxy S Advance comes with 16GB . How come ?
I think there are 2 versions?

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9070_gala...dvance-4469.php

Maybe celcom can get the 16GB version from Samsung.
nietz
post May 6 2012, 09:07 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 4 2012, 10:58 PM)
well, the battery life is quite good...i managed to get about 36 hours with a single charge, with moderate usage of internet, 3g always on, gmail sync always on, and some gaming...we might be close to rooting it as well, if someone's willing to be the 'sacrifice goat'...hahahahaha...
Wao....36hour!!...mind to share the screenshot of your battery usage?my sis s2 only manage get 13hour with 3g on,some web browse,some gaming on stock rom blush.gif
kilsmap
post May 6 2012, 11:08 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(nietz @ May 6 2012, 09:07 AM)
Wao....36hour!!...mind to share the screenshot of your battery usage?my sis s2 only manage get 13hour with 3g on,some web browse,some gaming  on stock rom blush.gif
Haha.. That was a few days ago.. Never thought on taking screenshots, so have no proof whatsoever.. But maybe that was my lucky day.. But yesterday i survived until this morning with about 60% battery.. So i figured that this phone's, or maybe my phone's battery was good even though rated at 1500maH..
jack3218
post May 6 2012, 07:58 PM

119 posts

???? why no 1 complain anything about this phone yet ? usually new phone should have problem lolz ..
t0m_0rRow
post May 6 2012, 10:59 PM

got 1 for myself juz now, so far so good~ but i got 1 prob, i can't zoom when using the camera, i tried volume rocker, but it onli controls volume, and i tried 2 pinch, din work 2, is it supposed 2 be lik tis? can any1 help out plz? icon_question.gif
hafizriq
post May 6 2012, 11:12 PM

is this a better buy than the hua wei honor? are they in the same range? price is almost similar.
jack3218
post May 6 2012, 11:14 PM

119 posts

i dont think is in same range.. huawei honour should compare to Galaxy W ...
XeactorZ
post May 6 2012, 11:19 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(hafizriq @ May 6 2012, 11:12 PM)
is this a better buy than the hua wei honor? are they in the same range? price is almost similar.
nope
1 is dual core 1 is single core

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 6 2012, 11:14 PM)
i dont think is in same range.. huawei honour should compare to Galaxy W ...
is honor
hafizriq
post May 6 2012, 11:30 PM

so better to get this phone (s advance) although no confirmed ics update?

This post has been edited by hafizriq: May 6 2012, 11:30 PM
nietz
post May 7 2012, 12:17 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 6 2012, 11:08 AM)
Haha.. That was a few days ago.. Never thought on taking screenshots, so have no proof whatsoever.. But maybe that was my lucky day.. But yesterday i survived until this morning with about 60% battery.. So i figured that this phone's, or maybe my phone's battery was good even though rated at 1500maH..
Oic.i thought got screenshot i can show to her,ask her change to this phone because she keep complain everyday wanna charge batt n fast finish.so i can have her s2 for free...lolz.... rclxms.gif
kilsmap
post May 7 2012, 09:41 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 6 2012, 07:58 PM)
???? why no 1 complain anything about this phone yet ? usually new phone should have problem lolz ..
well, then this phone is a good phone, new and yet got no problems...hahaha...

QUOTE(t0m_0rRow @ May 6 2012, 10:59 PM)
got 1 for myself juz now, so far so good~ but i got 1 prob, i can't zoom when using the camera, i tried volume rocker, but it onli controls volume, and i tried 2 pinch, din work 2, is it supposed 2 be lik tis? can any1 help out plz? icon_question.gif
yeah...after u point out that, now i notice we dont have zoom features...but we still have touch focus...

QUOTE(nietz @ May 7 2012, 12:17 AM)
Oic.i thought got screenshot i can show to her,ask her change to this phone because she keep complain everyday wanna charge batt n fast finish.so i can have her s2 for free...lolz.... rclxms.gif
hahaha...well, if u are using smartphone, u should expect to charge ur phone everyday with heavy usage...
jack3218
post May 7 2012, 04:41 PM

119 posts

seriously ? no zooming for camera ?

kilsmap
post May 8 2012, 06:33 AM

93 posts

Yeah.. Surprisingly.. I don't think anyone expect that.. Btw, root access is coming.. Haha..
ZRong223
post May 8 2012, 06:55 AM

864 posts

Holy. This phone is far better than S2 I9100G, with even cheaper price. Samsung already failed in marketing (in Malaysia only, of course).
Should ask my friends to buy this phone lol~
dfcloud
post May 8 2012, 09:55 AM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

by changing the resolution also cant use zoom? hmm.gif
Maxieos
post May 8 2012, 12:34 PM

3,758 posts

so can it use zoom function ? or the software issue ? tried with other apps ?
you mean pinch zoom ?

anyone know about maxis packages ? it's quite confusing

Hi , i still confuse on the plan packages .
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/android/A...id_Packages.asp
Saw a galaxy S advance on maxis but how much do i need to pay ?
Lets say contract 2 years + value plus 50 ? can I go online ?

confuse with it , I just need to sign the package and pay for a phone price RM 799 only ?
I heard need upfront but maxis website didn't mention anything at all . Thanks
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry51190037
nietz
post May 8 2012, 12:43 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 8 2012, 12:34 PM)
so can it use zoom function ? or the software issue ? tried with other apps ?
you mean pinch zoom ?

anyone know about maxis packages ? it's quite confusing
Value plus 50 is only for talktime n sms.u need to take up data plan 1gb rm48 as bundle if u wan to on9.mean mthly rm50+rm48=rm98+6% tax....103.88
about upfront,not so sure,but any contract plan need pay upfront,end up time u get the device from telco not much diff than buy off at outside phone shop.

This post has been edited by nietz: May 8 2012, 12:44 PM
Maxieos
post May 8 2012, 02:24 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(nietz @ May 8 2012, 12:43 PM)
Value plus 50 is only for talktime n sms.u need to take up data plan 1gb rm48 as bundle if u wan to on9.mean mthly rm50+rm48=rm98+6% tax....103.88
about upfront,not so sure,but any contract plan need pay upfront,end up time u get the device from telco not much diff than buy off at outside phone shop.
but I didn't see any rebate on maxis ... still need to find out more on it.
Any user here having this phone ? is it same as galaxy S ? or better than galaxy W ? I am choosing between both 2.

Important part is camera(zoom+autofocus)+video + can change battery + gaming(fpse) .Anyone having some review ?
azrko
post May 8 2012, 07:24 PM

282 posts

just want to know, this phone support hsdpa+ or not?
syin16
post May 8 2012, 08:37 PM

665 posts

does the malaysian version has nfc and video out?
Maxieos
post May 8 2012, 11:17 PM

3,758 posts

Anyone confirm can this camera zoom ? using other apps ?
Maxieos
post May 9 2012, 11:37 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 8 2012, 11:17 PM)
possible to upgra to to 4.0 ics ?
cloudwan
post May 9 2012, 11:43 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 8 2012, 02:24 PM)
but I didn't see any rebate on maxis ... still need to find out more on it.
Any user here having this phone ? is it same as galaxy S ? or better than galaxy W ? I am choosing between both 2.

Important part is camera(zoom+autofocus)+video + can change battery + gaming(fpse) .Anyone having some review ?
QUOTE(BlogShaFi @ May 9 2012, 12:59 AM)
Apa kelebihan dia berbanding s?
Specification between these:

Galaxy S Advance
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9070_gala...dvance-4469.php

Galaxy W
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_w_i8150-4114.php

Galaxy S
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9000_galaxy_s-3115.php

Basically S Advance trounces them in term of dual core 1ghz cpu (W single core 1.4ghz, S single core 1ghz), 768mb RAM (W & S 512mb only), 1.3mp front camera (W & S 640x480 camera only) smile.gif
jack3218
post May 9 2012, 04:34 PM

119 posts

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1640757 some1 going to start an official forum for S advance ~
hanisbobby
post May 9 2012, 04:52 PM

17 posts

satisfied user here..everything going smooth,no lag experience..this phone is really awesome within it price..compare to SGII,i can said only the camera 8mp vs 5mp brows.gif
kel32
post May 10 2012, 09:57 PM

205 posts

Strong contender to Galaxy S Advance is Sony Xperia U, RM899.
jack3218
post May 10 2012, 10:08 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(kel32 @ May 10 2012, 09:57 PM)
Strong contender to Galaxy S Advance is Sony Xperia U, RM899.
well for me not a big deal ==... Xperial u only have 4gb memory and cant expandable through micro sd, 2nd Battery capacity is way bigger thn Xp U, 3rd Ram capacity is bigger also ( dont forget ICS use more ram space thn GingerBread ), other thn tht Xp U win in ICS ... i cant c how it's a Strong contender to galaxy S advance unless the design i quite like it though ~

This post has been edited by jack3218: May 10 2012, 10:11 PM
kilsmap
post May 11 2012, 11:27 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(syin16 @ May 8 2012, 08:37 PM)
does the malaysian version has nfc and video out?
i dont think malaysian version got NFC...

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 8 2012, 11:17 PM)
yup...confirmed...zoom not working on other camera apps as well, at any resolution...

anyway, if there is any local malaysian devs, we really need root...hahaha... currently stuck... noobs are always noobs without proper guides... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
mell_amir
post May 11 2012, 10:30 PM

17 posts

just survey at maxis..
they give 8gb set only..
i tot can get 16gb version like celcom set..

This post has been edited by mell_amir: May 12 2012, 12:08 AM
Maxieos
post May 13 2012, 06:01 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 11 2012, 11:27 AM)
i dont think malaysian version got NFC...
yup...confirmed...zoom not working on other camera apps as well, at any resolution...

anyway, if there is any local malaysian devs, we really need root...hahaha... currently stuck... noobs are always noobs without proper guides... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
what about autofocus ? camera autofocus when taking a shoot on a close distance ?
About video too , does it auto focus on a close shoot ? I know galaxy S does but does this advance do the same ?

Thanks smile.gif
Cyclone87
post May 13 2012, 08:24 PM

1,254 posts

Hmmm this phone better or galaxy nexus better ? I found few seller in mudah offer me rm1248 for nexus with 18 months warranty.
Maxieos
post May 13 2012, 08:47 PM

3,758 posts

I am still waiting for someone to give some review on camera quality.
How well does it capture picture and autofocus on video ?
jack3218
post May 14 2012, 04:46 PM

119 posts

Any1 gt try install papago ? how was the locking ? Any gps issue like Galaxy S ?
Maxieos
post May 14 2012, 06:03 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 13 2012, 08:47 PM)
No one having this phone yet ? sad.gif sad.gif
ciwek90
post May 14 2012, 06:51 PM

K.O.Y.A
767 posts

how much is this phone?
jack3218
post May 14 2012, 08:01 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(ciwek90 @ May 14 2012, 06:51 PM)
how much is this phone?
in lowyat garage sale i saw ppl selling RM1125

This post has been edited by jack3218: May 14 2012, 08:01 PM
Maxieos
post May 14 2012, 08:01 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 14 2012, 06:03 PM)
No one having this phone yet ?  sad.gif  sad.gif
Still no one will to help out to test ? sad.gif sad.gif
QUOTE(ciwek90 @ May 14 2012, 06:51 PM)
how much is this phone?
RM1299
hanisbobby
post May 14 2012, 08:36 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 13 2012, 08:47 PM)
Camera without zoom but still have autofocus..picture is clear and nice for me

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 14 2012, 04:46 PM)
Any1 gt try install papago ? how was the locking ? Any gps issue like Galaxy S ?
I install papagox5 and it running good

jack3218
post May 14 2012, 08:58 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(hanisbobby @ May 14 2012, 08:36 PM)
mean no gps failure like galaxy S ? Glad to hear tht ^^ how was the locking ? Fast ? By the way r u able to find sp and casing for S advance ?

This post has been edited by jack3218: May 14 2012, 08:59 PM
kilsmap
post May 14 2012, 09:42 PM

93 posts

The camera is the only letdown of this phone.. No zoom, video also no zoom, but the GPS are great.. Locking in less than 15 seconds..
hanisbobby
post May 14 2012, 10:23 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 14 2012, 08:58 PM)
mean no gps failure like galaxy S ? Glad to hear tht ^^ how was the locking ? Fast ? By the way r u able to find sp and casing for S advance ?
try search at mudah for casing..i tot gorilla glass not need sp?but directd shop offer me rm20 for sp..

QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 14 2012, 09:42 PM)
The camera is the only letdown of this phone.. No zoom, video also no zoom, but the GPS are great.. Locking in less than 15 seconds..
wait for rooting this phone,sure can use zoom function...brows.gif

Added on May 14, 2012, 10:26 pmwhy no one interested to open the official thread for this galaxy s advance? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by hanisbobby: May 14 2012, 10:26 PM
jack3218
post May 14 2012, 10:36 PM

119 posts

i thnk less ppl using it now lolz
hanisbobby
post May 14 2012, 10:44 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 14 2012, 10:36 PM)
i thnk less ppl using it now lolz
Go grab one and open the thread..hehe
jack3218
post May 14 2012, 10:52 PM

119 posts

haha going to grab 1 next month XD bt i wont start any treat mb kilsmap will XD

Maxieos
post May 14 2012, 11:08 PM

3,758 posts

What about video recording autofocus ?
As I know only Galaxy S2 and Galaxy Note got zoom function right ? All of the samsung phone only S2 and note got zoom?
ciwek90
post May 15 2012, 10:13 AM

K.O.Y.A
767 posts

If compare this phone and galaxy r. Which one is better? icon_question.gif
jack3218
post May 15 2012, 11:44 AM

119 posts

obvious is R ~
kilsmap
post May 15 2012, 12:39 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 14 2012, 10:52 PM)
haha going to grab 1 next month XD bt i wont start any treat mb kilsmap will XD
hahaha...maybe...if we can get root, then straightaway official forum...but for now, root seems impossible...so many obstacles...being a noob at Android Development doesn't help...
wwl86
post May 15 2012, 01:05 PM

371 posts

trying to get some cases and screen protectors. update here after i got it.
hanisbobby
post May 16 2012, 06:12 PM

17 posts

Just now bought silicon case+screen protector=rm30 at samsung digital mall pj..
jack3218
post May 16 2012, 07:08 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(hanisbobby @ May 16 2012, 06:12 PM)
Just now bought silicon case+screen protector=rm30 at samsung digital mall pj..
haha ~ better thn ntg XD not much ppl selling sp and casing for S advance duno why ..
hanisbobby
post May 16 2012, 07:12 PM

17 posts

Yup..cheapest i think,compare others sell for 50 for the same quality..hehe
Maxieos
post May 16 2012, 07:21 PM

3,758 posts

still how well does it focus ? will it take long time to autofocus ? on video or photo ?
GPS working great ? which gps apps can be install ?
jack3218
post May 16 2012, 08:25 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 16 2012, 07:21 PM)
still how well does it focus ? will it take long time to autofocus ? on video or photo ?
GPS working great ? which gps apps can be install ?
hanisbabby have answer yur question~ regarding the time for autofocus and how well the gps work we duno currently... no ppl shared the pic taken by the S advance and test the gps on the road ... and make a full review ... hope some1 might do it though ! Sry for the bad english XD
kilsmap
post May 17 2012, 01:57 AM

