QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jan 14 2012, 07:33 PM)
I din join fxo2 My Problem with Malaysian e-Sports, Can't brain it lah
My Problem with Malaysian e-Sports, Can't brain it lah
Jan 14 2012, 09:34 PM
216 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Jan 14 2012, 09:47 PM
304 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
LoL why drag me in this discussion~ @@
it doesnt matter i QQ or wat~ i just wanna release my depression of losing only LoL |
Jan 14 2012, 10:30 PM
2,690 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Penang/ Kuala Lumpur |
Jan 15 2012, 01:56 AM
i gt join fxo 1 n previous tourney since nvidia tourney ma
Jan 15 2012, 04:07 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2011 |
So, i been thinking a lot about Malaysia e-sport, why it is so gloomy in Malaysia, why it can't be as epic as the Koreans and the North Americans?
It's just i mere opinion and hopefully we can discuss this =D e-sport The definition of e-sport is, "Electronic sports comprises the competitive play of video games. Other terms include competitive gaming, professional gaming, e-sport, and cybersport. Games that are played as electronic sports normally belong to the real-time strategy (RTS), fighting, first-person shooter (FPS), massively-multiplayer online (MMOG), and racing genres. They are played competitively at amateur, semi-professional and professional levels including in leagues and tournaments." (taken from Wikipedia) My article will be divided into 2 category, which is 1. Why e-sport is viable in Malaysia. 2. How to support e-sport growing in Malaysia. Why e-sport viable in Malaysia? Location As we all know, Malaysia is located at the center of SEA, and we have a-lot of neighboring country such as Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, Philippine. This will make it easy for Malaysia to actually be the focal point of e-sport growth. This are proven in history, where Malacca are the center of trading in their time. I know that e-sport have little thing to do with location because it is using the internet. But, when it come to e-sport, doing tournament online is not enough, we need a LAN event, and this is where location will take an effect, it will be easier for player from singapore, Thailand to come to Malaysia to join the event. ![]() Amount of gamer How many starcraft 2 gamer are here in Malaysia in general?? roughly around 400 people. (taken from lowyat Chatroom and List of Starcraft 2 Players, char code) How many dota gamer out there? A LOT? How many counter strike player out there?? A LOT. By judging from the amount of gamer out there in Malaysia, there is still hope for e-sport to actually grow in Malaysia. I know you guys will say, the starcraft 2 will sink in all of the games. But you have to remember, the first time MLG introduce starcraft2 in their gaming pool, it was a small gaming section, but now it had grow alot. So, in my opinion starcraft2 can grow, but it need some kind of exposure. Sponsor Money are needed to ensure that e-sport can grow. Without money how can a gamer make a living out of it? what we need a good amount of sponsor. Well who would sponsor the e-sport? Who will give such amount of money? Looking from a company point of view, even they are sponsoring an event, they are actually are asking something in return. What is it?ADVERTISEMENT. With good amount of "advertising pool" they will earn profit from sponsoring. Which company can benefit from sponsoring all this event? Of course computer company, electronic company, Cybercafe, Energydrink and so on. We have alot of factory located in Malaysia such as, Western digital, Intel, Creative, Dell. All of this company have their factory located here in Malaysia. That mean Malaysia have a market value. This will attract them to sponsor an e-sport event in Malaysia. ![]() ![]() ![]() How we can get their sponsor, I will elaborate in next sub-topic. How to support e-sport growing in Malaysia. Social Media We need some kind of social media which player can interact with each other. Forum like lowyat is one of a good example of good social media. With social media, we can get networking, interaction, community. Without a social media, the gamer in Malaysia cannot be united and they will act as an individual gamer. Remember a community of gamer will draw more attention then an individual gamer. For an example, NA have their gaming social media such as teamliquid, reddit and the koreans have ther own social network* i forgot the name*. With all the attention, then we can get more spectator. More spectator, means more marketing value. with more marketing value, there will more a lot of sponsor. Gamer civil war What i meant as gamer civil war is dividing the gamer by the game that they they play. For an example dota religion, HoN community. All the gamer should unite and respect each other as gamer so we can create a peaceful and stable gaming community. A stable gaming community will open a window of opportunity for a centered gaming arena. Which mean a competitive platform which have a lot of game in their gaming pool would be possible. With this We can attract more viewers. Competitive Platform We need a competitive platform, which can attract all the gamers from their cyber-cave to come out and compete. Right now we have a competitive platform. there are a lot of tournament, but there is no major tournament other than WCG (world cybergame). All are the other tournament are mostly inconsistent. We need a consistent competitive platform so that the gamer will have a target which will make him improve his/her gaming skill. The consistent platform which will