131 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V13, NEW Users - be SMART user :read page 1

yehlai
post Sep 5 2011, 02:21 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

You can Google BIOS, its a term for PC.
For Android we call it Kernal.

UI is user interface.
antt00
post Sep 5 2011, 02:28 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 5 2011, 01:01 PM)
I recieved this PM and my reply to him based on Darky/Chainfire threads. Have posted it in FAQ on roms part2. This was discussed before several threads back. Might be useful for new users to know

I am confused about the JIG - does it really hide all my reflashing records and Samsung Service Center cannot detect the flashing done ?

Answer: The JIG just resets your flash counter and remove the yellow triangle during first bootup
What does this counter do exactly?

It's very simple: it counts the number of times you flash a custom ROM or kernel on your SGS II, so the guys over at Samsung know of it when you return the phone to them for any kind of problem you may have (this is done so they can say whether you've voided your warranty or not). Even using Odin to get back to stock won't help you and will let the counter go up by one
The good news is that the counter can be reset by using one of those jigs we all know very well

No, unfortunately Samsung has very clear in mind what it's doing.
It seems there is a second counter, which counts the number of times the custom flash counter has been reset, and the bad news is that its position/folder has not been discovered yet.

So, it seems all the future SGS II owners and flash addicts over here will have a hard time returning their SGS II to Samsung after having flashed something... I hope someone over at XDA will get everything sorted out (Chainfire is already working on it).
Speaking about XDA, here's the source of this article: XDA-SGS II flash counter.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...ghlight=counter

As I have said many times before, resetting your flash records, installing back your stock roms/kernels to claim warranty is just to make yourself happy and confident when you submit in a warranty claim. The Samsung Tech if he wishes can pursue to void your warranty claims by just accessing these hidden files/logs. I have always being successful in claiming rooted/flash cook rom sets as I always believe in honesty. Why try to hide. , and don't bluff your way thro. Tell the truth and do not be surprised you get rewarded by the FOC services rendered
Thanx for the info. Cross finger hope that i never have to visit samsung service center. sweat.gif
Mollai
post Sep 5 2011, 02:29 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Sep 5 2011, 02:21 PM)
You can Google BIOS, its a term for PC.
For Android we call it Kernal.

UI is user interface.
I can slightly understand the components.
But not sure what does it have to do with the phone. Like why do i need to customize? Hmm..
mydragoon
post Sep 5 2011, 02:31 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Sep 5 2011, 02:29 PM)
But not sure what does it have to do with the phone. Like why do i need to customize? Hmm..
ok, ok... i can do this one... read page 1. smile.gif
rayzy22
post Sep 5 2011, 02:32 PM

395 posts

From: Sri Kembangan, Putrajaya, K.Terengganu, Butterworth

QUOTE(oisun1888 @ Sep 5 2011, 02:10 PM)
[Antenna Problem]

HI All,

I got this Samsung Galaxy S2 (Original-I suppose from Celcom Blue Cube) just last Saturday,

So far I experience 3(three) times of "cutoff" from Celcom. There is NO LINE at all, not a single Bar. I have to restart my phone, then only can get back the line.

What happened ????? Pls advise, on how to fix it.

Thank you thank you
might be ur aging sim card...ask for sim replacement from celcom,say the old one spoil already.they won't charge u a nickle
Mollai
post Sep 5 2011, 02:34 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 5 2011, 02:31 PM)
ok, ok... i can do this one... read page 1. smile.gif
Page 1 so long.. cry.gif

Mind to tell which part? Which post? notworthy.gif tq
TSbenny888
post Sep 5 2011, 02:35 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Sep 5 2011, 02:29 PM)
NO need to root/flash/custom roms if you are happy with stock
Do these stuffs only if you wish to have features beyond stock rom, example
- ability to have a full rom backup and a full restore with all your data/apps in case your phone crashed
- changing themes and effects on the user interface
- overclocking or undervolting to improve performance and better battery life respectively
- needs a leaner rom as you find the Samsung apps are unnecessary and is bloatware

SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 02:36 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Sep 5 2011, 02:34 PM)
Page 1 so long.. cry.gif

Mind to tell which part? Which post?  notworthy.gif  tq
page one first post has a table of contents, go to the part which says roms flashing etc.
yehlai
post Sep 5 2011, 02:37 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Read all.. save you hassle to ask basic questions again and again.
DarkAsura
post Sep 5 2011, 02:39 PM

58 posts

can i update my stock rom KF1 to KH2 using apply update from sd card using stock recovery mode?

