184 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3

lovelyhelp
post Apr 9 2012, 03:34 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Apr 9 2012, 02:52 PM)
lovely result..

I'm having my 50mm 1.4 too  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 9, 2012, 2:55 pm

All you need is a lens converter.

Ebay should able to locate still.

MD- Nex converter.

good luck  whistling.gif
oh using normal kits lens with lens converter?
littlebeettle
post Apr 9 2012, 03:46 PM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(lovelyhelp @ Apr 9 2012, 03:34 PM)
oh using normal kits lens with lens converter?
if it is a kit lens, you do not require any converter.

Converter would needed when you want to utilize other lenses (not sony mount).

In stimix case, he is using a manual minolta old lens but F1.4 which can produce a great bokeh of the photo.

Soony
post Apr 9 2012, 05:11 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

What is the chepeast price for sony NEX-7 currently?
clearcase
post Apr 9 2012, 06:50 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Apr 9 2012, 02:56 PM)
who interested on the classic Konica Hexanon 50mm F1.4?? ^^
selling yours? i just bought the f1.7 version.. end up using it as my primary lens laugh.gif
RX-78-2
post Apr 9 2012, 07:15 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(clearcase @ Apr 9 2012, 06:50 PM)
selling yours? i just bought the f1.7 version.. end up using it as my primary lens  laugh.gif
just thinking to sell.. if price ok. indeed it is great lens, compare to other 50mm. It is my prime lens also, 90% time on the camera.
And I just sold my SEL18200 to fund for the NEX-5ND!! cry.gif
But soon i going to sell all other classic lens together with the classic film camera to fund for Leica M mount lenses!!! sweat.gif
stimix
post Apr 9 2012, 09:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Apr 8 2012, 10:16 PM)
You means the   tamron 55-200mm unable to deliver the good pic although with the MF?
Dunno lor..Never try this b4..but that's a zoom lens and not portrait lens that i used. The effect of background bokeh might not be so good compare to portrait lenses.

Added on April 9, 2012, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 8 2012, 10:18 PM)
stimix, ever use MF lens for street shooting? is it feasible? planning to get some really compact RF lens

I tried but you need a steady and non moveable items rather than human bcos manual focus lens is super slow..by the time you get the focus, your moving object already 0.1km away haha.

Added on April 9, 2012, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(lovelyhelp @ Apr 9 2012, 02:29 PM)
how to use manual focus lens with nex5N? what lens are you using?
My lens mentioned earlier. smile.gif . To use manual focus lens you must 1st "Enable" release w/out lens option in the setting so that NEX can detect or able to accept the manual lens. Thereafter get an adapter as another guy said. and thereafter..just set the option to either "A" or "M". I prefer A so that the NEX can automatically set the ISO & shutter speed. "M" really need skill and most of the time I failed using 100% manual haha blush.gif

Added on April 9, 2012, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Apr 9 2012, 07:15 PM)
just thinking to sell.. if price ok. indeed it is great lens, compare to other 50mm. It is my prime lens also, 90% time on the camera.
But soon i going to sell all other classic lens together with the classic film camera to fund for Leica M mount lenses!!! sweat.gif
Wah...Funding for Nortilux 50mm F0.95? drool.gif US410,000 rclxub.gif http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/5861...Aspherical.html

This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 9 2012, 10:11 PM
SUSendau02
post Apr 9 2012, 10:06 PM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Apr 9 2012, 07:15 PM)
how much u let go?
Dreamworks
post Apr 9 2012, 10:47 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

QUOTE(clearcase @ Apr 9 2012, 06:50 PM)
selling yours? i just bought the f1.7 version.. end up using it as my primary lens  laugh.gif
Nice, another Hexanon is in da house laugh.gif The f1.7 is actually the sharpest of the bunch, I also like the colours... Reasonably priced too.

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 9 2012, 09:21 PM)
I tried but you need a steady and non moveable items rather than human bcos manual focus lens is super slow..by the time you get the focus, your moving object already 0.1km away haha.

Added on April 9, 2012, 9:30 pm

My lens mentioned earlier.  smile.gif . To use manual focus lens you must 1st "Enable" release w/out lens option in the setting so that NEX can detect or able to accept the manual lens. Thereafter get an adapter as another guy said. and thereafter..just set the option to either "A" or "M". I prefer A so that the NEX can automatically set the ISO & shutter speed. "M" really need skill and most of the time I failed using 100% manual haha  blush.gif
Your MF skill not bad wat with the dog, I can hardly get mine to stay still. Baru press the MF Assist button and he ady lari to some corner dry.gif As for M mode, you can get a rough results of your current settings thanks to LiveView. I actually prefer this as I get to pick my ISO (don't want the camera using high noisy values) and my shutter speed (subject is slow or fast we know, but camera don't) based on my aperture size. But A mode comes in handy when there is no time to make adjustments, like hanging out with friends, they wouldn't wait tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Apr 9 2012, 10:47 PM
RX-78-2
post Apr 10 2012, 01:21 AM

