Our Official keeper doing a good job. V4 walets, be patient. Recovery is on the horizon.
V4. Swiftlet Keeping Discussions, All About Swiftlet Keeping Industry
Nov 23 2011, 09:36 AM
314 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Our Official keeper doing a good job. V4 walets, be patient. Recovery is on the horizon.
Nov 23 2011, 09:40 AM
Nov 23 2011, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(West Wing @ Nov 23 2011, 11:44 AM) Wau, V R now in V4 and still running hot and together we may make a record....SeeSeng must be proud. In the good old days, the doubling of nests in 12 months is common. Even tripling has been recorded. Hence, to grow from 2.6k to 4k nests in 8 months is not surprising. Another 12 months, it would be 8k. In fact, it should be expected of very successful BHs. In fact, it only needs 30% of young birds to return and with 3 breeding seasons a years, doubling is achieved. 4K nests in over 4 years, if I believe that I could do it then, would I sold it so cheaply, but that's the good old days. And it's over 6 months and not a year! I was also surprised what then it's too late and did you know after afew years, how many nests were in the BH which was sold again to another buyer and this time, it was sold for over 5.5MĀ and the BH had over 10K nests according to the seller then. Now, I think that the amount may drop some as the new owners modified the BH according to their way and from friends that they harvest the BH monthly. Why modified when the good was running as I always preached and his loss maybe my gain as one of my BHs is close to this BH and I shall be expecting better harvest next time around; thanks to this Chai Sen Yeah. That's why I always said that when you care for the birds, the birds will remember you and always return to your BH, their home and with them, their descendants and even to great great grand swiftlets, relativesĀ and friends........ The situation now is very different due to the proliferation of new BHs. The young birds have a lot of choices. If 10% of the young birds come back to your BH, you should record 30% growth a year and be very very happy with it. Location, good calling sound and good house design is the key. This post has been edited by coolandy: Nov 23 2011, 05:25 PM |
Dec 13 2011, 02:40 PM
WW, take a well-deserved break and come back stronger.
Dec 14 2011, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 14 2011, 04:10 PM) I use Cal-lab surge isolator. It will isolate instead of arresting the surge. Save my equipments 3 times already. Life time guaranteed replacement for damaged isolator at a fixed fee of rm25. Agree. Make sure you use Cal-labs http://gmysamptimersolarwire.blogspot.com/ whether you go through MCB or by-pass MCB.1. Direct without going through MCB. You risk a fire if there is overloading due to lighting or faulty system. Cal-labs Lightning Isolators is MANDATORY. 2. Use auto-close ELCB. Price around RM900 - RM100 without installation. Cal-labs is still mandatory to protect your sensitive equipment from surges coming though the power lines. Surges coming though speaker wires is not protected. 3. In severe lightning prone area, the ELCB itself can be destroyed by lightning. Replacement is expensive. 4. Use Hager ELCB which is less sensitive to nuisance tripping. Above just my humble opinion. Input from qualified electrician is much appreciated. |
Dec 15 2011, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(swift4ever @ Dec 14 2011, 06:19 PM) Auto-close ELCB priced from RM90 to RM100 without installation? Gosh! I need a Cal-labs before my amps go up in smoke one day. Thanks guys! RM900 - RM1000. Sorry for the typo.Cal labs model SC0039 is rated to 10Amps or 2kW and costs RRP 49.00 approx. There is another model SL-AR Auto reset rated to 5Amps. This model is about RM80+ and is highly recommended. If it detects a small surge, it will auto shutdown for a few minutes, then come on again. If a direct hit from lightning, it also blows. For alarm system use the 3A unit. Best of all, it is whole life guaranteed and repair costs for blown units is about RM15. Cal Labs isolators have saved me a lot of money and I am just sharing. There are imitation products in the market, so get it from reputable dealers. Sam of GMYS in Klang is an authorised dealer. Just my 2 sen and sharing only. |
Dec 15 2011, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(tuckfook @ Dec 15 2011, 11:06 AM) make your own auto close RCD/ELCB - Note this is not a ' FUSE ' this unit detects residual or leaking current to earth so preventing accidental electrocution. Ini baru sifu! A small car wiper or power window motor is used to reset a normal RCD/ELCB. This is coupled with a timer so that the reset is done after a delay of 20 mins. or so to prevent immediate reset due to electrocution. I use a electronic counter to count the number of resets as high counts could mean that the electrical system is being tripped by something other than lightning. A replaceable surge protector is available for direct placement into you standard fuse box, about RM70 or you can make your own using components that cost half as much. Note that any surge protector that does not burn or self destroy after a few surges is not necessarily doing it's job. A Varistor is the major component of a surge protector, these are the DISK like components found in the surge protectors, very cheap to replace or made into a DIY surge protector. Have fun and learn a little about electronics and electrics, save yourself some money in the long run. Most of all, save yourself the trouble of trying to get someone to help you fix the problem. |
Dec 20 2011, 02:46 PM
Thanks for sharing. Must always be on the alert.
