133 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 - V02 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

Upsilon
post Oct 13 2011, 12:27 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 13 2011, 12:07 AM)
N9 camera no shiok, cannot focus focus focus kau kau before shoot. Not like N900 and other button based phone. this one is focus ONCE. finger let go sure shoot. sad.gif

force go FB mobile no goodings. app or browser, i can't upload photo to my intended album.

overall I still like this device very much though, just not my N900 replacement. Not even close.
just slowly slide your finger away from the button before releasing, then photo won't be taken and you can re-focus by pressing on the button again.
goldfries
post Oct 13 2011, 12:31 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i tested out the camera, the ISO settings la. you put ISO 100 vs ISO 800, the difference is ISO 100 darker than ISO 800. ideally the exposure should be the same lor, after all that's what the exposure compensation setting for.

Added on October 13, 2011, 12:31 am
QUOTE(Upsilon @ Oct 13 2011, 12:27 AM)
just slowly slide your finger away from the button before releasing, then photo won't be taken and you can re-focus by pressing on the button again.
erm. i tried that. lemme go try EVEN SLOWER then ............

Added on October 13, 2011, 12:36 amhrmm. ok here's what i found out..........

1. all this while I was sliding it slowly but I was sliding it OFF the screen. Apparently the system doesn't take that as slide away but as taking a shot.

2. all you have to do is slide away, doesn't have to be slow, but just as long as away from the button but finger still on the screen. biggrin.gif
beanbeanchong
post Oct 13 2011, 01:38 AM

445 posts

Anyone use msn messenger on nokia N9?
ViRaViRa
post Oct 13 2011, 02:32 AM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(beanbeanchong @ Oct 13 2011, 01:38 AM)
Anyone use msn messenger on nokia N9?
First of all, is there a MSN Messenger on Nokia N9? sweat.gif
haoshou
post Oct 13 2011, 06:17 AM

25 posts

erm... one little question here from my lil bro, where should we download the themes and non-store games ?
so far as i seen, the forums out in the web... they referring n9 as n900.. and i was like :facepalm:
beanbeanchong
post Oct 13 2011, 07:28 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Oct 13 2011, 02:32 AM)
First of all, is there a MSN Messenger on Nokia N9?  sweat.gif
i can not find it,lets why i ask.haha
aspire2oo6
post Oct 13 2011, 07:47 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Atm i cant find that too. Lets hope for soon but for nokia N900 there is
drexar
post Oct 13 2011, 08:24 AM

Drexar21.my
718 posts

Foursquare for MeeGo is really COOL! Even better than Android's version.. Love the transition and effects in this app. Plus N9 locks the position faster and better than my SGS biggrin.gif

+1 for Foursquare
aspire2oo6
post Oct 13 2011, 08:38 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Yea its lovely but 1 thing I dislike u can't add people. I need switch to my nokia x7 to do so lol
drexar
post Oct 13 2011, 08:53 AM

Drexar21.my
718 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 13 2011, 08:38 AM)
Yea its lovely but 1 thing I dislike u can't add people. I need switch to my nokia x7 to do so lol
Hope they will fix it on the next update smile.gif
aspire2oo6
post Oct 13 2011, 09:08 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Love the most is the animation of the crown for the mayor lol. Bu I notice this version of foursquare takes more data to load compare to squick
Andy214
post Oct 13 2011, 09:47 AM

3,308 posts

N9 camera no shiok, cannot focus focus focus kau kau before shoot. Not like N900 and other button based phone. this one is focus ONCE. finger let go sure shoot. sad.gif
As previous mentioned, just slide it out of the focus/capture "button".

Try turn on face detection as well. Like aspire mentioned, there's continuous auto-focus, just it's not very fast, but it works. I just point the camera let it auto-focus itself then just snap as it goes.

The good thing about this over the N8 is that, the shutter speed seems is higher priority in auto mode (just like iPhone? probaby also due to no dedicated camera button), so it takes less blurry shot and it's easier/better experience to take photo compared to N8.

force go FB mobile no goodings. app or browser, i can't upload photo to my intended album.
Yup, this part N900/Maemo still way better; Wonder why they didn't implement this, since they have it in Maemo; Plus, in Maemo, you can choose the upload quality from low to high up to ORIGINAL.

Can even post photo to wall. Only cannot post photo to others wall; Have to login to browser and post from there.

overall I still like this device very much though, just not my N900 replacement. Not even close.
Yup, I've said it before long ago adn many times; not a true replacement for N900, it's just different; It's more like a refined N8, a better Symbian? It's just so much changes from Maemo.

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 13 2011, 12:20 AM)
n9 camera not as good as n8.claimed by nokia camera guru as well.but night shot is quite good among camera phone. smile.gif
The faster shutter in priority is nice, less blurry shot and better experience; Plus the continuous auto-focus. Nice.
The quality is not so bad for lowlight just that it's a bit dark or underexpose by default, or probably already maxed out the ISO, and still intend to keep the higher shutter priority.

Wonder how slow can the shutter go.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 13 2011, 09:48 AM
goldfries
post Oct 13 2011, 10:26 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 13 2011, 09:47 AM)
As previous mentioned, just slide it out of the focus/capture "button".

erm, yeah i mentioned that earlier on how i did wrong. biggrin.gif

Try turn on face detection as well. Like aspire mentioned, there's continuous auto-focus, just it's not very fast, but it works. I just point the camera let it auto-focus itself then just snap as it goes.

me no need that.

