126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V2, Faster Better Greener Unbreakable!

salimbest83
post Aug 8 2012, 09:50 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(yewMP5 @ Aug 8 2012, 09:22 AM)
All sifus ....120gb ssd issit enough for win7 64bit + 1 antivirus software? any reliable brand can suggest? Intel? hmm.gif
shud be enuff.. mine with d3, dota, dota 2, NFS Run, normal apps bla2.

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Aug 8 2012, 09:51 AM
refnulf
post Aug 8 2012, 10:05 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

I was thinking maybe get a smaller SSD at first, but then might as well get the 512GB now and then something bigger later when prices fall and there's the 1TB available. Secondary hard drive can be slow since it's just for media, etc.
everling
post Aug 8 2012, 04:57 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 8 2012, 10:05 AM)
I was thinking maybe get a smaller SSD at first, but then might as well get the 512GB now and then something bigger later when prices fall and there's the 1TB available. Secondary hard drive can be slow since it's just for media, etc.
512GB is a bit much for the average user in my opinion. I think that 120GB to 256GB, paired with a large storage HDD, is a sweet spot between price and useful capacity.
Acid_RuleZz
post Aug 8 2012, 08:46 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

This thread lacks Vertex 4. tongue.gif

Vertex 4 128GB Firmware 1.5 - 40% filled.

No idea why my sequential read speed fluctuating like mad.. it hover around 410-500. hmm.gif
zapdos9
post Aug 8 2012, 08:52 PM

chittychitty bangbang
523 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Aug 7 2012, 12:09 PM)
Looks like everything is fine then. Read and write is hitting past 500MB/s.

This is how Sandforce-based SSDs behave. Poorly on random and incompressible data and very well on compressible data, and all the manufacturers uses the compressible data performance for their advertising.
So how does Indilinx behaves?
yewMP5
post Aug 8 2012, 11:11 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Aug 8 2012, 09:43 AM)

Intel's 330 Series is a good SSD brand for anyone new or old to SSDs. They're cheap, fast, and reliable.

Wow bro....u hit my target...haha I'm really interested in 330 series for its price...for a normal user like me. I thinks it's just the right shot for the price =] thanks...
t3n
post Aug 9 2012, 12:22 PM

1,457 posts

My new M4 Crucial SSD tongue.gif

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
herojack41
post Aug 9 2012, 09:20 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(azizul1975 @ Aug 8 2012, 09:22 AM)
no need partition.... trust me, you wouldn't want a partition on a disk with small capacity...
i disagree with your ( no need partition )

is always good to do partition for backing up important data/files or even driver

if your OS corrupt....its going to giv you hell lots of work to recover back
SUSsoundsyst64
post Aug 9 2012, 09:23 PM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

Partition is good, but i prefer to stick 1 partition in SSD (since i can add HDD in optical slot of my notebook)
sulfuriq
post Aug 9 2012, 10:02 PM

1,183 posts

No need for partition if your SSD's size is only 120GB for desktop. The best way is to do regular image backup for your OS and save it external USB HDD. That way, if your OS corrupt, you can easily Secure Erase your SSD and just re-image the backup on your newly cleaned old SSD. Data as always much preferable to be storage in your SATA HHD.
bombayspeed
post Aug 10 2012, 12:05 AM

173 posts

anyone using Corsair Force GS here ?
LanzaDelRelampago
post Aug 10 2012, 02:36 AM

77 posts

is it worth it to buy SSD? and what is the most worth it with the money spent?
SSJBen
post Aug 10 2012, 02:57 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(LanzaDelRelampago @ Aug 10 2012, 02:36 AM)
is it worth it to buy SSD? and what is the most worth it with the money spent?
Yes it is, if you can spare the money then it's best upgrade a computer can get. Even better than upgrading a graphics card IMO.

Your second question isn't quite valid because you didn't state your budget. And since you didn't, I would say a Crucial M4 for RM670 is a pretty worthy buy.
LanzaDelRelampago
post Aug 10 2012, 03:21 AM

77 posts

i meant for laptop. crucial m4 rm670 how many gb? can 7mm fit in 9.5mm port?
refnulf
post Aug 10 2012, 07:34 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(LanzaDelRelampago @ Aug 10 2012, 03:21 AM)
i meant for laptop. crucial m4 rm670 how many gb? can 7mm fit in 9.5mm port?
256GB if I'm not mistaken and yeah, you might require the riser though to use the 7mm. Unless you get the 9mm version.

This post has been edited by refnulf: Aug 10 2012, 07:38 AM
LanzaDelRelampago
post Aug 10 2012, 10:27 AM

77 posts

that is quite cheap for 256GB. whose the seller actually sell with those price? drool.gif

neverendinghells
post Aug 10 2012, 10:41 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 10 2012, 07:34 AM)
256GB if I'm not mistaken and yeah, you might require the riser though to use the 7mm. Unless you get the 9mm version.
Not really, cos some of the laptops has screws, just adjust the SSD to the screws holes and lock it will do... not really requires riser and others... plus thinner = more better chances in using it in other stuffs in future~

Tq

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2394269

selling Crucial M4 Sata III SSD 256gb - CT256M4SSD1* / CT256M4SSD2 @ RM659 READY STOCK for 9mm ,7mm* Limited Stocks!

7mm slightly expensive then 9mm for 256gb.

Hmm... 256GB @ 659, what's 670 lolz

This post has been edited by neverendinghells: Aug 10 2012, 10:42 AM
refnulf
post Aug 10 2012, 10:49 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(neverendinghells @ Aug 10 2012, 10:41 AM)
Not really, cos some of the laptops has screws, just adjust the SSD to the screws holes and lock it will do... not really requires riser and others... plus thinner = more better chances in using it in other stuffs in future~

Tq

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2394269
selling Crucial M4 Sata III SSD 256gb - CT256M4SSD1* / CT256M4SSD2 @ RM659 READY STOCK for 9mm ,7mm* Limited Stocks!

7mm slightly expensive then 9mm for 256gb.
Hmm... 256GB @ 659, what's 670 lolz
Not bad the price, but 256gb is a little too small.
neverendinghells
post Aug 10 2012, 10:52 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 10 2012, 10:49 AM)
Not bad the price, but 256gb is a little too small.
It's Very Subjective tbh this question, Some even 1TB also nt enough.

if 256GB, after format, + windows + softwares (CS6, premier , 3dmark and etc etc is more then enough already lu)

Inclusive 2-3 games will still run properly.

500GB size may sound the best size possible, but still taking a SSD and run 500GB... even if yr laptop it's still overkill... my Fujitsu 240GB SSD only occupied 20% after almost every mix and match softwares inserted >.<
LanzaDelRelampago
post Aug 10 2012, 10:59 AM

77 posts

i think better to buy 256GB and then buy 2TB external if you are a hardcore downloader.. and the game just install the one you you want to play

126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:34 PM