93 posts

Root is coming!!!!!!!
hanisbobby
post May 17 2012, 02:01 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 17 2012, 01:57 AM)
Root is coming!!!!!!!
Really??xda?
kilsmap
post May 17 2012, 02:06 AM

93 posts

from me! but help from xda members...just wait...testing it now...
hanisbobby
post May 17 2012, 02:14 AM

17 posts

Wow!gud job my fren..i can be ur tester..hee
jack3218
post May 17 2012, 08:29 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 17 2012, 01:57 AM)
Root is coming!!!!!!!
Serious ? rclxms.gif Bravo my fren Bravo laugh.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by jack3218: May 17 2012, 08:37 AM
D902
post May 17 2012, 09:55 AM

49 posts

Anyone know any 16GB unit available in the market? or only 8GB? and how much $$$

This post has been edited by D902: May 17 2012, 09:55 AM
kilsmap
post May 17 2012, 06:11 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(D902 @ May 17 2012, 09:55 AM)
Anyone know any 16GB unit available in the market? or only 8GB? and how much $$$
nah...so far no 16GB version for Southeast Asia... No NFC version as well...

if we are lucky, maybe we can get CWM Recovery as well as root by tonight or tomorrow...pray for it!
hanisbobby
post May 17 2012, 06:19 PM

17 posts

chayok!chayok! rclxm9.gif
Maxieos
post May 17 2012, 07:06 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 16 2012, 08:25 PM)
hanisbabby have answer yur question~ regarding the time for autofocus and how well the gps work we duno currently... no ppl shared the pic taken by the S advance and test the gps on the road ... and make a full review ... hope some1 might do it though ! Sry for the bad english XD
I mean the video , really wanted to know whether the video can do autofocus , it's very important to know whether the video can do autofocus.As I know Galaxy S able to do it but how about galaxy S advance ? please let me know whether the firmware working ?
This is galaxy S autofocus
kilsmap
post May 17 2012, 08:05 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 17 2012, 07:06 PM)
I mean the video , really wanted to know whether the video can do autofocus , it's very important to know whether the video can do autofocus.As I know Galaxy S able to do it but how about galaxy S advance ? please let me know whether the firmware working ?
This is galaxy S autofocus
I don't think so... I have tried taking videos before, but did not notice any autofocus running during video capture...
mell_amir
post May 17 2012, 10:53 PM

17 posts

celcom offer 16gb
if im not mistaken..
can see from the celcom web

Added on May 17, 2012, 10:57 pm
celcom offer 16gb
if im not mistaken..
can see from the celcom web

This post has been edited by mell_amir: May 17 2012, 10:57 PM
Maxieos
post May 18 2012, 01:31 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 17 2012, 08:05 PM)
I don't think so... I have tried taking videos before, but did not notice any autofocus running during video capture...
Can help me to test with other apps video recording apps ? maybe firmware updates ?
Because the spec is actually galaxy S and even advance than galaxy S.If galaxy S have autofocus , this galaxy S advance should have it too

Added on May 18, 2012, 1:33 amhttp://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=3115&idPhone2=4469

This post has been edited by Maxieos: May 18 2012, 01:33 AM
hanisbobby
post May 18 2012, 02:14 AM

17 posts

Tested with camera zoom fx,still cant used autofocus while vid recording..mybe wait for software update
noien
post May 18 2012, 05:24 PM

3,184 posts

not much ppl buying this phone
not for the buck?
Maxieos
post May 18 2012, 05:31 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(hanisbobby @ May 18 2012, 02:14 AM)
Tested with camera zoom fx,still cant used autofocus while vid recording..mybe wait for software update
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1393512&page=6
Someone works on G SI plus , not sure but required root , I think need to wait until someone root this phone to be able to update the firmware

QUOTE(noien @ May 18 2012, 05:24 PM)
not much ppl buying this phone
not for the buck?
Just release few weeks ago only...
kilsmap
post May 18 2012, 08:54 PM

93 posts

ok guys... tonight is the night... in few hours' time, I will post the root method for this phone...
jack3218
post May 18 2012, 09:12 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 18 2012, 08:54 PM)
ok guys... tonight is the night... in few hours' time, I will post the root method for this phone...
haha u meant the qzem method ? i thought he having some reboot problem ?
Maxieos
post May 18 2012, 09:58 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 18 2012, 05:31 PM)
Someone works on G SI plus , not sure but required root , I think need to wait until someone root this phone to be able to update the firmware
Just release few weeks ago only...
QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 18 2012, 08:54 PM)

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 18 2012, 09:12 PM)
wow ,so fast got rooted ? stable ?

Please test on video/camera firmware above.Really wanted to know whether video camera working on autofocus
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1393512&page=6. Is it using ce147 NEC camera? same as galaxy SI ?
kilsmap
post May 18 2012, 11:11 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 18 2012, 09:12 PM)
haha...yeah...but then we can always flash back the original kernel, and problem solved, and root still available...
jack3218
post May 18 2012, 11:21 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 18 2012, 11:11 PM)
haha...yeah...but then we can always flash back the original kernel, and problem solved, and root still available...
o0 so have to do it twice ? means 1st root it thn again flash back the ori rom, bt the root function is still available even though ad flash back ori rom ?
kilsmap
post May 18 2012, 11:28 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 18 2012, 11:21 PM)
o0 so have to do it twice ? means 1st root it thn again flash back the ori rom, bt the root function is still available even though ad flash back ori rom ?
yep...according to qzem, that is... but anyway, i will test it myself tonight...

Added on May 19, 2012, 5:21 amROOT METHOD FOR GALAXY S ADVANCE I9070 ON WINDOWS (DXLD1 ONLY)

Disclaimer:

1. Do this ONLY IF you know what you are doing.
2. I am NOT RESPONSIBLE if any of you brick or damage your phones during or after the process.
3. This is only a guide, if you need more info, please befriend uncle "Google".
4. This method will cost you the flash counter.
5. You should backup important data before flashing the kernel (although so far all data are intact after flashing).

For this method, you will need:

1. USB Driver for the phone (if you have installed Kies correctly and it can detect your phone, then I assume this is covered.)
2. Odin (preferably version 1.83, if you don't have it, can download it here).
3. Insecure, modified kernel by me (rooted.tar)

Method:

1. Remove your SIM card (and microSD card, if any, as an added safety measure).
2. Start Odin.
3. Make sure ONLY "Auto Reboot" and "F. Reset Time" is ticked.
4. Get your phone into Download Mode (Power + Home + Volume Down).
5. Connect your phone to the PC (if successful, the first box under ID:COM will turn yellow).
6. Click the PDA button, choose the rooted.tar, and click start.
7. The flash is successful if you see a green box with "PASS" message, and your phone will reboot. At this point, you can safely disconnect your phone, and insert back your SIM card and microSD card.
8. You should be rooted at this stage, you can verify by installing any root checker app available from Google Play Store.

There, you have successfully rooted your phone. But this kernel is compiled from source directly, with very minimal changes. If something is wrong with your phone after flashing this kernel, and you wanted to go back to stock kernel, you can follow the method above, just changed the PDA file with this stock kernel (orikernel.tar). It will not affect root access that you had after flashing the insecure, modified kernel.

Troubleshooting:

If you somehow botched the flash process, resulting in red box with "FAIL" message, do not worry or panic. You will notice that you cannot reboot the phone (it will give some error message, relating to firmware update). You can use Odin to flash the stock ROM for DXLD1 (which you can get from sammobile.com, have to register before you can download anything, and make sure you get the correct version), and if it is successful, you can have your phone back, as good as it ever was, even with all data intact.

So, enjoy!!

This post has been edited by kilsmap: May 19 2012, 05:21 AM
Maxieos
post May 19 2012, 08:12 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 18 2012, 11:21 PM)
QUOTE(kilsmap @ May 18 2012, 11:28 PM)
yep...according to qzem, that is... but anyway, i will test it myself tonight...

Added on May 19, 2012, 5:21 amROOT METHOD FOR GALAXY S ADVANCE I9070 ON WINDOWS (DXLD1 ONLY)

Disclaimer:

2. I am NOT RESPONSIBLE if any of you brick or damage your phones during or after the process.
5. You should backup important data before flashing the kernel (although so far all data are intact after flashing).

1. USB Driver for the phone (if you have installed Kies correctly and it can detect your phone, then I assume this is covered.)

Method:

So, enjoy!!
Thanks for the root method .Hope you can help out too on testing the camera firmware too
Please ? I wanted to know whether it can do autofocus on recording .

Neo|ofGeo
post May 19 2012, 09:57 PM

3,142 posts

Samsung Galaxy S Advance new screen protector and leather case

Captured with Logitech HD920 Pro

opinion?
its good and felt really sturdy

jack3218
post May 19 2012, 10:14 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ May 19 2012, 09:57 PM)
Samsung Galaxy S Advance new screen protector and leather case

Captured with Logitech HD920 Pro

opinion?
its good and felt really sturdy
tht leather case look STUrdy enough, gt try testing drop frm 4th floor ??? hmm.gif
SuggieBliss
post May 19 2012, 10:25 PM

60 posts

Anyone know when the white colour will be out?
Neo|ofGeo
post May 21 2012, 02:41 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(jack3218 @ May 19 2012, 10:14 PM)
tht leather case look STUrdy  enough, gt try testing drop frm 4th floor ??? hmm.gif
leather case =/= shock proof case you know
its for stylish and small shock absorber
plus you can close the lid infront when talking and still able to talk normally
so its a case for people who like privacy of their screen
Maxieos
post May 22 2012, 07:40 PM

3,758 posts

Still no reply yet ? how's the camera video driver ? working ? can autofocus ? unsure.gif
sapik900906
post May 23 2012, 09:03 PM

131 posts

hii guys, want to ask to owner of this phone, hehe,, this phone have problem?
Mr.Zombie
post May 23 2012, 09:53 PM

QUOTE(sapik900906 @ May 23 2012, 09:03 PM)
hii guys, want to ask to owner of this phone, hehe,, this phone have problem?
Nope biggrin.gif
Pinkyhouse
post May 26 2012, 10:13 PM

20 posts

No problem so far but i found battery gone so fast
jack3218
post May 27 2012, 09:33 PM

119 posts

Seem like no much ppl interested in this phone ~ sad sad sad
lostasylum
post May 27 2012, 11:20 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

i think there are just too many options in the market these days, so the focus is very fragmented...
k3v1n
post May 28 2012, 01:41 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

Can anyone can tel me if I installing other camera app, will i be able to zoom? because my gf dunwan buy just because of the zoom function been disabled...Maxis guy told me can zoom after installed third party apps while samsung sales man told me cannot...dunno who i wan to believe sad.gif
northernhero
post May 28 2012, 06:40 PM

174 posts

anyone knw the ap price for this phone?
kilsmap
post May 31 2012, 01:52 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ May 28 2012, 01:41 PM)
Can anyone can tel me if I installing other camera app, will i be able to zoom? because my gf dunwan buy just because of the zoom function been disabled...Maxis guy told me can zoom after installed third party apps while samsung sales man told me cannot...dunno who i wan to believe sad.gif
I dont think so.. Cos i used several camera apps already, including paid ones, and nothing happened.. No zoom at all..
Maxieos
post May 31 2012, 08:25 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 19 2012, 08:12 PM)
Thanks for the root method .Hope you can help out too on testing the camera firmware too
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Since the root can be done , can someone test with video focus ?
Really wanted to know Thanks .
yeehs18
post Jun 1 2012, 03:46 PM

258 posts

This phone is lower end than SII? How come go backward?
kimmo88
post Jun 4 2012, 11:24 PM

360 posts

Android 4.0 a.k.a Ice Cream Sandwich (ICS) available for Samsung Galaxy S Advance?

annoymous1234
post Jun 4 2012, 11:51 PM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(yeehs18 @ Jun 1 2012, 03:46 PM)
This phone is lower end than SII? How come go backward?
not backward.. its cater for diff market segment

Added on June 4, 2012, 11:51 pm
QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Jun 4 2012, 11:24 PM)
Android 4.0 a.k.a Ice Cream Sandwich (ICS) available for Samsung Galaxy S Advance?
i think no. fyi, if u guys want support always go for flagship phone

This post has been edited by annoymous1234: Jun 4 2012, 11:51 PM
neo_01
post Jun 7 2012, 10:06 AM

80 posts

hi guy galaxy s advance. wats the price now??? original and AP set.
mucklampir
post Jun 7 2012, 04:18 PM

318 posts

how's the super amoled compared to SII's super amoled plus?
northernhero
post Jun 7 2012, 09:57 PM

174 posts

may i know the price for this ?
cause i saw from here it's only rm969
http://www.lazada.com.my/Samsung-Galaxy-S-Advance-77353.html
but i ask other mobile shop all quote me 1100 and above

patdidi
post Jun 7 2012, 11:44 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(northernhero @ Jun 7 2012, 09:57 PM)
may i know the price for this ?
cause i saw from here it's only rm969
but i ask other mobile shop all quote me 1100 and above
this is a shouldn't be missed promotion. If only this phone getting ICS, I surely buy this phone with such price..
northernhero
post Jun 7 2012, 11:49 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(patdidi @ Jun 7 2012, 11:44 PM)
this is a shouldn't be missed promotion. If only this phone getting ICS, I surely buy this phone with such price..
the price is tempting
but it's like too good to be true.
made me hesitate
still thinking to wait for price of my fren's shop to drop only buy from him =)
patdidi
post Jun 7 2012, 11:58 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(northernhero @ Jun 7 2012, 11:49 PM)
the price is tempting
but it's like too good to be true.
made me hesitate
still thinking to wait for price of my fren's shop to drop only buy from him =)
why afraid to buy? This on-line shop provide service pay on delivery, means u only need to pay when they come to deliver the item.
northernhero
post Jun 8 2012, 12:03 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(patdidi @ Jun 7 2012, 11:58 PM)
why afraid to buy? This on-line shop provide  service pay on delivery, means u only need to pay when they come to deliver the item.
haha i'm worry about the warranty issue, though they claimed that its sme warranty but not sure is it true and i don't know how to check
Maxieos
post Jun 8 2012, 06:57 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 31 2012, 08:25 PM)
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Anyone rooted can help to test the camera driver ? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
ahnee92
post Jun 8 2012, 07:53 PM

Home sweet home
908 posts

the pricing is quite stable now....this guy sell all brands with good price
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2287403&hl=

*sry to ask...any user here?? wan to know the performance of the phone...thx

This post has been edited by ahnee92: Jun 8 2012, 07:54 PM
Maxieos
post Jun 9 2012, 11:57 PM

3,758 posts

Anyone rooted can help to test the camera driver ? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
northernhero
post Jun 10 2012, 03:22 AM

174 posts

the price in lazada.com drop until RM919
i scare once i buy drop again ><"
dark_winter1314
post Jun 10 2012, 03:28 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(neo_01 @ Jun 7 2012, 10:06 AM)
hi guy galaxy s advance. wats the price now??? original and AP set.
Around RM9XX for SME set....can check from garage sales..... rclxms.gif

Mr.Zombie
post Jun 10 2012, 03:36 AM

I founded an apps that can use to zoom on camera biggrin.gif . Works on my SGSAd.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...bWVyYVpvb20iXQ..

