Debit Card V3

MilesAndMore
post Jul 1 2012, 08:58 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 1 2012, 02:47 PM)
And I believe PBB Visa Electron cash back % is better than D2D for online/general transactions.
Yes. 0.5% for PBB VISA Electron and 0.3% for PBB D2D VISA.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 1 2012, 02:47 PM)
PBB card are not issued on the spot and can take up to two week before you get that card and the pin number separately by mail.
Except PBB D2D VISA which is issued on the spot smile.gif

Coldfingaz
post Jul 2 2012, 04:22 PM

QUOTE(MandyG @ Jun 29 2012, 12:48 PM)
From what I know is currently CIMB Mastercard Debit Card still cant link with paypal or any online transaction...
Hmm, my brother said he did link his card, just that he doesn't remember how... Anyone else can vouch for this?
LS Lim
post Jul 2 2012, 05:32 PM

79 posts

Thank you, Sifus. notworthy.gif

May I know if the "online/general transactions" include oversea purchases?

Besides "bad" conversion rates, is there any foreign exchange charges for oversea purchases?
MilesAndMore
post Jul 2 2012, 06:54 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(LS Lim @ Jul 2 2012, 05:32 PM)

Thank you, Sifus.  notworthy.gif

May I know if the "online/general transactions" include oversea purchases?

Besides "bad" conversion rates, is there any foreign exchange charges for oversea purchases?
Maybank debit card is better if you are going to use it for overseas purchases as Maybank debit/credit card is known to give a very favourable exchange rate. Do note that there will be 0.5% admin fee for all transactions made in foreign currency. For Public Bank D2D VISA, the admin fee charged is 1%.

If you go for Maybank, i'd suggest you to specifically request for the Maybankard Manchester United VISA debit cardas this card gives you 1x Treatpoint for every RM2 charged to your card whereas the regular Maybankard Cherry VISA debit card gives you 1x Treatpoint for every RM3. Treatpoint is something like Bonuslink where you accumulate points to certain amount before you can redeem for a gift or shopping voucher.

nickcct
post Jul 4 2012, 08:54 AM

Une Vie Fantastique
2,847 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 2 2012, 06:54 PM)
Maybank debit card is better if you are going to use it for overseas purchases as Maybank debit/credit card is known to give a very favourable exchange rate. Do note that there will be 0.5% admin fee for all transactions made in foreign currency. For Public Bank D2D VISA, the admin fee charged is 1%.

If you go for Maybank, i'd suggest you to specifically request for the Maybankard Manchester United VISA debit cardas this card gives you 1x Treatpoint for every RM2 charged to your card whereas the regular Maybankard Cherry VISA debit card gives you 1x Treatpoint for every RM3. Treatpoint is something like Bonuslink where you accumulate points to certain amount before you can redeem for a gift or shopping voucher.
How come they didn't inform me bout the Maybankard Manchester United VISA debit card, they just give me the cherry card. The cherry card dun have the same benefit??

Added on July 4, 2012, 8:58 am
QUOTE(Coldfingaz @ Jul 2 2012, 04:22 PM)
Hmm, my brother said he did link his card, just that he doesn't remember how... Anyone else can vouch for this?
I don't think CIMB debit card allow online transaction, since last time i call to ask the customer service and thy said the card cant use for online transaction.

This post has been edited by nickcct: Jul 4 2012, 08:58 AM
cHiLdHo0drEaMz
post Jul 4 2012, 11:37 AM

#DBAP
1,030 posts

Good morning guys

I have plan to purchase apps via Google Play so 2 Days ago, i converted my Maybankard Bankcard (The Yellow Card ) to Maybankard Visa Debit (cherry with visa logo ) but then agent at maybank gave a diff card which was the Maybankard MasterCard Platinum Debit (cherry with mastercard logo ) . i questioned him but the he said all the same only.
Then i tried to sign-up using google wallet.
The error that i encounter when i try to purchase some apps in google play is as following

"Card has been declined. Please update the card."

So what should i do ? Btw, my card is active but m2u is deactivated

And if i change the card, whis is better

Maybankard Visa Debit or Maybankard Manchester United Visa Debit ?

Your helpful reply is highly appreciated wink.gif

This post has been edited by cHiLdHo0drEaMz: Jul 4 2012, 11:47 AM
OMG!
post Jul 4 2012, 12:05 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

Wish to ask if i were to withdraw my money at South Korea using Maybank Debit card, how much 'extra fees' would I be charged, in Woons or MYR?

I heard that ATM machine in South Korea will automatically change the currency rates from MYR to KRW once I activate my overseas flag, how is the exchange rates be for money withdrawing on ATM in South korea?

Added on July 4, 2012, 12:06 pm

Does that also apply to withdrawing money from ATM machine using maybank Debit Card ( with Visa) in South Korea?

This post has been edited by OMG!: Jul 4 2012, 12:06 PM
LS Lim
post Jul 4 2012, 07:39 PM

79 posts

Hi, Sifu.