also give the player fame. Sometime, money or price pool is not enough, but with fame are included in the price pool, I'm sure that all the gamer will come out and compete. Creating Malaysia Gaming League Or a weekly tournament will be a good idea. ^^ Example of Malaysia competitive Platform ![]() Here is NA Gaming League ![]() Audience Audience are very important to help the growth of e-sport in Malaysia. Without audience it will be like an empty concert. How do we will get the audience attention? We cannot force them to watch we play starcraft2 or dota, or any game. But, we can give them an entertainment value so they will be attracted to watch us compete. Everybody want entertainment. After a long day of hard work, tough school, a gaming channel which would provide as a stress relief medium will be a good choice for them. A pro-gamer should act like an entertainer to entertain the audience. It will be like the modern day Colosseum. ![]() Entertainment value can also be improve by casting, streaming. Right now we already had a few caster in Malaysia. For an example: Starcraft 2 Ash Quazacolt Keretapir Badtooth Cobo Nizora SiewKaiz Dota 2 Ixara More than 1 Game Radkiller Go and support them, give their link to your friends and family so we will have more audience. =D Market Target We are a small country, so we cannot expect to attract the pro-gamer from NA or Korea to compete here, but we can have a small market target. We can have the SEA as our market area. If the e-sport in Malaysia grow, It is possible to attract player from neighboring country to come and compete here. In the end, we might be be a focal point of e-sport in SEA. Media Coverage With a constant of viewers, we will have a media coverage. This is the peak of Malaysia e-sport. With the media coverage, the sponsors will be attracted to sponsor the League or gamer. With all the sponsor coming in, pro-gamer can make a living by playing game competitively. Example of media coverage we can attract: The End This is just my 2 cent. I hope this article will open a discussion about Malaysian e-sport. Thank you for reading. edit log : adding picture p/s sorry for any grammar or spelling mistake. This post has been edited by Volhart: Jan 15 2012, 04:43 PM Attached image(s) |
Jan 15 2012, 04:19 PM
1,143 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: not everywhere..but somewhere.. |
good lord!
A WALL OF TEXT!!!!! RUN AWAY!!! j/k i'll take my time to read it later...but shouldn't this kind of thread go towards the general Gamers Hideout,not just SC2? |
Jan 15 2012, 04:24 PM
I need to put picture.. =D
hahaha.. hurm, maybe.. but i don't have the experience to talk about the general gaming, because all I've been watching is starcraft2.. ^^ but if mod think it is more suitable to put this topic in general Gamers hideout, feel free to move it. |
Jan 15 2012, 05:23 PM
1,314 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Cheras, KL |
You forgotten about something that's much more important, a commentator that's as imba as day9, that goes through every single point, explains every single situations, and also entertain the crowd at the same time.
Oh and btw, PC Gamer Malaysia Final Issue Magazine off topic: I jelly taiwanese. This post has been edited by kEazYc: Jan 15 2012, 05:27 PM |
Jan 15 2012, 06:26 PM
It's hard to find a gamer that as talented as day9, but i think if we have a regular commentator that have dedication will be sufficient enough. With a regular commentator, it can help to grow Malaysia e-sport. Hopefully it will encourage more people to start commentating and analyzing games. With more commentator, there will a lot more chance to find a really talented commentator =D
Final issue? too bad.. T_T |
Jan 15 2012, 07:54 PM
501 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: *Nice et Kuala Selangor* |
QUOTE(Nandeska @ Jan 14 2012, 03:33 PM) even kaiz QQ a lot but he got big balls to play league with different race each season, unlike a lot of Malaysian where they talk a lot (LAN and Forum) but dont even play the game, not to mention joining tournaments. Yep, those Malaysian are in the group i mentioned before. |
Jan 15 2012, 08:05 PM
853 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jan 15 2012, 05:23 PM) You forgotten about something that's much more important, a commentator that's as imba as day9, that goes through every single point, explains every single situations, and also entertain the crowd at the same time. our beloved duskbin ash got few thousand fans from taiwan too. for his chinese commentating. amazing malaysian right there.Oh and btw, PC Gamer Malaysia Final Issue Magazine off topic: I jelly taiwanese. |
Jan 16 2012, 12:18 AM
4 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Personally~~~~ I love e-sports and i support them~~~
But for game other than Dota~~~ The community is rather very small, fighting games for example they only have Insert Coin and i doubt that we have more than 500 active gamer in it~~~ they have weekly gathering but people that are actually attending are more or less the same person (For starcraft 2 section... the active poster in lowyat could well be under 100)... That's the real reason of what's been dragging us back is the publicity and the lack of support from the community itself?.... No one wanna take the initiative to actually help it grows~~~ (I really wanna see one of us Malaysian attending evo) |
Jan 16 2012, 12:26 AM
0 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
If you venture into corporate malaysia. Its extremely hard to find anyone interested in giving funds to e-sports. The market here is too regional and not international.
