The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3

Noobiba
post Aug 27 2012, 07:46 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Aug 27 2012, 02:04 PM)

Added on August 27, 2012, 2:06 pm
hi william, just got back from my trip...
manual focus is sick when doing street photography... i'm a newbie and when i finish manual focus, my object move away or loss patience ad  sad.gif
Hi bro geek8585,

Street is fun. Some tips from me another street newbie, Sometime I use rf to shoot street, I always set aperture f/8 and shutter I can handle, depends on the environments condition and film iso I used lar, in order to shoot my objects in focus. For nex, just set f8 and auto iso auto shutter, forget bout focus, patiently look for your objects, and shoot.

Great stuff bout street is there is always surprise/s, enjoy the street as its f***ing awesome !

lwliam
post Aug 27 2012, 08:00 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Aug 27 2012, 07:16 PM)
Ya, the aperture too... my current 1855 + my newbie skill fail me...
waiting for the 35mm f/1.7 + peaking...
hope it will release asap.. tongue.gif

Added on August 27, 2012, 7:23 pmPhotos below is shoot by the 1855 lens... with the HVL-F20S flash bounce up...

search google for CCTV lens 35mm f/1.7.... it's already out ages ago
mls_gamer
post Aug 27 2012, 08:03 PM

1,589 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 27 2012, 08:00 PM)
search google for CCTV lens 35mm f/1.7.... it's already out ages ago
My fault..
i thought you say the new sony nex 35mm 1.8....
TSnlik
post Aug 27 2012, 09:39 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Aug 27 2012, 02:04 PM)
From what i heard around and SAR, i assumed that 35mm will only release by end of this year or earlier next year (together with nex-6 or maybe wait the nex-7 supersede which take even longer)... i could be wrong  doh.gif

by the way, i found that SEL30M35 composition performance is outstanding but lose a bit to the 50F18... u may try this lens out to shoot potrait, ofcos the bokeh will not so nice  unsure.gif

Added on August 27, 2012, 2:06 pm
hi william, just got back from my trip...
manual focus is sick when doing street photography... i'm a newbie and when i finish manual focus, my object move away or loss patience ad  sad.gif
Focus peaking helps. Yea, what u mentioned is true, so MF needs quicker fingers and mind.

From my personal experience,
1. Before lifting up the camera you already know in mind which point you want to focus on. For Portrait, i know that I always want the eyes to be in focus.
2. As you lift up the cam , the left hand should be already gripping on the focus ring, and right hand thumb roughly on the MF assist button.
3. Once the camera is raised, check on the focus peaking and
- if confident, then MF and approximately at the time with the most 'red' peaking color, fire away.
- if doubtful, right thumb immediately hits the MF assist and peaking focus as quick as possible and fire away. Don't need a second press on the MF assist before the shutter.

May set to Bracket: Cont. mode if i want to be more safe. But will end up with 2 extra shots to delete after. Hope this helps.

Subject moving .. talk to them lor... so they stay there longer? rolleyes.gif
geek8585
post Aug 27 2012, 10:44 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Aug 27 2012, 09:39 PM)
Focus peaking helps. Yea, what u mentioned is true, so MF needs quicker fingers and mind.

From my personal experience,
1. Before lifting up the camera you already know in mind which point you want to focus on. For Portrait, i know that I always want the eyes to be in focus.
2. As you lift up the cam , the left hand should be already gripping on the focus ring, and right hand thumb roughly on the MF assist button.
3. Once the camera is raised, check on the focus peaking and
  - if confident, then MF and approximately at the time with the most 'red' peaking color, fire away.
  - if doubtful, right thumb immediately hits the MF assist and peaking focus as quick as possible and fire away. Don't need a second press on the MF assist before the shutter.

May set to Bracket: Cont. mode if i want to be more safe. But will end up with 2 extra shots to delete after.  Hope this helps.

Subject moving .. talk to them lor... so they stay there longer?  rolleyes.gif
thanks nlik... even i'm with SEL lens, i also turn on the peaking features to further help in case i wan use the DMF mode...
all the way to auto focus although manual focus is fun... probably when doing macro-ing or not street-ing? laugh.gif

i found that i need to learn how to make my photo to tell story, just got some books to read up recently... rolleyes.gif
and ofcos, learning from all of u.... rclxms.gif
mls_gamer
post Aug 27 2012, 10:45 PM

1,589 posts

Guys, adaptor for alpha lens cost around how much ??? Sony official stall got sell ?
toughnut
post Aug 27 2012, 11:07 PM

3,239 posts

C&C welcome notworthy.gif

#1 - Techinolor

#2 - Artisan

#3 - David

#4 - Life

#5 - Alone

#6 - Chilling

Shoot w/ 7+1855
geek8585
post Aug 27 2012, 11:10 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Aug 27 2012, 11:07 PM)
C&C welcome  notworthy.gif

love techicolor the most... composition and framing is just nice blush.gif

Added on August 27, 2012, 11:16 pmi have something to share as well... still in learning stage nod.gif

thanks for your time notworthy.gif

Added on August 27, 2012, 11:19 pm
QUOTE(Noobiba @ Aug 27 2012, 07:46 PM)
Hi bro geek8585,

Street is fun. Some tips from me another street newbie, Sometime I use rf to shoot street, I always set aperture f/8 and shutter I can handle, depends on the environments condition and film iso I used lar, in order to shoot my objects in focus. For nex, just set f8 and auto iso auto shutter, forget bout focus, patiently look for your objects, and shoot.

