22 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

> New draft law will jail unlicensed IT professional, IT industry in Malaysia is finished. Serious Talk

elblink
post Dec 9 2011, 09:33 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(mindspring @ Dec 9 2011, 09:07 PM)
not entirely true. a flawed system is fatal especially in automotive, aviation, medicine, military, and those rocket science.
A fellow member also mentioned this earlier in post #182 as follows bolded for easy reference:

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Dec 9 2011, 08:35 AM)
My reasons for opposing are this:
1. I am against a law that forces people to only hire a member of a certain body.

2. Let the body exist and certify the IT people that wants to join it, but let the industry determine the value of the body and its members through free trade. If the members are less capable than the non-members, then don't hire them. In this way, if the body's certification and membership are of any use, industry will tend to hire them and not others.

3. Producing software is not like medicine or architecture that is a matter of life and death. Certain industries that require better software people (i.e. airlines, military, parts of wireless communication) already have more rigorous hiring process and another certification will not make a difference to them; they trust in their own hiring people, not a piece of paper. Lay people can also produce software, like writing a book, and there should not be a law to stop them from doing so. Even non-accountants can fill up their own tax forms. Are you looking forward to the day when only accountants can fill up tax forms, painters association members can paint your house, writers association can type your emails etc.?
SUSautoman5891
post Dec 9 2011, 09:35 PM

What a great idea to songlap more money through license fees and test fees. Way to go BN.
elblink
post Dec 9 2011, 09:50 PM

197 posts

Repost from the Malaysia Against the Bill Facebook Page

Youtube - Hitler Angry towards Malaysian Computing Bill 2011

Source from Grey Review

This post has been edited by elblink: Dec 9 2011, 09:56 PM
mindspring
post Dec 9 2011, 10:26 PM

582 posts

i do not support this CPB at all, as im myself is a programmer. well.. im worried how well CPB able to evaluate someone skills and experience, and decide what a person could do and whats not. no, they not gonna hire specialists or even conduct a test to evaluate us. they will probably force us to join training just like what CIDB did to all the contractors and construction personnel. and who are them? are they able to provide training at higher level? are they the expert of <insert language> ? fuq no. if we need their cert to get a job, whats the point of taking microsoft, cisco, etc, certs? and if we use their cert, will we able to ask the same salary as <insert cert name> holders? hell no. if the cert is used as indication of someone skills and knowledge, it just bloody plain stupid. people with higher education level will get more clearance, and 3rd party certs are bonus. but how about people who dont have a cert, but they are very skillful and able to deliver? they will be classified as the lowest tier practitioner. there are lot of people holding software engineering degree but they couldnt do a shyt in programming. and they expect us to trust that their cert is legit? come on.
Sarah Angelina
post Dec 9 2011, 10:51 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(automan5891 @ Dec 9 2011, 09:35 PM)
What a great idea to songlap more money through license fees and test fees. Way to go BN.
Even I'm not in the IT field completely, or rather the IT professional but also can see where this is heading to. What's the point of having such a thing? Even is meant for the so called government projects, it only tells people openly that they want more money for whoever want to get a project with them. For normal licensing already an issue for some of the industry, yet want to come up with all this kind of thing to shake others rice bowl for their own happiness.

iloveuforever
post Dec 9 2011, 10:53 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Dec 9 2011, 11:51 PM)
Even I'm not in the IT field completely, or rather the IT professional but also can see where this is heading to. What's the point of having such a thing? Even is meant for the so called government projects, it only tells people openly that they want more money for whoever want to get a project with them. For normal licensing already an issue for some of the industry, yet want to come up with all this kind of thing to shake others rice bowl for their own happiness.
Ya la...this government do know doing wat...come and disturb and shake people rich bowl...no brain....this plan totally not working...i m not going to have it...we will see how they fall...i will wait and see... mad.gif mad.gif
satnam182
post Dec 10 2011, 12:03 AM

128 posts

Even if the bill says that only developers that is involved with government related work(CNI Sectors, take note of this) has to be certified, I'm pretty convinced to say that almost every developer has/or will be involved with government related work in their lifetime.

