4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

TSeric_tan
post Sep 20 2011, 05:23 PM, updated 4y ago

264 posts

Mikrotik Routers

History (About us taken directly from Mikrotik website)

MikroTik is a Latvian company which was founded in 1995 to develop routers and wireless ISP systems. MikroTik now provides hardware and software for Internet connectivity in most of the countries around the world.

Our experience in using industry standard PC hardware and complete routing systems allowed us in 1997 to create the RouterOS software system that provides extensive stability, controls, and flexibility for all kinds of data interfaces and routing.

In 2002 we decided to make our own hardware, and the RouterBOARD brand was born. We have resellers in most parts of the world, and customers in probably every country on the planet.

Our company is located in Riga, the capital city of Latvia and has 80 employees.
Background
Mikrotik are famous for their RouterOS and also their RouterBoard hardware. Their products are affordable yet featured pack. In the SEA region, Indonesia ISP uses these Mikrotik routers in their backend. In fact if you Google about Mikrotik, Indonesia has a huge user base.

Over here in Malaysia, these Mikrotik routers became famous when Unifi was launched. At that time, Mikrotik routers had support VLAN tagging, and was one of the most affordable ones around. With VLAN tagging, it allowed the user to replace TM provided router with their own, while retaining both internet access and IPTV service.

RouterOS
RouterOS can be installed on a PC or on Mikrotik hardware, or better known as RouterBoard. You can read about the featuers of RouterOS with this PDF file from Mikrotik.

Their RouterOS comes in many versions from Level 0 to Level 6. Read the difference of each level here.
You may try and download the Level 0 which is a full featured RouterOS, but with a 24 hour limit.

RouterBoard
RouterBoard are special hardware platform manufactured by Mikrotik.
You can view all their hardware on their routerboard.com website.
You could also view the hardware features by viewing this PDF from Mikrotik.

You are able to interface with your RouterBoard via one of the following methods
| WinBox via IP or MAC address
| Web Interface via IP
| SSH via IP
| Telnet via IP
| Terminal via Serial connection (selected models) [This is OLD SKOOL]

Where to buy Mikrotik
Malaysia Distributor: Landasan Teknologi (M) Sdn Bhd (website)
Malaysia: Computer Zone
From Singapore: Just google Mikrotik Singapore and you'll get a few online retailers
From Lowyat Forum: Just do a forum search and you'll find some sellers

I have a Mikrotik and I need some help!
Start by visiting Mikrotik's Wiki page. For most home users, you'll find instructions with sample codes available.
Their Wiki pages also has lots of interesting articles, discussion topics as well as advance routing concepts.
If you are unable to find what you need, please try your best friend Google.
Or you could just post on this thread, and we'll hopefully someone who is expert enough to help.

Certification
There are basically 6 certification available. More info here.

MTCNA - MikroTik Certified Network Associate
MTCRE - MikroTik Certified Routing Engineer
MTCWE - MikroTik Certified Wireless Engineer
MTCTCE - MikroTik Certified Traffic Control Engineer
MTCUME - MikroTik Certified User Management Engineer
MTCINE - MikroTik Certified Inter-networking Engineer

Next Course in Malaysia
MTCNA | 3 to 6 Oct 2011 | Organised by Spectrum Indonesia

Past Course in Malaysia
MTCNA | 5 to 7 July 2011 | Organised by Landasan Teknologi

Pros / Cons of Mikrotik Routers
+ Affordable hardware
+ Full featured routerOS with enterprise features
+ Hotspot with Radius support
+ etc

- Need to have basic networking knowledge to setup
- Advance setting require someone with good RouterOS knowledge
- Not for the ordinary home user

Facebook Mikrotik User Group (MUG)
I started MUG on Facebook because a few friends/users asked me to.
However I believe that the forum format would be easier for discussion.

Interesting Facts
Did you know that KLIA's free Hotspot service is service by Mikrotik hardware?

This post has been edited by eric_tan: Oct 4 2011, 12:09 PM
TSeric_tan
post Sep 20 2011, 05:34 PM

264 posts

Mikrotik & RouterOS owner list

soonwai = RB750GL, RB751U-2HnD
eric_tan = RB750GL, RB751G-2HnD x2, RB433UAH +R52 wifi, RB433 + R52 wifi
DeLarafi = RB750, RB750GL, RB 951 2N
Arul = RB1100 , RB450, RB750G, RB433 and RB433AH
billytong = RB750G, RB250GS

[PM me to add to list]

This post has been edited by eric_tan: May 29 2013, 11:35 PM
TSeric_tan
post Sep 21 2011, 05:48 PM

264 posts

Just checked and yes C-Zone has Mikrotik products under the Unifi category.

Yesterday I just asked the price from Landasan on the following product:-

| RB750GB @ RM210 + RM10 courier charges
TSeric_tan
post Sep 21 2011, 06:06 PM

264 posts

arul_sr can I ask what series of the RouterBoard do you use as backend?

Your is PC or RouterBoard?
TSeric_tan
post Sep 21 2011, 08:25 PM

264 posts

Wow, all the TOP end stuff..... nice...

I actually have question, is the RB750G any good?

I actually have the RB433 but is wondering how does the RB750GL compare to it?

Because the RB750GL is very cheap, want to help friend setup hotspot service at his place.
TSeric_tan
post Sep 25 2011, 09:00 AM

264 posts

Arul: bro you do much scripting with Mikrotik?

TSeric_tan
post Sep 26 2011, 08:12 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(arul_sr @ Sep 25 2011, 10:33 PM)
what script do you want to know bro?
I completed my sript.

Because RouterOS only takes IP, but I want to have a script that resolves the domain name and then updates the IP address accordingly.
TSeric_tan
post Sep 27 2011, 09:58 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(arul_sr @ Sep 27 2011, 05:11 AM)
for dyndns bro?
can you paste your script here  smile.gif
yes sort of.