This post has been edited by Mr.Zombie: Jun 10 2012, 09:09 AM
x132755
post Jun 10 2012, 10:24 AM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

930 ori , clear stock ^^
Its a nice try.. Smaller ver of Note

This post has been edited by x132755: Jun 10 2012, 10:25 AM
syazmie97
post Jun 10 2012, 12:36 PM

88 posts

searching a case for this device.. not really many at this moment doh.gif
Maxieos
post Jun 10 2012, 07:06 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(northernhero @ Jun 10 2012, 03:22 AM)
the price in lazada.com drop until RM919
i scare once i buy drop again ><"
can trust a not the website ?
QUOTE(Mr.Zombie @ Jun 10 2012, 03:36 AM)
I founded an apps that can use to zoom on camera  biggrin.gif  . Works on my SGSAd.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...bWVyYVpvb20iXQ..
That's for camera and I dont think it'll really zoom.It just focus in a blur picture.You can have a try .
QUOTE(x132755 @ Jun 10 2012, 10:24 AM)
930 ori , clear stock ^^
Its a nice try.. Smaller ver of Note
Really that cheap ?
QUOTE(syazmie97 @ Jun 10 2012, 12:36 PM)
searching a case for this device.. not really many at this moment  doh.gif
but got some at garage sales

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 31 2012, 08:25 PM)
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

jai2power
post Jun 11 2012, 07:22 PM

82 posts

Disclaimer:

Method:

1. Remove your SIM card (and microSD card, if any, as an added safety measure).
2. Start Odin.
3. Make sure ONLY "Auto Reboot" and "F. Reset Time" is ticked.
4. Get your phone into Download Mode (Power + Home + Volume Down).
5. Connect your phone to the PC (if successful, the first box under ID:COM will turn yellow).
6. Click the PDA button, choose the rooted.tar, and click start.
7. The flash is successful if you see a green box with "PASS" message, and your phone will reboot. At this point, you can safely disconnect your phone, and insert back your SIM card and microSD card.
8. You should be rooted at this stage, you can verify by installing any root checker app available from Google Play Store.

There, you have successfully rooted your phone. But this kernel is compiled from source directly, with very minimal changes. If something is wrong with your phone after flashing this kernel, and you wanted to go back to stock kernel, you can follow the method above, just changed the PDA file with this stock kernel (orikernel.tar). It will not affect root access that you had after flashing the insecure, modified kernel.

Troubleshooting:

If you somehow botched the flash process, resulting in red box with "FAIL" message, do not worry or panic. You will notice that you cannot reboot the phone (it will give some error message, relating to firmware update). You can use Odin to flash the stock ROM for DXLD1 (which you can get from sammobile.com, have to register before you can download anything, and make sure you get the correct version), and if it is successful, you can have your phone back, as good as it ever was, even with all data intact.

So, enjoy!!
Hi Guys..I already done the root method as stated above..all processed went successfully..after that I check with root checker apps..its says my phone is not rooted..can someone explain..?
ejoylovers
post Jun 13 2012, 04:48 AM

337 posts

install superuser.. tq
xerox8908
post Jun 13 2012, 06:50 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

How come the price drop so fast ( Rm250 in 1 month time ? )
hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif the review seem like decent
bryan_x00
post Jun 13 2012, 02:28 PM

1,224 posts

not many ppl buy kua...cos more ppl go for s3? you see got forumer said clear stock somemore. I thought new model, so fast clear stock?
Lineage
post Jun 16 2012, 09:04 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

Do this phone receive ICS Update from Samsung Officially?
Unleashed
post Jun 16 2012, 09:24 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jun 16 2012, 09:04 AM)
Do this phone receive ICS Update from Samsung Officially?
So far no news on ICS will be available for the Galaxy S Advance
Lineage
post Jun 16 2012, 09:29 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(Unleashed @ Jun 16 2012, 09:24 AM)
So far no news on ICS will be available for the Galaxy S Advance
Worth buying this phone? how is the quality? any known issue? Looking this for my sis for basic usage..she know nothing about phone and new to Android..so thinking about this for her, since price and spec also good.. wink.gif
Neo|ofGeo
post Jun 16 2012, 02:54 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jun 16 2012, 09:29 AM)
Worth buying this phone? how is the quality? any known issue? Looking this for my sis for basic usage..she know nothing about phone and new to Android..so thinking about this for her, since price and spec also good.. wink.gif
Hi,i also let my sister use this phone instead(using Live With Walkman ICS)
because the screen size is impressive for its price plus the its slim design let it be noticeable in public.
For someone who even knew or less care about technology my sister able to use the phone without a problem
northernhero
post Jun 16 2012, 04:30 PM

174 posts

jz bought mine yesday
it's a nice phone
gonna find a cover to protect it XD
bryan_823
post Jun 17 2012, 09:28 AM

649 posts

All users out there, any hang problem with this phone?

I searched from Google seems like it is quite a common issue.
northernhero
post Jun 17 2012, 04:05 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Jun 17 2012, 09:28 AM)
All users out there, any hang problem with this phone?

I searched from Google seems like it is quite a common issue.
haha
used for 2days
haven encounter any issues so far
the only problem is the camera cant zoom
which i dn mind at all as i can always zoom the pic after i captured it
very satisfy user here
the battery life is super awesome compare wit my old x10 mini pro
zuhairi1991
post Jun 17 2012, 07:47 PM

549 posts

anyone tried benchmark advance for this phone? what the result?
Maxieos
post Jun 18 2012, 12:44 AM

3,758 posts

radi0head
post Jun 19 2012, 12:06 AM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

got tis phone and had been using it for a month without any hang or any problem before... the only problem is that i don see many casing around...

guys, what nice casing you are are using ar? even the cheapo ones rm10-15 also doesn't have it! hmm...

wink.gif

iamloco
post Jun 20 2012, 02:45 AM

780 posts

current AP price is RM918 now (1gadget).

drop like crazy..
zouk101
post Jun 20 2012, 10:22 AM

20 posts

can be 850 before raya? XD
ahnee92
post Jun 20 2012, 10:33 PM

Home sweet home
908 posts

1gadget like buyers' saver but sellers' killer.....
current price for SME is rm929 right?? so cheap for a dual core phone doh.gif
can't imagine how expensive dual core phone was last year
iamloco
post Jun 21 2012, 12:49 AM

780 posts

1gadget price now rm909 already, SME set...the price keeps on dropping.. lol

This post has been edited by iamloco: Jun 21 2012, 12:50 AM
isaac225
post Jun 21 2012, 10:49 AM

98 posts

i bought it for 910 sme set yesterday..anyone one saw white set before??any idea the drive for this device launched??cant find it in samsung web site..

Added on June 21, 2012, 2:26 pmanyone know how to connect to computer storage??i cant find the driver for this device online..

This post has been edited by isaac225: Jun 21 2012, 02:26 PM
keeting89
post Jun 21 2012, 05:09 PM

=>S@f3 Tr@d3r W1th0ut S@f3 Tr@d3r T@g<=
1,390 posts

Galaxy advance compared to xperia sola.. How was it?
I need to buy it today or tomorrow..... Thanjs
holybo
post Jun 22 2012, 08:57 AM

1,449 posts

Hi, I just bought this phone. May I know where can I download GPS for free? which is the recommended 1 ya? Thanks
Unleashed
post Jun 22 2012, 08:59 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Jun 19 2012, 12:06 AM)
got tis phone and had been using it for a month without any hang or any problem before... the only problem is that i don see many casing around...

guys, what nice casing you are are using ar? even the cheapo ones rm10-15 also doesn't have it! hmm...

wink.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2396924&hl=
IMO this is the nicest casing i've found so far.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Unleashed: Jun 22 2012, 09:02 AM
ahnee92
post Jun 22 2012, 08:08 PM

Home sweet home
908 posts

QUOTE(keeting89 @ Jun 21 2012, 05:09 PM)
Galaxy advance compared to xperia sola..  How was it?
I need to buy it today or tomorrow..... Thanjs
from terms of spec,sgs advance wins....screen size,ram,phone size all bigger than sola....
Mr.Zombie
post Jun 22 2012, 08:09 PM

QUOTE(Unleashed @ Jun 22 2012, 08:59 AM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2396924&hl=
IMO this is the nicest casing i've found so far.. smile.gif
Already bought it smile.gif
Friendly Owner , and The Case and the ScreenPro. Awesome ! biggrin.gif
yeowyin
post Jun 23 2012, 04:00 PM

125 posts

Just got this phone, good phone. like a mini Galaxy Note :
- well built, not too big, not too small
- value for money
- good battery life
now just hope for ICS update.
Dannyl
post Jun 23 2012, 07:22 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

What's the Antutu score for this phone? I like the design, very nice!

QUOTE(iamloco @ Jun 21 2012, 12:49 AM)
1gadget price now rm909 already, SME set...the price keeps on dropping.. lol
I believe now is RM899 laugh.gif
ahnee92
post Jun 23 2012, 08:20 PM

Home sweet home
908 posts

i saw rm899 too sweat.gif smartphone nowadays no value at all cry.gif
orangez1988
post Jun 23 2012, 09:33 PM

199 posts

Can galaxy S advance case share with galaxy s? the size same?
Maxieos
post Jun 24 2012, 12:43 AM

3,758 posts

Mr.Zombie
post Jun 24 2012, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(orangez1988 @ Jun 23 2012, 09:33 PM)
Can galaxy S advance case share with galaxy s? the size same?
I think can't coz SGS and SGSAd. same screen size but different model shape . blush.gif
D902
post Jun 25 2012, 11:29 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(wolfgamer @ Jun 25 2012, 10:47 AM)
Price so cheap now ah? But ori or not? I buy for my sister at this site

Looks like it should be fast delivery, and i pay by COD oso.
Hi wolfgamer,
Any gift given such as 8gb memory card?
kkid
post Jun 25 2012, 12:38 PM

97 posts

My battery can only last for 1day, need to charge it everyday even i,m not using the phone. And tis is my 2nd battery still the same problem? I've been using tis phone for 2 months. Anyone here facing the same problem?
Togepy
post Jun 26 2012, 12:56 AM

224 posts

anyone know how to print screen with s advance??
Mr.Zombie
post Jun 26 2012, 07:03 AM

QUOTE(Togepy @ Jun 26 2012, 12:56 AM)
anyone know how to print screen with s advance??
Press The Home Key and The Power Key in the same time For 2 Secs I think .
You can have a try smile.gif
Maxieos
post Jun 27 2012, 01:35 AM

3,758 posts

ahchun92
post Jun 27 2012, 08:11 AM

145 posts

Hi, anyone saw how much 1gadget is selling for this phone :0 RM866, wonder if it's trust-able
yixuany
post Jun 27 2012, 02:29 PM

53 posts

how's the audio quality of this phone?
josenigel
post Jun 27 2012, 02:32 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ahchun92 @ Jun 27 2012, 08:11 AM)
Hi, anyone saw how much 1gadget is selling for this phone :0 RM866, wonder if it's trust-able
i bought mine last week from them. they are trust-able, IMO
price then was RM899...no problems what so ever so far. Received SMS from Samsung regarding warranty validity.

Added on June 27, 2012, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(yixuany @ Jun 27 2012, 02:29 PM)
how's the audio quality of this phone?
sound is pretty good, not very good but good IMO thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by josenigel: Jun 27 2012, 02:33 PM
caillech
post Jun 27 2012, 03:27 PM

247 posts

satisfied user here thumbup.gif

hope will get ICS update soon sad.gif
iamloco
post Jun 27 2012, 05:26 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Jun 27 2012, 03:27 PM)
satisfied user here  thumbup.gif

hope will get ICS update soon  sad.gif
no regret! biggrin.gif
josenigel
post Jun 27 2012, 05:33 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(iamloco @ Jun 27 2012, 05:26 PM)
no regret! biggrin.gif
me too...absolutely no regret...and also eagerly waiting and hoping for ICS whistling.gif rclxms.gif
Dannyl
post Jun 27 2012, 05:36 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Someone please post your Antutu score!
northernhero
post Jun 27 2012, 06:50 PM

174 posts

Any one found any nice case online?
Mr.Zombie
post Jun 27 2012, 08:49 PM

QUOTE(northernhero @ Jun 27 2012, 06:50 PM)
Any one found any nice case online?
Hell Yeah ! cool.gif
Bought 1 Case and 1 ScreePro. nod.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry52415589
Rudd
post Jun 27 2012, 09:55 PM

4,043 posts

this SGSA should get ICS since Ace 2 also get ICS.
same hardware sumore.
ahchun92
post Jun 27 2012, 11:20 PM

145 posts

[quote=josenigel,Jun 27 2012, 03:32 PM]
price then was RM899...no problems what so ever so far. Received SMS from Samsung regarding warranty validity.

Really? Thanks!! Btw where is the shop exactly? can go by LRT?
Maxieos
post Jun 28 2012, 02:24 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jun 27 2012, 02:32 PM)

Added on June 27, 2012, 2:33 pm

sound is pretty good, not very good but good IMO  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(caillech @ Jun 27 2012, 03:27 PM)
satisfied user here  thumbup.gif

hope will get ICS update soon  sad.gif
QUOTE(iamloco @ Jun 27 2012, 05:26 PM)
no regret! biggrin.gif
QUOTE(josenigel @ Jun 27 2012, 05:33 PM)
me too...absolutely no regret...and also eagerly waiting and hoping for ICS  whistling.gif rclxms.gif
QUOTE(Mr.Zombie @ Jun 27 2012, 08:49 PM)
Hell Yeahcool.gif
Bought 1 Case and 1 ScreePro.  nod.gif

Hope you can help out too on testing the camera firmware too

Anyone rooted can help to test the camera driver ? icon_question.gif
nick67
post Jun 29 2012, 10:03 PM

What?
1,501 posts

Wanna get this phone for my mum but seems like there's so few accessories available..Anyone have any idea if more peeps gonna bring in accessories for this model?
Maxieos
post Jun 30 2012, 02:51 AM

3,758 posts

This post has been edited by Maxieos: Jun 30 2012, 02:51 AM
unpronunceable
post Jun 30 2012, 02:57 PM

33 posts

Hi i just got this error a couple times already are there any update for the camera to fix it ?it happen during video recording and some time just normal picture snapping using the stock and some times on camera 360 app camera app :'(
ming86
post Jun 30 2012, 10:06 PM

440 posts

Anyone root the phone?
Maxieos
post Jul 1 2012, 02:33 AM

3,758 posts

kenny79
post Jul 5 2012, 10:52 PM

3,200 posts

this phone got 8gb storage o 16gb
Unleashed
post Jul 6 2012, 08:10 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Jul 5 2012, 10:52 PM)
this phone got 8gb storage o 16gb
in Malaysia only got 8GB..
Maxieos
post Jul 6 2012, 11:40 PM

3,758 posts

azharyusof
post Jul 8 2012, 03:31 AM

I bought this phone on the last week of May. Well, quite a bad luck for me though. As soon after i took it home, i noticed that it's having random auto-restart. So on the 2nd day, i took it to the phone's shop, and asked them bout this issue, they just did a hard reset to the phone. The issue appeared to be solved, however after few hours, it came back. So i just called the guy and told him bout this, he said i need to bring the phone to Samsung Centre. So i did as what he said on the same day, and the customer service said that they will reflash my phone as it could be due to software issue. The next day i received a phone call stating that my phone is ok. So i went there to collect it, and sat there for quite sometime to test it again, and i was right, the problem is still there. So i showed the issue to the tech guy, and he said, he will check the hardware, and ask me to collect it by the next day. So on the 4th day, i went there to collect my phone, as luckily, it has been solved, they said it's due to board issue, and they've replaced the part. Till now, the phone is working flawlessly, at least for me, and no real issue.