Your insights are very helpful to noobs like me. thumbup.gif

Thank you very much and kudos to you. notworthy.gif
yiyibrowers
post Jul 4 2012, 09:46 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ Jul 4 2012, 12:37 PM)
Good morning guys

I have plan to purchase apps via Google Play so 2 Days ago, i converted my Maybankard Bankcard (The Yellow Card ) to Maybankard Visa Debit  (cherry with visa logo ) but then agent at maybank gave a diff card which was the Maybankard MasterCard Platinum Debit (cherry with mastercard logo ) . i questioned him but the he said all the same only.
Then i tried to sign-up using google wallet.
The error that i encounter when i try to purchase some apps in google play is as following

"Card has been declined. Please update the card."

So what should i do ? Btw, my card is active but m2u is deactivated

And if i change the card, whis is better

Maybankard Visa Debit or Maybankard Manchester United Visa Debit ?

Your helpful reply is highly appreciated wink.gif
For the m2u, you need to go to atm machine and activate it then u can use it for online transaction already. In term of point then it was Maybankard Machester United Visa Debit more better but if in term of exchange rate then it will be Mastercard more better as it offer the lower rate.... But recently I think mastercard and visa is the same..... Please correct me if I'm wrong
cHiLdHo0drEaMz
post Jul 4 2012, 09:49 PM

#DBAP
1,030 posts

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jul 4 2012, 09:46 PM)
For the m2u, you need to go to atm machine and activate it then u can use it for online transaction already. In term of point then it was Maybankard Machester United Visa Debit more better but if in term of exchange rate then it will be Mastercard more better as it offer the lower rate....   But recently I think mastercard and visa is the same..... Please correct me if I'm wrong
thx for your reply.. but still i cant pay online eventhough i have activated "msos" sad.gif

This post has been edited by cHiLdHo0drEaMz: Jul 4 2012, 09:50 PM
yiyibrowers
post Jul 4 2012, 09:52 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ Jul 4 2012, 10:49 PM)
thx for your reply.. but still i cant pay online eventhough i have activated "msos" sad.gif
Have you activated the m2u online banking?
cHiLdHo0drEaMz
post Jul 4 2012, 09:54 PM

#DBAP
1,030 posts

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jul 4 2012, 09:52 PM)
Have you activated the m2u online banking?
yup. i did but still no change sad.gif
MilesAndMore
post Jul 4 2012, 11:56 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Jul 4 2012, 08:54 AM)
How come they didn't inform me bout the Maybankard Manchester United VISA debit card, they just give me the cherry card. The cherry card dun have the same benefit??
Yes. It's a bit different. You can check out their website for the differences smile.gif

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jul 4 2012, 12:05 PM)
Wish to ask if i were to withdraw my money at South Korea using Maybank Debit card, how much 'extra fees' would I be charged, in Woons or MYR?

I heard that ATM machine in South Korea will automatically change the currency rates from MYR to KRW once I activate my overseas flag, how is the exchange rates be for money withdrawing on ATM in South korea?

Added on July 4, 2012, 12:06 pm
Does that also apply to withdrawing money from ATM machine using maybank Debit Card ( with Visa) in South Korea?
I have never used my ATM card to withdraw cash in South Korea, thus i can't advise you on this. But do note that there is a 0.5% admin fee for all overseas transactions and this include overseas ATM cash withdrawals + RM10 fee for every withdrawal.

Anyway, since you have a Maybank VISA debit card. I strongly suggest that you just use your Maybank VISA debit card to pay for anything at all places that accepts debit/credit card in Seoul. I've used my Maybank credit card many times during my last trip to Seoul just two months ago and the rate was KRW1,000 = RM2.73-RM2.74. I used the card to buy something online again and was charged in KRW just last month and the rate was KRW1,000 = RM2.73 for the first time and KRW1,000 = RM2.76 for another transaction done a few weeks later. As you can see, the final exchange rate is even lower than the rate offered by money changer in Malaysia which is around KRW1,000 = RM2.78-RM2.82 thumbup.gif

QUOTE(LS Lim @ Jul 4 2012, 07:39 PM)
Hi, Sifu.

Your insights are very helpful to noobs like me.  thumbup.gif

Thank you very much and kudos to you.  notworthy.gif
Anytime smile.gif

QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ Jul 4 2012, 09:54 PM)
yup. i did but still no change sad.gif
I still remember that there was another person using this Maybank debit Mastercard saying that this card cannot be used at several online sites. Google Wallet could be one.
cHiLdHo0drEaMz
post Jul 5 2012, 01:42 AM

#DBAP
1,030 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 4 2012, 11:56 PM)
Yes. It's a bit different. You can check out their website for the differences  smile.gif
I have never used my ATM card to withdraw cash in South Korea, thus i can't advise you on this. But do note that there is a 0.5% admin fee for all overseas transactions and this include overseas ATM cash withdrawals + RM10 fee for every withdrawal.

