120 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Table Tennis/Ping Pong V2

kuntilanak
post Jun 27 2012, 09:04 AM

976 posts

Ahh, the elusive 'feel' of the bat + rubber setup... To me, it consists of the grip, workmanship, weight, sound and look of the bat. Same goes to the rubber, but more on the 'feel' when glued to the bat and hitting the ball (bounciness, sound, recoil, weight, location of center point, quality of ball returned...) Sounds like an art, don't you think?

It's a very complicated subject. New/inexperienced players may have a hard time understanding that, but seasoned players who spent time studying their setup will. Also, as I said before, if you don't have proper skill sets, it's a lot harder to understand or appreciate some of those good equipments...
TSSteven_aka_G
post Jun 27 2012, 08:58 PM

524 posts

I'll be at SETTC tomorrow. 6.30 onwards. Anyone going at this time?
pingpang
post Jun 28 2012, 02:55 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Jun 25 2012, 01:42 PM)
Thanks for the supportive comment.  thumbup.gif  You are very knowledgeable too on the subject of Table Tennis. I've seen people with pretty bad play getting very good equipments, hoping their games will improve. Well, to a certain extent, yes, but it won't last. However, my experience tells me the bat is more important than rubber. You can still play fairly well with good bat coupled with cheap rubbers, but not the other way around. I tried before. It sucks...  sweat.gif
Thanks for the compliment, kuntilanak.
In my earlier encounter with table tennis, I was an EJ nut and I read and search the 'net for info. on anything about table tennis, but playing wise just an "average joe".
Now, just enjoy the game and the camaradie, whether using a simple basic set-up or a "borrowed" high-end equipment.

I concur with both your comment as well as Steven's comment.
The blade or bat is important, coupled with the right rubber type will make the "perfect" set-up. The type of blade must suit the player style, for eg. a slow blade for a defensive chopper or a fast blade for a player who likes to use speed as his primary attacking option. Sometimes a fast blade with a slow rubber will give an "medium" or "overall" feel but a fast blade with a "fast rubber" may suit the player who likes to play a fast and speedy game.
For a defensive player who plays "chopper" style and push, a slower set-up will be appropriate, IMO.
Hence, there is no hard and fast rules on the perfect set-up, but I agree with kuntilanak's comment that the clade is a very important aspect compare to the rubber.
On the other hand, I also agree with steven that the Butterfly Mizutani Jun coupled with Acuda S2 and Tenergy 64 (of which some people deemed to be a good blade and good rubbers) may feel awful. I for one has try something similar and I cannot control the speed of this set-up. When I drive, the ball fly up, when I block the ball bounced away from the table at a very fast speed. (I think I rather use a slower set-up because this does not suits my style or I may not have enough practice with these combination - like what cede1975 mentioned)

Barring any unforeseen circumstances, I will try to be at SETTC today (28/6) around 7pm.
MEXTEMAN
post Jun 30 2012, 06:22 PM

Just to update ! I finally got my Malin Extra Off + Hurricane 3 NEO ( a mistake) + Sriver (ok)
* mistake -- coz doesn't match the blade... hard like rock as I am having Stiga + H3 w/o problem..

That's all ... will hv to fork out more a rubber chg...
Another below average guy wasting money in action...no pain no improvement...
SUSchickenshit36
post Jul 2 2012, 04:50 PM

509 posts

hello. anyone going SETTC today? im gonna go today, after work. hopefully got people playing there haha
aimanolone
post Jul 5 2012, 09:08 PM

hi guys!! i m new here.

currently searching for table tennis table to buy.
do u guys know where to buy the cheapest one around kl area?

thanks.

pingpang
post Jul 6 2012, 11:49 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(MEXTEMAN @ Jun 30 2012, 06:22 PM)
Just to update ! I finally got my Malin Extra Off + Hurricane 3 NEO ( a mistake) + Sriver (ok)
* mistake -- coz doesn't match the blade... hard like rock as I am having Stiga + H3 w/o problem..