As for the camera zoom. U guys need to lower the resolution till 3MP (if i'm not mistaken), then only u will be able to zoom.

Owh ya, i bought this phone at RM1050 (plus SanDisk 8GB Micro SD, and Original Leather Flip Cover - refer to link). I lazy to capture the actual cover, so i searched for the same cover on the internet.

http://www.youpadaccessories.com/images/l/...13372213150.jpg
popice2u
post Jul 8 2012, 07:25 AM

1,337 posts

how much is the SanDisk 8GB Micro SD and Original Leather Flip Cover worth?
Rudd
post Jul 8 2012, 10:21 AM

4,043 posts

any chance the price for this SGSA will drop more??
Maxieos
post Jul 8 2012, 06:11 PM

3,758 posts

khairi.hadi87
post Jul 8 2012, 08:19 PM

Already bought it last Thursday at Low Yat Plaza (Ground Floor) for RM999 ori samsung.. cool2.gif
My bestfriend also bought this phone RM899 at PGRM.. damn.. rclxub.gif
so far ok laa.. (my 1st android touch screen phone, (before this nokia selamanya") laugh.gif
Just wanna ask.. phone aku charge smpi 2jam utk full charge.. Is it normal?? icon_question.gif
1 more thing, is i use data plan, lagi makan batery ke sbb last friday download mcm gampang (via unify office) for 1 whole day still have 30% batery when almost 1 day use.
melvin91motorola
post Jul 8 2012, 08:48 PM

349 posts

is this phone do any good? im planning to buy it, or is there any phone at the same range outperformed this phone ?....not too fond of SGS2, too big for my taste doh.gif
azharyusof
post Jul 9 2012, 05:09 AM

QUOTE(popice2u @ Jul 8 2012, 07:25 AM)
how much is the SanDisk 8GB Micro SD  and Original Leather Flip Cover worth?
The micro SD should be around RM20, and the cover around RM49, not really sure about the exact/actual price though.
bryan_823
post Jul 9 2012, 11:46 AM

649 posts

Just bought this phone for my wife @ RM900 at Maybank Treatsfair yesterday in MidValley.

RM500 - o% Easy payment plan for 6 months (Swiped credit card got x5 treatspoints brows.gif )
RM400 - Redeem with treatspoints

Free gift - 8GB Class 4 memory card

Looking for screen protector and casing, any recommendations?
caillech
post Jul 9 2012, 07:44 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(khairi.hadi87 @ Jul 8 2012, 08:19 PM)
Already bought it last Thursday at Low Yat Plaza (Ground Floor) for RM999 ori samsung.. cool2.gif
so far ok laa.. (my 1st android touch screen phone, (before this nokia selamanya") laugh.gif
Just wanna ask.. phone aku charge smpi 2jam utk full charge.. Is it normal?? icon_question.gif
1 more thing, is i use data plan, lagi makan batery ke sbb last friday download mcm gampang (via unify office) for 1 whole day still have 30% batery when almost 1 day use.
i also charge quite long wink.gif

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Jul 8 2012, 08:48 PM)
is this phone do any good? im planning to buy it, or is there any phone at the same range outperformed this phone ?....not too fond of SGS2, too big for my taste  doh.gif
for phone below RM1K, this phone is a good buy, it's smooth thumbup.gif
iamloco
post Jul 9 2012, 09:58 PM

780 posts

how many hours to be exact?

mine fully charge, on 3G (frequent whatsapp, twitter, fb) can last until 12 hour ++ only
SyathibiyMegat
post Jul 10 2012, 03:03 AM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

Just bought this phone for my sister for 899. Free 3 gifts, casing(40) + sp(20)=50. So total 949. Waiting for ICS. smile.gif

I guess 16gb & white color isn't available here in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by SyathibiyMegat: Jul 10 2012, 03:04 AM
sarjantulang
post Jul 10 2012, 11:48 AM

44 posts

as salam,

just bought this phone at Plaza Alam Sentral,Shah Alam last saturday.... @RM920...trade with my Xperia X8 for RM130...

so far so good...except too many background running....how to reduce this apps running??making the battery life very short and kinda slowing the phone...

sarjantulang
iamloco
post Jul 10 2012, 01:24 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(sarjantulang @ Jul 10 2012, 11:48 AM)
as salam,

just bought this phone at Plaza Alam Sentral,Shah Alam last saturday.... @RM920...trade with my Xperia X8 for RM130...

so far so good...except too many background running....how to reduce this apps running??making the battery life very short and kinda slowing the phone...
sarjantulang
can use task manager. pre-installed in the phone.

clearing the RAM might help too
Maxieos
post Jul 11 2012, 12:10 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Zombie @ Jun 27 2012, 08:49 PM)
Hell Yeahcool.gif
Bought 1 Case and 1 ScreePro.  nod.gif

QUOTE(unpronunceable @ Jun 30 2012, 02:57 PM)

Hi i just got this error a couple times already are there any update for the camera to fix it ?it happen during video  recording and some time just normal picture  snapping using the stock and some times on camera 360 app camera app :'(
QUOTE(azharyusof @ Jul 8 2012, 03:31 AM)
I bought this phone on the last week of May. Well, quite a bad luck for me though. As soon after i took it home, i noticed that it's having random auto-restart. So on the 2nd day, i took it to the phone's shop, and asked them bout this issue, they just did a hard reset to the phone. The issue appeared to be solved, however after few hours, it came back. So i just called the guy and told him bout this, he said i need to bring the phone to Samsung Centre. So i did as what he said on the same day, and the customer service said that they will reflash my phone as it could be due to software issue. The next day i received a phone call stating that my phone is ok. So i went there to collect it, and sat there for quite sometime to test it again, and i was right, the problem is still there. So i showed the issue to the tech guy, and he said, he will check the hardware, and ask me to collect it by the next day. So on the 4th day, i went there to collect my phone, as luckily, it has been solved, they said it's due to board issue, and they've replaced the part. Till now, the phone is working flawlessly, at least for me, and no real issue.

As for the camera zoom. U guys need to lower the resolution till 3MP (if i'm not mistaken), then only u will be able to zoom.

Owh ya, i bought this phone at RM1050 (plus SanDisk 8GB Micro SD, and Original Leather Flip Cover - refer to link). I lazy to capture the actual cover, so i searched for the same cover on the internet.

http://www.youpadaccessories.com/images/l/...13372213150.jpg
QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Jul 9 2012, 11:46 AM)
Just bought this phone for my wife @ RM900 at Maybank Treatsfair yesterday in MidValley.

RM500 - o% Easy payment plan for 6 months (Swiped credit card got x5 treatspoints  brows.gif )
RM400 - Redeem with treatspoints

Free gift - 8GB Class 4 memory card

Looking for screen protector and casing, any recommendations?
QUOTE(iamloco @ Jul 9 2012, 09:58 PM)
how many hours to be exact?

mine fully charge, on 3G (frequent whatsapp, twitter, fb) can last until 12 hour ++ only
QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Jul 10 2012, 03:03 AM)
Just bought this phone for my sister for 899. Free 3 gifts, casing(40) + sp(20)=50. So total 949. Waiting for ICS. smile.gif

I guess 16gb & white color isn't available here in Malaysia.
as salam,

sarjantulang
QUOTE(iamloco @ Jul 10 2012, 01:24 PM)
can use task manager. pre-installed in the phone.

clearing the RAM might help too
Hope you can help out too on testing the video camera firmware too

bryan_823
post Jul 11 2012, 12:47 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 11 2012, 12:10 AM)

Pity you no one reply after so many times asking sad.gif

Have you tried this firmware at your end?
SyathibiyMegat
post Jul 11 2012, 04:31 PM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 11 2012, 12:10 AM)

Not dare yet to root the phone. Maybe some time later. smile.gif
Maxieos
post Jul 11 2012, 08:56 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Jul 11 2012, 12:47 PM)
Pity you no one reply after so many times asking  sad.gif

Have you tried this firmware at your end?
QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Jul 11 2012, 04:31 PM)
Not dare yet to root the phone. Maybe some time later. smile.gif
Even know how to rooted but I dont know how to do the video camera part sad.gif sad.gif .How to determined the camera ID whether it's same as galaxy S ? ce147 NEC camera driver
Flashing camera firmware ...
Please , I h ad been asking for many time cry.gif , at lease hope some expert can help out
Thank you notworthy.gif
Mr.Zombie
post Jul 11 2012, 11:22 PM

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 11 2012, 08:56 PM)
Even know how to rooted but I dont know how to do the video camera part  sad.gif  sad.gif .How to determined the camera ID whether it's same as galaxy S ? ce147 NEC camera driver
Please , I h ad been asking for many time cry.gif  , at lease hope some expert can help out
Thank you  notworthy.gif
Search it at Google smile.gif . or , try PM any XDA Members . smile.gif
tbheng
post Jul 12 2012, 09:11 AM

1,188 posts

I am interested to buy this phone... smile.gif
By spec, it seems better than Xperia Sola (was attracted to Sola earlier...).
Never use Sumsung smartphone before. Build quality, after-sale support, etc... Any comments?
Will get ICS?

Can someone help to post the Antutu benchmark score screen here?
Thank you. notworthy.gif
Unleashed
post Jul 15 2012, 06:07 PM

322 posts

go to 0:56

A positive sign that this phone will get ICS. Hopefully it is true smile.gif

This post has been edited by Unleashed: Jul 15 2012, 06:14 PM
caillech
post Jul 15 2012, 07:58 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Unleashed @ Jul 15 2012, 06:07 PM)

A positive sign that this phone will get ICS. Hopefully it is true  smile.gif
rclxm9.gif
FreakyRookie
post Jul 15 2012, 08:47 PM

155 posts

will s advance having white colour?
Rudd
post Jul 16 2012, 08:48 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Jul 15 2012, 08:47 PM)
black and silver only i think
malfogs
post Jul 16 2012, 06:42 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(Unleashed @ Jul 15 2012, 07:07 PM)

A positive sign that this phone will get ICS. Hopefully it is true  smile.gif
okay~ ..
FreakyRookie
post Jul 16 2012, 07:47 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Rudd @ Jul 16 2012, 08:48 AM)
hearsay India there have white colour ya??
Dannyl
post Jul 17 2012, 12:55 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jul 12 2012, 09:11 AM)
Can someone help to post the Antutu benchmark score screen here?
Thank you.  notworthy.gif
I've asked twice before, strangely no one here will post it sweat.gif
SyathibiyMegat
post Jul 17 2012, 01:58 AM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Jul 15 2012, 08:47 PM)
Yes, black & white.

Added on July 17, 2012, 1:58 am
QUOTE(Rudd @ Jul 16 2012, 08:48 AM)
Where got silver, bro? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by SyathibiyMegat: Jul 17 2012, 01:58 AM
FreakyRookie
post Jul 17 2012, 08:00 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Jul 17 2012, 01:58 AM)
Yes, black & white.

haha~thanks bro~~
Rudd
post Jul 17 2012, 08:19 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Jul 17 2012, 01:58 AM)
Yes, black & white.

sorry, salah tgk kot.. haha
pelangi.rainbow
post Jul 17 2012, 08:33 AM

14 posts

i bought this phone yesterday. i love it. no need to think about galaxy s2, s3 or note. s advance also okay. smile.gif
ming86
post Jul 17 2012, 10:54 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 17 2012, 12:55 AM)
I've asked twice before, strangely no one here will post it  sweat.gif

tbheng
post Jul 18 2012, 09:23 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ming86 @ Jul 17 2012, 10:54 PM)
Thanks for the screenshots.
I presume you use Class 10 memory card. May I know what is the brand and capacity?
I bought a kingmax 32gb class10, at best it scores 9.7MB/s write; but higher read @ 21.7MB/s.
odi862
post Jul 18 2012, 10:06 AM

32 posts

Is the body of S Advance made of metal or plastic?
melvin91motorola
post Jul 18 2012, 10:12 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(pelangi.rainbow @ Jul 17 2012, 08:33 AM)
i bought this phone yesterday. i love it. no need to think about galaxy s2, s3 or note. s advance also okay. smile.gif
ya true... flex.gif gonna get this phone later after google n7 blush.gif

Unleashed
post Jul 18 2012, 07:27 PM

322 posts

https://www.facebook.com/samsungsverige/app_208195102528120
based on the link , S Advance will get ICS on Q4.. rclxm9.gif
hopefully.......
Neo|ofGeo
post Jul 18 2012, 09:11 PM

3,142 posts

Glad to see more user in this thread

Still running strong

even without ICS i feel the phone is good enough for its pricetag
4''inch screen with sleek design
iamloco
post Jul 18 2012, 09:15 PM

780 posts

is there any camera app that enable zoom in this phone?
northernhero
post Jul 18 2012, 11:01 PM

174 posts

do u guys face any wifi signal issue?
my phone seems like wifi signal getting weaker
nw i m using unifi while the router is at down stair thn i could only get 1 bar or less signal
last time while i using old phone seems like no such problem

This post has been edited by northernhero: Jul 18 2012, 11:13 PM
caillech
post Jul 18 2012, 11:52 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Jul 18 2012, 09:11 PM)
Glad to see more user in this thread

Still running strong

even without ICS i feel the phone is good enough for its pricetag
4''inch screen with sleek design
why your front camera is on the right hand side? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by caillech: Jul 18 2012, 11:53 PM
adie82
post Jul 19 2012, 12:14 AM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Jul 18 2012, 11:52 PM)
why your front camera is on the right hand side?  hmm.gif
did u see SAMSUNG word carefully?

Rudd
post Jul 19 2012, 09:20 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(Unleashed @ Jul 18 2012, 07:27 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/samsungsverige/app_208195102528120
based on the link , S Advance will get ICS on Q4..  rclxm9.gif
hopefully.......
thumbup.gif
melvin91motorola
post Jul 19 2012, 01:41 PM

349 posts

test this phone on celcomcube yesterday, why i feel this phone lag? o.O or is it just me

This post has been edited by melvin91motorola: Jul 19 2012, 01:42 PM
pelangi.rainbow
post Jul 19 2012, 06:41 PM

14 posts

Can upgrade to another os?
rawna_air
post Jul 19 2012, 11:45 PM

39 posts

Been using this phone for several days...Yeah, feels like Note, accept battery last looooonger.
And it is quite fast as well.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
malfogs
post Jul 20 2012, 11:45 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Jul 19 2012, 12:52 AM)
why your front camera is on the right hand side?  hmm.gif
his picture is rotated ... i think
lan_86
post Jul 20 2012, 05:31 PM

422 posts

i need answer from SGSA owner,

this phone don't have continuous auto focus in video mode right?what about touch focus?
Dannyl
post Jul 21 2012, 10:27 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(rawna_air @ Jul 19 2012, 11:45 PM)
Been using this phone for several days...Yeah, feels like Note, accept battery last looooonger.
And it is quite fast as well.... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
4" feels like 5.3"? hmm.gif
Maxieos
post Jul 21 2012, 04:55 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(lan_86 @ Jul 20 2012, 05:31 PM)
i need answer from SGSA owner,

this phone don't have continuous auto focus in video mode right?what about touch focus?
I had been asking for months for this same old question.No one really help me out.