Anyway, since you have a Maybank VISA debit card. I strongly suggest that you just use your Maybank VISA debit card to pay for anything at all places that accepts debit/credit card in Seoul. I've used my Maybank credit card many times during my last trip to Seoul just two months ago and the rate was KRW1,000 = RM2.73-RM2.74. I used the card to buy something online again and was charged in KRW just last month and the rate was KRW1,000 = RM2.73 for the first time and KRW1,000 = RM2.76 for another transaction done a few weeks later. As you can see, the final exchange rate is even lower than the rate offered by money changer in Malaysia which is around KRW1,000 = RM2.78-RM2.82  thumbup.gif
Anytime  smile.gif
I still remember that there was another person using this Maybank debit Mastercard saying that this card cannot be used at several online sites. Google Wallet could be one.
thx you for your valueable info. Gonna get it change by tomorrow morning itself wink.gif.. Will have go with Maybank VISA debit card (cherry) as MU Maybank VISA debit card is out of stock at my place.. wink.gif
OMG!
post Jul 5 2012, 12:15 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 4 2012, 11:56 PM)

Anyway, since you have a Maybank VISA debit card. I strongly suggest that you just use your Maybank VISA debit card to pay for anything at all places that accepts debit/credit card in Seoul. I've used my Maybank credit card many times during my last trip to Seoul just two months ago and the rate was KRW1,000 = RM2.73-RM2.74. I used the card to buy something online again and was charged in KRW just last month and the rate was KRW1,000 = RM2.73 for the first time and KRW1,000 = RM2.76 for another transaction done a few weeks later. As you can see, the final exchange rate is even lower than the rate offered by money changer in Malaysia which is around KRW1,000 = RM2.78-RM2.82  thumbup.gif
Anytime  smile.gif

Thank you for your helpful reply. smile.gif

well, as I will be going to Busan,daegu and jeju as well, do you mean all places in South Korea will accept Maybank debit card for any purchases in any shopping malls/outlets?

So in this respect, it is better to opt for Maybank MU Visa Debit Card as the points accumulated are higher right?

cHiLdHo0drEaMz
post Jul 5 2012, 05:16 PM

#DBAP
1,030 posts

Just got my card changed and finally im able to buy apps after all..

So the advice is..

Do not apply for Maybankard MasterCard Platinum Debit if have plans to buy apps from google wallet/play..

Choose instead of Maybankard Visa Debit or Maybankard Manchester United Visa Debit..

bursalchemy
post Jul 8 2012, 08:54 AM

485 posts

How often CIMB will credit the grocery rebate of 1% to my savings account?

Added on July 8, 2012, 8:56 amI mean airasia savers account, i applied on march. but everytime i went to jusco buy stuff, i didnt see any rebates on my monthly statement.

This post has been edited by bursalchemy: Jul 8 2012, 08:56 AM
yiyibrowers
post Jul 8 2012, 09:15 AM

751 posts

QUOTE(bursalchemy @ Jul 8 2012, 09:54 AM)
How often CIMB will credit the grocery rebate of 1% to my savings account?

Added on July 8, 2012, 8:56 amI mean airasia savers account, i applied on march. but everytime i went to jusco buy stuff, i didnt see any rebates on my monthly statement.
Airasia Saver will have rebates.. Only the normal saving, i supposed.... CIMB give u high interest rate on top of normal saving and give u rebate. I checked and on product disclosure, no longer stated rebate
bursalchemy
post Jul 8 2012, 11:09 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jul 8 2012, 09:15 AM)
Airasia Saver will have rebates.. Only the normal saving, i supposed.... CIMB give u high interest rate on top of normal saving and give u rebate. I checked and on product disclosure, no longer stated rebate
Damn.. i dont like CIMB bank, it is a liar bank. When i applied, they say rm8 will be waived if i dont apply for the debit card only open account. But they charge me rm8 on my bank statement. Then they say there will be 0.8% grocery rebate if i take up the debit card, as rm8 is unavoidable, then i take it lo. but now no more rm8 rebate? what the heck. I bought so much thing at jusco then they withdrawn the offer without informing.

Beisdes, the statement do no show what i actually spend, only state all transaction as POS DEBIT. How can i track my expenses if i do alot of transaction? I should avoid CIMB bank for any transaction in the future.
arimii
post Jul 9 2012, 12:24 AM

I need suggestion , I want to get a prepaid debit card ,
which one u guys would like to prefer me ?

Actually I want to use this for verifying paypal and shopping .
I saw in the internet , there's 2 prepaid debit card =
1. AmBank NexG PrePaid MasterCard
2. PB Day2Day Visa Card

So which one the best ?

Added on July 10, 2012, 4:32 amhello, i need help here.

This post has been edited by arimii: Jul 10 2012, 04:32 AM

426 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:42 AM