93 posts

got fast and slow some place

phoenixxx
post Aug 16 2012, 08:36 PM

Sesquipedalian hittin' the quasihemdemisemiquaver
1,241 posts

I just had the worst ever contractor installation experience today.

To TIME - I wonder what sort of screening you do when you select contractors but they are obviously not good.

The two Indonesians who came today were not only late, but it was obvious right from the get go that they are not equipped to do the job AT ALL:

- they came without basic tools (extension cords, broom, casing for the fibre, etc)
- they were well aware of condominium rules (no installation after 5 in most cases) and still they came at 4pm - and then complained they couldn't finish the job because management was being difficult
- I had to go and seek special permission from the management to allow them to work past 5
- They wanted to buka puasa and expected me to wait for them while they ate. Luckily, this didn't happen because:
- they were arguing and quarrelling all throughout the installation which resulted in one of them slamming the entire pipe (with fiber inside) causing it to snap.
- they utterly destroyed the wall outside my condo, and I will very likely have to pay for repairs

there are many other things which I can't possibly list here. I purposely took unpaid leave today (new job, under probation) just for them to install. Been waiting since 2pm, and watching (even helping them) work all the way till around 815 when I finally gave up and just told them to leave.
steakikan
post Aug 16 2012, 08:47 PM

34 posts

Wow, what a bad experience

Mine is quite okay, only leave out a quite apparent hole unpatched.

edit:
Currently Downloading Visual Studio documentation at rate about 3.6-7.2mbps

This post has been edited by steakikan: Aug 16 2012, 08:47 PM
phoenixxx
post Aug 16 2012, 08:57 PM

1,241 posts

The part I'm most disturbed about is these guys were practically at each other's throats the whole time. And they happily step / place ladder / bend (at one point, the guy even used his lighter to "burn" the pipe so that it can be bent - WITH THE FIBRE INSIDE) on the FRAGILE thin thread fibre.

These are your average run-of-the-mill construction worker type. Why are they allowed to handle such delicate equipment like fibre? There's a reel of about 50 metres of mangled fibre right outside my house - totally wasted.

This post has been edited by phoenixxx: Aug 16 2012, 09:00 PM
jjj2
post Aug 16 2012, 09:15 PM

3,604 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Aug 16 2012, 08:57 PM)
The part I'm most disturbed about is these guys were practically at each other's throats the whole time. And they happily step / place ladder / bend (at one point, the guy even used his lighter to "burn" the pipe so that it can be bent - WITH THE FIBRE INSIDE) on the FRAGILE thin thread fibre.

These are your average run-of-the-mill construction worker type. Why are they allowed to handle such delicate equipment like fibre? There's a reel of about 50 metres of mangled fibre right outside my house - totally wasted.
Bro, on behalf of the TIME management, I apologize for the mass you have gone through today. We promise we will sort things out.

The bad installers will eventually be filtered out !
ihsan
post Aug 16 2012, 09:21 PM

1,235 posts

wow, what has happened to TIME dotCom?

Putting wrong people at the wrong job again?

This post has been edited by ihsan: Aug 16 2012, 09:23 PM
neonash
post Aug 16 2012, 10:57 PM

Maybe too many engineers retired
phoenixxx
post Aug 17 2012, 08:03 PM

1,241 posts

Thank you JJ for all your troubles - installation today is smooth and fast. Your service is exceptional and I will definitely recommend you to friends. Just make sure you pair them with a good contractor laugh.gif

Thanks again, I appreciate your help.
jjj2
post Aug 17 2012, 09:26 PM

3,604 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Aug 17 2012, 08:03 PM)
Thank you JJ for all your troubles - installation today is smooth and fast. Your service is exceptional and I will definitely recommend you to friends. Just make sure you pair them with a good contractor laugh.gif

Thanks again, I appreciate your help.
I'm glad everything is done finally. I must say the Installer today have done a great & fantastic job, will thank them smile.gif

I really need to do some 'research' which contractors are good ...Lol ...

Thanks bro & appreciate your time & patience to go through this smile.gif

Take care & always feel free to get in touch with me if you need any infos or assistance, I'll ty my best to help smile.gif

Happy downloading & Happy Holidays !

Cheers smile.gif
fireballs
post Aug 17 2012, 11:15 PM

5,646 posts

even my corp line... 0.6mbps down 0.6mbps up sad.gif
jjj2
post Aug 18 2012, 12:02 AM

3,604 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Aug 17 2012, 11:15 PM)
even my corp line... 0.6mbps down 0.6mbps up sad.gif
What package my friend ? Try test using cable connection.

Currently slowest Business package is 6Mbps.

skylinelover
post Aug 18 2012, 06:31 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Aug 16 2012, 08:36 PM)
I just had the worst ever contractor installation experience today.

To TIME - I wonder what sort of screening you do when you select contractors but they are obviously not good.

The two Indonesians who came today were not only late, but it was obvious right from the get go that they are not equipped to do the job AT ALL:

- they came without basic tools (extension cords, broom, casing for the fibre, etc)
- they were well aware of condominium rules (no installation after 5 in most cases) and still they came at 4pm - and then complained they couldn't finish the job because management was being difficult
- I had to go and seek special permission from the management to allow them to work past 5
- They wanted to buka puasa and expected me to wait for them while they ate. Luckily, this didn't happen because:
  - they were arguing and quarrelling all throughout the installation which resulted in one of them slamming the entire pipe (with fiber inside) causing it to snap.
- they utterly destroyed the wall outside my condo, and I will very likely have to pay for repairs

there are many other things which I can't possibly list here. I purposely took unpaid leave today (new job, under probation) just for them to install. Been waiting since 2pm, and watching (even helping them) work all the way till around 815 when I finally gave up and just told them to leave.
OMG this must have sucked hard ohmy.gif rclxub.gif
cywings
post Aug 27 2012, 11:26 PM

415 posts

hi people, so how's the speed lately ? has it improved ?

potential subscriber here but i want to know if TIME's reliability is on the same level as UNIFI..
skylinelover
post Aug 28 2012, 09:51 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

QUOTE(cywings @ Aug 27 2012, 11:26 PM)
hi people, so how's the speed lately ? has it improved ?

potential subscriber here but i want to know if TIME's reliability is on the same level as UNIFI..
tested friends ASTRO TIME BROADBAND already...dam solid n speeds like jet plane laugh.gif rclxms.gif
jjj2
post Aug 28 2012, 10:07 AM

3,604 posts

Thanks bro.

Have you tested TIME own package which can boost up to 50Mbps ?

steakikan
post Aug 28 2012, 01:50 PM

34 posts

Some speedmeter screenshot of 50Mbps

Actual Download from MSDN is about 10-20mbps...

Stability wise lately quite good, but ping to SF still quite bad, later try to speed test again

Hope it help, maybe u would like us to try speedtest?

linkokkeen
post Aug 28 2012, 10:30 PM

278 posts

May i ask sifu here, can i use tplink to use as access point to wifi my office ah? thanks

Added on August 28, 2012, 10:31 pmMay i ask sifu here, can i use tplink to use as access point to wifi my office ah? thanks

This post has been edited by linkokkeen: Aug 28 2012, 10:31 PM

126 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:58 PM