The good thing about this over the N8 is that, the shutter speed seems is higher priority in auto mode (just like iPhone? probaby also due to no dedicated camera button), so it takes less blurry shot and it's easier/better experience to take photo compared to N8.

usually la, camera on phone, you set low ISO it will slower the shutter, high ISO it will faster the shutter. just like any other digital camera out there.

retaining the same exposure level. for the N9 I find that the shutter speed maintains, so the lower the ISO the darker the picture. I haven't view the EXIF.

Yup, this part N900/Maemo still way better; Wonder why they didn't implement this, since they have it in Maemo; Plus, in Maemo, you can choose the upload quality from low to high up to ORIGINAL.

Can even post photo to wall. Only cannot post photo to others wall; Have to login to browser and post from there.

I like Maemo / N900 because it works EXACTLY like my computer! biggrin.gif It's really a Linux in tiny-tablet.

Yup, I've said it before long ago adn many times; not a true replacement for N900, it's just different; It's more like a refined N8, a better Symbian? It's just so much changes from Maemo.

you spoke similar to what I posted on Facebook last night, in a comment about the N9

"N9 is still not a N900 replacement. OS feels more like an improved Symbian than Linux itself, but very fluid!"
KennyKB
post Oct 13 2011, 10:41 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 13 2011, 10:26 AM)

"N9 is still not a N900 replacement. OS feels more like an improved Symbian than Linux itself, but very fluid!"
Let's just say it is a first version OS and still unpolished. The music player need some work. No cover flow and no graphic equalizer. When you select a recently used album there is no way to display the tracklist. Ability to search download lyric would be great. But the audio quality is superb.

blurrik
post Oct 13 2011, 10:44 AM

oh boy cant wait for an update to iron out all the wrinkles. wonder when it will be out

This post has been edited by blurrik: Oct 13 2011, 10:54 AM
Andy214
post Oct 13 2011, 10:48 AM

3,308 posts

usually la, camera on phone, you set low ISO it will slower the shutter, high ISO it will faster the shutter. just like any other digital camera out there.

retaining the same exposure level. for the N9 I find that the shutter speed maintains, so the lower the ISO the darker the picture. I haven't view the EXIF.
Yup, but this phone seems to have higher priority for shutter in auto mode. I don't have to set the ISO high (unlike N8 or most digital camera, it will prioritize using lower ISO), the N9 will use higher ISO to compensate the higher shutter, OR maybe the shutter has a limited low speed to minimize shake when using on screen capture button?

Have to experiment to see what is the lowest ss it will go.

I like Maemo / N900 because it works EXACTLY like my computer! biggrin.gif It's really a Linux in tiny-tablet.
Yup, afterall, it's a Tablet OS thumbup.gif
Loved the Desktop, you can have very unique and customized desktop. Just so much potential in that OS, sadly, it's stops there.

you spoke similar to what I posted on Facebook last night, in a comment about the N9

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Perhaps the MeeGo Tablet version will be a more proper replacement tongue.gif

arsaa
post Oct 13 2011, 11:00 AM

234 posts

i second your statement on the lower the ISO the darker the picture....seems like N9 have set minimum shutter to the camera to avoid camera shake but sacrifice the light capture ability

N900 indeed still the best pocket PC I have ever had....

CoMMie
post Oct 13 2011, 11:04 AM

140 posts

hmm anyone disappointed with n9 battery life?, almost all the comment i read so far is people saying battery can last 2-3 days with high usage.

But from what i can see so far base on my usage pattern is it can only last like 1day.

This is my usage pattern
6am full charge 96%(this phone dosent charge 100%)

7.30am surf some web for 30 minutes using 3g (77%)

9am-6pm dint touch phone much no calls or sms (55%)

In contrast with iPhone 4/ galaxy s 2 i am getting much better battery life especially on iPhone 4
ViRaViRa
post Oct 13 2011, 11:37 AM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

This is what I did to get nearly 2.5 days battery life (short of 3 hours).

1) Brightness - set to the minimum.
2) Usage - push email (3 emails), Facebook, Twitter and web surfing (about 30 minutes in total during the 2.5 days).
3) No, I didn't activate power saving mode like what others claim I'm doing. Push email will not work with that.
4) Connected only via WiFi. And I am on 2G mode (but not using mobile data).

Added on October 13, 2011, 11:38 amCalls, SMS etc are as usual lar.

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Oct 13 2011, 11:38 AM
arsaa
post Oct 13 2011, 11:47 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(CoMMie @ Oct 13 2011, 11:04 AM)
hmm anyone disappointed with n9 battery life?, almost all the comment i read so far is people saying battery can last 2-3 days with high usage.

But from what i can see so far base on my usage pattern is it can only last like 1day.

This is my usage pattern
6am full charge 96%(this phone dosent charge 100%)

7.30am surf some web for 30 minutes using 3g (77%) <-- This is the culprit

9am-6pm dint touch phone much no calls or sms (55%)

In contrast with iPhone 4/ galaxy s 2 i am getting much better battery life  especially on iPhone 4
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Oct 13 2011, 11:37 AM)
This is what I did to get nearly 2.5 days battery life (short of 3 hours).

1) Brightness - set to the minimum.
2) Usage - push email (3 emails), Facebook, Twitter and web surfing (about 30 minutes in total during the 2.5 days).
3) No, I didn't activate power saving mode like what others claim I'm doing. Push email will not work with that.
4) Connected only via WiFi. And I am on 2G mode (but not using mobile data). <-- as what I suspected

Added on October 13, 2011, 11:38 amCalls, SMS etc are as usual lar.
3G data is known to have suck up battery life....so if possible try to avoid using 3G data at all cost

so far the further I can go 36 hours with dual network mode. but no mobile data usage.

viravira....you sure are super light user! hahaa

133 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:29 PM