22 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

> New draft law will jail unlicensed IT professional, IT industry in Malaysia is finished. Serious Talk

Syaz1
post Dec 10 2011, 02:38 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:35 AM)
Well if it really happens count me in
same here, dun care if i've graduated or not, dont want UUCA to be an excuse not to attend protest anymoar. last time my parent dont allow me to protest, now see what happen, i din speak up, now i regret. definitely wanna protest if they decide to pass this bill and anymore stupid draconian future bills.
akisendro
post Dec 10 2011, 02:38 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(NoobboyZzZ @ Dec 10 2011, 03:25 AM)
do you know mostly IT worker also keyboard warrior? goverment try to make us have a hard time
, i though we citizen build up goverment is for our safety but not NOT.
we must do something before too late
and
mean now i need to format pc by it self also get sue ? lol ?
even keyboard warrior can influence the mass protest .. .remember the ARAB spring ... the words just spiral among the netizens at 1st ...... but after a while .. the man in power are now history .. not only for 1 country ... but almost every arab country were affected ...

here..... still remember the GE 2008 ???? how those political blogs have influences the urban voters ....... i really doubt when someone told me the keyboard warrior cannot do anything with this ... in fact this is the best thing we can have .... remember .. the thing that you cant take from the person away is the IDEA ... one move can rattle down and deny the 2/3 majority last time .. and now .. i dont think its possible with the mass movement started with just a simple words/post from these so called "KEYBOARD WARRIOR" ... sorry for the TLDR
annoymous1234
post Dec 10 2011, 02:42 AM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(Syaz1 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:38 AM)
same here, dun care if i've graduated or not, dont want UUCA to be an excuse not to attend protest anymoar. last time my parent dont allow me to protest, now see what happen, i din speak up, now i regret. definitely wanna protest if they decide to pass this bill and anymore stupid draconian future bills.
Yea. I actually regretted tat I didn't went for the bersih thing. Then last couple of weeks I went to d assembly bill protest. We have to fight wat is rightfully ours
Syaz1
post Dec 10 2011, 02:47 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(akisendro @ Dec 10 2011, 02:38 AM)
even keyboard warrior can influence the mass protest .. .remember the ARAB spring ... the words just spiral among the netizens at 1st ...... but after a while .. the man in power are now history .. not only for 1 country ... but almost every arab country were affected ...

here..... still remember the GE 2008 ???? how those political blogs have influences the urban voters ....... i really doubt when someone told me the keyboard warrior cannot do anything with this ... in fact this is the best thing we can have .... remember .. the thing that you cant take from the person away is the IDEA ... one move can rattle down and deny the 2/3 majority last time ..  and now .. i dont think its possible with the mass movement started with just a simple words/post from these so called "KEYBOARD WARRIOR" ... sorry for the TLDR
keyboard warriors also have a certain level of patience. when ur livelihood is under threat from the gomen, expect major resistance. this new bill proposal infuriates me even more than the PAB did...

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:42 AM)
Yea. I actually regretted tat I didn't went for the bersih thing. Then last couple of weeks I went to d assembly bill protest. We have to fight wat is rightfully ours
i've been trying to join many protests for now, but parents dont allow, too scared of the gomen. i think next time i'll definitely sneak out to protest.

soujiro_seta
post Dec 10 2011, 02:53 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(Syaz1 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:47 AM)
keyboard warriors also have a certain level of patience. when ur livelihood is under threat from the gomen, expect major resistance. this new bill proposal infuriates me even more than the PAB did...
i've been trying to join many protests for now, but parents dont allow, too scared of the gomen. i think next time i'll definitely sneak out to protest.
do u really know what r u protesting about?
shareduwan
post Dec 10 2011, 02:54 AM

49 posts

i didnt agree about this.. lols 100% not agree about this law
annoymous1234
post Dec 10 2011, 02:54 AM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(Syaz1 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:47 AM)
Haha tat is normal. Tell ur parents this is ur generation. Its no longer our parents generation but ours. We are d one who is gonna live for another 50 years or so. And wat these dumb ppl are doing will affect us in the long run. Tell this to ur parents maybe they will understand.
doppelganger111
post Dec 10 2011, 02:55 AM

Even if you just consider the development perspective, in theory, if you write an Excel macro, you fall under this bill as well...

