Thanks david.
Seems like you have alot of funny stories and experiences yeah?
Cheers!
--+-- PROTON SAVVY LYN club V4 --+--, New thread after 2 years,2 months,27 day
Oct 9 2013, 10:58 PM
104 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Thanks david.
Seems like you have alot of funny stories and experiences yeah? Cheers! |
Oct 10 2013, 09:39 AM
88 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
Hi, i am planning to buy second hand savvy and my budget is less than 11k~ any comments or things to aware with other than the white smoke~
Oct 10 2013, 02:24 PM
79 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Oct 9 2013, 09:47 PM) Not reliable as BiBa. Other than comfort/handling/cabin room space powderful akon, in all economical aspect also kena pawn by BiBa. Shawie specialist are very limited in KL-Selangor. Namely 3, osmanbaba, Renautech, RS Auto. All 3 of them down south at Klang, Shah Alam and Subang individually. u mean it not worth to buy savvy nowdays? so i should forget savvy and get biba? |
Oct 10 2013, 07:37 PM
5,650 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
viva is far from being a safe car. super tin milo worse than kancil
plus, its phased out by end of the year |
Oct 10 2013, 09:43 PM
3 posts Joined: Mar 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(conankun @ Oct 10 2013, 09:39 AM) Hi, i am planning to buy second hand savvy and my budget is less than 11k~ any comments or things to aware with other than the white smoke~ Usual maintenance just like any other cars. Avoid pre 2008 model, you cant be sure the spindle has been replaced with a reliable ones, or you're going to suffer the same like mine. Refer pictar below. Shawie is a freakin awesome cornering machine, just bear in mind and not too carried over and flip the car will do. Accidents happened when people not aware of the danger surroundings.QUOTE(halim90 @ Oct 10 2013, 02:24 PM) I did not imply that. Shawie got its own plobrem, so as BiBa. My family got 1 BiBa, engine mounting already spoilt before hitting 20k mileage. I tried to consult several other BiBa owner, they suffer the same situation. Can't denied, the throttle response is immediate. Sprint is powerful for a small engine. Give and take to compromise what you want and what you need. On the side note, BiBa is an extreme basic car for makcik go pasar, it doesn't even came with temperature gauge. The only time you see the radiator indicator lite up RED, everything already too late. Mind you the BiBa engine mounting is just as expansive as a Shawie.What fireballs pointed out is true. BiBa safety despite also yield some 3 stars, but in reality it doesn't save that much of life either. Lu sendiri go google images of BiBa exiden, I geranti u tonight kenot sleep. Do the same to Shawie, despite how bad the exiden, the car still in 1 piece. QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 10 2013, 07:37 PM) viva is far from being a safe car. super tin milo worse than kancil Shawie phased out since 2010 plus, its phased out by end of the year http://www.fuelly.com/car/perodua/viva http://www.fuelly.com/car/proton/savvy Talking about safety, here's my personal testimonial: ![]() So, BiBa is not that safe, but it does the job. On the other hand, safe or not, is the driver that decide. ![]() Don't get me wrong, I'm speaking of fact jek. Ayam hardcore Plotong fanboi. Check my fuelly, all Plotongs |
Oct 11 2013, 08:32 AM
if want to wait out, next year will have viva replacement model and proton emas, both in rm2xk range micro car
Oct 11 2013, 01:43 PM
203 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
Oct 11 2013, 02:24 PM
55 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(MARTON @ Oct 11 2013, 01:43 PM) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-oFZCMpTJEthis is even funnier... Webber like proton cos the Eksos Muffer!! |
Oct 11 2013, 03:57 PM
321 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Klang | Shah Alam |
I wouldn't even consider BiBa.
