126 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V2, Faster Better Greener Unbreakable!

louislw
post Aug 7 2012, 11:48 AM

238 posts

the problem is when i first benchmark the score... the write read speed is 460mb and 190 write... now is 460read 150 write... how come decreased?
everling
post Aug 7 2012, 11:52 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(louislw @ Aug 7 2012, 11:48 AM)
the problem is when i first benchmark the score... the write read speed is 460mb and 190 write... now is 460read 150 write... how come decreased?
"Used" SSDs are always a bit slower, because the NAND chips they use needs to erase "old" data first before they can write new data. Benchmarking a lot will quickly render any SSD into a "used" state. Especially with CrystalDiskMark's default setting of writing about 20GB of data per full test.
louislw
post Aug 7 2012, 11:53 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Aug 7 2012, 11:52 AM)
"Used" SSDs are always a bit slower, because the NAND chips they use needs to erase "old" data first before they can write new data. Benchmarking a lot will quickly render any SSD into a "used" state. Especially with CrystalDiskMark's default setting of writing about 20GB of data per full test.
so isit normal for intel ssd 520 120gb going on 150mb on write speed?
everling
post Aug 7 2012, 11:55 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(louislw @ Aug 7 2012, 11:53 AM)
so isit normal for intel ssd 520 120gb going on 150mb on write speed?
That I do not know. But I would recommend that you do at least one test run with ATTO first. If it should still show ~150MB performance on write, then there might be a problem.
louislw
post Aug 7 2012, 11:58 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Aug 7 2012, 11:55 AM)
That I do not know. But I would recommend that you do at least one test run with ATTO first. If it should still show ~150MB performance on write, then there might be a problem.
ok will try now

Added on August 7, 2012, 12:03 pm
QUOTE(everling @ Aug 7 2012, 11:55 AM)
here's the result...

This post has been edited by louislw: Aug 7 2012, 12:03 PM
everling
post Aug 7 2012, 12:09 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(louislw @ Aug 7 2012, 11:58 AM)
here's the result...

Looks like everything is fine then. Read and write is hitting past 500MB/s.

This is how Sandforce-based SSDs behave. Poorly on random and incompressible data and very well on compressible data, and all the manufacturers uses the compressible data performance for their advertising.
louislw
post Aug 7 2012, 12:11 PM

238 posts

phew... i thought got problem biggrin.gif thx everling for the software
everling
post Aug 7 2012, 12:12 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(louislw @ Aug 7 2012, 12:11 PM)
phew... i thought got problem biggrin.gif thx everling for the software
You're welcome. smile.gif
t3n
post Aug 7 2012, 01:59 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Aug 6 2012, 07:19 PM)

How come mine m4 doesn't show in hwmonitor?? mad.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 7 2012, 02:17 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(t3n @ Aug 7 2012, 01:59 PM)
How come mine m4 doesn't show in hwmonitor??  mad.gif
Nor does mine and nor does every single owner of the M4.
SSDs don't have a temp sensor like HDD does, because there's no use in it having one. An SSD doesn't even bulge 10 celcius anyways.

So nothing to be angry about, it's just the way it is. Don't freak out because you think there's something wrong with your SSD when there isn't.
clawhammer
post Aug 7 2012, 04:28 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Aug 7 2012, 11:52 AM)
"Used" SSDs are always a bit slower, because the NAND chips they use needs to erase "old" data first before they can write new data.
Normally I just do a diskpart and "clean" it. Works like a charm for me and I regain the speed smile.gif You can try it too.
glamour
post Aug 7 2012, 05:57 PM

Under Cover Police
425 posts

Crucial M4 128GB user here...
my cpu only QuadCore Q8300
8gb ram...ATI 6970
very happy with performances ....
cant imagine with i5 cpu and 16gb ram
and run SATA3...now only running SATA2
farizul
post Aug 7 2012, 09:35 PM

20 posts

Salam. cool2.gif
A new noob reporting in.

my intel 330 120gb. dont know if this is good or not.
my 1st ssd and still a noob.

farizul
post Aug 7 2012, 11:06 PM

20 posts

result after doing ssd optimization step ( i refer to link provided on the first page ).

everling
post Aug 8 2012, 01:33 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 7 2012, 04:28 PM)
Normally I just do a diskpart and "clean" it. Works like a charm for me and I regain the speed smile.gif You can try it too.
Thanks for the tip!

I also use diskpart and "clean" my SSDs, but my goal was to configure my partitions. I hadn't thought about using "clean" for restoring performance. I should try that one day on my old Kingston SSD as its benchmark performance has dropped over the years.

QUOTE(farizul @ Aug 7 2012, 11:06 PM)
result after doing ssd optimization step ( i refer to link provided on the first page ).
The performance doesn't seem to be improved.
ReXXaR
post Aug 8 2012, 05:20 AM

27 posts

Is there any other guide for optimization?

This post has been edited by ReXXaR: Aug 8 2012, 05:21 AM
AdamNg
post Aug 8 2012, 08:06 AM

219 posts

New build with SSD (120GB). Should I partition it? Or just leave it like that with OS & some applications...
yewMP5
post Aug 8 2012, 09:22 AM

499 posts

All sifus ....120gb ssd issit enough for win7 64bit + 1 antivirus software? any reliable brand can suggest? Intel? hmm.gif
azizul1975
post Aug 8 2012, 09:22 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(AdamNg @ Aug 8 2012, 08:06 AM)
New build with SSD (120GB). Should I partition it? Or just leave it like that with OS & some applications...
no need partition.... trust me, you wouldn't want a partition on a disk with small capacity...
everling
post Aug 8 2012, 09:43 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(ReXXaR @ Aug 8 2012, 05:20 AM)
Is there any other guide for optimization?
Not all optimisations will improve raw performance. Disabling the automatic defragmentation for instance doesn't effect your raw performance, but it does improve your SSD's lifespan.

QUOTE(AdamNg @ Aug 8 2012, 08:06 AM)
You do need to create at least one partition in order to install the OS. As for having multiple partitions, don't create them if it is in a desktop and you have HDDs. If you are on a laptop, you could create them if you like. My laptop's Windows 7 64-bit partition was only 40GB in size until recently.

QUOTE(yewMP5 @ Aug 8 2012, 09:22 AM)
All sifus ....120gb ssd issit enough for win7 64bit + 1 antivirus software? any reliable brand can suggest? Intel? hmm.gif
120GB is more than plenty, like I said above, 40GB is spacious enough for non-gaming needs.

Intel's 330 Series is a good SSD brand for anyone new or old to SSDs. They're cheap, fast, and reliable.

This post has been edited by everling: Aug 8 2012, 09:44 AM

126 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:20 PM