Great stuff bout street is there is always surprise/s, enjoy the street as its f***ing awesome !
wow noobiba... where you got that shot? just in timing... if that woman walked way, i dont think it is nice already cool2.gif
will try your method but focus is important for me... no point shoot some object and end up getting blurry effect right?

This post has been edited by geek8585: Aug 27 2012, 11:21 PM
Noobiba
post Aug 27 2012, 11:35 PM

35 posts

Bro geek8585,

I like your photos, so clean ! I smell sushi in your photos haha
choonhuen.koh
post Aug 28 2012, 12:36 AM

17 posts

hi all,

i actually own a nex-c3, trying to get my hands on a 18-200 lens, any recommendation or is it not available.

thank you
post Aug 28 2012, 12:41 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Aug 27 2012, 11:07 PM)
C&C welcome  notworthy.gif

#1 - Techinolor

#2 - Artisan

#3 - David

#4 - Life

#5 - Alone

#6 - Chilling

Shoot w/ 7+1855
Venice?
Does it has a lot of tourist there btw ?
geek8585
post Aug 28 2012, 08:33 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(Noobiba @ Aug 27 2012, 11:35 PM)
Bro geek8585,

I like your photos, so clean ! I smell sushi in your photos haha
thanks for your comment... somehow i think my photo still a bit messy but i dunno where it get wrong shocking.gif
by the way, that is korean BBQ... sushi dont serve this way LOL brows.gif
ChinWY
post Aug 28 2012, 09:07 AM

633 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Aug 28 2012, 04:10 AM)

Added on August 27, 2012, 11:19 pm

wow noobiba... where you got that shot? just in timing... if that woman walked way, i dont think it is nice already   cool2.gif
will try your method but focus is important for me... no point shoot some object and end up getting blurry effect right?
Not true that the best has to be in focus. The best /famous street photo taken by HCB of the man jumping over a puddle of water is quite blur. It is the moments impression you are trying to freeze in the frame. Look at some of th older National Geographic magazine for examples. Those taken pre 95 are with film.

Just imagine your self as either a sniper or a gunman gone amok with an automatic gun on the street. Who is going to get the best shot?

Btw,selective cropping of you pix will do wonders to it. Keep out the background 'noise' using the golden mean rule is still a time tested way to do composition. If you have difficulty fitting in the composition... you know you have very likely got it wrong .... but there are always exceptions to the rule.

This post has been edited by ChinWY: Aug 28 2012, 09:14 AM
toughnut
post Aug 28 2012, 09:52 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:41 AM)
Venice?
Some are from Venice but mostly in Italy. Tourist everywhere during summer sweat.gif
Ah hao
post Aug 28 2012, 10:41 AM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:41 AM)
Venice?
some venice pictures,taken during june 2012 thumbup.gif

and its super crowded and the river is a little bit smelly sweat.gif

toughnut
post Aug 28 2012, 11:26 AM

3,239 posts

I went there during July and its really hot. But i didnt notice the smell lol. Probably used to sea smell.

EDITED

This post has been edited by toughnut: Aug 28 2012, 02:09 PM
V-Zero
post Aug 28 2012, 09:10 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

Penang smile.gif

DSC01548 by Jeff XY, on Flickr

DSC01570 by Jeff XY, on Flickr

NEX-F3 + 1855 kit smile.gif
sengwee1988
post Aug 29 2012, 01:53 AM

78 posts

GundamAstrayRedFrame by AaronLSW, on Flickr

First try posting pictures here smile.gif

This post has been edited by sengwee1988: Aug 29 2012, 01:55 AM
ieR
post Aug 29 2012, 03:14 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

35mm? i tot sigma has some nice pancakes too?
geek8585
post Aug 29 2012, 05:37 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ Aug 28 2012, 09:07 AM)
Not true that the best has to be in focus.  The best /famous street photo taken by HCB of the man jumping over a puddle of water is quite blur.  It is the moments impression you are trying to freeze in the frame. Look at some of th older National Geographic magazine for examples.  Those taken pre 95 are with film. 

Just imagine your self as either a sniper or a gunman gone amok with an automatic gun on the street. Who is going to get the best shot?

Btw,selective cropping of you pix will do wonders to it.  Keep out the background 'noise'  using the golden mean rule is still a time tested way to do composition.  If you have difficulty fitting in the composition...  you know you have very likely got it wrong .... but there are always exceptions to the rule.
hmm... great lesson from you... but sometimes i do upset when i assume the object i focus was in-focus from my cam LCD, actually it is out of focus when i view in some bigger screen cry.gif

do you have some good example of no focus street photograph?

Added on August 29, 2012, 5:39 pmall sifus... i hv an idea in my mind...

with the UWA adapter, the lens view will be x0.75.. means 16mm will become 12mm...

if follow the maths, i pluck this adapter on my 50mm F1.8... probably i already get 37.5mm F1.8 which is close to 35mm F1.8 which will be release soon... ofcos, the size of lens will be significantly bigger...

what is your comment and opinion on this? will it cause any lose on quality?

This post has been edited by geek8585: Aug 29 2012, 05:39 PM

184 Pages « < 134 135 136 137 138 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:43 AM