Just get 2009 or 2010 Shawie and have fun! |
Oct 11 2013, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Oct 10 2013, 09:43 PM) Usual maintenance just like any other cars. Avoid pre 2008 model, you cant be sure the spindle has been replaced with a reliable ones, or you're going to suffer the same like mine. Refer pictar below. Shawie is a freakin awesome cornering machine, just bear in mind and not too carried over and flip the car will do. Accidents happened when people not aware of the danger surroundings. okay okay~ but mostly second hand sold is around 2005 till 2008~ will take note about that~I did not imply that. Shawie got its own plobrem, so as BiBa. My family got 1 BiBa, engine mounting already spoilt before hitting 20k mileage. I tried to consult several other BiBa owner, they suffer the same situation. Can't denied, the throttle response is immediate. Sprint is powerful for a small engine. Give and take to compromise what you want and what you need. On the side note, BiBa is an extreme basic car for makcik go pasar, it doesn't even came with temperature gauge. The only time you see the radiator indicator lite up RED, everything already too late. Mind you the BiBa engine mounting is just as expansive as a Shawie. What fireballs pointed out is true. BiBa safety despite also yield some 3 stars, but in reality it doesn't save that much of life either. Lu sendiri go google images of BiBa exiden, I geranti u tonight kenot sleep. Do the same to Shawie, despite how bad the exiden, the car still in 1 piece. Shawie phased out since 2010 http://www.fuelly.com/car/perodua/viva http://www.fuelly.com/car/proton/savvy Talking about safety, here's my personal testimonial: ![]() So, BiBa is not that safe, but it does the job. On the other hand, safe or not, is the driver that decide. ![]() Don't get me wrong, I'm speaking of fact jek. Ayam hardcore Plotong fanboi. Check my fuelly, all Plotongs |
Oct 11 2013, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(conankun @ Oct 11 2013, 09:27 PM) This 1 safe![]() ![]() This 1 not ![]() However, if you can confirm the old model already upgraded its rear spindle, it's still safe to own it. Or if you have 1k budget provided getting a good price purchasing a pre 2008 model, you may spend that 1k to upgrade the spindle/bearing/brakehub to Plotong GaGa as replacement. Quality is much-much higher than any other Shawie. Right side is GaGa spindle, much larger/thicker than Shawie, to accommodate GaGa's tail weight + 56 durian carrying weight ![]() Right side is GaGa bearing, much larger/thicker than Shawie, to accommodate GaGa's tail lateral force. ![]() |
Oct 14 2013, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Oct 11 2013, 09:59 PM) This 1 safe one last thing haha~ i often visit mudah recently but the used 2010 models are quite rare and mostly priced at 14++k~ so is it okay to go v 2006 or 2007 models with around 8k that is still negotiatable? since the wear n tear parts and minor mod wont cost me more than 3k right?![]() ![]() This 1 not ![]() However, if you can confirm the old model already upgraded its rear spindle, it's still safe to own it. Or if you have 1k budget provided getting a good price purchasing a pre 2008 model, you may spend that 1k to upgrade the spindle/bearing/brakehub to Plotong GaGa as replacement. Quality is much-much higher than any other Shawie. Right side is GaGa spindle, much larger/thicker than Shawie, to accommodate GaGa's tail weight + 56 durian carrying weight ![]() Right side is GaGa bearing, much larger/thicker than Shawie, to accommodate GaGa's tail lateral force. ![]() |
Oct 14 2013, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(conankun @ Oct 14 2013, 10:58 AM) one last thing haha~ i often visit mudah recently but the used 2010 models are quite rare and mostly priced at 14++k~ so is it okay to go v 2006 or 2007 models with around 8k that is still negotiatable? since the wear n tear parts and minor mod wont cost me more than 3k right? Buying a second hand car itself is a risk. So I really dare not advise you. For 3k to restore mechanical parts usually is sufficient geh(provided you're not buying an AMT). But still, you gotta make sure the engine is atleast in running condition and no oil leak. It's better that if you get an experienced Shawie owner to view the car before you put down the rock hard cash. 1 more thing, the clutch usually will emit annoying squeeking sound. It's advised NOT to readjust the clutching length. Shawie GB housing is