Now, here's the sectors that CNI covers,
http://cnii.cybersecurity.my/main/about.html
The CNII sectors are:

National Defence & Security
Banking & Finance
Information & Communications
Energy
Transportation
Water
Health Services
Government
Emergency Services
Food & Agriculture

Now tell me, who hasn't worked on any of the category of project listed above? I've been programming for 3 years now and has been/am involved with 8 of the categories, either by freelancing or my own agency work.

Anyway, these online argument won't prove anything. If you're worried about our future and our children's future, be there at Putrajaya next Tuesday. If you need a ride, I have space in my car from Wangsa Maju/KL. PM me.

This post has been edited by satnam182: Dec 10 2011, 12:05 AM
elblink
post Dec 10 2011, 12:14 AM

197 posts

Someone caturday-ized the following.

Sau Seng La
post Dec 10 2011, 12:20 AM

123 posts

This post has been edited by Sau Seng La: May 17 2012, 03:49 AM
Joey Christensen
post Dec 10 2011, 01:38 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

I need to obtain the license in order to play my PS3 system?
kingkong22
post Dec 10 2011, 01:46 AM

28 posts

oh god this country cannot live anymore...
firedauz
post Dec 10 2011, 02:10 AM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

No matter what everyone says..

YOU KNOW THIS BILL IS GONNA GET A GREEN LIGHT ANYWAY wink.gif
Syaz1
post Dec 10 2011, 02:16 AM

86 posts

i'm surprised no BN supporters try to claim we're blowing facts out of proportion. after all, they accused us of doing the same with the PAB2011.

shakehead.gif i'm getting tired of this stupid gomen la...

QUOTE(khelben @ Dec 9 2011, 01:02 PM)
u tak suka, u lawan.
rclxms.gif

great words!

QUOTE(Laser Beam @ Dec 9 2011, 02:30 PM)
Malaysia ni, makin lama makin teruk.
kan dah betul, slalu ada dasar pandang ke afrika, skrang kita ikut undang2 nigeria!

QUOTE(ichi_24 @ Dec 9 2011, 03:40 PM)
rais yatim, our goddamn information communication minister
mad.gif i feel like throwing something at his coconut head right now.
Syaz1
post Dec 10 2011, 02:19 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Dec 10 2011, 02:10 AM)
No matter what everyone says..

YOU KNOW THIS BILL IS GONNA GET A GREEN LIGHT ANYWAY wink.gif
mad.gif we're f***ing useless generation who dono how to fight back.

shit, time for me to grow bigger balls.
annoymous1234
post Dec 10 2011, 02:20 AM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(Syaz1 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:19 AM)
mad.gif we're f***ing useless generation who dono how to fight back.

shit, time for me to grow bigger balls.
Wat do u suggest? I don't mind civil war
Syaz1
post Dec 10 2011, 02:24 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:20 AM)
Wat do u suggest? I don't mind civil war
major street protests like BERSIH would be a good start. feddup oredi, and as an IT fella this proposed bill just hits too close to home.
NoobboyZzZ
post Dec 10 2011, 02:25 AM

317 posts

do you know mostly IT worker also keyboard warrior? goverment try to make us have a hard time
, i though we citizen build up goverment is for our safety but not NOT.
we must do something before too late
and
mean now i need to format pc by it self also get sue ? lol ?
KannaSai1
post Dec 10 2011, 02:28 AM

6,933 posts

the field is so WIDE!!!!!

song convert to mp3 oso computing.
photoshop oso computing.
jail breaking oso computing.

BN prepare to send us back to stone age!!!
Syaz1
post Dec 10 2011, 02:29 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(NoobboyZzZ @ Dec 10 2011, 02:25 AM)
do you know mostly IT worker also keyboard warrior? goverment try to make us have a hard time
, i though we citizen build up goverment is for our safety but not NOT.
we must do something before too late
and
mean now i need to format pc by it self also get sue ? lol ?
hmm.gif no doubt...

a lot of the stuff i learn about computing, i learn before i even started secondary school. now i help out families and friends with computing problems. now illegal for me to help them, sucks...

we shud have Keyboard Revolution!
annoymous1234
post Dec 10 2011, 02:35 AM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(Syaz1 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:24 AM)
major street protests like BERSIH would be a good start. feddup oredi, and as an IT fella this proposed bill just hits too close to home.
Well if it really happens count me in

22 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » 

0.0247sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:52 PM