790 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 9 2012, 09:21 PM)
Wah...Funding for Nortilux 50mm F0.95?  drool.gif US410,000  rclxub.gif  http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/5861...Aspherical.html
where got US410,000 that high? the bhphoto only selling USD10995!!! rclxub.gif
hahaha.. i wish i will be that loaded to go for the noctilux! drool.gif
btw, there is no point to go up to f0.95. the DOF is too shallow. even for f1.4 sometime hard to get the subject fully covered if get too close.

actually for past year of search online, i found that Konica Hexanon is the best price/performance lens.
the lens are very sharp especially 50/1.7, where 50/1.4 have better bokeh. 57/1.4 slightly less sharp than 1.7 and 1.4 but the old lens colour rendition and bokeh is very nice.
those older Hexanon '70 and before have some kind of characteristic while maintain some high quality close towards Zeiss and even Leica.
Konica produced nice Hexanon lenses with highest quality at that era, with their own optical formula.
however, the hexanon are not that popular like Nikon and Canon, as their lens have shallower registered length than those lenses. So only a few camera can fit the AR mount, end up only Konica camera users. doh.gif
Of course they have higher range for Leica rangefinder, the ultimate M-Hexanon range!!! drool.gif
But now with Sony NEX and MFT camera, now we can enjoy this cheap but good quality lenses!!! rclxms.gif
If you live in US, you might get it at very cheap price depends on your luck!!!
Here we have limited source for Hexanon, and the US shipping is really not pocket friendly!! rclxub.gif
My advise for ebay bidder, you must avoid shipping with USPS First Class mail at all!! it is just normal airmail without tracking number and not registered. you end up missing in the hand of local post office!!! mad.gif
Priority mail is better and Express mail is the best for tracking, and both will be handled here by poslaju EMS.

now the reason i want to let go most of my Hexanon not because it is not good, but I prefer to have my NEX in more compact size. Hence I go for Leica M mount lens which is the lens is very compact as well as thin adapter, and it seems they fit the NEX body better than the SEL lenses! thumbup.gif
I still couldn't afford the Leica M lenses which more than RM3k. So first I got the Voigtlander 28mm F2.0 which have very good review from http://www.kenrockwell.com/voigtlander/28mm-f2.htm!

Dreamworks
post Apr 10 2012, 07:21 AM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Apr 10 2012, 01:21 AM)
where got US410,000 that high? the bhphoto only selling USD10995!!! rclxub.gif
hahaha.. i wish i will be that loaded to go for the noctilux!  drool.gif
btw, there is no point to go up to f0.95. the DOF is too shallow. even for f1.4 sometime hard to get the subject fully covered if get too close.

actually for past year of search online, i found that Konica Hexanon is the best price/performance lens.
the lens are very sharp especially 50/1.7, where 50/1.4 have better bokeh. 57/1.4 slightly less sharp than 1.7 and 1.4 but the old lens colour rendition and bokeh is very nice.
those older Hexanon '70 and before have some kind of characteristic while maintain some high quality close towards Zeiss and even Leica.
Konica produced nice Hexanon lenses with highest quality at that era, with their own optical formula.
however, the hexanon are not that popular like Nikon and Canon, as their lens have shallower registered length than those lenses. So only a few camera can fit the AR mount, end up only Konica camera users.  doh.gif
Of course they have higher range for Leica rangefinder, the ultimate M-Hexanon range!!! drool.gif 
But now with Sony NEX and MFT camera, now we can enjoy this cheap but good quality lenses!!! rclxms.gif
If you live in US, you might get it at very cheap price depends on your luck!!!
Here we have limited source for Hexanon, and the US shipping is really not pocket friendly!! rclxub.gif
My advise for ebay bidder, you must avoid shipping with USPS First Class mail at all!! it is just normal airmail without tracking number and not registered. you end up missing in the hand of local post office!!! mad.gif
Priority mail is better and Express mail is the best for tracking, and both will be handled here by poslaju EMS.

now the reason i want to let go most of my Hexanon not because it is not good, but I prefer to have my NEX in more compact size. Hence I go for Leica M mount lens which is the lens is very compact as well as thin adapter,  and it seems they fit the NEX body better than the SEL lenses! thumbup.gif
I still couldn't afford the Leica M lenses which more than RM3k. So first I got the Voigtlander 28mm F2.0 which have very good review from http://www.kenrockwell.com/voigtlander/28mm-f2.htm!

The Hexanon master has spoken haha... I still only have 1 atm, the price for the rest (especially macro and f1.4) all ended up in high prices. How much for the Voigt? Looks sophisticated thumbup.gif
stimix
post Apr 10 2012, 09:19 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Pictures drill with that Voigtlander 28mm F2.0 or........haha

Added on April 10, 2012, 9:22 amBTW, now my collection also include one 70-200mm Sigma zoom lens. It's very clear but I don't think I will be using it frequently compare to both my Minolta portrait 50/F1.4 and Macro 50/F3.5.

