Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group
weikee
Apr 30 2013, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(yushin @ Apr 30 2013, 03:05 PM) I saw many used Cisco 1841 for sale on ebay with price of around usd100-usd150. I wonder could I get one to replace my current linksys E4200? Got so cheap? Ebay Malaysia? or Ebay oversea? Oversea, you need AP to import communication devices. Or you have to pay agent to do it. Don't ask me why, I am not sure too why need AP.. Another method for "the selected" to make money.
weikee
Apr 30 2013, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(eric_tan @ Apr 30 2013, 02:22 PM) Yes, we used some of these emulator to build the big and test some networks... but nothing beats using real routers in Class... No fun, to use those emulators... last time in Australia (where I worked), you can rent the Cisco lab, to do and learn and setup routers.... they charge by the hour!! Yeah, good money to do renting. But they have complete labs with all the necessary interface for you to test. Can similate entire BGP.
yushin
Apr 30 2013, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 30 2013, 03:41 PM) Got so cheap? Ebay Malaysia? or Ebay oversea? Oversea, you need AP to import communication devices. Or you have to pay agent to do it. Don't ask me why, I am not sure too why need AP.. Another method for "the selected" to make money. Interesting, I didn't know you need agent to import routers. Hope the current network switches won't have issue.
weikee
Apr 30 2013, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(yushin @ Apr 30 2013, 03:48 PM) Interesting, I didn't know you need agent to import routers. Hope the current network switches won't have issue. I had faulty router from oversea office I try courier back and was stop by custom. Router import need AP. I end up redirect to Singapore and flew there to hand carry in. You can try ebay, if they label Fax board, router I am sure it will be block. Switch I am not sure.
weikee
Apr 30 2013, 05:48 PM
I also try ebay few router back, all stop by custom end up pay them you know what. Except my first unit. Maybe I got beginner luck.
yushin
Apr 30 2013, 07:18 PM
Does your router has build in wireless? Wireless need sirim. I use fedex/dhl/tnt to deliver back to Malaysia, hope can lepas lar...
This post has been edited by yushin: Apr 30 2013, 07:44 PM
JinXXX
May 1 2013, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(yushin @ Apr 30 2013, 07:18 PM) Does your router has build in wireless? Wireless need sirim. I use fedex/dhl/tnt to deliver back to Malaysia, hope can lepas lar... ask them to mark is as computer parts/equipment ?
yushin
May 2 2013, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ May 1 2013, 10:53 AM) ask them to mark is as computer parts/equipment ? Too late. Item already reach Malaysia POS. Pray kastam in good mood.
soonwai
May 3 2013, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 29 2013, 02:47 PM) You got RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN at RM 460? including shipping? Yeah, RM460. Low Yat Plaza where got shipping, have to go there to buy lah. Here are some pics, not mine. Too lazy to take pictures. https://picasaweb.google.com/quindor/RB2011UAS2HnDINMine came with 12v PSU. I've read some units in other countries comes with 24v PSU. Also comes with a micro USB to USB adaptor. Other than that, same old RouterOS. Haven't really had time to play around with it yet. UniFi setup no probs. WLAN, VPN, Hotspot still disabled, maybe will setup and test this weekend.
TSeric_tan
May 3 2013, 02:28 PM

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 3 2013, 12:38 AM) Yeah, RM460. Low Yat Plaza where got shipping, have to go there to buy lah. Here are some pics, not mine. Too lazy to take pictures. https://picasaweb.google.com/quindor/RB2011UAS2HnDINMine came with 12v PSU. I've read some units in other countries comes with 24v PSU. Also comes with a micro USB to USB adaptor. Other than that, same old RouterOS. Haven't really had time to play around with it yet. UniFi setup no probs. WLAN, VPN, Hotspot still disabled, maybe will setup and test this weekend. Which shop? I saw RM475 at Viewnet
soonwai
May 4 2013, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(eric_tan @ May 3 2013, 02:28 PM) Which shop? I saw RM475 at Viewnet PMed you. Dunno if true or not but shop say special price, dun tell anyone.
ycktech
May 8 2013, 10:40 AM