If a board should exist, firstly, it needs to deliver value to its members. For example, by running internationally-renowned examinations for specific products (i.e. Oracle Certification), providing access to academic journals, acting as a union, etc. If not, it is sucking money for nothing.

Secondly, if such a board should be setup, it should not be setup by the government - every government puts in place laws that are ideally long-term and for stability purposes - there is no such thing as "long-term" in terms of technological advancement. As a result, the board needs to be setup by the professionals themselves.

Thirdly, membership of a board should never be mandatory as it devalues the quality of said membership, unless that membership is really something that is difficult to earn (i.e. certification of medics and lawyers). Anyone with a computer and a text editor can become a software developer, while you need a degree, additional training, additional qualifications and lots of experience to become a doctor or lawyer.

I can see merit in membership of a board for critical projects such as hospital systems and would not mind a hospital demanding such certification, but in practice it doesn't really matter because experience is always better. Would a company rather hire someone with membership of this board with a subject in security, or someone who has worked with security software companies and actually developed things with them?

In order for this membership to be worth it, the board itself needs to be internationally-respected by professionals and governments. It can only be internationally-respected if the professionals themselves find true value in joining this group (see the first reason above), where a hirer will see this membership certificate and realise that this candidate has gone through the trouble of certifying himself or herself with a renowned board.

Making it mandatory, however, defeats the point, and is probably infeasible - how do you certify every single person who has worked on software today in Malaysia? Are you going to cram thousands of people into some exam hall in KL and force them to learn?

In my experience, IT training is often rather rubbish, anyway, unless it is in a specific technology or product (i.e. Oracle Certification, JCP (Java), Microsoft training, etc.). There might be some merit in things like ethics courses or copyright courses, but then again, these should ideally be taught at school level more than anything.

So the government needs to step back and let the professionals work it out. They will be the ones who will sign up or leave the country, after all. If it's accountability they are worried about, don't blame the developers and architects - blame the project managers. Regulating the developers is like regulating the cleaners - it really isn't their fault.
annoymous1234
post Dec 10 2011, 02:58 AM

7,617 posts

Anyways, lets just see how things goes
soujiro_seta

222 posts

QUOTE(shareduwan @ Dec 10 2011, 02:54 AM)
i didnt agree about this.. lols 100% not agree about this law
most of them know nothing about it..
allinuff

84 posts

Lol...

If Singapore is "fine" country soon we will be "permit" country.

Want format computer? Apply permit.

Want go mamak with 4 friends? Apply permit.
KannaSai1

6,933 posts

Syaz1
post Dec 10 2011, 03:00 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(soujiro_seta @ Dec 10 2011, 02:53 AM)
do u really know what r u protesting about?
dey brother dont insult my intelligence biggrin.gif

of course i know. i still remember the many protests i wanted to join but cant, like bersih, aziz bari, anti-PAB, etc.

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:54 AM)
Haha tat is normal. Tell ur parents this is ur generation. Its no longer our parents generation but ours. We are d one who is gonna live for another 50 years or so. And wat these dumb ppl are doing will affect us in the long run. Tell this to ur parents maybe they will understand.
exactly my point, but sometimes i just too good, always obey them. and yes, oredi told them, hard time making them seeing my point. tongue.gif
soujiro_seta
post Dec 10 2011, 03:00 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(doppelganger111 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:55 AM)
Even if you just consider the development perspective, in theory, if you write an Excel macro, you fall under this bill as well...

If a board should exist, firstly, it needs to deliver value to its members.  For example, by running internationally-renowned examinations for specific products (i.e. Oracle Certification), providing access to academic journals, acting as a union, etc.  If not, it is sucking money for nothing.

Secondly, if such a board should be setup, it should not be setup by the government - every government puts in place laws that are ideally long-term and for stability purposes - there is no such thing as "long-term" in terms of technological advancement.  As a result, the board needs to be setup by the professionals themselves.

Thirdly, membership of a board should never be mandatory as it devalues the quality of said membership, unless that membership is really something that is difficult to earn (i.e. certification of medics and lawyers).  Anyone with a computer and a text editor can become a software developer, while you need a degree, additional training, additional qualifications and lots of experience to become a doctor or lawyer.

