131 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V13, NEW Users - be SMART user :read page 1

Dark_Angel85
post Sep 5 2011, 01:00 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(ice666 @ Sep 5 2011, 12:17 PM)
guys;
how to change my Mobile Network type? i want to use Edge speed instead of 3G speed sometimes.. i dont find the setting anywhere. please guide..

Thanx..
download the 2G-3G switcher to quickly enter that specific settings page. It'll save you a lot of time

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 5 2011, 12:19 PM)
What rom would you guys recomend me? One that has the best balance between battery life and performance. Currently looking at exynos extreme and litening rom
QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 5 2011, 12:23 PM)
Cognition 1.5.1
TSbenny888
post Sep 5 2011, 01:01 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I recieved this PM and my reply to him based on Darky/Chainfire threads. Have posted it in FAQ on roms part2. This was discussed before several threads back. Might be useful for new users to know

I am confused about the JIG - does it really hide all my reflashing records and Samsung Service Center cannot detect the flashing done ?

Answer: The JIG just resets your flash counter and remove the yellow triangle during first bootup
What does this counter do exactly?

It's very simple: it counts the number of times you flash a custom ROM or kernel on your SGS II, so the guys over at Samsung know of it when you return the phone to them for any kind of problem you may have (this is done so they can say whether you've voided your warranty or not). Even using Odin to get back to stock won't help you and will let the counter go up by one
The good news is that the counter can be reset by using one of those jigs we all know very well

No, unfortunately Samsung has very clear in mind what it's doing.
It seems there is a second counter, which counts the number of times the custom flash counter has been reset, and the bad news is that its position/folder has not been discovered yet.

So, it seems all the future SGS II owners and flash addicts over here will have a hard time returning their SGS II to Samsung after having flashed something... I hope someone over at XDA will get everything sorted out (Chainfire is already working on it).
Speaking about XDA, here's the source of this article: XDA-SGS II flash counter.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...ghlight=counter

As I have said many times before, resetting your flash records, installing back your stock roms/kernels to claim warranty is just to make yourself happy and confident when you submit in a warranty claim. The Samsung Tech if he wishes can pursue to void your warranty claims by just accessing these hidden files/logs. I have always being successful in claiming rooted/flash cook rom sets as I always believe in honesty. Why try to hide. , and don't bluff your way thro. Tell the truth and do not be surprised you get rewarded by the FOC services rendered
Dark_Angel85
post Sep 5 2011, 01:02 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(ice666 @ Sep 5 2011, 12:17 PM)
guys;
how to change my Mobile Network type? i want to use Edge speed instead of 3G speed sometimes.. i dont find the setting anywhere. please guide..

Thanx..
download the 2G-3G switcher to quickly enter that specific settings page. It'll save you a lot of time

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 5 2011, 12:19 PM)
What rom would you guys recomend me? One that has the best balance between battery life and performance. Currently looking at exynos extreme and litening rom
QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 5 2011, 12:23 PM)
Cognition 1.5.1
I second ^^i have tried lite'ning, batista, and now cognition. Cognition so far has been the best of the lot. Of course I was quite happy with the other roms too but Cognition has fewer bugs and zero lag on the home button press which to me is quite important.
annoymous1234
post Sep 5 2011, 01:07 PM

7,616 posts

can we use this way to root? http://www.techofweb.com/technology/root-a...ingerbreak.html
DarkAsura
post Sep 5 2011, 01:07 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(leeyengyang @ Sep 5 2011, 12:52 PM)
NEed Help ON mY SGS2,When incoming call,why got a voice mention the number who calling me that disturb my caller ringtone,how to erase the voice??
just go to voice talk> off driving mode (if on in green color)> then tadaa u remove that annoying voice haha
TSbenny888
post Sep 5 2011, 01:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Sep 5 2011, 01:07 PM)
GINGERBREAK cannot work on SGS II retail sets. It works only on the initial proto sets. Once release to market, Samsung has lock it

Refer page 1 post #5, I have listed the options for rooting. Just choose the one you need among the various scenarios. You need not refer anyplace anymore. I have done the hard work and give you the solution in page 1 post#5

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 5 2011, 01:12 PM
allic
post Sep 5 2011, 01:14 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(leeyengyang @ Sep 5 2011, 12:52 PM)
NEed Help ON mY SGS2,When incoming call,why got a voice mention the number who calling me that disturb my caller ringtone,how to erase the voice??