That's all ... will hv to fork out more a rubber chg...
Another below average guy wasting money in action...no pain no improvement...
No worries lah, Mexteman.
If you stay or work nearby me, I can lend you my other used rubber to try before you buy.
With Sriver, you will never go wrong as this is a, IMO, "balance" rubber ie not too slow nor fast in terms of ball rebound.
lot101
post Jul 8 2012, 06:17 PM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

QUOTE(pingpang @ Jul 6 2012, 11:49 AM)
No worries lah, Mexteman.
If you stay or work nearby me, I can lend you my other used rubber to try before you buy.
With Sriver, you will never go wrong as this is a, IMO, "balance" rubber ie not too slow nor fast in terms of ball rebound.
so nice.....do you plan to move to Ampang/Setiawangsa area any time soon ? biggrin.gif
il0ve51
post Jul 10 2012, 11:31 AM

1,054 posts

anyone know where got this bat?
http://www.rodneystabletennis.co.nz/popup_image.php?pID=221

blütenkirsche b3008

i am using it for few years now many scratches already, anyone can let me know the price and place to buy?
tamago11
post Jul 11 2012, 09:53 PM

30 posts

any pingpong centers or players in kluang johor pls???
forgot_86
post Jul 12 2012, 03:05 PM

182 posts

U can go to Batu Pahat. There quite a few place to play ping pong, with good players. I only play there once or twice a year when visit my brother
tamago11
post Jul 12 2012, 10:59 PM

30 posts

thanks forgot_86.. kluang reli is a small town with no entertainment here sigh
pingpang
post Jul 18 2012, 10:30 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(lot101 @ Jul 8 2012, 06:17 PM)
so nice.....do you plan to move to Ampang/Setiawangsa area any time soon ?    biggrin.gif
Not at the moment, lot101.
I just moved to Puchong 1 1/2 year ago from Sg Buloh. laugh.gif

Added on July 18, 2012, 10:32 am
QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Jul 10 2012, 11:31 AM)
anyone know where got this bat?
http://www.rodneystabletennis.co.nz/popup_image.php?pID=221

blütenkirsche b3008

i am using it for few years now many scratches already, anyone can let me know the price and place to buy?
Try presports.com. I remember they do take in this brand, Blutenkirsche.

Added on July 18, 2012, 10:34 am
QUOTE(tamago11 @ Jul 11 2012, 09:53 PM)
any pingpong centers or players in kluang johor pls???
You can check with Kluang Table Tennis Association.
I remember, they just conduct a coaching course under TTAM and TTAJ.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Jul 18 2012, 10:34 AM
jooyong
post Jul 19 2012, 09:48 AM

Does anyone of you play at star elite ?puchong area ~ kindly tell ~i'm so interested to join biggrin.gif !
il0ve51
post Jul 19 2012, 10:49 AM

1,054 posts

QUOTE(pingpang @ Jul 18 2012, 11:30 AM)

Try presports.com. I remember they do take in this brand, Blutenkirsche.
i bought mine from them, but now they dont have that already
pingpang
post Jul 20 2012, 12:40 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(jooyong @ Jul 19 2012, 09:48 AM)
Does anyone of you play at star elite ?puchong area ~ kindly tell ~i'm so interested to join  biggrin.gif !
I played there every Friday.

Added on July 20, 2012, 12:43 pm
QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Jul 19 2012, 10:49 AM)
i bought mine from them, but now they dont have that already
If presports do not carry this brand anymore, then my guess is that you have to search online and buy it from other countries.

This post has been edited by pingpang: Jul 20 2012, 12:43 PM
hafizul
post Jul 20 2012, 02:32 PM

hi,

anyone know where to play at bandar tun hussein onn or cheras?
zarul90
post Jul 20 2012, 02:50 PM

268 posts

got player at Saujana Utama sg buloh? come play at my house biggrin.gif
Red Hawk
post Jul 22 2012, 10:53 PM

Cheras player here...long time nvr play.. sad.gif
K2002
post Jul 23 2012, 03:47 AM

61 posts

i dunno if anyone want to have the tourney. I there is lot more people want i will start again the league tourney. or just one day tournament.
PM me if anyone interested

For cheras player can PM me too if want to have a match or a sweat out training. pm me and let me know where u usually play i will go and find you guys.

This post has been edited by K2002: Jul 23 2012, 03:48 AM

120 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:27 AM