I can see merit in membership of a board for critical projects such as hospital systems and would not mind a hospital demanding such certification, but in practice it doesn't really matter because experience is always better.  Would a company rather hire someone with membership of this board with a subject in security, or someone who has worked with security software companies and actually developed things with them?

In order for this membership to be worth it, the board itself needs to be internationally-respected by professionals and governments.  It can only be internationally-respected if the professionals themselves find true value in joining this group (see the first reason above), where a hirer will see this membership certificate and realise that this candidate has gone through the trouble of certifying himself or herself with a renowned board.

Making it mandatory, however, defeats the point, and is probably infeasible - how do you certify every single person who has worked on software today in Malaysia?  Are you going to cram thousands of people into some exam hall in KL and force them to learn?

In my experience, IT training is often rather rubbish, anyway, unless it is in a specific technology or product (i.e. Oracle Certification, JCP (Java), Microsoft training, etc.).  There might be some merit in things like ethics courses or copyright courses, but then again, these should ideally be taught at school level more than anything.

So the government needs to step back and let the professionals work it out.  They will be the ones who will sign up or leave the country, after all.  If it's accountability they are worried about, don't blame the developers and architects - blame the project managers.  Regulating the developers is like regulating the cleaners - it really isn't their fault.
professional need license.

akisendro
post Dec 10 2011, 03:06 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(doppelganger111 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:55 AM)

If a board should exist, firstly, it needs to deliver value to its members.  For example, by running internationally-renowned examinations for specific products (i.e. Oracle Certification), providing access to academic journals, acting as a union, etc.  If not, it is sucking money for nothing.

Secondly, if such a board should be setup, it should not be setup by the government - every government puts in place laws that are ideally long-term and for stability purposes - there is no such thing as "long-term" in terms of technological advancement.  As a result, the board needs to be setup by the professionals themselves.

Thirdly, membership of a board should never be mandatory as it devalues the quality of said membership, unless that membership is really something that is difficult to earn (i.e. certification of medics and lawyers).  Anyone with a computer and a text editor can become a software developer, while you need a degree, additional training, additional qualifications and lots of experience to become a doctor or lawyer.

I can see merit in membership of a board for critical projects such as hospital systems and would not mind a hospital demanding such certification, but in practice it doesn't really matter because experience is always better.  Would a company rather hire someone with membership of this board with a subject in security, or someone who has worked with security software companies and actually developed things with them?

In order for this membership to be worth it, the board itself needs to be internationally-respected by professionals and governments.  It can only be internationally-respected if the professionals themselves find true value in joining this group (see the first reason above), where a hirer will see this membership certificate and realise that this candidate has gone through the trouble of certifying himself or herself with a renowned board.

Making it mandatory, however, defeats the point, and is probably infeasible - how do you certify every single person who has worked on software today in Malaysia?  Are you going to cram thousands of people into some exam hall in KL and force them to learn?

In my experience, IT training is often rather rubbish, anyway, unless it is in a specific technology or product (i.e. Oracle Certification, JCP (Java), Microsoft training, etc.).  There might be some merit in things like ethics courses or copyright courses, but then again, these should ideally be taught at school level more than anything.

So the government needs to step back and let the professionals work it out.  They will be the ones who will sign up or leave the country, after all.  If it's accountability they are worried about, don't blame the developers and architects - blame the project managers.  Regulating the developers is like regulating the cleaners - it really isn't their fault.
i do agree with some points ...... but the move for the bills which asking all the IT professional to be the members of the board is not a wise move ... if you're professional enough.. this kind of body should be exist on their own ... not by some kind of act or bills .... professional for professional ....

QUOTE(soujiro_seta @ Dec 10 2011, 04:00 AM)
yes they do .... but only if they're willing to have one .... the difference between the professional by paper compared to those with experience are immense ..........

doppelganger111
post Dec 10 2011, 03:10 AM

QUOTE(soujiro_seta @ Dec 10 2011, 03:00 AM)
Why?

By definition, a "professional" is someone who does something for money. Your mamak stall cook is a "professional" - does he/she need a license to cook? A cleaner is a "professional" - does he/she need a license to clean?