Disable driving mode
Mollai
post Sep 5 2011, 01:19 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Sep 4 2011, 06:19 PM)
not troll la..thrilling mebe la ..lousy attempt though haha
not available. luckily we get the exynos+amoled version for better video n flash perf. the tgra 2 for gaming better since i dont game on my s2...i dun understand why ppl want to game on hp n whats the fuss about angry brid  shakehead.gif , i got notebook to game many better games wakakaka
=.="
What's tgra?
annoymous1234
post Sep 5 2011, 01:21 PM

7,616 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Sep 5 2011, 01:19 PM)
=.="
What's tgra?
=.="
a graphic chipset
gg8989
post Sep 5 2011, 01:21 PM

237 posts

How can i download winrar files from fileserve?
aiman39
post Sep 5 2011, 01:28 PM

475 posts

New owner joining. Yattaaa!!!!!!
dejima
post Sep 5 2011, 02:01 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Sep 5 2011, 12:48 PM)
I am on touch x-treme rom now. Basically in terms of battery life and performance it differs on user so its difficult to recommend one rom. otherwise there would not be so many roms on xda. The best is to try out a few roms and pick the one that suite you best.
Yeah, been using this rom for few months. i can say it is quite stable with good battery life thumbup.gif
SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 02:02 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Sep 5 2011, 12:05 PM)
In your opinions, which ROM is better? The Lite'ning or the Speeedmod?

Tempted to flash with the Lite'ning ROM
doh.gif doh.gif speedmod is a kernal

QUOTE(DarkAsura @ Sep 5 2011, 12:21 PM)
does sgs2 really have second flash counter? if that case buying usb jig would be useless coz usb jig only reset first counter and triggered another counter
the main purpose of a jig is to revive your bricked sgs2, erasing the counter is just a bonus, and yea got second counter
yehlai
post Sep 5 2011, 02:04 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Update from Cognition 1.5 to 1.5.1
With Cognition its easier to update Rom, unlike Villian Rom which will wipe data.

Yes Cognition is more simple and snappy.

Good thing about Villian is more to tweaks... miss the Desktop version tweak !!!
Mollai
post Sep 5 2011, 02:09 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Sep 5 2011, 01:21 PM)
=.="
a graphic chipset
then what's rom and kernel?

Read only memory? kernel reminds me of the corn kernels. lol

This post has been edited by Mollai: Sep 5 2011, 02:10 PM
oisun1888
post Sep 5 2011, 02:10 PM

[Antenna Problem]

HI All,

I got this Samsung Galaxy S2 (Original-I suppose from Celcom Blue Cube) just last Saturday,

So far I experience 3(three) times of "cutoff" from Celcom. There is NO LINE at all, not a single Bar. I have to restart my phone, then only can get back the line.

What happened ????? Pls advise, on how to fix it.

Thank you thank you

mydragoon
post Sep 5 2011, 02:13 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(oisun1888 @ Sep 5 2011, 02:10 PM)
[Antenna Problem]

HI All,

I got this Samsung Galaxy S2 (Original-I suppose from Celcom Blue Cube) just last Saturday,

So far I experience 3(three) times of "cutoff" from Celcom. There is NO LINE at all, not a single Bar. I have to restart my phone, then only can get back the line.

What happened ????? Pls advise, on how to fix it.

Thank you thank you
ever considered getting a cheap prepaid card from say... digi or maxis. and then see if you still have this problem? could be just celcom issue... wink.gif
yehlai
post Sep 5 2011, 02:15 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Kernel is BIOS for your phone.

ROM is a package of UI + Kernel + Modem

Good thing about Android is you can customize to build different combination of ROM, kernel, modem in your phone.
mydragoon
post Sep 5 2011, 02:17 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Sep 5 2011, 02:15 PM)

Good thing about Android is you can customize to build different combination of ROM, kernel, modem in your phone.
hmmm... good way to explain. errrr... then what's modem? why different type of modem?
Mollai
post Sep 5 2011, 02:18 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Sep 5 2011, 02:15 PM)

ok..now u're giving me more questions.

What's BIOS? UI?

Thank you so much for your patience wink.gif

131 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:27 PM