celciuz
post Feb 8 2012, 01:31 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 7 2012, 11:58 PM)
D800 and D7000 have same pixel pitch.
the official nikon sample images uses 14-24, 24-70 and 70-200.

nikon site getting overloaded now, but this guy mirrors them.
http://mansurovs.com/nikon-d800-high-resol...n-image-samples
These sample looks awesome! I remember seeing some samples before this, but the image doesn't look sharp like this one. Those looks really muddy, lousy lens used perhaps.

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Feb 8 2012, 12:10 AM)
extensively use? you can't judge the layout is good or bad if you just use it temporary.
so far i find that there is pros and cons for both C and N body buttons layout.
Nope, I'm not a Canon user. I'm a Nikon user.

QUOTE(seather @ Feb 8 2012, 12:17 AM)
latest news from my usual shop....
7.5k... my heart is itchy now  wub.gif
If price is 7.5k for the D800, I'm so interested now, but in the D800E instead.

QUOTE(seather @ Feb 8 2012, 12:37 AM)
official set smile.gif
if this is ur first FX body, yeap smile.gif a 16-35 f4 VR UWA lens will set u back another 4k
if i can prove it is less than 8k, will u buy me one?  brows.gif
this shop is authorized nikon dealer... if tipu 2moro komtar will have fire alarm tongue.gif
(unless his FB account kena hacked la laugh.gif)
Any idea about D800E instead? I'm really interested now biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 8 2012, 12:56 AM)
is it me or is the 14-24mm lens is a fantastic lens
both the interior shots looks woah...

on a side note, look how much difference without AA filter can do to your photos... click me
NONAC is dead this time round... wahahahaa
14-24 is the king of UWA zoom, superb optics!

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 8 2012, 01:41 AM)
look at the 14-24 sample the detail is so frigging nice !
pairing in such high MP sensor is really making full use of the lens resolution !

interesting comparison,
for extra 300 usd, i think D800E is ideal  brows.gif
D800E --> Win! Saw the samples and very impressed with the details...
freddy manson
post Feb 8 2012, 01:38 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 8 2012, 12:55 PM)
Wah... How did you manage to get Mahfooz on the phone? If I'm not wrong, he's a high ranking big gun in Nikon handling NPS section.

Anyway, to get Nikon SC to check your lens, they charge you RM 20 on which can be deducted from the repair cost later on.

How long? Lucky will be 2 weeks. Unlucky? 2 or 3 months?

BTW, you can check status of our repair online after receiving the work order number.

http://servicestatus.nikon.com.my
yup, he told me either to send the lens to him or mr Decward Chong.. met him last year in Sabah..

So i guess i'll just courier the lens to him and wait for them to call me and quote the fee..
Hopefully doesnt exceed the price of a new prime lens *lol*
seather
post Feb 8 2012, 02:13 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

The HD movie recording capabilities of the D800 looks great too! thumbup.gif

I AM THE DIRECTOR

noor22710
post Feb 8 2012, 02:47 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(noor22710 @ Feb 7 2012, 10:50 AM)
Guys...sorry if out of topic..I'm having prob with my D5000..when switch on, there is an error...n the error is about battery and sometimes about reset timezone..I'm not sure either it is battery prob or my dslr prob..should I sent for repair? How much it will cost..?please help me..I need my dslr before end of this month..
Anyone can help me???pleaseeeeeeee... cry.gif
TS0168257061
post Feb 8 2012, 02:51 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 8 2012, 01:31 PM)

D800E --> Win! Saw the samples and very impressed with the details...
So , D4 or D800E you ? brows.gif
Andy214
post Feb 8 2012, 03:00 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(noor22710 @ Feb 8 2012, 02:47 PM)
Could be the internal battery problem, which helps to maintain the date/time. Should be no problem.

If your current battery condition ok and working fine?

celciuz
post Feb 8 2012, 03:12 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 8 2012, 02:51 PM)
So , D4 or D800E you ?  brows.gif
If I have the funds, D4! But D800E sounds more reasonable...
ifer
post Feb 8 2012, 03:19 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(noor22710 @ Feb 8 2012, 02:47 PM)
The answer is obvious. Send it to Nikon Centre for a check up
vearn27
post Feb 8 2012, 03:20 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 8 2012, 11:40 AM)
Doesn't seems to have IS on the 24-70mm version II.

But on the other hand, Tamron recently announce their 24-70mm equivalent/alternative which comes with VC.
My bad. Seeing it wrongly. Canon 24-70 f/2.8L II doesn't has IS except for the 24mm and 28mm wide lenses tongue.gif
celciuz
post Feb 8 2012, 03:23 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 8 2012, 03:20 PM)
My bad. Seeing it wrongly. Canon 24-70 f/2.8L II doesn't has IS except for the 24mm and 28mm wide lenses tongue.gif
I wonder why go for the 24mm f/2.8 IS prime when you can go for the 24mm f/1.4? For handheld landscaping? o_O
TS0168257061
post Feb 8 2012, 03:29 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 8 2012, 03:23 PM)
I wonder why go for the 24mm f/2.8 IS prime when you can go for the 24mm f/1.4? For handheld landscaping? o_O
more like why to go for it when they have 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM
even tamron announce to produce 24-70 f/2.8 VC* USD

This post has been edited by 168257061: Feb 8 2012, 03:29 PM
vearn27
post Feb 8 2012, 03:31 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 8 2012, 03:23 PM)
No idea. The later wide lenses not L lens though.