Dec 21 2011, 12:03 PM
In Malaysia, we also used Kati & Tahils before the metric system was adopted.
1 Kati = 16 Tahils. That I remember very well because I used the dacing very often. Wish I had kept 1 old dacing plus 1 set of Gantang, Cupak, Celeng.... Anyway, good job aeiou. 21X no play-play. |
Dec 27 2011, 10:09 AM
Soon they will have China girls serving fresh bird nest soup with fresh la la
Jan 16 2012, 08:46 AM
It seems that this government is really screwing up this industry. Where have all the good and capable officers gone to?
Monopoly and making a quick buck seems to be their priority. |
Jan 21 2012, 06:15 PM
WW,
Some might call you stupid but I am PROUD of you. Hope the new Dragon will bring stability to the swiftlet industry. |
Jan 30 2012, 10:02 PM
I am still for ABU.
Feb 1 2012, 10:06 PM
In Kedah, BHs in town are given license to operate subject to compliance with the PBT guidelines. The state government recently also held an expo about swiftlet ranching.
Great state government and it is no BN. Hidup PR. This post has been edited by coolandy: Feb 1 2012, 10:06 PM |
Feb 4 2012, 01:43 AM
Kedah state government no 1 for swiftlet ranching.
Feb 9 2012, 04:18 PM
This government has developed a system of easy pickings for the people in power. They simply get rich through the hard work of swiftlet ranchers by enacting laws that create monopolies instead of healthy competition.
I would prefer to hedge my bets with a different government. Worst case scenario would lasts no longer than 5 years. |
Feb 12 2012, 10:17 AM
WW,
What goes up must come down and vice-versa. Timing is crucial. For our case, just want to sell raw nests and not get conned. Easier said than done. |
Feb 14 2012, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(ChanK @ Feb 13 2012, 08:16 PM) This morning our Datuk liow was quoted in the newspaper that he will very soon be able to fix the problem in exporting of bird's nests. So, with the demolition of all bh's in town, where to find bird's nests? maybe our datuk liow will encourage our neighbour's, mainly indonesia and thailand to sell it to us and we will process it n sell to china. Can trust this fella or not? Last time he said FRU did not fire into Tung Shin. Anyway, I hope he is doing the right thing this time.as for those owners of bh's in town, ini u punya pasal, siapa suruh u dengar kita cakap!!. saya hanya suggest u semua invest in shops and convert it to farms but now we change it and not allow u to do it liao, u chui ah!. so, how? many who bought lands are now able to recover their losses but how many are able to do that? numbered. i owned lands but u think i want to build it and wait for 3 years to see the result and wait for 10 years to only see money start coming in? no way. better invest the money in overseas then wait liked soh h in malaysia. As i said, our neighbour's are laughing out loud now, hahahahaha....... |
Feb 14 2012, 03:22 PM
This is not a political forum, otherwise, I will.............
Feb 25 2012, 08:26 PM
RM2500 minimum
| Change to: | 0.0926sec