So can you help me out please ???

Andrewtst
post Jul 21 2012, 05:10 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(rawna_air @ Jul 19 2012, 11:45 PM)
And it is quite fast as well.... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Feel like Note? hmmmm............. 4 inch v/s 5.3 inch..................... hmmmmm................................... hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

Added on July 21, 2012, 5:15 pmIf this phone out earlier few month ago, I will pick this for my sister, now quite regret pick Galaxy W for my sister... haizz........

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 21 2012, 05:15 PM
nick67
post Jul 21 2012, 05:23 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 21 2012, 04:55 PM)
I had been asking for months for this same old question.No one really help me out.

Why don't you test it and give feedback here for everyone? sweat.gif
devakt
post Jul 21 2012, 05:58 PM

30 posts

HI

Got mine yesterday, from Maxis , any good screen filter ?
lan_86
post Jul 21 2012, 07:22 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 21 2012, 04:55 PM)

found the answer..

Watch This

almost perfect in term of price(for me) and hardware,but no continuous auto focus in video mode vmad.gif

This post has been edited by lan_86: Jul 21 2012, 07:23 PM
Maxieos
post Jul 21 2012, 08:03 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 21 2012, 05:23 PM)
Why don't you test it and give feedback here for everyone?  sweat.gif
Because I noob , i dont know how to code any flash firmware sad.gif
QUOTE(lan_86 @ Jul 21 2012, 07:22 PM)
found the answer..

Watch This

almost perfect in term of price(for me) and hardware,but no continuous auto focus in video mode  vmad.gif
There is a work around , maybe possible but not even one people can help up to flash the firmware

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 11 2012, 08:56 PM)

Even know how to rooted but I dont know how to do the video camera part  sad.gif  sad.gif .How to determined the camera ID whether it's same as galaxy S ? ce147 NEC camera driver
Please , I h ad been asking for many time cry.gif  , at lease hope some expert can help out
Thank you  notworthy.gif
Many time already sad.gif
pelangi.rainbow
post Jul 21 2012, 08:50 PM

14 posts

guys, i need to know. im using galaxy s advance. its a GINGERBREAD. how can i upgrade the OS?
nick67
post Jul 21 2012, 09:49 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 21 2012, 08:03 PM)
Because I noob , i dont know how to code any flash firmware  sad.gif

There is a work around ,  maybe possible but not even one people can help up to flash the firmware
Many time already sad.gif
Hmm, what do you mean? The driver is posted on that link from xda right? Just root and flash it.

QUOTE(pelangi.rainbow @ Jul 21 2012, 08:50 PM)
guys, i need to know. im using galaxy s advance. its a GINGERBREAD. how can i upgrade the OS?
ICS not available officially for SGSA iirc
caillech
post Jul 21 2012, 11:46 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(pelangi.rainbow @ Jul 21 2012, 08:50 PM)
QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 21 2012, 09:49 PM)
ICS not available officially for SGSA iirc
https://www.facebook.com/samsungsverige/app_208195102528120 icon_idea.gif
nick67
post Jul 21 2012, 11:50 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Jul 21 2012, 11:46 PM)
Haha yea mah still not available..Anyway just bought this phone for my mum..she get phone but I pening coz she dunno how to use at all rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by nick67: Jul 21 2012, 11:51 PM
caillech
post Jul 21 2012, 11:55 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:50 PM)
Haha yea mah still not available..Anyway just bought this phone for my mum..she get phone but I pening coz she dunno how to use at all  rclxub.gif
you should get this for her tongue.gif
nick67
post Jul 22 2012, 12:12 AM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Jul 21 2012, 11:55 PM)
you should get this for her  tongue.gif
Ehhh, this actually quite worth it hmm.gif

Cheh promo ended before it even began..haha

Added on July 22, 2012, 12:14 pmHow do I eject the internal memory when it's connected to my com? There's no way to safely remove the phone..

This post has been edited by nick67: Jul 22 2012, 12:14 PM
DValentine
post Jul 23 2012, 09:37 PM

773 posts

Hey how to zoom the camera?
caillech
post Jul 23 2012, 10:47 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Jul 23 2012, 09:37 PM)
Hey how to zoom the camera?
this phone no zoom feature, anyway you still can zoom it after you taken the picture tongue.gif
tbheng
post Jul 24 2012, 07:22 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 22 2012, 12:12 AM)
Ehhh, this actually quite worth it  hmm.gif

Cheh promo ended before it even began..haha

Added on July 22, 2012, 12:14 pmHow do I eject the internal memory when it's connected to my com? There's no way to safely remove the phone..
It seems samsung is using dual mount for both internal and external storage. This is great as compare to my other android phones (HTC, SonyEricsson, CSL) which only mount to either the phone or PC one at a time.
For this phone, I just unplug after copying files completed.
THTgadgets.com
post Jul 24 2012, 09:14 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Sold off my rather KO Galaxy W (hangs multiple times a day) for this S Advanced, a few days ago... No regrets thus far, with that huge screen (that comes with auto-brightness) as well as a great camera and the variety of apps on the Play Store (although still cannot beat what I have on my iPod touch, lol!)...

And best of all, it has not crashed thus far! biggrin.gif
nick67
post Jul 24 2012, 11:00 AM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(THTgadgets.com @ Jul 24 2012, 09:14 AM)
Sold off my rather KO Galaxy W (hangs multiple times a day) for this S Advanced, a few days ago... No regrets thus far, with that huge screen (that comes with auto-brightness) as well as a great camera and the variety of apps on the Play Store (although still cannot beat what I have on my iPod touch, lol!)...

And best of all, it has not crashed thus far! biggrin.gif
Yeah man, this phone is damn good value. Friggin regret paying 2.1k for my htc desire cry.gif
iamloco
post Jul 24 2012, 03:35 PM

780 posts

A great phone, really. But i still wonder why is it not a popular choice. Hmmm
nick67
post Jul 24 2012, 04:07 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(iamloco @ Jul 24 2012, 03:35 PM)
A great phone, really. But i still wonder why is it not a popular choice. Hmmm
bad timing for release I guess..
hjack
post Jul 24 2012, 05:40 PM

276 posts

guys,
1st time i see hp increase price rclxms.gif
I bought from this guy @ 888 2 weeks back list price, now 928, not much diff but still... wow

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1959035

THTgadgets.com
post Jul 25 2012, 07:03 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Well, at least the S Advance solved the issues with the W, particularly the frequent hang-kei... OS is also almost exactly the same, which means that I don't have to relearn any new Android firmware, being mainly an iOS user... And price-wise, it's also moderate, being in-between the W and the S III (at an RRP of $1,299.00)...

But like what iamloco said, it's strange that such a good phone like the S Advance is not popular among consumers, many of whom are going for the III instead! smile.gif

This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Jul 25 2012, 07:04 AM
Rudd
post Jul 25 2012, 08:35 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(THTgadgets.com @ Jul 25 2012, 07:03 AM)
Well, at least the S Advance solved the issues with the W, particularly the frequent hang-kei... OS is also almost exactly the same, which means that I don't have to relearn any new Android firmware, being mainly an iOS user... And price-wise, it's also moderate, being in-between the W and the S III (at an RRP of $1,299.00)...

But like what iamloco said, it's strange that such a good phone like the S Advance is not popular among consumers, many of whom are going for the III instead! smile.gif
let hope that more devs will be interested in this phone. nod.gif
pelangi.rainbow
post Jul 25 2012, 09:18 AM

14 posts

so hard to find galaxy s advance casing here. sad.gif
ammil89
post Jul 25 2012, 09:56 AM

i want to buy this phone any user want to sell theirs? tq smile.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jul 25 2012, 10:04 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(ammil89 @ Jul 25 2012, 09:56 AM)
i want to buy this phone any user want to sell theirs? tq smile.gif
Maybe you can check the Garage Sales for any offers? There should be people who are selling their S Advance over there... smile.gif
bryan_823
post Jul 25 2012, 05:33 PM

649 posts

In my opinion the main reasons that S Advanced is not popular although being a good and reliable phone with reasonable price:

1) Not a good timing for release, it is about the same time with S3
2) Not enough and good advertising for this phone
Mr.Zombie
post Jul 26 2012, 11:29 AM

I bought this phone and the internal storage is 8GB .
But , when i go , Settings>Storage>USB Storage . " Total space ( 3.91GB ) " only .
Are all SGSAdvance users facing this ? sad.gif
LiMcZ
post Jul 26 2012, 12:20 PM

454 posts

s adv vs xperia s
both are dual core
how is the preformance between this two?
THTgadgets.com
post Jul 26 2012, 12:29 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Jul 25 2012, 05:33 PM)
In my opinion the main reasons that S Advanced is not popular although being a good and reliable phone with reasonable price:

1) Not a good timing for release, it is about the same time with S3
2) Not enough and good advertising for this phone
Yup, it was released around the same time as the better-spec Galaxy S III, which got everyone's attention instead... As a result, the S Advance was relegated to a bit-part role and in fact, I only discovered about this phone when playing around with it at the Samsung dealer in Digital Mall (I originally looking at the S III as a replacement to the faulty W!)... I don't see many banners or leaflets promoting the S Advance as well...
nick67
post Jul 26 2012, 12:59 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Zombie @ Jul 26 2012, 11:29 AM)
I bought this phone and the internal storage is 8GB .
But , when i go , Settings>Storage>USB Storage . " Total space  ( 3.91GB ) " only .
Are all SGSAdvance users facing this ? sad.gif
No, your set might be faulty..........Just kidding tongue.gif

Your rom is allocated about 2gb, applications allocated 2gb, the balance 4gb available for your storage.

This post has been edited by nick67: Jul 26 2012, 01:00 PM
Mr.Zombie
post Jul 26 2012, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 26 2012, 12:59 PM)
No, your set might be faulty..........Just kidding  tongue.gif
Your rom is allocated about 2gb, applications allocated 2gb, the balance 4gb available for your storage.
>.< . So , the Samsung Employee tell the truth then . blink.gif
I bought 1 and the half month ago . Then I recheck storage , 4GB >.< (Actually the salesman already tell me earlier when buying the phone) tongue.gif

Thx Anyway smile.gif .

Anyone knows how to Reduce/Clean System ROM ? blush.gif
nick67
post Jul 26 2012, 04:00 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Zombie @ Jul 26 2012, 03:45 PM)
>.< . So , the Samsung Employee tell the truth then .  blink.gif
I bought 1 and the half month ago . Then I recheck storage , 4GB >.< (Actually the salesman already tell me earlier when buying the phone)  tongue.gif

Thx Anyway smile.gif .

Anyone knows how to Reduce/Clean System ROM ?  blush.gif
You mean reduce the memory allocated to system partition?

Hmm, for that you need to have full root and change to another hboot. Basically the rom doesn't use up all the 2 gb allocated to it, so you can actually alter the size of this partition if you like.

But it's so much work just to get some extra space when microSD nowadays is so cheap. And the 2gb application space is more than enough man.
Mr.Zombie
post Jul 26 2012, 04:22 PM

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 26 2012, 04:00 PM)
You mean reduce the memory allocated to system partition?

Hmm, for that you need to have full root and change to another hboot. Basically the rom doesn't use up all the 2 gb allocated to it, so you can actually alter the size of this partition if you like.

But it's so much work just to get some extra space when microSD nowadays is so cheap. And the 2gb application space is more than enough man.
I'm using Titanium Backup Pro .
It shows System ROM , almost full .
Internal Memory , SD Memory and External Memory . Still have alot of space ><
metalique
post Jul 27 2012, 09:12 AM

19 posts

just bought this value phone yesterday...... very satisfied...

a bit expensive rm1015... time is gold laugh.gif

This post has been edited by metalique: Jul 31 2012, 01:07 PM
ahpingko
post Jul 27 2012, 12:05 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

hey guys...do you ever encountered where the facebook for android got such scenario?...u go in then only can see those photos but no texts at all?
Rudd
post Jul 28 2012, 07:06 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(metalique @ Jul 27 2012, 09:12 AM)
just bought this value phone yesterday...... very satisfied...
congrates rclxms.gif
how much the price u paid for this?
Black Red
post Jul 28 2012, 12:10 PM

485 posts

i like this phone, thinkin wanna buy it.
nick67
post Jul 28 2012, 12:54 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(Black Red @ Jul 28 2012, 12:10 PM)
i like this phone, thinkin wanna buy it.
Its a very good value phone. Especially if you are tight on budget smile.gif
ahpingko
post Jul 28 2012, 05:28 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

how u guys connect it as USB storage?..it keep on appear as Portable Devices in which i cannot copy data files for games into it..
caillech
post Jul 28 2012, 06:03 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Jul 28 2012, 05:28 PM)
how u guys connect it as USB storage?..it keep on appear as Portable Devices in which i cannot copy data files for games into it..
Try to troubleshoot it, it will re-install by itself.
gotnet
post Jul 31 2012, 05:06 PM

43 posts

Is this the Official S Advance thread?
pelangi.rainbow
post Jul 31 2012, 06:55 PM

14 posts

this phone can the S Pen like Galaxy Note smile.gif i love it
Pinkyhouse
post Jul 31 2012, 10:47 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(pelangi.rainbow @ Jul 31 2012, 06:55 PM)
this phone can the S Pen like Galaxy Note smile.gif i love it
how?

pelangi.rainbow
post Jul 31 2012, 10:54 PM

14 posts

U just buy it at the shop. If u dont believe it, u can ask some of seller here :-)
redframelowyat
post Aug 1 2012, 03:04 AM

162 posts

bought this phone at samsung center in sunway pyramid. free with casing. u can choose one of three color available. white, black, pink.
really satisfied with this phone as my first android phone

i even wonder if there any need for s3 or note when such phone like this come with cheap price and satisfying the user. with tight budget, you can get decent performance phone plus great display at 1000 price tag.
bugijun
post Aug 1 2012, 06:21 AM

532 posts

This phone can use the s pen? With pressure sensitivity?
bryan_823
post Aug 2 2012, 04:30 PM

649 posts

Anyone encounter "Insert Sim Card..." error or random rebooting/hang issue on this phone? hmm.gif
Neo|ofGeo
post Aug 2 2012, 09:51 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Aug 2 2012, 04:30 PM)
Anyone encounter "Insert Sim Card..." error or random rebooting/hang issue on this phone?  hmm.gif
Nope
AP or Ori sets?

zuhaili87
post Aug 2 2012, 10:01 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(gotnet @ Jul 31 2012, 05:06 PM)
Is this the Official S Advance thread?
yes bro smile.gif
imranzero
post Aug 3 2012, 01:22 AM

238 posts

got this phone 2 weeks ago..bought it second hand from a guy who just use it for 1 week..rm800 only =)..nice phone,no heng, good battery life..mine can last 1 day +..only on data plan while working(10hour)..at home i turn on wifi all the time..
luahanpelik
post Aug 3 2012, 05:45 AM

130 posts

i`m getting mine in 3 days time, cant wait to own this awesome phone.
Mr.Zombie
post Aug 3 2012, 10:17 AM

Selling my Samsung Galaxy Advance .
For more Info. PM Me ! (:
iamloco
post Aug 3 2012, 02:53 PM