To all RB2011UAS2HnDIN user, How is the wifi transfer rate? I use RB751G-2Hnd the transfer file speed on wifi is very bad at average 2MB/sec or not more then 36 mbps the most. I have tried changing frequency, updating firmware, modifying Tx Power but it doesnt seem to have a avery AP (N) transfer speed on wifi.
This post has been edited by ycktech: May 8 2013, 10:40 AM
weikee
May 10 2013, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(ycktech @ May 8 2013, 10:40 AM) To all RB2011UAS2HnDIN user, How is the wifi transfer rate? I use RB751G-2Hnd the transfer file speed on wifi is very bad at average 2MB/sec or not more then 36 mbps the most. I have tried changing frequency, updating firmware, modifying Tx Power but it doesnt seem to have a avery AP (N) transfer speed on wifi. How far the AP to your device? Can you visually see the AP from the device? How many connected device? To me 2MB, is about 16Mbit is consider accptable.
ycktech
May 10 2013, 11:22 AM

QUOTE(weikee @ May 10 2013, 10:52 AM) How far the AP to your device? Can you visually see the AP from the device? How many connected device? To me 2MB, is about 16Mbit is consider accptable. I tried on 1 laptop only with wifi N around 2MB file transfer speed is shit for my point of view. Normal N is around 10-10MB to 15MB. Distance can say 1 a room space not far, not matter i put near or far the result also same. I browse alot of mikrotik forum many ppl also complaining slow wifi for network transfer file.
weikee
May 10 2013, 11:30 AM
Maybe you can try change the Wifi type in the mikrotik. I never really bother to check as wifi for me is only for convenient, for file transfer still use LAN points. Wifi are not stable and connection are sequential one one single bandwidth.
yushin
May 10 2013, 11:34 AM
Does anyone has experience using RB750GL as L2TP/IPsec server only?
soonwai
May 10 2013, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(ycktech @ May 8 2013, 10:40 AM) To all RB2011UAS2HnDIN user, How is the wifi transfer rate? I use RB751G-2Hnd the transfer file speed on wifi is very bad at average 2MB/sec or not more then 36 mbps the most. I have tried changing frequency, updating firmware, modifying Tx Power but it doesnt seem to have a avery AP (N) transfer speed on wifi. I have the RB2011UAS-etc... Have not setup wifi yet. Will post results when I do. How are you testing the speed? Don't set your TX power too high if you're close to the router.
soonwai
May 10 2013, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(yushin @ May 10 2013, 11:34 AM) Does anyone has experience using RB750GL as L2TP/IPsec server only? No but I'm using PPTP. Are you having probs?
yushin
May 10 2013, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(soonwai @ May 10 2013, 11:40 AM) No but I'm using PPTP. Are you having probs? L2TP works if I connect from internal wifi. When I try to connect from outside (3G) through WAN interface, unable to see the server. My config: WAN -- Linksys RV042 -- RB750GL I already enable port forward in Linksys RV042. 1) UDP port 1701 2) UDP port 500 The log from Linksys shows that external connection received and forwarded at port 500, however the RB750GL does not receive the data. (I did not see any port 500 connection in IP-->firewall-->connection) I suspect the RB750GL's default firewall setting is causing the problem. Can I delete all the setting under the firewall rules?
ycktech
May 10 2013, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 10 2013, 11:38 AM) I have the RB2011UAS-etc... Have not setup wifi yet. Will post results when I do. How are you testing the speed? Don't set your TX power too high if you're close to the router. I tried many setting already even adjust the TX power and all. It seem like not stable like that. And also some info from forum say AR wifi chip is not very compatible with Intel WIfI chip one. Troublesome I buy 3 already now only know this. QUOTE(weikee @ May 10 2013, 11:30 AM) Maybe you can try change the Wifi type in the mikrotik. I never really bother to check as wifi for me is only for convenient, for file transfer still use LAN points. Wifi are not stable and connection are sequential one one single bandwidth. Not that I dun wan use LAN but some user dont really have the choice and must use WIFI specially laptop user when they try to copy to/ from file server.