The question is whether IT is an industry that requires mandatory licensing. The answer is no, because unlike, say, medicine, the world of IT is not that concerned with "low-skilled users" bringing down the reputation of the industry as a whole. IT doesn't mind users with a lack of skills, as sometimes they can bring creativity to the table through out-of-the-box thinking, or they are Mike Zuckerberg/Bill Gates. On the other hand, someone who picked up "Surgery for Dummies" will tarnish the entire industry should they become an employed doctor. Certification as a doctor provides assurance to employers that they have all the required skills to become a doctor. Certification as an IT professional just proves you know what technology is like today - which is not going to be that useful in 10 years time.
doppelganger111
post Dec 10 2011, 03:17 AM

QUOTE(akisendro @ Dec 10 2011, 03:06 AM)
i do agree with some points ...... but the move for the bills which asking all the IT professional to be the members of the board is not a wise move ... if you're professional enough.. this kind of body should be exist on their own ... not by some kind of act or bills .... professional for professional ....
Agreed - the government doesn't know anything about IT. The industry isn't stupid - if the industry feels that it needs more certification to stop low-quality programmers from flooding the market, then they might take that step.

But such a step would stop Zuckerbergs from appearing.

In addition, a lot of companies in Europe are starting to hire people with few IT skills, because they don't conform to the standard IT mindset. They even have "unusual" degrees like History or Economics. They just have a desire to solve problems, design good software, conform to standards and requirements, and negotiate with others - all good skills to have. None of these would be feasible in Malaysia under this Bill.
dma0991
post Dec 10 2011, 03:36 AM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(doppelganger111 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:17 AM)
Agreed - the government doesn't know anything about IT.  The industry isn't stupid - if the industry feels that it needs more certification to stop low-quality programmers from flooding the market, then they might take that step.

But such a step would stop Zuckerbergs from appearing.

In addition, a lot of companies in Europe are starting to hire people with few IT skills, because they don't conform to the standard IT mindset.  They even have "unusual" degrees like History or Economics.  They just have a desire to solve problems, design good software, conform to standards and requirements, and negotiate with others - all good skills to have.  None of these would be feasible in Malaysia under this Bill.
That is the thing about creating algorithms for software, it requires logic from the user itself. The programming language itself is just a syntax and not as important as the logic behind it. With the bill restricting users from self learning and train the mindset to culture their logic, I would doubt that we will go anywhere in terms of software development. What if I wanted to teach my son at a young age and develop his logic so that he could get a good feel about programming in general. Would the bill account me as breaking the law since we are both doing something related to IT?

There are a lot of IT greats now that do not start out with formal methods and are have a very crude start. For example, Mark Zuckerberg or HP, which started from a garage. If the bill wants to make IT more 'formal', it would just hinder development. Just look at how good Linux is while being open source and no rules to hold it back. Being closed source and held back by rules will just make things worse. Despite the fact that Windows is far more popular than Linux, I'd still take Linux in a heart beat.
akagidemon
post Dec 10 2011, 06:41 AM

453 posts

i have been working with pcs since the day of IBM.remember those huge clunkers. and i never had a formal education in the IT field. it is my passion. i learn the ins and out of windows and it's various systems and problems through sheer trial and error and reading a lot of books and articles and magazines. mind you, it was in the 90s and the internet was just being born.

now is 2011 which makes me 21 years in this field. in 21 years i have helped many people in fixing, buying and teaching normal people to use their pcs. with a fee but not on a comercial basis. it is more on an education basis. people wanted to learn, to use the computer for they know it will enrich their lifes but were afraid to go to the shops in fear of getting cheated. so they go to a friend they can trust to help them. how many of you have been in that situation? a new tech comes along and you wanted to try it out but is unsure of what ur getting and ask a friend who knows to help you.

with this bill, if it ever gets passed self thought people like me will be banned forever from the IT service world. since we dont have a nice cert from universities or colleges. But what makes those who have certs better then us? Have certs but cgpa is only 2.0. then ask for thousands of ringgit in salary but when under job pressure, they cracked saying it is too hard and cant be done.

Lets go to the other end of the scale. someone who is a clerk. who happens to be an accounting clerk or someone who uses excel. If that someone wrote a macro or a formula in excel those that makes that person an IT pro and have to be license? if it does then i can forsee the whole nation grounding to a halt since i know many-many people who can do this. imagine showing to ur friends your IT licences when they ask you"what class do u have?"."excel user class". and u can only use excel.

ranting in the morning, makes me feel want to use the loo.