The only time I'm thinking of using this zoom lens when shooting bikinis and even naked sunbathers in those oversea beaches haha

This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 10 2012, 09:22 AM
muman7
post Apr 10 2012, 11:04 AM

274 posts

Hi just wanna check how's this deal fair:
I purchased an NEX-5ND at 2699 but the stock came is only with 1855 lens so they promise to order the 16mm for me, I decided that I hardly use a wide angle so asked them to trade the 16mm for SEL50F18 instead, they quote me RM650 for the SEL50F18 after trade in the yet to give me 16mm, is this a fair price?
May I know how many variant of the SEL50F18 are there as they told me the SEL50F18 have no OSS but I think it has right?
littlebeettle
post Apr 10 2012, 11:07 AM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 10 2012, 09:19 AM)
Pictures drill with that Voigtlander 28mm F2.0  or........haha

Added on April 10, 2012, 9:22 amBTW, now my collection also include one 70-200mm Sigma zoom lens. It's very clear but I don't think I will be using it frequently compare to both my Minolta portrait 50/F1.4 and Macro 50/F3.5.

The only time I'm thinking of using this zoom lens when shooting bikinis and even naked sunbathers in those oversea beaches haha
I am shopping for a wide angle say 24 or 28mm for both my manual SLR and also Sony Nex drool.gif
stimix
post Apr 10 2012, 11:14 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Apr 10 2012, 11:04 AM)
Hi just wanna check how's this deal fair:
I purchased an NEX-5ND at 2699 but the stock came is only with 1855 lens so they promise to order the 16mm for me, I decided that I hardly use a wide angle so asked them to trade the 16mm for SEL50F18 instead, they quote me RM650 for the SEL50F18 after trade in the yet to give me 16mm, is this a fair price?
May I know how many variant of the SEL50F18 are there as they told me the SEL50F18 have no OSS but I think it has right?
Yess no OSS. I also thinking of this to replace the slow Manual focus Minolta F1.4 earlier but decided not when I found out no OSS and the review not that great. Anyway, the SEL50F18 is ~ RM1300 and SEL16F28 is ~ 700.. So it's OK kua hmm.gif
muman7
post Apr 10 2012, 11:22 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 10 2012, 11:14 AM)
Yess no OSS. I also thinking of this to replace the slow Manual focus Minolta F1.4 earlier but decided not when I found out no OSS and the review not that great. Anyway, the SEL50F18 is ~ RM1300 and SEL16F28 is ~ 700.. So it's OK kua  hmm.gif
According to thisthis, there is OSS built in, the RRP for SEL50F18 is RM1099 and SEL16F28 is RM899, so the difference is only around RM200, correct me if I'm wrong.
stimix
post Apr 10 2012, 11:28 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hmnn probably in US bcos, earlier one guy bought it in Singapore for S$499 or ~RM1,230. and for SEL16F28, the last I check in digtal mall Sec 14 ~ RM690 lor..You probably refring to US where the price is much cheaper than elsewhere.. Even those manual focus lens selling in US dirt cheap in Ebay but most of the cheap wan dun ship to Malaysia!

This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 10 2012, 11:37 AM
geek8585
post Apr 10 2012, 11:45 AM

923 posts

hunting for upside down also cannot get the nex5N ... i think even i go to the pc fair in the weekend also dont put too high hope...

anyway, something i want to say is the body of the camera is relatively light compare with some competitors... but once we pluck in the lens, it weight different ad...
toughnut
post Apr 10 2012, 12:03 PM

3,239 posts

stimix, I bought my SEL50F18 for SGD449, not SGD499 tongue.gif Thats around RM1080. Problem is not the price but availability as the lens still scarce.

i checked the local forum here, SEL16F28 can be had for SGD180-200 mint lol. Thats less than RM500.
stimix
post Apr 10 2012, 12:08 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha.. Oh OK.. I though S$400 paiseh...but somewan said no OSS? Why muman7 wan wth OSS?..If OSS.. damn nice liao.. BTW, more pic drill of this F1.8 pls.. wanna compare the bokehness wth older 1.7 & below manual focus lens haha
Cyclone1
post Apr 10 2012, 12:10 PM

408 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 10 2012, 11:14 AM)
Yess no OSS. I also thinking of this to replace the slow Manual focus Minolta F1.4 earlier but decided not when I found out no OSS and the review not that great. Anyway, the SEL50F18 is ~ RM1300 and SEL16F28 is ~ 700.. So it's OK kua  hmm.gif
I can assure you that SEL50F18 has OSS. But beware some people has received their 50mm with defective OSS module. When you attach the lens and turn on the camera, you can hear a loud and long grinding noise coming out from the lens.

184 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:59 AM