Scripts I taken from the following link and modify. Not that hard, just need to use the "resolve" function only

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Scripting-examples

And here is a script that will resolve ip address, compare resolved ip with configured one and replace if not equal:

/system script add name="resolver" source= {

:local resolvedIP [:resolve "server.example.com"];
:local radiusID [/radius find comment="myRad"];
:local currentIP [/radius get $radiusID address];

:if ($resolvedIP != $currentIP) do={
   /radius set $radiusID address=$resolvedIP;
   /log info "radius ip updated";
}

}

This post has been edited by eric_tan: Sep 27 2011, 09:59 AM
TSeric_tan
post Sep 27 2011, 02:31 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(arul_sr @ Sep 27 2011, 11:11 AM)
after create the script, you must add scheduler to run
at your script i think no problem..
did you see the log bro?
Yes you need to add to scheduler to run (I assume you already know)

Yah, I use the log to do debugging. No problem.

*I didnt use that script, I modified that script to use for my purpose
TSeric_tan
post Oct 3 2011, 12:22 PM

264 posts

I did the previous class by Landasan....

Exam not that easy, specially for those with no Networking background.
Exams very tricky too.

How much they charge for the class? How many people in the class?

Try to save or get sample exams from them. So share with others.

TSeric_tan
post Oct 3 2011, 10:50 PM

264 posts

Passed on first try tongue.gif (lucky)
You no problem la: Eat, Sleep & Networking....

But in my class only 3 people pass on first try.

But most of them passed on 2nd try tongue.gif

Same price, but mine only 3 days.. I think yours more worth it tongue.gif

Ask you class members to join the FB MUG group tongue.gif
TSeric_tan
post Oct 4 2011, 11:17 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Oct 4 2011, 12:25 AM)
Well we see about it this Thursday hopefully i pass on first try 95% :-)

Kindly update your first post for the link on FB MUG Group i will ask them to join :-)
Wah, want 90% plus somemore, means u want to be trainer...

I cant la, I tried many times, everytime I put FB link, I cannot save the page... very strange.... (I try again)

Eric

TSeric_tan
post Oct 7 2011, 12:24 PM

264 posts

Fail 1 time, but can still get 79% wor... congratulations!

TSeric_tan
post Oct 16 2011, 09:01 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(cyberic @ Oct 12 2011, 03:54 PM)
anyone got any script to build a good home router? I found the Dmitry's firewall guide and the one article for home router. I'm still reading and checking the wiki page to understand more. It will be great if any sifu here can share your opinion and guidance smile.gif
There isn't any pre-written script. You start with a clean slate and you fill in with any settings you need.

To use as a home router, you'll need at least the following set
| PPPOE Client to connect to Streamyx
| NAT Translation to share the internet with all the PC on the network
| DHCP Server to provide IP address to all PC on the network

Optional stuff includes (not required for most people)
| Firewall setup (can be a few lines to hundreds of line)
| QOS/Bandwidth management (can be a few lines to hundreds of line)

Depending on what you need to do, you'll need to setup it up. There is no "fixed" template that will fit everybody's requirement.

As for the optional stuff, your router will fine without it. You may run it without a Firewall or QOS/Bandwidth management. However should you need to optimise it, you have the option to.

As you know NAT itself can also be considered a very basic firewall.
TSeric_tan
post Oct 19 2011, 02:09 AM

264 posts

Honestly. I dont bother with Firewall setup.
Good ones are just too complicated and LONG to setup.....
Simple ones are just too restrictive....

Unless you have a Trojan Horse, a router with NAT should be good enough for most home users. [My opinion only]

But if you want to setup Firewall, because you worried that people want to come in, check out the option "Tarpit"....

Yes, disable all services not used, so you keep all the ports closed.

Added on October 19, 2011, 2:11 amGuys also join the Facebook page I had setup tongue.gif

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mikrotik-Use...247061138651771

This post has been edited by eric_tan: Oct 19 2011, 02:13 AM
TSeric_tan
post Nov 11 2011, 12:01 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Nov 4 2011, 06:10 PM)
I'm using RB750. Pretty much the same as RB750GL. Except for the Gigabit LAN.

Setup is simple. You have a couple of choices.

Web interface - SOME features can be accessed and toy around with.
Winbox - Fully GUI and ALL features are available to be messing around with.
Telnet - Scripting. If you're well conversed with RouterOS, then go ahead.
Yes there are 3 ways to setup your Mikrotik routers.

Web Interface have very limited features. Don't bother...

Winbox should have 99% of the the settings you need. Certain things you just cannot do from Winbox.

Command Line Interface (CLI) via Telnet/SSH is for those who knows what they are doing. Most of the tutorials online are based on command line. Easy to copy other people's setting, and just paste it in the command line.

Start with Winbox and slowly graduate to Command Line Interface.

TSeric_tan
post Dec 15 2011, 12:41 AM

264 posts

Forget to check this thread for sometime liao.. sorry guys..

looks like got a few regulars now tongue.gif

TSeric_tan
post Feb 4 2012, 06:03 PM

264 posts

Wow, this thread suddenly got lots of active users.

Good to know there are many other Mikrotik users out there.

I was wondering, I have seen a few users using "RB751U-2HnD". Where do you guys buy it from?
TSeric_tan
post Mar 8 2012, 11:55 PM

264 posts

Wow, so much action happening in this thread.... when i started.. we had NOBODY....
Do people want to list what Mikrotik products they own?

I can make a list on the first page!
TSeric_tan
post Mar 12 2012, 05:56 PM

264 posts

Please PM me your Mikrotik hardware list....

Save me the trouble of reading every reply....

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:15 PM