123 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

V4. Swiftlet Keeping Discussions, All About Swiftlet Keeping Industry

northface
post Feb 1 2012, 05:55 PM

359 posts

Wow gerald, that's some major moisture for shroom to boom like that!! biggrin.gif
Anyways, ppl in East Malaysia nesting plank so thick, I guess you guys have lots of timber lying around.

You need to resize your picture though it is messing up the whole page.
coolandy
post Feb 1 2012, 10:06 PM

314 posts

In Kedah, BHs in town are given license to operate subject to compliance with the PBT guidelines. The state government recently also held an expo about swiftlet ranching.

Great state government and it is no BN. Hidup PR.

This post has been edited by coolandy: Feb 1 2012, 10:06 PM
gerald7
post Feb 1 2012, 11:11 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Feb 1 2012, 05:55 PM)
Wow gerald, that's some major moisture for shroom to boom like that!! biggrin.gif
Anyways, ppl in East Malaysia nesting plank so thick, I guess you guys have lots of timber lying around.
You need to resize your picture though it is messing up the whole page.
yea. the bh leaking ... hahaha rain non stop... now need to wait for better weather to fix everything...

thick nesting plank? hmm.gif not standard one ka?

ya crop d pic ... but look so small on my screeen haha
ChanK
post Feb 2 2012, 08:41 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Feb 1 2012, 09:33 AM)
Chank bro i think there is no need for u to highlight those word or make them big. And where is the source stating all farms should be closed?
blink.gif Yesterday even radio also start reporting already mah.....but if u can read mandarin then go to chinapress online.

as for now, just harvest nests till botak n dump it to fish pond as fish feed. then catch the fishs and eat to survive. drool.gif Bird's nest flavored Fishs.

PS# Cheap agri lands for sale at market price. Guarantee got birds and no guarantee got nests as not many new birds lately...seems liked most of the new farms eat `White Fruit' , i mean my area lah eventhough we have 30,000 acres of agri land, longest wetlands in malaysia, rivers n etc.... sweat.gif how come arr?
Bobby C
post Feb 2 2012, 11:13 AM

663 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Feb 1 2012, 09:19 AM)
Ok, now datuk liow also said that no one should build any farms until new ruling comes out and all existing farms might not able to keep operating.

It means BN too will follow what keadilan n dap do to wipe out all 50,000 farms in Malaysia.

[cool.gifTHEY ALL AGREED TO TRANSFER AND HANDOVER THE WHOLE BIRD'S NESTS INDUSTRY TO WEALTHY, RICH MALAYSIANS.

NO MORE AUNTIE OR AH PEK OR AH BENG IN THIS TRADE,

ONLY THOSE WITH CAPITAL OF AT LEAST HALF A MILLION ARE ALLOW IN THIS INDUSTRY .

I think Indonesia, Thailand and vietnam will laugh out loud that our stupid govt willing to wipe out the whole industry and to start all over again... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif [/B]

No worries lah.

Experts in the field pls correct if the statements are wrong.

Failure rate of agri land BHs for some reasons higher than town BHs.

Majority successful BHs are in towns compares with agriland. Can we say percentage of successful BHs 80% in town compares 20% in agriland?

Total EBN in the country from town BHs compares with agriland easily >85% from towns, <15% from agriland.

Bank will only loan 70% of agriland price, 0% of construction cost of BHs in agriland as too risky.

So cash rich aunties, uncles, datuks datins, neneks cucus, tan si datuk si, with >RM500,000 cash drool.gif, be prepared lah looking at statics. >50% will get their multi millions cash burn if they built in agriland. Few billions down the drain, enough to cover cost for new highway from Banting-Taiping. thumbup.gif

Spent few billions abandoned silly structure in agriland which are unless if no birds. Going to be worst than Bukit Beruntung. Breed mosquitos and ghost lah.
brows.gif

Added on February 2, 2012, 11:24 amSome desperate folks sooner will convert those abandoned structures in agriland for hanky panky business like recent case, Hotel 81 in the middle of plantations. If that the new ruling they want the industry to turn into.

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Feb 2 2012, 11:24 AM
West Wing
post Feb 2 2012, 05:06 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Feb 2 2012, 11:13 AM)
No worries lah.

Bank will only loan 70% of agriland price, 0% of construction cost of BHs in agriland as too risky.

From the word of the officer in a Bank.........Land only no worth much value and it's don't depend on how much you buy but how much we value your land. Why did he said this; it's because I bough a land for half a million and they only offer 80K loan only. Then, what about loan for building a birdhouse ....provided you can obtain CF for the building. So, I believe that no use of talking about Bank Pertanian giving loan for the BH as your land is not worth anything....and most BHs don't have a proper plan by qualified men for CF certification. So, at the present situation, anyone need cash can look for Ah Long WW and mortgage your BH to me....just joking.