KTHXBAI rais. you should have gone to hell a long time ago. Mr. Minister Of Misinformation and Miscomunication...
SUSsoundsyst64
post Dec 10 2011, 09:32 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

9 Dec 2011 : The Establishment of the Board of Computing Professionals Malaysia (BCPM) Print E-mail
PRESS STATEMENT

http://www.mosti.gov.my/mosti/index.php?op...d=3670&Itemid=1

The Establishment of the Board of Computing Professionals Malaysia (BCPM)

Recently, there was a misconception about the proposed BCPM Act currently being drafted by the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI). The claim is that the new Act will regulate computing practitioners and force them to register with a new Board called the Board of Computing Professional and that those who are not registered with this new board would not be allowed to practise programming, software engineering or apply for government tenders regardless of their years of experience or other qualifications.

MOSTI would like to assure all concerned parties that the establishment of the proposed BCPM is a body that will give recognition to the information, technology and communication (ICT) practitioners in the country as professionals in their respective computing domain. BCPM does not aim to regulate the computing profession in the nation but only applies to those that are identified as Critical National Information Infrastructure (CNII) entities with the intent to safeguard the interest of the nation in view of the current dynamic and challenging global environments. CNII is defined as those assets, systems and functions that are vital to the nation that their incapacity or destruction would have a devastating impact on National economic strength or National image or National defence and security or Government capability to function or Public health and safety. The CNII entities will be as identified by the The Chief Government Security Office (CGSO).

As for the need to be registered as Computing Professionals with BCPM, it is not mandatory. Registration with the BCPM does not apply only to graduates from the computing domain but will also take into consideration those from other disciplines with adequate computing experiences as well as those with professional qualifications in their respective computing domain.

Why do we need this Act? The need of this Act is to achieve the following objectives:

Enhance the value of the profession as it will require registered members to possess minimum levels of qualification/experience;
Raise professional standards by developing and maintaining a code of conduct for computing professionals;
Review qualifications offered by other bodies in order to serve as a guide and reference when gauging which certifications are valid and relevant;
Provide some level of assurance of the quality of computing professionals to employers who hire those who are registered by BCPM;
Enhance the supply of ICT manpower in the country and help the nation achieve the goals of the New Economic Model in becoming a productive high-income nation; and
Serve as a central repository of all computing professionals and practitioners in the country.

The vision of BCPM is to ensure that all computing services provided by the Malaysian Computing Professionals are globally recognised and with full regards to the public interest in mind. BCPM’s mission is to elevate the standing, visibility and recognition of Computing Professionals to ensure that computing services provided by the Computing Professionals in the country are in compliance with appropriate legislation and policies.

Within the context of this draft BCPM Bill, “Computing” has been defined as a goal-oriented activity to plan, architect, design, create, develop, implement, use and manage information technology or information technology systems.

In coming up with the draft of the BCPM Bill, MOSTI has initiated an effort to ensure the views of all key stakeholders are taken into consideration. With this intent, MOSTI has engaged various parties from both the private and public sectors such as the Ministry of Information, Communications and Culture, Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC), Public Service Department of Malaysia, Malaysian Administration Modernisation and Management Planning Unit (MAMPU), National Security Council, CGSO, National ICT Deans Council (MADICT), National Professors Council, Association of the Computer and Multimedia Industry Malaysia (PIKOM), Multimedia Development Corporation (MDeC), CyberSecurity Malaysia, MIMOS Berhad and Malaysian National Computer Confederation (MNCC) to deliberate and confer on all pertaining issues on the subject matter of computing professionals in the country.

In order to solicit further inputs to improve the BCPM Bill, MOSTI will be having an open day on 13 December 2011 (Tuesday) from 9.30am to 5.00pm at the following venue:

Dewan Perhimpunan
Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation
Level 1, Block C4, Complex C,
Federal Government Administrative Centre,
Putrajaya

The intent of the open day is to inform the public of the proposed establishment of the BCPM and to provide a platform for all interested parties to view the draft BCPM Bill and give the opportunity for members of the public to present constructive feedbacks, opinions and thoughts on the draft BCPM Bill. All feedbacks, opinions and thoughts will be considered by MOSTI in ensuring the draft Bill address the concerns and issues of all parties.

Last Updated ( Friday, 09 December 2011 )

22 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » 

0.0243sec    1.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:16 AM