126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak v2, READ: ABSOLUTELY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY

SUSs3an_looi
post Oct 24 2011, 01:13 AM

ZQOUTLET.COM
2,144 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Oct 23 2011, 10:09 PM)
anyone had problem with Winterboard lately? i tht day terupdate, then faced this

sometimes when exit from an app, then this happen:
How u get the leather skin in folder?
beck_ken
post Oct 24 2011, 01:57 AM

4,716 posts

hey guys,

I tried with the Digi logo (using ifile) and I found out that the Digi logo was oversize and I decided to restore back the original Digi wording.

but after I restored the original Digi logo, I found out that my camera and photo album (original apple apps) are not working. Both apps when I open it, it will prompt to a page loading "Rebuilding Library" then it will pop back to main page.

Those pictures still inside ifile and I can view it from there.

Can anyone help to solve this problem?

sugen
post Oct 24 2011, 09:08 AM

1,358 posts

As you might know, iOS5 currently has a tethered jailbreak. So what’s a semi tethered jailbreak? In short, it is protection for if your device reboots while you’re on the road.

Jump over the break for more details…

What is a tethered jailbreak?

This means that after you have jailbroken and installed most stuff you care about, you go to reboot your device, and it will no longer boot. You will be either stuck at apple logo forever, or you will get to itunes restore screen. When this happens, you have to hook up to your computer and use redsn0w “just boot” feature which gets you rebooted successfully again. It’s not all bad, as iOS5 is pretty stable. But if your device crashes and reboots while you’re out on the road, you are screwed and without a phone until you get home.

What is an untethered jailbreak?

An untethered jailbreak is one that does not have such problems. Here you can reboot and the device reboots successfully. Because we are using the limera1n exploit discovered from Geohot last year, we are always guaranteed a tethered jailbreak on last generation devices. A new exploit will need to be found to untether us.

What is a semi tethered jailbreak?

The semi-tethered jailbreak will allow you to reboot on the road, but with limited functionality. It is enough that you are no longer stranded, and you can use your phone, text, and many other features. This is just until you get home and can use redsn0w again to “just boot tethered”. Once you do that, you’re back to fully functional state.

Here is a summary of what you can and cannot do when in semi-tethered reboot state:

Can use phone, sms (text messages)
Can use every other stock app on iphone.
Cannot use mobile safari
Can use other appstore web browsers such as atomic web browser
Cannot use mail app. You could install a gmail app from appstore or such instead.
You cannot use any jailbreak tweak, app, cydia until you boot tethered.
While in the semitether booted state, you should not add a jailbreak ios5 notification such as sbsettings to notifications during this state or your device will be stuck in a respring loop until you get home to “boot tethered”.
NOTE THAT:

The device will take longer to boot up. When you reboot, it has to reload every service. It will respring a couple times also.
According to Saurik, there are some “problems” to reloading all daemons on the fly. This is why mobile substrate installation requires “reboot device” in cydia. I have not experienced any of these problems, but I am not promising they do not exist. This is why we will need testing to see which problems may occur.
The semi tethered jailbreak was only tested on iPhone4 GSM running iOS5. But the package will be update…

To install the semi tethered jailbreak, add the following repository to cydia: http://thebigboss.org/semitether
MyKy44
post Oct 24 2011, 09:34 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Oct 24 2011, 01:13 AM)
How u get the leather skin in folder?
using edius HD theme
chongkiatz
post Oct 24 2011, 12:23 PM

6,792 posts

How is semi-thethreing work? Mean can reboot phone without plug to itunes ?
deepan84
post Oct 24 2011, 12:29 PM

White Rider
2,200 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Oct 24 2011, 12:23 PM)
yup but only limited functionality..

