Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V54!, The Orange Legion
NutZ748
Oct 17 2011, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(kiwi99 @ Oct 17 2011, 12:57 PM) u can try ask Melaka Parkard.... I have see their post in Mudah....Body only RM 3899?? Only offer for 3 days,dun know truth or not.... 3899?? my mind floats A77 and fades A65
Newbieeeeee
Oct 17 2011, 02:43 PM
Whats the diff between contrast AF and phase detect AF?
deadangel
Oct 17 2011, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Oct 17 2011, 01:15 PM) may be lens compatibility issue for sigma  Added on October 17, 2011, 1:18 pmthat is good price, save rm400. if negotiate some more then rm37xx-rm38xx. if buy bulk some more, rm35xx-rm36xx. possible possible hopefully  but i think the seller just change to rm3999 lol.... Sony dslr slt-a77 body brand new RM 3 999 TV/Audio/Video/Cameras © Malacca I am using minolta lens...when I do 12 shot then it start hang or need to load 7-8sec...damn long, sometimes longer...
eddybeh
Oct 17 2011, 03:20 PM
guys, my siblings are planning to get a Nex C3 for my mother. I thought of searching for it in BB plaza. any recommended shop??
lwliam
Oct 17 2011, 03:39 PM
Your friendly neighborhood photographer
QUOTE(deadangel @ Oct 17 2011, 03:02 PM) I am using minolta lens...when I do 12 shot then it start hang or need to load 7-8sec...damn long, sometimes longer... You're hitting the buffer. It's normal. Take this as a top tip: dont use 24MPix setting. A medium setting of sub-20MPix is very very sufficient for your needs. And why do you need 12 fps shoot anyway? Not that you're taking shots of 100m dash finishing line. Time your shot bursts. A normal high continuous of 4-5 bursts a click is very sufficient for everyday use. I dont even need anything above 4 in most cases. The more you burst, the more shots you need to filter out later in the computer. And it has nothing to do with what lens you use.
deadangel
Oct 17 2011, 04:00 PM

QUOTE(lwliam @ Oct 17 2011, 03:39 PM) You're hitting the buffer. It's normal. Take this as a top tip: dont use 24MPix setting. A medium setting of sub-20MPix is very very sufficient for your needs. And why do you need 12 fps shoot anyway? Not that you're taking shots of 100m dash finishing line. Time your shot bursts. A normal high continuous of 4-5 bursts a click is very sufficient for everyday use. I dont even need anything above 4 in most cases. The more you burst, the more shots you need to filter out later in the computer. And it has nothing to do with what lens you use. Agree with u ntg wrong v the lens...haha bt I oso dont shoot 12pic..around 7pic then hang...bt bro is it suppose they can support 12shoot,right?
lwliam
Oct 17 2011, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(deadangel @ Oct 17 2011, 04:00 PM) Agree with u ntg wrong v the lens...haha bt I oso dont shoot 12pic..around 7pic then hang...bt bro is it suppose they can support 12shoot,right? QUOTE when I do 12 shot then it start hang or need to load 7-8sec. But you said you shot 12 then hang, well, I'm not sure about your definition of hang. Whether is it really hang as in you need to plug out the battery or just that the camera's buffer is reached and its taking time to write it to the card. But by right, the camera IS supposed to be able to go 12fps of 24 megapixels for 1 second before the buffer is maxed out.
deadangel
Oct 17 2011, 04:20 PM

QUOTE(lwliam @ Oct 17 2011, 04:16 PM) But you said you shot 12 then hang, well, I'm not sure about your definition of hang. Whether is it really hang as in you need to plug out the battery or just that the camera's buffer is reached and its taking time to write it to the card. But by right, the camera IS supposed to be able to go 12fps of 24 megapixels for 1 second before the buffer is maxed out. It really hang...need to press menu+ movie+previw button thn only can reset...
lwliam
Oct 17 2011, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(deadangel @ Oct 17 2011, 04:20 PM) It really hang...need to press menu+ movie+previw button thn only can reset... Have you tried removing the battery from the battery compartment?
NutZ748
Oct 17 2011, 04:52 PM

guys...anyone know where i can get a nice price of Sigma 17-70 DC MACRO OS HSM? and...is there any other alternatives around that price range?
deadangel
Oct 17 2011, 05:37 PM

QUOTE(lwliam @ Oct 17 2011, 04:29 PM) Have you tried removing the battery from the battery compartment? Nope cause I worry the data will loss
TSalbnok
Oct 17 2011, 05:42 PM
Alpha Male
Newbieeeeee: Contrast Detect AF is pretty much like how you'd manual focus a lens from looking at the screen alone - keep turning it until it gets contrasty.
Phase Detect AF uses a pair of AF sensors, one looking from the left, the other from the right. It sees how far the same image is from each other in the left and right sensor, and knows exactly where to focus based on this.
If you've seen a split-prism viewfinder you'll know exactly what I mean.
deadangel: Well you'd need to get a faster card, unfortunately - you have a few options:
1) Sony Memory Stick Pro Duo HG (read 50MB/s, minimum write 15MB/s, maximum write 20MB/s) 2) Sandisk Extreme Pro UHS-1 (read 45MB/s, write 45MB/s) 3) Sandisk Extreme Pro UHS-1 (read 95MB/s, write 90MB/s) 4) Toshiba UHS-1 (read 95MB/s, write 80MB/s) 5) Delkin Elite633 UHS-1 (read 95MB/s, write 45MB/s)
Note that the read speed is written on the package - this is the only way to tell between say the Sony MSPD 50MB/s and the older MSPD 30MB/s.
Eh, after a burst, it should only hang for 20 seconds or so on a MSPD 30MB/s card.
8tvt
Oct 17 2011, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 17 2011, 05:42 PM) 2) Sandisk Extreme Pro UHS-1 (read 45MB/s, write 45MB/s) 3) Sandisk Extreme Pro UHS-1 (read 95MB/s, write 90MB/s) how to differentiate these same name? typo or just see the package?
jimlim007
Oct 17 2011, 08:11 PM
malao, a77 rm3700 geeezzzzzzzz
NutZ748
Oct 17 2011, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Oct 17 2011, 08:11 PM) malao, a77 rm3700 geeezzzzzzzz serious????
lwliam
Oct 17 2011, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Oct 17 2011, 08:11 PM) malao, a77 rm3700 geeezzzzzzzz malao? As in monkey? Where did you get the info from on RM3700?
percyteyu
Oct 17 2011, 09:08 PM
A 55 Newbie report in.....
jimlim007
Oct 17 2011, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(lwliam @ Oct 17 2011, 08:58 PM) malao? As in monkey? Where did you get the info from on RM3700? someone say from FB. zaloon now offer 3999 + 200 voucher = 3800. possible below 3800 though  Added on October 17, 2011, 9:51 pmQUOTE(percyteyu @ Oct 17 2011, 09:08 PM) A 55 Newbie report in..... welcome to Sony  1st, recommend you 3 sifu here, Albnok and lwliam, iER. you can ask post anything here regardless picture, question or comment This post has been edited by jimlim007: Oct 17 2011, 09:51 PM
deadangel
Oct 17 2011, 10:07 PM

QUOTE(percyteyu @ Oct 17 2011, 09:08 PM) A 55 Newbie report in..... ya ya welcome welcome...new here iso~~~
e-jump
Oct 17 2011, 10:15 PM
Twoa850 + 85ZA @ F1.4