And until players start to perform in a highly funded game at the global level, it will remain that way. Anyone who jumps in (like FXO) is sacrificing funds for growth. |
Jan 16 2012, 12:49 AM
853 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE Sponsor Money are needed to ensure that e-sport can grow. Without money how can a gamer make a living out of it? what we need a good amount of sponsor. Well who would sponsor the e-sport? Who will give such amount of money? Looking from a company point of view, even they are sponsoring an event, they are actually are asking something in return. What is it?ADVERTISEMENT. With good amount of "advertising pool" they will earn profit from sponsoring. Which company can benefit from sponsoring all this event? Of course computer company, electronic company, Cybercafe, Energydrink and so on. We have alot of factory located in Malaysia such as, Western digital, Intel, Creative, Dell. All of this company have their factory located here in Malaysia. That mean Malaysia have a market value. This will attract them to sponsor an e-sport event in Malaysia. abit too optimistic on all the rich guys out there to be philanthropist. not all directors are esport fanboy like josh lol |
Jan 17 2012, 12:46 PM
120 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Thailand to Ipoh |
wow how would i missed this thread
well in my opinion its all come from all aspect either the organizer, sponsor to the gamer itself. lets take the big tournament in malaysia for example. eswc - 1 of the big tournament but ended on eswc05 and revived on eswc08 only to be continued as small scale tourny (check last year eswc11). smm - the most consistent of all tourny, started on smm06 but only 1 moba game and that is dota but the reg fees is abit high RM150 and dota gonna be dead since this year dota2 gonna be released by valve. good luck ahlong SMM wgt - only 2 years. wgt07 bad venue at 1utama and date clash with smm07 so end up with less ppl coming.. wgt08 is the last in msia. wcg - the most longest running tourny in msia from klcc venue to midvalley to normal cc and other tourny that pop like chipsmore 'sekejap ada sekejap takda' but it all thanks to them that they give alot of effort to bring back esports to the community and the gamer themself need to support all this tourny since lately alot of them are free entry, just come and play for fun doesnt matter if u lose to the Pro on 1st round.. come for the experience and meet more people. oh this remind me of 1 story when i was marshall for sudden attack tourny at rural perak area teluk intan and this korean guy from this team lz came a night early so he got no place to sleep so end up sharing our room with him . thats the dedication we needed lol. anyway fxoboss goodluck on the next fxopen |
Jan 17 2012, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(novo @ Jan 17 2012, 12:46 PM) wow how would i missed this thread that korean guy a bit fat 1 right ? now playing sc2 i thinkwell in my opinion its all come from all aspect either the organizer, sponsor to the gamer itself. lets take the big tournament in malaysia for example. eswc - 1 of the big tournament but ended on eswc05 and revived on eswc08 only to be continued as small scale tourny (check last year eswc11). smm - the most consistent of all tourny, started on smm06 but only 1 moba game and that is dota but the reg fees is abit high RM150 and dota gonna be dead since this year dota2 gonna be released by valve. good luck ahlong SMM wgt - only 2 years. wgt07 bad venue at 1utama and date clash with smm07 so end up with less ppl coming.. wgt08 is the last in msia. wcg - the most longest running tourny in msia from klcc venue to midvalley to normal cc and other tourny that pop like chipsmore 'sekejap ada sekejap takda' but it all thanks to them that they give alot of effort to bring back esports to the community and the gamer themself need to support all this tourny since lately alot of them are free entry, just come and play for fun doesnt matter if u lose to the Pro on 1st round.. come for the experience and meet more people. oh this remind me of 1 story when i was marshall for sudden attack tourny at rural perak area teluk intan and this korean guy from this team lz came a night early so he got no place to sleep so end up sharing our room with him . thats the dedication we needed lol. anyway fxoboss goodluck on the next fxopen |
Jan 18 2012, 01:36 AM
1,646 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
hadnt had much time to reply this page ever since it was,