780 posts

GO launcher + live lock screen + live wallpaper = awesome!
regeneration
post Aug 3 2012, 06:58 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(imranzero @ Aug 3 2012, 01:22 AM)
got this phone 2 weeks ago..bought it second hand from a guy who just use it for 1 week..rm800 only =)..nice phone,no heng, good battery life..mine can last 1 day +..only on data plan while working(10hour)..at home i turn on wifi all the time..
wah.! so cheap.! drool.gif
i will grab 1.!
need guide from sifu2 here. so far this phone got any prob.? icon_question.gif
caillech
post Aug 3 2012, 08:03 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(regeneration @ Aug 3 2012, 06:58 PM)
wah.! so cheap.! drool.gif
i will grab 1.!
need guide from sifu2 here. so far this phone got any prob.? icon_question.gif
nope, you won't regret for getting this phone thumbup.gif
FreakyRookie
post Aug 3 2012, 08:11 PM

155 posts

when wil launch white colour????
matamatarahsia
post Aug 5 2012, 09:47 AM

will this fone be upgrade to jellybean?
SyathibiyMegat
post Aug 5 2012, 10:05 AM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

QUOTE(matamatarahsia @ Aug 5 2012, 09:47 AM)
will this fone be upgrade to jellybean?
Don't ask about JB when ICS isn't even out yet. sweat.gif
deblyrie
post Aug 5 2012, 11:23 PM

460 posts

i m letting go this hp..use only 4 days..perfect condition..acc all like new..do pm me for more info
luahanpelik
post Aug 5 2012, 11:28 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Aug 5 2012, 10:05 AM)
haha, who knows? they might skip from ICS to JB instead? hehehe
ryosuke
post Aug 7 2012, 11:37 PM

1,142 posts

Just got this phone, first ever android for me. Anyone knows how to remove unnecessary apps from this phone? there are some apps taking some ram space there..
regeneration
post Aug 8 2012, 05:34 PM

175 posts

good battery life thumbup.gif
price will increase because there is no stock. doh.gif
mudkipryan94
post Aug 8 2012, 07:20 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

bro.... dun scare me pls... I want that phone pls.... [reason: dun wan use galaxy y coz the screen so freaking tiny ]
notworthy.gif
:sad:

This post has been edited by mudkipryan94: Aug 8 2012, 07:22 PM
Drak
post Aug 10 2012, 12:13 AM

13 posts

many of my friends said that samsung phone is unrealible..
but then came across this phone..
really tempting.. is it worth the money? got many prob?
luahanpelik
post Aug 10 2012, 02:11 AM

130 posts

so far, no problem for me. maybe because i`m not pushing this phone to its limit (heavy gaming, 3G all the time). I`m quite satisfied with what i pay. bought this for RM930+

This post has been edited by luahanpelik: Aug 10 2012, 02:12 AM
ryan66
post Aug 10 2012, 03:29 AM

19 posts

smsung s advance n smsung w which one better?
adie82
post Aug 10 2012, 06:30 AM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

S Advance better
iamloco
post Aug 10 2012, 11:20 AM

780 posts

trust me. this phone is sooo cheap for the specs that if offers. smile.gif
regeneration
post Aug 10 2012, 06:45 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(ryan66 @ Aug 10 2012, 03:29 AM)
smsung s advance n smsung w which one better?
s advance more better.
galaxy s advance FTW.! rclxm9.gif
Unleashed
post Aug 10 2012, 06:58 PM

322 posts

Answer from Samsung Sweden about the ICS update for this phone..
http://www.facebook.com/samsungsverige/posts/430646996985388

but why only Samsung Sweden announced that this phone will get ICS?
why there's no worldwide announcement? hmm.gif
ryan66
post Aug 11 2012, 03:48 AM

19 posts

but this ph only 1ghz right?w is 1.4ghz?maybe i shud buy this phone
Dannyl
post Aug 11 2012, 07:42 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Drak @ Aug 10 2012, 12:13 AM)
Any examples of unreliable? Maybe user problem?

QUOTE(ryan66 @ Aug 11 2012, 03:48 AM)
but this ph only 1ghz right?w is 1.4ghz?maybe i shud buy this phone
W is single core 1.4GHz, 3.7", LCD.
SAdvance is dual-core 1.0Ghz, 4", Super AMOLED.
leon898
post Aug 11 2012, 09:42 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(Drak @ Aug 10 2012, 12:13 AM)
i've never encounter any problem with this phone, or any other samsung model..
from my past experience, i'd say sony gives me major headache...from build in quality to internal parts..
i think samsung is ok...in fact, this is first time someone complain about samsung phone...

redframelowyat
post Aug 11 2012, 12:30 PM

162 posts

u really cant compare super amoled screen with lcd screen, no problem at all viewing in broad daylight.

u take out your phone and people gonna asking s2 ke? or s3? u
kelvyn
post Aug 11 2012, 08:18 PM

3,173 posts

Is Samsung Galaxy S Advance obsolete already? ohmy.gif
Cos at 2 of the shops that I have asked, they said the this model is not more & obsolete.
They are selling other models of Samsung phones....
melvin91motorola
post Aug 11 2012, 08:56 PM

349 posts

but but i want this phone badly sad.gif

plan to buy this later....sked no stock T_T
Rudd
post Aug 11 2012, 10:19 PM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Aug 11 2012, 08:56 PM)

garage sales got whistling.gif

adix4
post Aug 12 2012, 01:40 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

advance or W

which one is worth better?

i used to have an Ace before frying the mobo
game4life
post Aug 12 2012, 01:43 PM

1,943 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Aug 12 2012, 01:40 PM)
advance or W

which one is worth better?

i used to have an Ace before frying the mobo
advance is better
khongts
post Aug 12 2012, 03:01 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Aug 11 2012, 08:56 PM)

It is still available. Just that some shops have run out of stock; probably due to the demand...
but most shops have increased their prices from say a month or two ago.... ohmy.gif
ryosuke
post Aug 12 2012, 05:41 PM

1,142 posts

oo then i consider lucky to get one last week. Wanted to ask what is the latest official firmware for this phone?
kelvyn
post Aug 12 2012, 06:44 PM

3,173 posts

It seems that shops have increased their price for the Advance. The lowest that I found is at 930. This is probably due to the supply & demand....
leon898
post Aug 12 2012, 06:46 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 12 2012, 06:44 PM)
It seems that shops have increased their price for the Advance. The lowest that I found is at 930. This is probably due to the supply & demand....
yup. bought mine for RM970 last week...
but satisfied with the performance though rclxms.gif

usop8290
post Aug 13 2012, 10:01 AM

998 posts

anyone here want to sell their phone can pm me..thanks biggrin.gif
han_cake5369
post Aug 13 2012, 05:00 PM

28 posts

very good android phone at cheap price smile.gif

This post has been edited by han_cake5369: Aug 13 2012, 05:00 PM
leon898
post Aug 14 2012, 03:23 PM

734 posts

heard many sellers got no stock for this model...
did sammy discontinued this model already? or perhaps downgrading? just like g version of s2? sweat.gif
kelvyn
post Aug 14 2012, 03:49 PM

3,173 posts

Just be patient with your search. There are still plenty of shops selling it. Just that some have ran out of stock...
Emo_Boy
post Aug 15 2012, 12:09 AM

★Safe_Trader★
1,808 posts

can someone shared they experience using this phone? planning to buy this phone =P able to upgrade to ICS or not? and this phone have corning gorilla glass or not?

This post has been edited by Emo_Boy: Aug 15 2012, 01:11 AM
hawnauk
post Aug 15 2012, 11:06 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(Emo_Boy @ Aug 15 2012, 12:09 AM)
can someone shared they experience using this phone? planning to buy this phone =P able to upgrade to ICS or not? and this phone have corning gorilla glass or not?
I'm not using this phone (my home minister did), but judge by the price below RM1000 I would say this phone perfoms well in all aspect among all the mid range category. The 1Ghz dual core processor gives you smooth handling as well as super amoled screen, and yes.... it comes with gorilla glass!

The slight curvy shape at the back of the phone gives unique design however you won't notice it anymore once you put on the back cover.. ha

The only drawback is the old OS (gingerbread 2.3.6) but rumours is in the air that this phone will receive ICS treatment soon so stay tuned yo.
caillech
post Aug 15 2012, 05:05 PM

247 posts

anyone experience the phone sometimes switch off by itself?
ryosuke
post Aug 15 2012, 10:04 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Aug 15 2012, 05:05 PM)
anyone experience the phone sometimes switch off by itself?
So far no.. did you drop the phone before ?
dewill
post Aug 15 2012, 10:43 PM

1,720 posts

QUOTE(khongts @ Aug 12 2012, 03:01 PM)
It is still available. Just that some shops have run out of stock; probably due to the demand...
but most shops have increased their prices from say a month or two ago.... ohmy.gif
this phone out of stock due to not selling much compare to S2 and S3
caillech
post Aug 15 2012, 11:58 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(ryosuke @ Aug 15 2012, 10:04 PM)
So far no.. did you drop the phone before ?
oh yeah... so this is the reason?? shocking.gif
malfogs
post Aug 16 2012, 03:57 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Aug 16 2012, 12:58 AM)
oh yeah... so this is the reason??  shocking.gif
maybe ...
zouk101
post Aug 17 2012, 11:54 AM

20 posts

bought this phone on 15 & 16 august..one for me and one for my gf...add me to owner list ty...love much this phone..performance not much diff with s2/s3 with spec and price wise is much greater..indeed value for money..

This post has been edited by zouk101: Aug 17 2012, 11:59 AM
AlexCTS
post Aug 17 2012, 12:25 PM

57 posts

Hi, i just bought my S advance about a week ago. I realised that my phone's battery can't last for more than a day. I have task killer and i killed those apps whenever i want to lock my screen. I tried to off my wifi, but about 12hours, my battery had gone down to 20-30%. I only use it to call a few ppl and play a little games (less than 15mins). Anyone experiencing this battery issue?
isma45
post Aug 18 2012, 03:30 PM

- rocking the highway -
582 posts

QUOTE(AlexCTS @ Aug 17 2012, 12:25 PM)
Hi, i just bought my S advance about a week ago. I realised that my phone's battery can't last for more than a day. I have task killer and i killed those apps whenever i want to lock my screen. I tried to off my wifi, but about 12hours, my battery had gone down to 20-30%. I only use it to call a few ppl and play a little games (less than 15mins). Anyone experiencing this battery issue?
buy a after sales battery with higher capacity.. eg sun global
Rudd
post Aug 18 2012, 03:46 PM

4,043 posts

use low/auto for brightness
AlexCTS
post Aug 18 2012, 05:32 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(isma45 @ Aug 18 2012, 03:30 PM)
buy a after sales battery with higher capacity.. eg sun global
But this battery should last longer than what I am experiencing right, since it is a 1500mAh battery?

QUOTE(Rudd @ Aug 18 2012, 03:46 PM)
use low/auto for brightness
My brightness set to the lowest already.

I realised that the battery drain very fast when I'm playing a game. Is this normal? I checked my battery usage (under Setting>About Phone>Battery usage>Graph) and the graph shows a very steep decline (almost vertical) when a game is turned on. I am just worried that maybe my battery is not performing the way it should be.

Added on August 18, 2012, 11:41 pmHi again, just wanna add something. Under battery usage, i saw that Android OS is taking 85% of the battery usage. Is this normal? Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by AlexCTS: Aug 18 2012, 11:41 PM
Maximp
post Aug 20 2012, 08:50 AM

656 posts

Guys is there any problem running mp4 720p video
I use many player but all show black screen with sound

Hardware acceleration = blank screen
Sodtware accleration = lag
DotaGamer
post Aug 20 2012, 09:22 AM

383 posts

So sad there is no xda developers' support for s advance @@
Though no JB no ics.. it is still a nice phone ^^
leon898
post Aug 21 2012, 10:26 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Aug 20 2012, 08:50 AM)
Guys is there any problem running mp4 720p video
I use many player but all show black screen with sound

Hardware acceleration = blank screen
Sodtware accleration = lag
so far i only encounter this problem while playing 1080p file...
720p is smooth iinm
Rudd
post Aug 21 2012, 02:59 PM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Aug 21 2012, 10:26 AM)
so far i only encounter this problem while playing 1080p file...
720p is smooth iinm
720p mkv got lag
KhalidAwesome
post Aug 21 2012, 11:50 PM

whats the current price of the phone? do anybody know any place selling this phone for cheap?
leon898
post Aug 22 2012, 08:15 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(KhalidAwesome @ Aug 21 2012, 11:50 PM)
whats the current price of the phone? do anybody know any place selling this phone for cheap?
try your luck at garage sales...

QUOTE(Rudd @ Aug 21 2012, 02:59 PM)
720p mkv got lag
owh, btw, i can play mkv 720p just fine...perhaps problem with the codec?

This post has been edited by leon898: Aug 23 2012, 04:24 PM
blackamikaze
post Aug 23 2012, 04:27 PM

Trooper Rank: BIG HEAD SERGEANT
2,671 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Aug 22 2012, 08:15 PM)

same with me.. mkv 720p play flawlessly without any conversion.. usually i just stream from my pc.. laugh.gif
popice2u
post Aug 23 2012, 05:51 PM

1,337 posts

when jb?
leon898
post Aug 23 2012, 05:57 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Aug 23 2012, 05:51 PM)
when jb?
read this

QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Aug 5 2012, 10:05 AM)
AlexCTS
post Aug 23 2012, 08:31 PM

57 posts

guys, any problem with battery issue?
leon898
post Aug 23 2012, 09:11 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(AlexCTS @ Aug 23 2012, 08:31 PM)
guys, any problem with battery issue?
what kind of problem did u encounter? mind sharing?

AlexCTS
post Aug 23 2012, 10:30 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Aug 23 2012, 09:11 PM)
what kind of problem did u encounter? mind sharing?
I actually posted my problem before on the page 19 in this topic. Post number 380. I hope u guys can help me with this.
Rudd
post Aug 23 2012, 10:49 PM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Aug 22 2012, 08:15 PM)
try your luck at garage sales...
u played with stock player?
leon898
post Aug 23 2012, 11:11 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(Rudd @ Aug 23 2012, 10:49 PM)
u played with stock player?
yup. and also mxplayer.

i think it something to do with deep sleep hmm.gif
but i'm not sure with that..maybe other sifu can help you sweat.gif

AlexCTS
post Aug 24 2012, 12:11 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Aug 23 2012, 11:11 PM)
i think it something to do with deep sleep  hmm.gif
but i'm not sure with that..maybe other sifu can help you  sweat.gif
I used CPU Spy. Left my phone untouch throughout the night with wifi,data and bluetooth off. Then i found out that 200MHz is quite high and deep sleep is low. This means?

This post has been edited by AlexCTS: Aug 24 2012, 12:11 AM
leon898
post Aug 24 2012, 09:51 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(AlexCTS @ Aug 24 2012, 12:11 AM)
I used CPU Spy. Left my phone untouch throughout the night with wifi,data and bluetooth off. Then i found out that 200MHz is quite high and deep sleep is low. This means?
maybe there's something preventing ur phone from entering deep sleep...
other thread mention about using 'BetterBatteryStats' app to monitor which app cause this.
perhaps u can try
Maximp
post Aug 25 2012, 11:18 AM

656 posts

guys is there any reason this phone cannot runs 1080p video files? kinda dissapointed
tbheng
post Aug 26 2012, 04:10 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Aug 25 2012, 11:18 AM)
guys is there any reason this phone cannot runs 1080p video files? kinda dissapointed
Just to share my experience and thought...