This post has been edited by DarkAsura: Sep 5 2011, 02:40 PM
Mollai
post Sep 5 2011, 02:41 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 5 2011, 02:35 PM)
NO need to root/flash/custom roms if you are happy with stock
Do these stuffs only if you wish to have features beyond stock rom, example
- ability to have a full rom backup and a full restore with all your data/apps in case your phone crashed
- changing themes and effects on the user interface
overclocking or undervolting to improve performance and better battery life respectively
-  needs a leaner rom as you find the Samsung apps are unnecessary and is bloatware
Hi benny, thanks for answering my questions. But could you explain the terms in bold. Thanks wink.gif

QUOTE(yehlai @ Sep 5 2011, 02:37 PM)
Read all.. save you hassle to ask basic questions again and again.
I have read page1 before, but I just couldn't understand those technical terms!! =.="
What's the point of reading if you don't even understand.

Added on September 5, 2011, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(destEX @ Sep 5 2011, 02:36 PM)
page one first post has a table of contents, go to the part which says roms flashing etc.
Thanks. So I think I'll need to get the phone first, then I'll get a better understanding wink.gif

This post has been edited by Mollai: Sep 5 2011, 02:43 PM
snail_yin
post Sep 5 2011, 02:45 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(reapertiew @ Sep 4 2011, 09:14 AM)
successfully upgrades from KF1 to KH1 baseband!!!  tongue.gif
done it within 10 minutes!!!  rclxm9.gif
How you upgrade? izzit using ODIN?
mydragoon
post Sep 5 2011, 02:45 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Sep 5 2011, 02:41 PM)

Thanks. So I think I'll need to get the phone first, then I'll get a better understanding wink.gif
honestly, if you don't understand it yet, then its probably not the time for you to look at rooting/ flashing.

my advise to ppl is... enjoy the phone in its original form. after you play around with it... and if you notice things that are lacking in the phone... then you start to look at how to fix the problems... or add the functions... and that's when you wanna consider rooting/ flashing.

i'm been using my phone for more than 2 months... i find there are some limitations with the phone in its original form, but nothing that really makes me must root/ flash/ etc the phone yet.

Added on September 5, 2011, 2:46 pm

oh, dun have the phone yet?!? hmmm... hmm.gif rclxub.gif blush.gif

Added on September 5, 2011, 2:49 pmjust sharing more observations and limitations of the stock/ original sammy rom...
* no stock animated images/ smileys. even my old dumbphone (SE k618i) have them...
* if sending to multiple recipients (referring to sms), after it's sent... there's no way to know to check who you sent it to.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 5 2011, 02:49 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 5 2011, 02:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Hi benny, thanks for answering my questions. But could you explain the terms in bold. Thanks wink.gif
I have read page1 before, but I just couldn't understand those technical terms!! =.="
What's the point of reading if you don't even understand.

Overclocking is making your phone to operate faster above its clockspeed 1.2 Ghz to 1.4 or even 1.6 Ghz
Undervolting is to reduce the power usage for each level of clockspeed, eg from 1450mV to 1300mV for , say clockspeed 1200 Ghz ; theoretically this will improve battery consumption
Bloatware is apps that Samsung has provided which many of us don't use at all. There are many of such apps in the phone. We need root to freeze these apps as if not these apps will continually popup in background, some of which could be taking up resources

That is the beauty of Android phone - you have the freedom to decide what you want or don't want, what you want to change, what you want to disable, how to change themes and UI customization to suit to taste etc. the limit is your imagination. Some of these changes might need root, flash specific mod files, change roms , etc ; some can be done even on stock roms

Don't get influence by all the talk of roms, flash, mods, root here . Just enjoy your phone first in its stock condition. Many things can be solve without resorting to such mods

sLapshock
post Sep 5 2011, 03:04 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 5 2011, 11:04 AM)
Can't resist replying..
Are u serious? I'm a malay and I never in my life known that malay people thinks bayi means pig shakehead.gif bayi means baby lor.. new born. babi baru la pig. sigh...
Forgive him, he's from MOGADISHU.

Added on September 5, 2011, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(FiReWoLf @ Sep 5 2011, 10:20 AM)
Sorry to say Uncle Benny, I believe the word u try to use is baby, not bayi.  Bayi mean pig  biggrin.gif
Hi, are you from MOGADISHU? rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

Added on September 5, 2011, 3:08 pm
QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 5 2011, 11:05 AM)
Just use odin n select file as phone

May i know, if i upgrade my baseband, would it wiped my phone or any chances of bootloop etc etc?

Currently using LITENING ROM V5.0 with KG5 Baseband.

I want to flash to KH3 broadband.

So, what are the steps?

I cant find the way in page1 maybe can enlightened me?

This post has been edited by sLapshock: Sep 5 2011, 03:08 PM
Mollai
post Sep 5 2011, 03:14 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 5 2011, 02:45 PM)
honestly, if you don't understand it yet, then its probably not the time for you to look at rooting/ flashing.

my advise to ppl is... enjoy the phone in its original form. after you play around with it... and if you notice things that are lacking in the phone... then you start to look at how to fix the problems... or add the functions... and that's when you wanna consider rooting/ flashing.

i'm been using my phone for more than 2 months... i find there are some limitations with the phone in its original form, but nothing that really makes me must root/ flash/ etc the phone yet.

