183 Pages « < 145 146 147 148 149 > » Bottom

The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

littlebeettle
post Sep 15 2012, 10:12 AM

1,099 posts

Finally I managed to found the Oris diver GMT in Jarta during my last week biz trip

Grabbed it already. hahaha

This post has been edited by littlebeettle: Sep 15 2012, 10:12 AM
yonggoh
post Sep 15 2012, 11:38 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Sep 15 2012, 12:20 AM)
was expecting a 7k tagheuer but in the end, my father bought me a second hand PAM 90 (first buyer bought on 2010 31st august) L series  which cost my father rm17.5k. I'm wondering is that PAM worth for that money? or if you were me, you could have just add on rm1.5k more to get a NEW FRESH PAM 104? thanks!
17.5k + 1.5k... for a Valjoux 7750 movement?
rclxub.gif
Kaka23
post Sep 15 2012, 11:53 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Sep 15 2012, 11:12 AM)
Finally I managed to found the Oris diver GMT in Jarta during my last week biz trip

No wrist shot?
xuzen
post Sep 15 2012, 12:07 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Sep 15 2012, 11:38 AM)
rclxub.gif
RM 19K for a Val-7750 movement, what a rip off.

Can get a Ball COSC Val-7750 at RM 10K liao.

Even cheaper if it is a Tissot.

PAM = rip-off. vmad.gif

Xuzen
h11g
post Sep 15 2012, 12:48 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Sep 14 2012, 11:20 PM)
was expecting a 7k tagheuer but in the end, my father bought me a second hand PAM 90 (first buyer bought on 2010 31st august) L series  which cost my father rm17.5k. I'm wondering is that PAM worth for that money? or if you were me, you could have just add on rm1.5k more to get a NEW FRESH PAM 104? thanks!
since your father bought it already just enjoy it, btw did you ask for a pam in the first place? or your father decided for you? just curious~! tongue.gif
Angelpoli
post Sep 15 2012, 01:41 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Sep 15 2012, 11:38 AM)
rclxub.gif
cuz 17.5k is for a second hand PAM 90 and 19k is for a brand new PAM104. so now i'm wondering which one more worth. lol.

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 15 2012, 12:07 PM)
RM 19K for a Val-7750 movement, what a rip off.

Can get a Ball COSC Val-7750 at RM 10K liao.

Even cheaper if it is a Tissot.

PAM = rip-off.  vmad.gif

Xuzen
but i read on the other watch forum and it said PAM resale value better than omega that's why i even gave up the omega speedmaster or de ville. n PAM 104 and PAM 90 running the same movement too right except one have the power reserve sign?

QUOTE(h11g @ Sep 15 2012, 12:48 PM)
since your father bought it already just enjoy it, btw did you ask for a pam in the first place? or your father decided for you? just curious~!  tongue.gif
i was asking for a tag heuer heritage at first and then omega de ville or speedmaster. but then the dealer said tagheuer resale value is very low. and then suggested my father panerai. but new one is ard 22k. so my father decided to buy the second hand PAM90 for 17.5k. but i realise brand new PAM 104 is just 19k. lol.

This post has been edited by Angelpoli: Sep 15 2012, 01:46 PM
yonggoh
post Sep 15 2012, 03:02 PM

1,314 posts

some PAMS are decent la....
those 1940 Radiomirs and the superlative Astronomo is a complicated masterpiece biggrin.gif
zajun80
post Sep 15 2012, 03:16 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Sep 15 2012, 10:12 AM)

Nice catch!
Please share some wrist and
lume shot bro! smile.gif
pallidum
post Sep 15 2012, 04:26 PM

222 posts

Hey all, may I ask what does it means by 26 jewel swiss automatic movement ?

Does increase in number of jewel shows more quality ?
yonggoh
post Sep 16 2012, 11:37 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(pallidum @ Sep 15 2012, 04:26 PM)

don't buy into that jewel stuff...

they are all synthetic these days anyway...
whistling.gif
Catnip
post Sep 16 2012, 05:16 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(pallidum @ Sep 15 2012, 04:26 PM)

Here's a simple and concise article on the history and the application of jewel bearings in watches.
Part 1
Part 2
littlebeettle
post Sep 16 2012, 11:11 PM

1,099 posts

guys...

I was trying to adjust the GMT pointer on my new Oris, but I can't get the writing correct.

I referred to the manual...according to the example I can get the reading correct. But once I set back to our local time, I somehow do not get the right timing.

Example that I want to set:
Home - KL (HongKong timezone)
Sec City: Dubai

Pls advice this noob...
nemesis94
post Sep 17 2012, 12:26 AM

446 posts

Guys, where can i find Laco watches here in Malaysia instead of buying it online? Wanna try it first just in case if it doesnt fit my hand
matrixation
post Sep 17 2012, 10:31 AM

540 posts

hey guys, after doing some research, I've almost certainly decided on this watch:

Tissot PRC 200 Quartz Chronograph (T17.1.586.52)
To view the watch: http://www.tissot.ch/?mod_collections65/pr...ts_702/scroll_1

Appreciate if all you experts here can share some feedback on this particular watch tongue.gif Also, in a few watch forums there seem to be a debate on whether this watch can also double as a diver's watch, seems to be a mixed review and is confusing me - any thoughts on this?

sniper on the roof
post Sep 17 2012, 11:13 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Sep 17 2012, 10:31 AM)
hey guys, after doing some research, I've almost certainly decided on this watch:

Tissot PRC 200 Quartz Chronograph (T17.1.586.52)
To view the watch: http://www.tissot.ch/?mod_collections65/pr...ts_702/scroll_1

Appreciate if all you experts here can share some feedback on this particular watch tongue.gif Also, in a few watch forums there seem to be a debate on whether this watch can also double as a diver's watch, seems to be a mixed review and is confusing me - any thoughts on this?
I think it boils down to what's your expectations for it and what you're going to wear it for?

My 2 cents:

On the positive side, it certainly looks nice, functional and accurate and fairly affordable.

On the other hand, its pretty expensive considering its a quartz, not really for impressing people (if that's your thing) and not something you'll pass down to the next generation biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Sep 17 2012, 11:49 AM
Pewufod
post Sep 17 2012, 01:03 PM

1,537 posts

what do you guys think of this ?
http://www.steinhartwatches.de/en/MARINE-38,583.html
looking for a clear classic looking watch these days and found the new 38 to be quite astounding
and the number 38 suits me well, matches my bday biggrin.gif
sniper on the roof
post Sep 17 2012, 02:30 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Sep 17 2012, 01:03 PM)
what do you guys think of this ?
http://www.steinhartwatches.de/en/MARINE-38,583.html
looking for a clear classic looking watch these days and found the new 38 to be quite astounding
and the number 38 suits me well, matches my bday biggrin.gif
WaterRes: limited water resistant, no swimming or shower

Not a good sign if its for daily wear.

Pewufod
post Sep 17 2012, 03:12 PM

1,537 posts

i have an ocean 2 for daily wear
just looking for a more subtle looking watch now
deriku
post Sep 17 2012, 03:39 PM

879 posts

The Steinhart marine is pretty good looking as a dress watch. First time I've seen a blue rotor being used, perhaps to match the blued hands?
arthur5011
post Sep 17 2012, 03:43 PM

294 posts

Hi all, my fren is in Rome now and will travel to London and Paris later this week, she is asking where is the better place to get a Rolex, France, Italy or uk?

183 Pages « < 145 146 147 148 149 > » Top

0.0345sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:24 PM