Why would you want to run 1080p (Full HD) video in this phone? blink.gif
The screen resolution is only 800 x 480, while full HD=1920 × 1080.
The screen will not show any better quality for any video with resolution higher than 800x480 (480p).
On the contrary the cpu will waste the process power on these extra data with no gain, and cause lagging.
It will scale the video down to 800x480 to fit the screen anyway.
And the 1080p video also taken up more storage as compare to 480p video. sweat.gif

The rule of thumb is to find the video with resolution fit the screen resolution.
With that, you get the best performance and best video quality the screen can reproduce, and save those precious storage space. i.e. optimised result. nod.gif

This is a great phone, overall smooth performance with such competitive price from Samsung. biggrin.gif
Maximp
post Aug 26 2012, 09:06 PM

656 posts

my reason why needed to run 1080p is quite simple
more than half of my video downloaded in 1080p format instead of 720p

rule of thumb as you said is resolution fitting the screen, but some people are not so technical about those

when you have many 1080p video that needed to be converted/redownloaded i dont think all those matter anymore, rather just copy, paste and play is faster smile.gif

i currently have a galaxy tab 7.7, it just copy and play every 1080p smile.gif, works well with external hdd with power source

tbheng
post Aug 26 2012, 09:44 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Aug 26 2012, 09:06 PM)
my reason why needed to run 1080p is quite simple
more than half of my video downloaded in 1080p format instead of 720p

rule of thumb as you said is resolution fitting the screen, but some people are not so technical about those

when you have many 1080p video that needed to be converted/redownloaded i dont think all those matter anymore, rather just copy, paste and play is faster smile.gif
i currently have a galaxy tab 7.7, it just copy and play every 1080p smile.gif, works well with external hdd with power source
Comparing s advance to tab 7.7, it has less powerful cpu (1Ghz dual core against 1.4 dual core) and lesser RAM (768mb against 1GB)...these 2 impact greatly on playing full hd video smoothly or not... smile.gif

Seeing your need and the result, s advance just seems not suitable as a full hd media player... sweat.gif
AlexCTS
post Aug 26 2012, 09:54 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Aug 24 2012, 09:51 AM)
maybe there's something preventing ur phone from entering deep sleep...
other thread mention about using 'BetterBatteryStats' app to monitor which app cause this.
perhaps u can try
I also have BetterBatteryStats in my phone. Under Kernal Wakelock, "radio-interface", "svnet", "alarm_rtc" and "PowerManagerService" are quite high.

For Partial Wakelocks, "JuiceDefender.Service" and "RILJ" are high.
splinter
post Aug 27 2012, 12:15 AM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

Anyone one got tips for battery saving?

Already off Bluetooth/wifi and set brightness below 30% yet the battery can't last me long enough. How have to use battery saver so it on off my 3g when I lock the phone. Can't last me a day now but my whatsapp and email can't sync up to date :-(
PleaseEnterYourName
post Aug 27 2012, 03:13 PM

386 posts

bought the phone, will add data plan to my existing post paid plan. as this is my 1st android with all the apps at google play store, i really afraid to install lol..

Maximp
post Aug 27 2012, 04:19 PM

656 posts

[quote=tbheng,Aug 26 2012, 09:44 PM]
Comparing s advance to tab 7.7, it has less powerful cpu (1Ghz dual core against 1.4 dual core) and lesser RAM (768mb against 1GB)...these 2 impact greatly on playing full hd video smoothly or not... smile.gif

Seeing your need and the result, s advance just seems not suitable as a full hd media player... sweat.gif

I already bought this device as my phone, satisfied yet disappointed a bit only

1ghz dual core should be entry level to full hd media player, the spec of both device doesnt even that far away just some smaller numbers 1 ghz vs 1.4, 768mb vs 1gb, why so serious with specs anyway,

anyway did anyone know why 1080p shown blank screen when playing video?

Added on August 27, 2012, 4:30 pm[quote=splinter,Aug 27 2012, 12:15 AM]
Anyone one got tips for battery saving?

Already off Bluetooth/wifi and set brightness below 30% yet the battery can't last me long enough. How have to use battery saver so it on off my 3g when I lock the phone. Can't last me a day now but my whatsapp and email can't sync up to date :-(

[/quote]

mine can last around 15hours with heavy usage,
usage from 8am to 12pm my battery left only 30%-35%.
i guess that normal.

my xperia pro around that time frame also, should be normal for android users to charge their phone daily

This post has been edited by Maximp: Aug 27 2012, 04:30 PM
mudkipryan94
post Aug 27 2012, 05:47 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Aug 27 2012, 04:19 PM)
mine can last around 15hours with heavy usage,
usage from 8am to 12pm my battery left only 30%-35%.
i guess that normal.

my xperia pro around that time frame also, should be normal for android users to  charge their phone daily
u need use QVoD gua... coz some stock video player din;t support 1080p [s Advance for 720p]

DotaGamer
post Aug 27 2012, 08:35 PM

383 posts

So sad that S advance still didn't have xda support.. no ics/jb @@
my bro using it with stock ginger bread ~.~
malfogs
post Aug 29 2012, 12:07 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(DotaGamer @ Aug 27 2012, 09:35 PM)
So sad that S advance still didn't have xda support.. no ics/jb @@
my bro using it with stock ginger bread ~.~
ya no xda support .. whats wrong using ginger bread? anyway using ics will require more ram .. but this device still can manage it .. wait and see .. hope there will be ics update soon
leon898
post Aug 29 2012, 12:18 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 27 2012, 05:47 PM)
u need use QVoD gua... coz some stock video player din;t support 1080p [s Advance for 720p]
so, can play 1080p file if using this app?
Maximp
post Aug 29 2012, 12:43 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Aug 29 2012, 12:18 AM)
so, can play 1080p file if using this app?
still the same, i guess 1080p is not possible

DotaGamer
post Aug 29 2012, 01:23 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(malfogs @ Aug 29 2012, 12:07 AM)
ya no xda support .. whats wrong using ginger bread? anyway using ics will require more ram .. but this device still can manage it .. wait and see .. hope there will be ics update soon
very wrong == bad UI.. my bro used go launcher, so it is used tons of ram .. yea hope so , but i more hope that xda will support it @@ samsung ics are not that "pretty" unsure.gif
toyuki
post Aug 30 2012, 11:46 PM

hi guys, ive just bought my phone for 2 weeks. the "after cleared memory" ram keep increasing.
my phone becomes kinda lag when it goes to 4xx/555 mb..and i have to restart my phone every 2 or 3 days so that it will go back to 2xxmb...
is it normal to have this kind of situation ? T.T
what should i do with it ? ><
PleaseEnterYourName
post Aug 31 2012, 04:24 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(toyuki @ Aug 30 2012, 11:46 PM)
hi guys, ive just bought my phone for 2 weeks. the "after cleared memory" ram keep increasing.
my phone becomes kinda lag when it goes to 4xx/555 mb..and i have to restart my phone every 2 or 3 days so that it will go back to 2xxmb...
is it normal to have this kind of situation ? T.T
what should i do with it ? ><
check running services? @@ just run what u use only imho. like whatsapp facebook twitter like that.. others like social hub game hub can kill.
SUSAmeiN
post Sep 1 2012, 09:55 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

how to turn off 3G data. help me... icon_question.gif
adie82
post Sep 1 2012, 10:10 PM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

FOR MOST samsung fon u can disable 3g data by press power button for atleat 2 second and it will display option to on/off data
malfogs
post Sep 1 2012, 10:49 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Sep 1 2012, 10:55 PM)
how to turn off 3G data. help me... icon_question.gif
setting> wireless network> mobile networks >( don tick " use packet data" and "data roaming")... if u dont know how to use the method by press power button..
SUSAmeiN
post Sep 1 2012, 11:05 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

thanks for help...

tis fren laa... dunno how to used but wanna used.. doh.gif
thej0ker6096
post Sep 2 2012, 09:49 AM

13 posts

as salam,

sarjantulang
which sh0p?g0t any free gift or not?am thinking to buy the phone any time soon.. icon_question.gif
khyrule_anuar
post Sep 2 2012, 04:01 PM

38 posts

hi..i want to ask something.. how much i can get for this now??
K o m p r 3 s s o r
post Sep 2 2012, 10:19 PM

95 posts

Just bought yesterday at Low Yat Plaza from Samsung Authorized Dealer. RM1099+Screen Protector+Flip Casing. 1 year warranty. Got some shops sells around RM999, but decided to bought from Samsung Dealer. So far so good this hp. Satisfied smile.gif
too.cool
post Sep 3 2012, 08:34 AM

i just bought this phone yesterday. big screen than iphone 4. hehe. now i'm looking for casing. here nobody sell it. i hope i can find it at the shop and also cheap smile.gif
usop8290
post Sep 3 2012, 12:46 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(too.cool @ Sep 3 2012, 09:34 AM)
i just bought this phone yesterday. big screen than iphone 4. hehe. now i'm looking for casing. here nobody sell it. i hope i can find it at the shop and also cheap smile.gif
this one bro..
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2396924&hl=

but im using this cheapo casing only

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2361316&hl=

Neo8663
post Sep 3 2012, 07:53 PM

1,244 posts

anyone know the release date of Galaxy Ace 2 ??
Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia already have it..............!!

thej0ker6096
post Sep 4 2012, 01:16 PM

13 posts

hey there..anyone know bout a decent battery replacement for s advance..?i've heard about scud bluedream and sunglobal..any experienced user? icon_question.gif
malfogs
post Sep 6 2012, 10:02 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:53 PM)
go ace 2 tered .. or u open one
Jeff2009
post Sep 7 2012, 03:34 PM

27 posts

Thinking of buying this phone soon next month (My birthday is on 30th). I still really need to find that screen protector especially at Low Yat Plaza because they don't really have it on other stores (IT has one but it didn't really matched the phone itself especially my brother & sister's which they had one too).
BlackWoods
post Sep 7 2012, 04:46 PM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Sep 3 2012, 07:53 PM)
Galaxy Ace 2? Do you mean Ace Plus?
I think it is already selling here already?
Saw Digi promotion few days ago:
http://www.digi.com.my/PhonesDevices/Samsu...AXY_Ace_Plus.do
Unleashed
post Sep 7 2012, 05:21 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Sep 7 2012, 04:46 PM)
ace 2 and ace plus are two different phones... sweat.gif
Neo8663
post Sep 8 2012, 02:10 AM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Sep 7 2012, 04:46 PM)
ace 2 better than ace plus icon_rolleyes.gif
KhalidAwesome
post Sep 9 2012, 08:44 AM

Bought it a few days back! really statisfied and happy.. anyone know where to root it to android ICS? and after root can the camera use zoom?
PleaseEnterYourName
post Sep 9 2012, 12:24 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(KhalidAwesome @ Sep 9 2012, 08:44 AM)
Bought it a few days back! really statisfied and happy.. anyone know where to root it to android ICS? and after root can the camera use zoom?
nice! why u wanna root to ics? @@ for me this gingerbread already very stable. well, minus the samsung apps but we got a nice amount of RAM.. unless u install apps that need live data..

btw, what u want is in XDA forum under the section of Galaxy S. Search inside that subforum.
BlackWoods
post Sep 10 2012, 10:09 AM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

QUOTE(PleaseEnterYourName @ Sep 9 2012, 12:24 PM)
nice! why u wanna root to ics? @@ for me this gingerbread already very stable. well, minus the samsung apps but we got a nice amount of RAM.. unless u install apps that need live data..

btw, what u want is in XDA forum under the section of Galaxy S. Search inside that subforum.
Agree.
The Gingerbread is this phone pretty stable and battery friendly.
Much more snappier than ICS IMO, if not as snappy as ICS.
XeactorZ
post Sep 12 2012, 01:25 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

good news, s advance and ace 2 user getting JB and skip ICS

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_ace...b-news-4786.php
akemwarhead
post Sep 12 2012, 07:39 AM

130 posts

So sad, no official thread on XDA and Lowyat too.
DotaGamer
post Sep 13 2012, 07:07 PM

383 posts

Tried this method but not working sad.gif
Pinkyhouse
post Sep 14 2012, 02:49 PM

20 posts

Yeah Yeah Yeah

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 12 2012, 01:25 AM)
good news, s advance and ace 2 user getting JB and skip ICS

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_ace...b-news-4786.php
Umi Kalsom
post Sep 15 2012, 12:53 AM

26 posts

hye. i just bought samsung galaxy s advance 3 weeks back.
the overall performance is good but there's something annoyed me
if i dont reboot this phone for about one day, whenever someone called me i cant hear their voices. just pure damn silent but the call is still ongoing but when i restarted this device, everything goes back to normal.

and not to mention it will become lag after 1 full day usage forcing
me restarted it every night.

please help me dear sifu s advance. should i root it or does it
have anything to do with internal hardware?
vostro78
post Sep 15 2012, 09:41 AM

6,804 posts

thinking of getting a cheap midrange unit for playing rom.... is this phone recommended? i am looking for upgradable to ICS / JB
leon898
post Sep 16 2012, 09:09 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Sep 15 2012, 09:41 AM)
thinking of getting a cheap midrange unit for playing rom.... is this phone recommended? i am looking for upgradable to ICS / JB
unfortunately, there is no custom rom available yet for this model sweat.gif
i guess galaxy nexus will suit your need icon_rolleyes.gif
Unleashed
post Sep 16 2012, 03:00 PM

322 posts

GSMarena reported that this phone may skip ICS and will be upgraded directly to JB..
i doubt it but if it is true, all of this phone user should be extremely happy.

SOURCE: http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_ace...b-news-4786.php

This post has been edited by Unleashed: Sep 16 2012, 03:01 PM
sharenchin
post Sep 16 2012, 06:12 PM

49 posts

yesterday i found that some phone dealer sell S advance in white, i wonder it is original set? because some dealer told me that no white only black...

Added on September 16, 2012, 6:27 pm
QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Aug 3 2012, 08:11 PM)
when wil launch white colour????
i saw the white 1 yesterday... look gorgeous.. i like it, planning to buy this phone in white

This post has been edited by sharenchin: Sep 16 2012, 06:27 PM
malfogs
post Sep 16 2012, 08:53 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(sharenchin @ Sep 16 2012, 07:12 PM)
yesterday i found that some phone dealer sell S advance in white, i wonder it is original set? because some dealer told me that no white only black...