BTW, what's the different between D800 and D800E? What's the purpose of taking down the AA filter? Care to enlighten me with details? huh.gif
TS0168257061
post Feb 8 2012, 03:41 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 8 2012, 03:31 PM)

BTW, what's the different between D800 and D800E? What's the purpose of taking down the AA filter? Care to enlighten me with details? huh.gif
low pass filter/AA filter is to remove the moire pattern where there is no-AA
it is a layer of filter before the sensor.
drawback is it will result in less sharp. less by how many % I don't know.

in order to fully maximise such large amount of megapix
AA filter is removed, and result in better sharpness.

those are theoretical, in practical I think it's hard to differentiate.
or in purist view, D800E is better to them.

noor22710
post Feb 8 2012, 03:46 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 8 2012, 03:00 PM)
Could be the internal battery problem, which helps to maintain the date/time. Should be no problem.

If your current battery condition ok and working fine?
Not sure...seems like full..but when switch on, the error will pop up...

i have spare battery where never been used seen i bought the camera.. i try to charge the battery, unfortunately it is still not full even after charge it for more than 8 hrs....so now both battery cannot be used..that is why i unable to check what is the major problem...do i need to bring the camera to service center?where is the place?

I need the camera end of ths month for my kids birthday party..
vearn27
post Feb 8 2012, 03:48 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 8 2012, 03:41 PM)

Hence, what's the definite pros & cons between D800 and D800E?

If I'm not mistaken based on your explanation and what I read earlier, D800E without AA is more suitable for studio or "still" photography and not suitable for movement? unsure.gif
freddy manson
post Feb 8 2012, 03:50 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

Oh i tot D800 for static and D800E for video *lol*
celciuz
post Feb 8 2012, 03:51 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Feb 8 2012, 03:29 PM)
more like why to go for it when they have 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM
even tamron announce to produce 24-70 f/2.8 VC* USD
Lighter lens maybe.. and better optics since its prime?

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 8 2012, 03:31 PM)

24mm f/1.4 is a L lens right?

Removing AA filter always improves the 'sharpness'. Not just on high MP sensors, even on the 12MP D700 sensor.
Andy214
post Feb 8 2012, 04:09 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(noor22710 @ Feb 8 2012, 03:46 PM)
Not sure...seems like full..but when switch on, the error will pop up...

i have spare battery where never been used seen i bought the camera.. i try to charge the battery, unfortunately it is still not full even after charge it for more than 8 hrs....so now both battery cannot be used..that is why i unable to check what is the major problem...do i need to bring the camera to service center?where is the place?
I need the camera end of ths month for my kids birthday party..
Is both your battery original? Or the charger?

It's better to send it to the service centre; The Nikon Service Centre HQ is in PJ, PKNS building. If you need it fast, send it in early, and do let them know.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 8 2012, 03:48 PM)
Hence, what's the definite pros & cons between D800 and D800E?

If I'm not mistaken based on your explanation and what I read earlier, D800E without AA is more suitable for studio or "still" photography and not suitable for movement? unsure.gif
More like not suitable for situations when is hard to determine and you have little or no luxury to test and compensate your shooting (e.g. events). Also perhaps also not for those who shoot jpegs? (Can or how much can be fix with jpegs?)

http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d800/features01.htm#a12

With the D800E, moiré and false color may be noticeable when there are repetitive and fine patterns on a subject such as kimono fabric. To avoid this, it is necessary to take measures, for example, changing the focusing point or shooting distance.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Feb 8 2012, 04:11 PM
vearn27
post Feb 8 2012, 04:09 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 8 2012, 03:51 PM)
24mm f/1.4 is a L lens right?

Removing AA filter always improves the 'sharpness'. Not just on high MP sensors, even on the 12MP D700 sensor.
Their price for 24mm f/1.4L should be sky high, isn't? Perhaps the 24mm and 28mm to cater for lower class.

Anyway, D700 has the AA filter removed as well? If indeed having the AA will decrease the sharpness, what's to do putting there in the first place? What's the cons of having AA filter?
Andy214
post Feb 8 2012, 04:14 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 8 2012, 04:09 PM)
Their price for 24mm f/1.4L should be sky high, isn't? Perhaps the 24mm and 28mm to cater for lower class.

Anyway, D700 has the AA filter removed as well? If indeed having the AA will decrease the sharpness, what's to do putting there in the first place? What's the cons of having AA filter?
There're mods done by 3rd party to remove the AA filter. It increase... wait more like, return, the sharpness.
Read above for the links on no AA filter, and see what happens at the samples with moire and false colour.
You can also read up on moire.

Here's another sample of moire:
http://nikonrumors.com/2012/02/04/why-remo...kon-d800e.aspx/

125 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0260sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:11 PM