He added.....building @ town, yes we can lend according to 80% of S&P provided if the S&P price is reasonable otherwise our panel of valuer will determine the right price. Building OK but Birdnests no value also.......
ChanK
post Feb 2 2012, 06:26 PM

451 posts

Really this country needs a real Economic Advisers, not those expert in economics, as experts means know only one thing and tht mean know nothing ( quoted from one of my uncle). A team that consists of street traders and investors.

U tak payah fikir pun tau, why u want to mess up the ordinary peoples rice bowl? They did not ask any assistance from the govt? u no need to gives lands free to us, u no need to gives us cheap loans, u no need to gives ang pow to us during election, u no need to worry that we will strike on the street, u no need to worry that we will form a union.

instead, u come in and put in bill or rules to break our rice bowls as there are cases of peoples complaints. But just liked the PM said, how to maintain the farms in town and not have any complaints. The only thing that really piss them off is the sound. so, just off the sounds. thts it.

All happy, u happy, no more complaints, govt happy, farmers happy, voters all happy !!.

If you going to push ahead with the new ruling, the whole country will ends up with so many abandoned shops, so many bankrupsy, so many unemployed, with all shops value most likedly will lower by at least 30% and even that no one will buy it. local towns economy will be dead.

Bobby C
post Feb 2 2012, 07:16 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Feb 2 2012, 05:06 PM)
From the word of the officer in a Bank.........Land only no worth much value and it's don't depend on how much you buy but how much we value your land. Why did he said this; it's because I bough a land for half a million and they only offer 80K loan only. Then, what about loan for building a birdhouse ....provided you can obtain CF for the building. So, I believe that no use of talking about Bank Pertanian giving loan for the BH as your land is not worth anything....and most BHs don't have a proper plan by qualified men for CF certification. So, at the present situation, anyone need cash can look for Ah Long WW and mortgage your BH to me....just joking.

He added.....building @ town, yes we can lend according to 80% of S&P provided if the S&P price is reasonable otherwise our panel of valuer will determine the right price. Building OK but Birdnests no value also.......
My feedback is taken from a bank manager with Public Bank.

Public Bank is smart, even they don't work under the sun they know it is high risk business. Feel free to build and borrow, but we give only 70% of land valuation. Cannot pay up, we the bankers take your land with 30% discount together with the free BH laugh.gif

Bankers are smart ... opss not all. Only very few who constantly give great bonus and dividends like Public Bank. Bank Pertainan? Emmhh ... they haven't leant the lesson or who cares ... taxpayers money icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Feb 2 2012, 07:29 PM
tuckfook
post Feb 2 2012, 07:33 PM

360 posts

The problem with BHs having to move out of town was caused by the BH owners themselves. Not all BH owners but MOST.

2005 BH owners were requested to solve the problems associated with BHs. Loud irritating noises as complained by neighbours. Submitting renovation plans...etc...we have heard it all right? Call for Moratorium on BHs in urban areas. Moratorium in Heritage zones of Malacca and Georgetown.

2008 Moratorium on BHs in town by most Town Councils and yet more BHs continued to be built. Moratorium on BHs in Heritage zones were ignored and the number of BHs in these areas increased.

2010 BHs owners in Georgetown voluntarily decided to cut all sound in urban areas. Unwritten understanding that if there were no complaints then no action would be taken for the time being.

Today, in some town areas, swiftlet sounds are still being blasted like the neighbours were happy with the noise. BHs were still being converted from empty shoplots without plans or permission from local council, ignoring local bye laws.

Everyone in this business had ample warning that they could soon be evicted from their BHs in urban areas so the risk taken to build and continue in such areas should be fully understood.

Sad but true, this situation was brought upon by BH owners in general and some good people will suffer collateral damage.
West Wing
post Feb 2 2012, 08:58 PM

1,397 posts

I just walk by a new BH in town and the sound from the five foot way sound like there is a disco up there and for 24 hours. This building belong a Bumi and he must be new to the trade and luckily there is a sign with his Tel. no. on a cardboard "Mez. Floor for rent" otherwise Hell break lose.

Phone him up and he coming to turn the Vol. down I hope. It's these type of people not knowing anything and not willing to ask for we are most willing to help for the survival of all....or maybe there's a too smart Konsultant at work.

Really don't know what to do.

1.Given advice not to build more BHs at town cos Local Authorities has frozen the increment of BH @ town and got fired back.
2.Told them to respect neighbours only to see them turning Vol. up again especially during present time cos there are no many birds around.
3. So, lastly, let it be and if the local authorities come and tear down these new BHs; who to be blamed as advice has fallen on deaf ears.

I also fear for my BHs but more for my birds as all will die but I am prepared for the worst but are the birds???????

tuckfook
post Feb 2 2012, 09:29 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Feb 2 2012, 08:58 PM)

I also fear for my BHs but more for my birds as all will die but I am prepared for the worst but are the birds???????
The local authorities have been advised by VET and Perhilitan that to avoid killing birds as much as possible, the birds will be stopped from breeding and returning to roost gradually in phases.