Added on September 16, 2012, 6:27 pm
i saw the white 1 yesterday... look gorgeous.. i like it, planning to buy this phone in white
are u sure that it is s advance? because galaxy beam has white.. which look quite similar( which all samsung phone does) ..
sharenchin
post Sep 16 2012, 10:41 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(malfogs @ Sep 16 2012, 08:53 PM)
are u sure that it is s advance? because galaxy beam  has white.. which look quite similar( which all samsung phone does) ..
yes it is... cost RM1050 more expensive than the black1 and the dealer told me that it is new released color....

koksang
post Sep 17 2012, 01:14 AM

does this phone support nfc??? blink.gif
mudkipryan94
post Sep 17 2012, 05:39 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(koksang @ Sep 17 2012, 01:14 AM)
does this phone support nfc???  blink.gif
answer is no...
PleaseEnterYourName
post Sep 17 2012, 07:45 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Umi Kalsom @ Sep 15 2012, 12:53 AM)
hye. i just bought samsung galaxy s advance 3 weeks back.
the overall performance is good but there's something annoyed me
if i dont reboot this phone for about one day, whenever someone called me i cant hear their voices. just pure damn silent but the call is still ongoing but when i restarted this device, everything goes back to normal.

and not to mention it will become lag after 1 full day usage forcing
me restarted it every night.

please help me dear sifu s advance. should i root it or does it
have anything to do with internal hardware?
maybe because of the apps u installed? pirated apps usually tend to make ur phone problem... sometimes free apps also, so u have to keep track what u install
Umi Kalsom
post Sep 17 2012, 09:45 PM

26 posts

ouh really? haha. no wonder la, i always installed apps from blackmart. will try factory reset first. but if i root the phone, will it do any good?
sepet
post Sep 18 2012, 04:38 PM

148 posts

2nd how much tis phone?
bugijun
post Sep 19 2012, 09:44 AM

532 posts

just bought this phone yesterday for rm1050(+screen protector+casing)...i've found better deal but i like the shop so nvrmind....
PleaseEnterYourName
post Sep 19 2012, 05:05 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Umi Kalsom @ Sep 17 2012, 09:45 PM)
ouh really? haha. no wonder la, i always installed apps from blackmart. will try factory reset first. but if i root the phone, will it do any good?
why need root? @@ anyway, install apps 1 by 1 lo.. try first if got prob then u know which one..
AlexCTS
post Sep 19 2012, 05:13 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Umi Kalsom @ Sep 17 2012, 09:45 PM)
Rooting your phone will void your warranty. Since you're still under warranty, why not take it back to Samsung and let them do it for you?
FreakyRookie
post Sep 19 2012, 05:21 PM

155 posts

i m thinkin to buy this phone, will it laggy?
Jeff2009
post Sep 21 2012, 03:35 PM

27 posts

I've been looking for this one especially at Lowyat plaza. I tried to asked every phone shop but they still doesn't have these!

This post has been edited by Jeff2009: Sep 21 2012, 03:36 PM
bugijun
post Sep 21 2012, 05:02 PM

532 posts

what are those? screen protector?
Pinkyhouse
post Sep 21 2012, 05:11 PM

20 posts

Can this phone use Papago with junction views?
bugijun
post Sep 21 2012, 05:27 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(Pinkyhouse @ Sep 21 2012, 05:11 PM)
Can this phone use Papago with junction views?
yes, no prob
tbheng
post Sep 21 2012, 07:13 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ Sep 21 2012, 05:27 PM)
yes, no prob
Which version of papago? X9?
Jeff2009
post Sep 21 2012, 10:12 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ Sep 21 2012, 05:02 PM)
what are those? screen protector?
Yes.
bugijun
post Sep 22 2012, 07:20 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Sep 21 2012, 07:13 PM)
Which version of papago? X9?
X5, x9 no idea...
arimii
post Sep 22 2012, 08:23 AM

where the ics ?
alwinnng
post Sep 22 2012, 08:25 AM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Sep 19 2012, 05:21 PM)
not laggy laaa...

QUOTE(arimii @ Sep 22 2012, 08:23 AM)
where the ics ?
coming..mebbe next year beginning...
PleaseEnterYourName
post Sep 24 2012, 12:14 AM

386 posts

guys, im in need of a new housing/casing. recommend me a few if ur satisfy with what u have. mine is a leather folding with magnet.. the part with the magnet the stitches already broke apart...
bugijun
post Sep 24 2012, 08:53 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Sep 19 2012, 05:21 PM)
occasionally, it will be laggy

Added on September 24, 2012, 10:28 ami have a prob with usb transfer, sumtimes cant be detected and i have to reboot the phone....also occasionally i hear crackling sound form the speaker, but very seldom...donno if want to sent to center or not....

This post has been edited by bugijun: Sep 24 2012, 10:28 AM
ming86
post Sep 24 2012, 08:42 PM

440 posts

Everyone, ready for Jelly Bean? thumbup.gif

Source

Galaxy S3 Jelly Bean update commences, Samsung provides full list of phones to receive Android 4.1

Samsung has begun the rollout of Android 4.1 Jelly Bean for the Galaxy S3, and the first country to receive the latest version of Google’s mobile OS on Samsung’s latest flagship device is…Poland. The update commences today and introduces the Gs3 to such enhancements as Google Now and Project Butter as well as new TouchWiz elements including “pop-up play” (picture-in-picture) and something called Easy Mode. Samsung says a gradual rollout will have the update launching in other markets soon.

In the meantime, the OEM has taken the opportunity to provide an update on the list of devices that will receive Android 4.1 before all is said in done. The list includes the Galaxy S2, Galaxy Note, Galaxy S Advance, Galaxy S2 LTE, Galaxy Chat, Galaxy Ace 2, Galaxy Beam, Galaxy Ace Plus, Galaxy Mini 2, Galaxy S Duos, Galaxy Tab 2 7.0, Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus, Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 and Galaxy Note 10.1. Exact delivery of said Jelly Bean updates will vary by carrier and region.

This post has been edited by ming86: Sep 24 2012, 08:43 PM
caillech
post Sep 24 2012, 09:05 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(ming86 @ Sep 24 2012, 08:42 PM)
Everyone, ready for Jelly Bean?  thumbup.gif

Source

Galaxy S3 Jelly Bean update commences, Samsung provides full list of phones to receive Android 4.1

Samsung has begun the rollout of Android 4.1 Jelly Bean for the Galaxy S3, and the first country to receive the latest version of Google’s mobile OS on Samsung’s latest flagship device is…Poland. The update commences today and introduces the Gs3 to such enhancements as Google Now and Project Butter as well as new TouchWiz elements including “pop-up play” (picture-in-picture) and something called Easy Mode. Samsung says a gradual rollout will have the update launching in other markets soon.

In the meantime, the OEM has taken the opportunity to provide an update on the list of devices that will receive Android 4.1 before all is said in done. The list includes the Galaxy S2, Galaxy Note, Galaxy S Advance, Galaxy S2 LTE, Galaxy Chat, Galaxy Ace 2, Galaxy Beam, Galaxy Ace Plus, Galaxy Mini 2, Galaxy S Duos, Galaxy Tab 2 7.0, Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus, Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 and Galaxy Note 10.1. Exact delivery of said Jelly Bean updates will vary by carrier and region.
finally confirmed rclxms.gif
usop8290
post Sep 24 2012, 09:59 PM

998 posts

great news on jellybean update.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

btw guys, im having problem with my phone...the battery status is not working properly. even though im not charging, the icon show its on charging. moreover, when fully charged, the battery icon still show 100percent battery after few hours. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Pinkyhouse
post Sep 24 2012, 10:05 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ Sep 21 2012, 05:27 PM)
yes, no prob
Any website/link to download for the Papago with street view?

This post has been edited by Pinkyhouse: Sep 24 2012, 10:06 PM
adie82
post Sep 25 2012, 12:38 AM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

http://www.engadget.com/2012/09/24/samsung...rtphone-tablet/

Now that Samsung has commenced beaming Android 4.1.1 Jelly Bean OTA toward deserving Galaxy S III customers, it's announced a raft of other devices set to receive the buttery OS in the near future. On the list are the Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 and 10.1, Galaxy Note 10.1, Galaxy S II, Galaxy Note, Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus, Galaxy S Advance, Galaxy S II LTE, Galaxy Music, Galaxy Chat, Galaxy Ace 2, Galaxy Beam, Galaxy Ace Plus, Galaxy mini II and Galaxy S Duos. That should bring a bit of extra speed and smoothness to those devices, along with Google Now for search and Samsung's own flourishes from the latest TouchWiz UX. As for the rest of us, there's more than one way to skin a Smartphone -- or avoid skinning one, as the case may be.

This post has been edited by adie82: Sep 25 2012, 12:38 AM
baoz
post Sep 25 2012, 12:42 AM

963 posts

Perfect. Now got reason to buy this. rclxms.gif
hawnauk
post Sep 25 2012, 11:02 AM

208 posts

good to hear that samsung roll out the jelly bean update, may i know if we can just bypass the ICS and straight update our handset to JB?
AC_ryan94
post Sep 25 2012, 11:56 AM

banned!
1,000 posts

wee I gonna get this phone at November smile.gif rclxms.gif
syazmie97
post Sep 25 2012, 07:02 PM

88 posts

good! ive got one s advance.. hopefully they will give us the JELLYBEAN
adie82
post Sep 26 2012, 06:29 AM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

QUOTE(hawnauk @ Sep 25 2012, 11:02 AM)
good to hear that samsung roll out the jelly bean update, may i know if we can just bypass the ICS and straight update our handset to JB?
no ICS for this fon... samsung skip it.. straight to JB
SUSaaronsuarez95
post Sep 26 2012, 06:37 AM

huehuehue
721 posts

QUOTE(hawnauk @ Sep 25 2012, 11:02 AM)
as far as i know there is no ics for this phone smile.gif
hawnauk
post Sep 26 2012, 09:04 AM

208 posts

cool... thanks guys thumbup.gif
too.cool
post Sep 26 2012, 02:45 PM

Guys, i need to know. Im using this phone. But confusing. Can upgrade to another software or not? A few shops here can do it but when i ask to another shop, they say cant. Help! Im so confuse now..,
bugijun
post Sep 26 2012, 04:05 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(too.cool @ Sep 26 2012, 02:45 PM)
Guys, i need to know. Im using this phone. But confusing. Can upgrade to another software or not? A few shops here can do it but when i ask to another shop, they say cant. Help! Im so confuse now..,
what kind of software upgrade? custom roms? install piret apps?
too.cool
post Sep 26 2012, 07:25 PM

I mean this phone can upgrade to ICS or not?
SUSphantom_zero
post Sep 26 2012, 09:49 PM

517 posts

where can buy cheap samsung s advance? now what is the market prce?
hawnauk
post Sep 26 2012, 09:52 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(too.cool @ Sep 26 2012, 07:25 PM)
I mean this phone can upgrade to ICS or not?
no ics update for this phone but will get jb instead.
usop8290
post Sep 26 2012, 10:27 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Sep 26 2012, 10:49 PM)
where can buy cheap samsung s advance? now what is the market prce?
market price is RM9xx..just bought mine for RM700..2nd hand unit though.. tongue.gif
melvin91motorola
post Sep 26 2012, 11:02 PM

349 posts

really wan to buy this phone, but no camera button sad.gif

still thinking wan to buy this or s2

This post has been edited by melvin91motorola: Sep 26 2012, 11:02 PM
arslow
post Sep 26 2012, 11:04 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Sep 26 2012, 11:02 PM)

camera button only sony ler.....
Rudd
post Sep 27 2012, 01:09 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Sep 26 2012, 11:02 PM)

if u got money better go for s2,
want official jelly bean, s advance is ur choice rclxms.gif
too.cool
post Sep 27 2012, 03:58 PM

Can use papago M9 or not? How to install this software?
luahanpelik
post Sep 29 2012, 06:33 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(luahanpelik @ Aug 5 2012, 11:28 PM)
haha, who knows? they might skip from ICS to JB instead? hehehe
hehe ^^ thought so.
syazmie97
post Sep 30 2012, 07:55 PM

88 posts

any new news on the JB?
northernhero
post Sep 30 2012, 08:32 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(luahanpelik @ Sep 29 2012, 06:33 PM)
hehe ^^ thought so.
haha come predict when is the date

luahanpelik
post Oct 1 2012, 10:12 AM

130 posts

Date - to be announce. Patience my friend. ^^

too.cool
post Oct 1 2012, 11:54 AM

This phone have diamond SP and can upgrade to ICS. I ask the sellers in Malacca and Johor :-) good news for us :-)
bugijun
post Oct 1 2012, 12:34 PM

532 posts

it can be upgraded to ics but so far no rom support...dunno why xda also no support for the phone....

anyone have try rooting?

Added on October 1, 2012, 3:30 pmanyone tried full hd movies with this phone? i found if using software decoder it will become not smooth, and if using hardware decoder the movie will fail to play. dual core 1gig not enough to play full hd?

This post has been edited by bugijun: Oct 1 2012, 03:30 PM
ckchan
post Oct 3 2012, 11:04 AM

3,026 posts

been using this phone for few months. i must say i'm very satisfied with its performance thus far.

However, i have been experiencing this problem. the screen seems to turn on / light up by itself from standby mode. sometimes it happens very frequent, up to few times in 10 minutes. this can be annoying especially night time and it also consumed alot of power by frequent lighting up of the screen. anyone experiencing this problem? is it due to software or hardware problem?
hawnauk
post Oct 3 2012, 11:37 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Oct 3 2012, 11:04 AM)
been using this phone for few months. i must say i'm very satisfied with its performance thus far.

However, i have been experiencing this problem. the screen seems to turn on / light up by itself from standby mode. sometimes it happens very frequent, up to few times in 10 minutes. this can be annoying especially night time and it also consumed alot of power by frequent lighting up of the screen. anyone experiencing this problem? is it due to software or hardware problem?
there's once i hv similar problem but it's during the charging, the screen turn on with the message "unplug the connector" or something...

let's wait for jb update and hope it will eliminate these prob.
ckchan
post Oct 3 2012, 11:40 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(hawnauk @ Oct 3 2012, 11:37 AM)
there's once i hv similar problem but it's during the charging, the screen turn on with the message "unplug the connector" or something...

let's wait for jb update and hope it will eliminate these prob.
but for me, the phone is not charging and no message or whatsoever... the screen just light up for no reason
hawnauk
post Oct 3 2012, 11:44 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Oct 3 2012, 11:40 AM)
but for me, the phone is not charging and no message or whatsoever... the screen just light up for no reason
i advise u bring it to the service center and get it diagnose since it is under warranty.
syazmie97
post Oct 3 2012, 05:03 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Oct 3 2012, 11:04 AM)

i have this kind of problem since ive got it on my hand.. i hope that it just a normal behavior
baoz
post Oct 3 2012, 09:44 PM

963 posts

Just got a white one from aaronc (Garage Sale) today. More expensive than the black, but I really like the colour of this one. Vendors are pushing the price up on white cos not many carry it. Oh wells. whistling.gif The JB update better be worth it. Prefer this model over the Ace anyway.

innocent.gif

This post has been edited by baoz: Oct 3 2012, 09:45 PM
bugijun
post Oct 4 2012, 10:04 AM

532 posts

s advance is like a smaller nexus...hope jb wont take so long, coz this phone got no support from xda...no custom roms to play with...
PleaseEnterYourName
post Oct 4 2012, 04:38 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ Oct 4 2012, 10:04 AM)
s advance is like a smaller nexus...hope jb wont take so long, coz this phone got no support from xda...no custom roms to play with...
if u dig enough in xda forum, got custom roms.
zouk101
post Oct 6 2012, 11:09 PM

20 posts

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1917929
monocle
post Oct 7 2012, 12:27 AM

2,645 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Oct 3 2012, 09:44 PM)
Just got a white one from aaronc (Garage Sale) today. More expensive than the black, but I really like the colour of this one. Vendors are pushing the price up on white cos not many carry it. Oh wells.  whistling.gif The JB update better be worth it. Prefer this model over the Ace anyway.

innocent.gif
nice.. of cause it's a better den the Ace

0.2451sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:34 PM