too narrow, hence the clutch cover was designed to very minimal rejection. Clutch heavy is unavoidable. Over a longer period of utilization, the clutch fork will emit annoying grinding sound. All you do is grease it to remove the sound temporarily(it will still come back). Because if you try to adjust the cable to pull the clutch cover higher, the sooner the clutch cover spring wear off. Somesaid, this is a flaw, but if you look at it positively, it's simply a limitation. Originally, the Renault Clio also wasn't designed for average Malaysian like you and me whack the car from Bkt Kayu Hitam all the way to Singapork. So, don't blame the car, blame Plotong buy over technology but did not customize it to accommodate local consumer |
Oct 15 2013, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Oct 14 2013, 08:23 PM) Buying a second hand car itself is a risk. So I really dare not advise you. For 3k to restore mechanical parts usually is sufficient geh(provided you're not buying an AMT). But still, you gotta make sure the engine is atleast in running condition and no oil leak. It's better that if you get an experienced Shawie owner to view the car before you put down the rock hard cash. 1 more thing, the clutch usually will emit annoying squeeking sound. It's advised NOT to readjust the clutching length. Shawie GB housing is too narrow, hence the clutch cover was designed to very minimal rejection. Clutch heavy is unavoidable. Over a longer period of utilization, the clutch fork will emit annoying grinding sound. All you do is grease it to remove the sound temporarily(it will still come back). Because if you try to adjust the cable to pull the clutch cover higher, the sooner the clutch cover spring wear off. Somesaid, this is a flaw, but if you look at it positively, it's simply a limitation. Originally, the Renault Clio also wasn't designed for average Malaysian like you and me whack the car from Bkt Kayu Hitam all the way to Singapork. So, don't blame the car, blame Plotong buy over technology but did not customize it to accommodate local consumer ok thanks~ i know the risk well but just a student not much cash in hand haha |
Oct 17 2013, 01:47 PM
104 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Tmn TAR |
Oct 18 2013, 02:07 PM
277 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
go to a savvy lighly knock on the door..go to a viva gently knock on the door..u will know what we talking about.
Savyy most important is RENAULt engine! you are driving a CONTI..i bought a AMT08 11K+ ..feel good with the car but you must use the manual mode in order to get control.or else if u put D is more of the car control u ;p FC was excellent! The only problem I encounter.. 1) the vibration over the drawer 2) reverse control have to carefully execute (a known problem I heard) 3) the big steering which is sort of blocking the view if u are not 6 feet.There are no steering adj.thinking to change to smaller steering. my version got no rear viper not sure can it be install? anyone can advice? thanks This post has been edited by Yukieliow: Oct 18 2013, 02:12 PM |
Oct 19 2013, 07:11 PM
278 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: SEREMBAN < > PETALING JAYA |
change rear bonnet, sure got wiper together.. switch need to do at any accesories shop..
thinking of doing this to my wife gx swift.. but it cost a bomb for the bonnet.. 900+ halfcut for swift.. |
Oct 19 2013, 09:13 PM
do you really need a wiper at the back? driven 5 years and i think i have activated the wiper for less than 10 times
easier trick - use car polish it shiny shiny. dirt wont stick. do it for all your windows and side mirror. |
Oct 19 2013, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 19 2013, 09:13 PM) do you really need a wiper at the back? driven 5 years and i think i have activated the wiper for less than 10 times It's a must have already ler, jiu go see Plotong GaGa also purposely drill the windshield to plonk a rear wiper easier trick - use car polish it shiny shiny. dirt wont stick. do it for all your windows and side mirror. |
Oct 20 2013, 02:05 AM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Hye guys, I wanted to ask where can get Parts for Clutch kit set ?. Today i hentam my savvy to 180km/h on MEX highway(just for fun only). Then reliase that my clutch is starting to slip. How much is the labour charge ost to change clutch plate at USJ ?. Btw mine is AMT.
| Change to: | 0.0338sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:11 PM |