since i am free now ill let my opinion out on this Majority of malaysians dont even want to spend THAT amount of money for a copy of SC2, within my peers? im the only one that owns an original copy, my best friend didnt even bother buying it, after playing a few mths using my acc, he just stopped playing altogether, students especially wont spend that kinda money on SC2 when they have free LAN games and Online games around. Now 2nd, SC2 aint exactly POPULAR in Malaysia, compared to other games you can find around here, and lets be honest, SC2 isint exactly a leisure gamer's game, so that said, player pool isint huge in malaysia for a decent tourney that would meet your expectations. 3rd, parents dont give a fark what u said about this tourney, they aint lettin u get there, u can win a big muthafarkin GSL and come back to malaysia and they are still gonna slap ur arse for running to Korea and not studying. Geddit? this isint just talking bout SC2 in general, im talking bout Gaming Tourney in general. Nobody is gonna support you doing this if you have the passion for this, except well maybe ur gaming guild/team or whateva. You are on your own. 4th, that barcraft or ANY gathering related events? please do not do that if you dont have a full list of CONFIRMED attendee's, dont even plan it if you dont have the a list of attendees, its just going to be a waste of your resources, no offense to the other dedicated players we have here atm, coz ppl are gonna FFK (fong fei kei)[said they are coming but nvr appear or cancel last min]. And another simple reason is, our player pool consist of muslims too, its pretty straight fwd that they cant enter a bar openly regardless if they are gonna drink or not. So as you can see, what you are doing now, is just the start of bringing the gaming community in malaysia up to the NEXT level. If you were to compare gaming communities of Malaysia with other countries, we are WAY back. So what you are facing now is what the pioneers of e-sports in other places faced during the early periods. All i can say is, you will need a whole lot of perseverance, research and fresh ideas if you want to keep it alive AND growing, and its nvr gonna be easy and you are sure to rant more. but, its a start. good luck! |
Jan 19 2012, 09:00 PM
1,143 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: not everywhere..but somewhere.. |
since i got my Youtube channel up & running, I got a few subscribers here & there. & while i admit, most of them who came to watch my casted replays are those who actually send replays to me, there are 2-3 ppl who actually dunno wtf is sc2 all about...they later msg/call/tell me to intro the game to them...on how to play,what unit(s),race..the like...
and i was like...Wow? really? u wanna learn the art of this game?that's awesome-sauce!! so...before i can actually promote sc2 to others (them curious cats especially), i shud make some tutorial vids and post them on my channel....and i was hoping those seasoned players (u lot,who else? 5 seasons already yo!) would help me send replays of u playing games...doesn't matter if it is a winning or losing game..just want the replays showing/portraying the exact way to use those said units...not just turtle on 1 base,mass up units,then 1-A... can u guys help me out on this? doesn't really matter if it's a high-level or lower-level play...i can edit things out |
Jan 20 2012, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(keretapir @ Jan 19 2012, 09:00 PM) since i got my Youtube channel up & running, I got a few subscribers here & there. & while i admit, most of them who came to watch my casted replays are those who actually send replays to me, there are 2-3 ppl who actually dunno wtf is sc2 all about...they later msg/call/tell me to intro the game to them...on how to play,what unit(s),race..the like... +1 +1and i was like...Wow? really? u wanna learn the art of this game?that's awesome-sauce!! so...before i can actually promote sc2 to others (them curious cats especially), i shud make some tutorial vids and post them on my channel....and i was hoping those seasoned players (u lot,who else? 5 seasons already yo!) would help me send replays of u playing games...doesn't matter if it is a winning or losing game..just want the replays showing/portraying the exact way to use those said units...not just turtle on 1 base,mass up units,then 1-A... can u guys help me out on this? doesn't really matter if it's a high-level or lower-level play...i can edit things out |
Jan 24 2012, 02:35 AM
462 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
1. sc2 is expensive- yes, we hv to admit msian areee cheapskates. we are used to buy pirated everything n play every games free frm cc. But msian are nt cheapskates when they really need it & want it. Look at hw kids spend for asiasoft acash on their virtual characters. look at hw much kids spend on trading cards. look hw much kids spend on arcades n oth entertainments. Definately suggest that msian kids got the abilty to spend bt nt the willingness. A copy of sc2 is nt an issue at all nowadays 2. Sc2 nt popular compared to cs / dota? true! totally agree. Lets track back hw did cs n dota gain popularity? big prize pool? big community? This are all engine of growth for cs/dota but definately nt in the early stage. People are attracted to these games at the early stage mainly through word of mouth.. word of mouth of frequent visitors of cybercafes, & newbies who are curious go to these lanshops n take a look.. c how their frens enjoy themself, n how easy to learn, n tuck in along wif their peers to play the game. Thats what we need in sc2 community. if all you geeks juz play in your geekcave, its juz a matter of time that our community will shrink n lose out. |
| Change to: | 0.0369sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:14 PM |