This is to be done when there are no more nestlings around(as when harvest time) and as soon as any nest is built it is to be scrapped off as soon as they build. Lights will be left on at night and the in/out hole gradually closed off with white planking.

The birds will eventually find a new home.

ChanK
post Feb 3 2012, 04:50 PM

451 posts

So, we are more concern with the life of birds than keepers?. What a joke. bloody hxll, who is going to support the family of keepers after that? U? the govt? Vet? Perhilitan?.

Who?

The govt do so much to pump the economy to ensure that thousands of malaysians able to earn a living in manufacturing, construction.

And now u are researching to ensure the safety of birds and kill off all keepers? This is damn stupid. Malaysia boleh.

Thts what i call Expert. Malaysia have too many such experts.

tuckfook
post Feb 3 2012, 08:40 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Feb 3 2012, 04:50 PM)
So, we are more concern with the life of birds than keepers?. What a joke. bloody hxll, who is going to support the family of keepers after that? U? the govt? Vet? Perhilitan?.

Who?

The govt do so much to pump the economy to ensure that thousands of malaysians able to earn a living in manufacturing, construction.

And now u are researching to ensure the safety of birds and kill off all keepers? This is damn stupid. Malaysia boleh.

Thts what i call Expert. Malaysia have too many such experts.
It is so very sad that when all BH owners were asked to support their local Associations to be able to represent a united voice, the response was dismal, to say the least. It is the loudest voice, the majority, that is heard.

Where was the support when needed?

As many of the old timers have predicted, they only come when they are under threat.

In any case NOT ALL of the BH owners are affected as they have chosen to continue in non urban areas.

As with any investment, there is nobody to blame for ones loss but oneself. Nobody else will compensate for our loss as they will not ask for a share of the profits either.

Research is all important as with no birds this industry will die off.

We must all come together to make ourselves heard. Support your local Association, voice out your opinion with them so that they can in return voice it out to the National bodies and Government.

coolandy
post Feb 4 2012, 01:43 AM

314 posts

Kedah state government no 1 for swiftlet ranching.
West Wing
post Feb 4 2012, 01:28 PM

1,397 posts

Happy Chap Goh Mei

This post has been edited by West Wing: Feb 7 2012, 11:21 AM
mois
post Feb 8 2012, 12:12 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

Hi guys, i notice there are rushing activities lately especially the buyers part. They keep calling us to sell around rm2000 for full cup nest. But rm2k is still kinda low for us so kinda hesitate to sell those nests but probably will sell the yellowish one. Rm500 difference per kilo can easily pay off my tuition fee!
ChanK
post Feb 8 2012, 05:17 PM

451 posts

Farmers in town are sad, broke and hopeless.

Land owners are so happy as their agri lands value triple in just two years times. whether the lands are with access roads or not..as long as got birds, they just wallup. even if the lands are next to illegal sand mining site with so many holes, big big holes and the land is in the middle of it, they still wallup it just because they see birds there.

shop owners are very sad as no one is buying their abandoned / Vacated / Rotted shops.

Kopitiams in small towns are so quiet, with not many keepers come out yumcha and talk k.

New shops for sale are forever For Sale.

Shops that are for let are forever For Let.

it is back to square zero or zero square.

How sad. How sad.

Even more sad when the price still baru dua ribu satu ratus if only if white n no buluh. minus tiga ratus kalau biasa quality. lagi sad when ask to take broken nests, please makan sendiri. So Sad.

not even enough to pay ah long interest..

coolandy
post Feb 9 2012, 04:18 PM

314 posts

This government has developed a system of easy pickings for the people in power. They simply get rich through the hard work of swiftlet ranchers by enacting laws that create monopolies instead of healthy competition.

I would prefer to hedge my bets with a different government. Worst case scenario would lasts no longer than 5 years.
kohloh
post Feb 10 2012, 02:18 PM

142 posts

Coming down aready...coming down liau,,,,

http://mykampung.sinchew.com.my/node/177610?tid=10

some more have to pay with 2kg fr services,,,,,
West Wing
post Feb 11 2012, 01:49 PM

1,397 posts

Those ppl whose BHs @ towns should have sold their BHs when the offering were very good like the one that buyers from KL offer a Rm9.9 M for a BH which someone bought @ Rm5.5M less than 1 month and now, even if the owners wish to sell @ Rm3M, nobody will be interested at all with so much uncertainty just like in stock market......I call it BH recession.

Imagine if the deal got true, I should get Rm99,000 commission without any sweat... and now, they are going to lose everything if the local authorities going to close the BH @ town.......I think that they are not going down that easily and may resort to violence so never be the one that encourage the authorities to destroy BHs @ town.......for your own sake.

Just my honest and sincere advice as too much to lose and no man will sit down and let the authorities destroy their BHs easily and someone may have to pay for it. Be Warned, my friends @ forum.

Without prejudice or reference to anyone.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Feb 11 2012, 01:57 PM

123 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0385sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:45 AM