Added on September 5, 2011, 2:46 pm
oh, dun have the phone yet?!? hmmm...  hmm.gif  rclxub.gif  blush.gif

Added on September 5, 2011, 2:49 pmjust sharing more observations and limitations of the stock/ original sammy rom...
* no stock animated images/ smileys. even my old dumbphone (SE k618i) have them...
* if sending to multiple recipients (referring to sms), after it's sent... there's no way to know to check who you sent it to.
QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 5 2011, 02:57 PM)
Overclocking is making your phone to operate faster above its clockspeed  1.2 Ghz to 1.4 or even 1.6 Ghz
Undervolting is to reduce the power usage for each level of clockspeed, eg from 1450mV to 1300mV for , say clockspeed 1200 Ghz ; theoretically this will improve battery consumption
Bloatware is apps that Samsung has provided which many of us don't use at all. There are many of such apps in the phone. We need root to freeze these apps as if not these apps will continually popup in background, some of which could be taking up resources

That is the beauty of Android phone - you have the freedom to decide what you want or don't want, what you want to change, what you want to disable, how to change themes and UI customization to suit to taste etc. the limit is your imagination. Some of these changes might need root, flash specific mod files, change roms , etc ; some can be done even on stock roms

Don't get influence by all the talk of roms, flash, mods, root here . Just enjoy your phone first in its stock condition. Many things can be solve without resorting to such mods
Thank you guys so much. wub.gif
I shall be getting the phone by the end of the month or early Oct. Then I think I will have more questions for you guys. Ahaha.

Benny, what's root? I heard that it's like jailbreak for iphones. Is that right? Btw, your explaination is really very easy for me to picture it. Thanks wink.gif Just abit not clear on the roms. Alright. As you said, talk about roms after I enjoyed the stock condition biggrin.gif

One more thing. Whatsapp for android is free or it's just trial?
TSbenny888
post Sep 5 2011, 03:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Sep 5 2011, 03:04 PM)

Hi, are you from MOGADISHU?  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif

May i know, if i upgrade my baseband, would it wiped my phone or any chances of bootloop etc etc?

So, what are the steps?

Changing modem, kernel WILL not wipe phone. Some firmware will and if it does, it is usually stated by the rom developer

I don't believe your questions. You have rooted and already flash several roms and yet asking again. You have flash Litening, so you must know how to use Odin, right ??

Download the KH3 modem or download the official KH3 firmware ( copy out the extracted modem file ) . I already said USE ODIN and just select the phone/modem tar file as PHONE in Odin. Leave others BLANK

earlier one user has already reply you - it is very safe to flash another modem on top of your modem. Personally I will advise you to stick to KG5, why you want to change to KH3 which I find is the worst modem file

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 5 2011, 03:17 PM
c010
post Sep 5 2011, 03:17 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Sep 5 2011, 03:04 PM)

Hi, are you from MOGADISHU?  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif

So, what are the steps?

if you flash only baseband ("phone" in odin), it wont wipe your phone and usually it is quite safe to do so.

1. launch odin
2. click "phone"
3. browse your PC folder and locate your KH3 baseband (modem)
4. then flash it.

mydragoon
post Sep 5 2011, 03:19 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Sep 5 2011, 03:14 PM)
Thank you guys so much.  wub.gif
I shall be getting the phone by the end of the month or early Oct. Then I think I will have more questions for you guys. Ahaha.

Benny, what's root? I heard that it's like jailbreak for iphones. Is that right? Btw, your explaination is really very easy for me to picture it. Thanks wink.gif Just abit not clear on the roms. Alright. As you said, talk about roms after I enjoyed the stock condition biggrin.gif

One more thing. Whatsapp for android is free or it's just trial?
whatsapp is free for first year.

i suggest installing whatsapp and viber. you then have 1 year to convert your friends from whatsapp to viber. smile.gif

viber is currently FOC.

if you know windows and the difference between power user and administrator... then think of root access as being administrator. in its original form, sgs2 (and other android devices) only give power user rights.

why need root/ administrator access? to modify the OS/ system/ kernel files. some apps that 'freezes' your apps will need such rights, i think... ok, i'm psychic and i can read your mind. and no, not going to explain what is 'freezing'. smile.gif

installing 3rd party apps do not require root access. it's just a matter of checking a box.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 5 2011, 03:22 PM
Fallenangelz
post Sep 5 2011, 03:20 PM

24 Hours a day just isn't enough.
3,221 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 5 2011, 03:19 PM)
whatsapp is free for first year.

i suggest installing whatsapp and viber. you then have 1 year to convert your friends from whatsapp to viber. smile.gif

viber is currently FOC.
viber sucks. cannot turn off notification zz

131 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:50 AM