The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

Everdying
post Oct 29 2012, 06:12 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(bosco1314 @ Oct 29 2012, 06:07 PM)
haha sorry didnt talk about that, cox i thought u r like deep in the office , saw all the boxes and so on haha....i thinks too much sorry biggrin.gif
light boxes...as in the logos of all the brands they display in the reception area.

jackiewong
post Oct 29 2012, 06:58 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(bosco1314 @ Oct 29 2012, 05:22 PM)
At certain degree do agree with u , but CK is not well known for watches, more on fashion n apparel. Can't reli compare with watches makers like MIDo,just my thought blush.gif

Your bro friends works there ?syok,ask him la, maybe we can make bulk order,can get cheaper price hehe
u are right.. but that is only because we are WIS and know about watches.. for ppl who dont.. they will rather judge it by the name.. and CK is somehow a wellknown name in fashion..
yonggoh
post Oct 29 2012, 07:15 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Audi @ Oct 29 2012, 01:08 AM)
Hi,I would like to get a used watches for myself.Budget is around Rm15k for Rolex.I guess only Submariner or Datejust only?
I am kinda young brows.gif What if getting a Tag heuer carrera calibre 16 instead which is cheaper? biggrin.gif

Anyway,I am kinda worried about my safety(If i get a rolex)since i live in jb.
Here's the poison where i saw in SWX.sg
Kinda tempting for Rm13k with 18kt White Gold Bezel with Diamonds & Sapphires(Real)
if it were me id get the rollie and forget the tag. my fave in your budget is the no-date submariner smile.gif
sniper on the roof
post Oct 29 2012, 07:59 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 29 2012, 07:15 PM)
if it were me id get the rollie and forget the tag. my fave in your budget is the no-date submariner smile.gif
+1 for ND sub too
jackiewong
post Oct 29 2012, 10:23 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 29 2012, 07:15 PM)
YES!.. no date submariner is the best looking diver watch!..
Everdying
post Oct 29 2012, 11:07 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

best looking divewatch is the seiko monster la.
its so ugly that its beautiful tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post Oct 30 2012, 12:12 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 29 2012, 11:07 PM)
It's ugly alright laugh.gif .... like a B-52 bomber. Honestly, I don't really get the Monster but the new Monster is really warming up to me now.
bosco1314
post Oct 30 2012, 01:23 AM

SkyFall
1,814 posts

so ambiguous
what is its so ugly that its beautiful?haha
hanz079
post Oct 30 2012, 09:26 AM

315 posts

I think the New Seiko Monsters are well built, sturdy, value for money.

Naka7a
post Oct 30 2012, 09:43 AM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

you got my vote there. haha thumbup.gif
yonggoh
post Oct 30 2012, 10:47 AM

1,314 posts

Now this is a dive watch cool2.gif

Chinoz
post Oct 30 2012, 11:05 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 30 2012, 10:47 AM)
Now this is a dive watch  cool2.gif

yonggoh,

There was a small discussion on WUS some time back on the feasibility of that AP as a dive watch.
I personally voted it down because of the lack of a functional uni-directional rotating bezel and dodgy legibility underwater.

Functional dive watches should be easily operable with minimal fiddling/fumbling (even with a dive glove) and very legible at one glance (particular the bottom time measurement, which is typically where the minute hand meets the bezel indices).

That AP will no doubt look great on land, but I will probably stick to my Sub/Bond for underwater escapades if anything.

However, in that WUS discussion (and I may also have mentioned it in this thread previously), I went on to say that dive computers are usually the norm now, and dive watches are pretty much a novelty these days.
I have since resigned my Bond to the hotel room when I go under now. Plus, I look silly with a watch on each wrist laugh.gif

This huge behemoth now graces my wrist on dives

(not my wrist shot, just took that picture for size illustration purposes laugh.gif)

This post has been edited by Chinoz: Oct 30 2012, 11:15 AM
ck77
post Oct 30 2012, 11:16 AM

2,592 posts

Am back to speedy, going back time to 1969

jackiewong
post Oct 30 2012, 11:22 AM

368 posts

and I have 1 too tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post Oct 30 2012, 11:23 AM

23,414 posts

What about desk diving? What's your take?
Chinoz
post Oct 30 2012, 11:26 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Oct 30 2012, 11:16 AM)
Am back to speedy, going back time to 1969

Nice catch rclxms.gif
Time to update your avatar, perhaps? tongue.gif
jackiewong
post Oct 30 2012, 11:27 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Oct 30 2012, 11:05 AM)
yonggoh,

There was a small discussion on WUS some time back on the feasibility of that AP as a dive watch.
I personally voted it down because of the lack of a functional uni-directional rotating bezel and dodgy legibility underwater.

Functional dive watches should be easily operable with minimal fiddling/fumbling (even with a dive glove) and very legible at one glance (particular the bottom time measurement, which is typically where the minute hand meets the bezel indices).

That AP will no doubt look great on land, but I will probably stick to my Sub/Bond for underwater escapades if anything.

However, in that WUS discussion (and I may also have mentioned it in this thread previously), I went on to say that dive computers are usually the norm now, and dive watches are pretty much a novelty these days.
I have since resigned my Bond to the hotel room when I go under now. Plus, I look silly with a watch on each wrist laugh.gif

This huge behemoth now graces my wrist on dives

(not my wrist shot, just took that picture for size illustration purposes laugh.gif)
second this.. I nvr an AP nor PAM guy but seem like a lot of ppl hu-ha with AP and PAM.. for dive watch i will still stick to the classic look with a proper uni-directional bezel..
ck77
post Oct 30 2012, 11:30 AM

2,592 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Oct 30 2012, 11:26 AM)
Nice catch rclxms.gif
Time to update your avatar, perhaps? tongue.gif
Yes sir biggrin.gif
yonggoh
post Oct 30 2012, 12:58 PM

1,314 posts

Chinoz,

Thanks for the insight. A fair enough assessment since its from your goodself who is an ACTUAL diver. Admittedly the only time id get wet is if someone chucks me in the pool wink.gif Guess thats why i dont own a dive watch(yet?)...

Chinoz
post Oct 30 2012, 01:41 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 30 2012, 12:58 PM)
Chinoz,

Thanks for the insight. A fair enough assessment since its from your goodself who is an ACTUAL diver. Admittedly the only time id get wet is if someone chucks me in the pool wink.gif Guess thats why i dont own a dive watch(yet?)...
All the more reason why you should get a dive watch soon-ish. These days, you really never know when someone is gonna come round the corner and chuck you into a pool.

Wouldn't want to be caught with your nice leather watch when that happens I'm sure brows.gif

183 Pages « < 175 176 177 178 179 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:49 AM