TSazraeil
post Oct 24 2011, 12:53 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Pak An @ Oct 23 2011, 07:54 PM)
i've got an iphone 3gs upgraded to iOS 5 and jailbroken using redsnow tethered jailbreak. and now my phone keeps on turning off by itself. Not more than 5 minutes after reboot it will turn off itself. Would like to restore but tak sempat since phone asik mati! any solution?
Can you go into DFU mode? Put your phone into DFU mode and try to restore. 5 minutes should give you ample time to go into DFU mode

Added on October 24, 2011, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Oct 24 2011, 07:23 AM)
You can only use Apple stock app and can use the phone/sms function which is 90% of what you need in that kind of situation. To get full functionality again, you need to get to a computer that has redsn0w and do the "just boot tethered" option.

I like it and will probably go for that option but will wait for Saurik to update Mobile Substrate in the next couple of days.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Oct 24 2011, 12:55 PM
noobie123
post Oct 24 2011, 02:19 PM

| aM CK Hon!!
1,341 posts

Can I say that currently is not a good time to JB iOS 5 as there still many tweaks is incompatible. Not to say JB even appstore also lots of incompatible apps.
vassilius
post Oct 24 2011, 02:39 PM

494 posts

i'll rather wait for a stable release than jailbreaking wif a semi tethered jb... waste time only... restoring firmware is not a 30min thing, could end up taking few hours...
ahweii
post Oct 24 2011, 02:39 PM

I have a phone from abroad, I need to jailbreak + unlock it, but I would rather someone with more expertise did it. Are there any places I can go where they will do it for me?
x132755
post Oct 24 2011, 03:23 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

what ur fon ver now?
ahweii
post Oct 24 2011, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(x132755 @ Oct 24 2011, 03:23 PM)
what ur fon ver now?
It is 3gs (old bootrom) on iOS4.3 baseband is 5.16.01
Kingory1996
post Oct 24 2011, 06:01 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ahweii @ Oct 24 2011, 06:07 PM)
Actually you can do it yourself. Jailbreak via jailbreakme.com and install ultrasnow via Cydia and your iPhone is unlocked. But there might be some baseband incompability so I guess better let the experts do it; )
TSazraeil
post Oct 24 2011, 06:34 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ahweii @ Oct 24 2011, 12:07 PM)
Sounds like you have a factory unlocked 3Gs as the baseband you have cannot be unlocked by ultrasn0w anyway so if you have been happily using a Malaysian simcard, then your iPhone is factory unlocked.

Ultrasn0w can only unlcok a 3Gs baseband up to 05.13.04
rajurajz
post Oct 24 2011, 07:34 PM

Provide iPhone Jailbreak and Etc Service
686 posts

i have a problem with my WiFi .

Suddenly today, when i went to setting and wanted to touch the WiFi icon,
they return there No-WIFI, i can't click the wifi icon its like transparent colour..

when using my sb setting i on my wifi i wait for long nothing happens..

same goes to my bluetooth, when i on it will keep on searching and searching for hours it wont stop.. and some times it will off by it self even it didn't connect.

this problem just happen, last time all was ok ..

any idea ?
TSazraeil
post Oct 24 2011, 08:24 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Try rebooting the phone and see if it's okay. If it's not, the you may need to look at the possibility of restoring the iPhone either with iOS5 or if you have your SHSH saved, with the same firmware version you have now. let's hope it's not a board problem.
WimpyKid
post Oct 24 2011, 09:35 PM

We fix your Devices!
2,673 posts

It looks like baseband corrupted. Are you able to see modem firmware in settings or is just nothing there?
rajurajz
post Oct 25 2011, 02:01 AM

Provide iPhone Jailbreak and Etc Service
686 posts

i'm still able to see modem firmware in settings .

and yea i still have SHSH of 4.3.3 ..

and also i have SHSH of 4.1 and 4.3.5 ..
Waachaaa
post Oct 25 2011, 01:02 PM

495 posts

I'm in 4.1 jb. If I update to 4.3 do I still need to jail break again?

Thx
chongkiatz
post Oct 25 2011, 01:05 PM

6,792 posts

Everytime u upgrade a firmware also need to re-jail break

126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:31 PM