176 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

iXora.ix
post Sep 14 2016, 09:03 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(banggala @ Aug 30 2016, 01:41 PM)
Hi guys, newbie here. Any1 know how to disable the dynamic DNS? I keep getting TM DNS. Also Is there any1 here set-up vpn on mikrotik before? I've seen some youtube vids but all of the guide there they use single public IP  cry.gif  (dunno what term u guys call), and since im using TM my public IP will change sometimes. So if any1 have set-up vpn for TM user please do help me  biggrin.gif
as for dns
banggala
post Sep 19 2016, 08:11 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Sep 14 2016, 09:03 PM)
as for dns
ty!
IamNOT
post Sep 21 2016, 10:33 AM

283 posts

Going to deploy large scale WiFi across development. Who shall I contact for sales in Malaysia?
Deslack
post Sep 25 2016, 12:06 AM

148 posts

Hi guys, newbie here. Any1 know how to disable the dynamic DNS? I keep getting TM DNS.
/ip dns set servers=8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4
/ip dns set allow-remote-requests=yes

This will force the MikroTik router to use Google's DNS.
allow-remote-requests if you allow your network computers to use the router to resolve DNS which is normally the case.

Also Is there any1 here set-up vpn on mikrotik before? I've seen some youtube vids but all of the guide there they use single public IP  cry.gif  (dunno what term u guys call), and since im using TM my public IP will change sometimes. So if any1 have set-up vpn for TM user please do help me  biggrin.gif
You will need to use scripting to check the IP address and update the IPSec Peers configuration as appropriate.

Deslack
post Sep 25 2016, 12:12 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 14 2016, 12:25 AM)
Does Mikcrotik having ADSL modem selling ?
No. Though I understand your predicament since you'd like one single device to handle all your internet.

I was in that camp before. Just use your existing ADSL modem as a bridge and let MikroTik handle all the routing.

Most problems that plagued other modem+routers are at the routers side since that's where all the heavy processing is at.

andyliew97
post Oct 12 2016, 08:42 AM

358 posts

Hi, anyone know what is the model/brand for this router? Saw it in airport..

amirsubhi
post Oct 13 2016, 04:24 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

QUOTE(andyliew97 @ Oct 12 2016, 08:42 AM)
Hi, anyone know what is the model/brand for this router? Saw it in airport..
ARUBA, btway it's an AP not router biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by amirsubhi: Oct 13 2016, 04:25 PM
andyliew97
post Oct 14 2016, 08:32 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Oct 13 2016, 04:24 PM)
ARUBA, btway it's an AP not router biggrin.gif
I see. Thanks for the info.!
crazyfatt
post Dec 3 2016, 01:30 PM

117 posts

All Sifu here please guide me on choosing mikrotik router. Currently using tplink and wireless signal is weak whn I connect from 2nd floor. Using unifi and heavy gaming and working usage. Please suggest and thank you.
jio
post Dec 3 2016, 11:32 PM

383 posts

What is the signal strength (in dBm) you get from 2nd floor & your current tplink model. Anything better than -65dBm is good enough for for use with ac wireless, provided your pc also using ac wireless client. Forget about 2.4GHz, the interference nowadays is really bad even for landed property. Faster broadband = more traffic on wifi = more interfence. Add it with selfish idiots that force their router to run 2.4GHz with 40MHz channel width to improve the max throughput, that works when nobody is using but made everyone suffer during peak hours.

The only model that I can recommend is hAP ac due to 5GHz ac wireless. hAP ac lite is a bit low powered for 2 storey home. Or you can pair hEX R3 or hEX POE with your own ac wireless ap. hEX R3 had similar CPU as Ubiquiti EdgeRouter-X. Even though ERX is more flexible, I won't recommend it unless you need proper OpenVPN server & other things not possible in RouterOS.
Vigilant
post Dec 5 2016, 03:28 AM

Be ever vigilant, but never suspicious
1,288 posts

I have MikroTik RB951Ui-2HnD and Maxis Fibre and I have this NAT(Strict) problem on my PC games. I've tried all the guides to port forward but when tested with port checker, those port wouldn't open.

Any expert would like to access my router through team viewer would be very much appreciated to figure out why I can't port forward and open the NAT.

Also I'm running simple QoS.
MX510
post Dec 5 2016, 03:33 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

QUOTE(IamNOT @ Sep 21 2016, 10:33 AM)
Going to deploy large scale WiFi across development. Who shall I contact for sales in Malaysia?
PM me bro :-)

ncys1
post Dec 10 2016, 09:01 PM

296 posts

Does Mikrotik have integrated router & wireless AP solutions with AC? I'm a little confused about their marketing. I know the ethernet only devices are definitely routers, but how do I know which wireless device can also serve as a router?

Anyway, I'm currently running an ASUS RT-N14UHP in a house with 5 users, HyppTV has been stuttering for quite some time. Which Mikrotik board would be suitable?
Deslack
post Dec 11 2016, 02:19 AM

148 posts

There's hAP ac https://routerboard.com/RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT

and hAP ac lite https://routerboard.com/RB952Ui-5ac2nD

HyppTV doesn't go through the standard internet connection, and I heard configuring HyppTV to work on MikroTik routers can be complicated (haven't tried it myself, though).

Have you upgraded the firmware to the latest revision? Thought that might help.

QUOTE(ncys1 @ Dec 10 2016, 09:01 PM)
Does Mikrotik have integrated router & wireless AP solutions with AC? I'm a little confused about their marketing. I know the ethernet only devices are definitely routers, but how do I know which wireless device can also serve as a router?

Anyway, I'm currently running an ASUS RT-N14UHP in a house with 5 users, HyppTV has been stuttering for quite some time. Which Mikrotik board would be suitable?
ncys1
post Dec 11 2016, 08:42 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Deslack @ Dec 11 2016, 02:19 AM)

HyppTV doesn't go through the standard internet connection, and I heard configuring HyppTV to work on MikroTik routers can be complicated (haven't tried it myself, though).

The latest firmware for my RT-N14UHP is from January 2015 (official support site). Unless I can somehow find newer versions of firmware being released elsewhere hmm.gif .
edward88
post Dec 11 2016, 10:24 AM

351 posts

it just vlan tagging

This post has been edited by edward88: Dec 11 2016, 10:25 AM
knuxed
post Dec 11 2016, 03:50 PM

1,885 posts

Does anyone know how I can configure IPv6 on my Mikrotik
rioven
post Dec 12 2016, 06:05 PM

975 posts

Mikrotik for TM Unifi
ahlong
post Dec 13 2016, 10:10 AM

not a debt collector
612 posts

Hello guys,

Will join the club as a Mikrotik RB951G-2HnD user if MX510 can COD today!
Deslack
post Dec 15 2016, 07:53 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(edward88 @ Dec 11 2016, 10:24 AM)
it just vlan tagging
Just saw the guide. Very straightforward and easy, Thanks.

176 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0285sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:34 PM