6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V13, NEW Users - be SMART user :read page 1

SUSdestEX
post Sep 2 2011, 07:01 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

hmm comparing with the sg note

1) it has same processor and gpu as the sgs2, only clocked at 1.4ghz
2) the same 1gb ram
3) same camera specs
4) has a bigger screen + HD resolution at 1280x800 drool.gif on a 5.3" screen
this gives us a slightly higher pixel density at 284.9ppi vs 217ppi of the SGS2
5)has a barometer blink.gif
6) supports stylus
7) uses a 2500mAh battery
8) and its alot heavier, thicker and bigger 146.9 x 83 x 9.7 mm at 178g
SUSdestEX
post Sep 2 2011, 07:28 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Sep 2 2011, 07:02 PM)
on another note, our s2 has one of the lowest SAR around, far lower than my samsung wave SAR and my previous SE G900. can check gsmarena for it
+1 most probably because our network chip is using the newest technology available that also helps to save battery. Iphone4 has the highest, my friend also told me he feel sometimes giddy when sleep beside his iphone

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 2 2011, 07:17 PM)
So what have you cook ? If you have done rooting and flash your first firmware - it reminds you of cooking Maggi Mee - right ? Fast and Easy
she has a female tag, of course real cooking la laugh.gif

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 2 2011, 07:26 PM)
Dont know why it not clocked to 1.5GHz same like the LTE.?
What i'm really anxious to know is whether it use different or the same Yamaha soundchip. If the same then it's a dealbreaker for me :-(
marketing strategy biggrin.gif if people know our sgs2 can oc till 1.6ghz, then even the LTE wont be that popular right? yep, i'm wondering the same thing too hmm.gif

This post has been edited by destEX: Sep 2 2011, 07:30 PM
SUSdestEX
post Sep 2 2011, 09:00 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(kokokranc @ Sep 2 2011, 08:31 PM)
i have to problems:

1. at lowlight conditions, the ywllow tint on left side of screen is obvious.

2. it's been a month, but the taskbar already "stamped" on the screen. visible on bright videos as yellowish tint.

any of you with the same conditions?

after 6 months, gonna RMA this unit to samsung. bantai gao gao first.
1)hardware prob din occur to me SME set very very first batch i believe, shud be same batch as maxis
2) this is bad, led burnout? but weird your taskbar is coloured? if it's black the amoled should be fine wor hmm.gif

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 2 2011, 08:36 PM)
~~ gahhh ~~

Go one hour browsing and your battery will drop nearly 20%. Really gobble juice when browsing :-P
now you know, eat like no tomorrow, i felt using dolphin eats more than playing most games

This post has been edited by destEX: Sep 2 2011, 09:14 PM
SUSdestEX
post Sep 2 2011, 10:10 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 2 2011, 09:17 PM)
I know already as i used to get only around 6 hours for non-stop browsing. As i had said before, the main gobbler
1) browsing/streaming (as display also ON)
2) playing games (as display also ON)
3) display ON (exp. reading)
For me, as long as the scrren is ON then the battery juice will drop like water ~~ lol ~~
p/s - one of the reason to buy Galaxy Note (got much bigger battery capacity)
do note it's running on 1.4ghz and has a heck of a bigger screen and pumping 1.5x the resolution, therefore eats more battery

This post has been edited by destEX: Sep 2 2011, 10:18 PM
SUSdestEX
post Sep 2 2011, 10:32 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Sep 2 2011, 10:28 PM)
I thought it's running at 1280x800? To be exact its roughly 3x the resolution if you count by pixel wise.

Added on September 2, 2011, 10:29 pm
Go to mobile network > your internet connection > Proxy > 8.8.8.8
This should work.
yea sorry it's 2 and 2/3 the size
SUSdestEX
post Sep 2 2011, 10:49 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Sep 2 2011, 10:34 PM)
your signal very weak thats why drain battery alot, or just get a bigger battery tongue.gif
2000mAh battery from samsung is out
oh no xpresside is back to poison us with his mugen sweat.gif

QUOTE(blurboy84 @ Sep 2 2011, 10:39 PM)
straight ko my connection......sigh
i tried before, never worked, dont know why, dun la go surf those prawn sites laugh.gif

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 2 2011, 10:44 PM)
oh ya... tonight is not the night... wink.gif

but downloading odin was really fast! had expected like 1-2hours downloading it on my 512k streamyx... see2, 5secs, habis...
odin is small, just the firmware is about 250-300mb

and what night? brows.gif
SUSdestEX
post Sep 3 2011, 12:13 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

supercurio  François Simond
I started writing a new sound driver extensions API, as much inspired by ALSA Mixer API as it gets but adapted to Android limitations. And I start using this API in the new #VoodooSound driver for #O2x #G2x. Compatibility is assured by a legacy layer in my app of course. The main interest of this sound driver extensions API is to add the ability to support any kind of audio hardware and driver later. Too bad manufacturers don't use modern ALSA / ASoC everywhere already: sometimes OSS (Moto XOOM), sometimes nothing at all (LG #O2x #G2x)
from twitter
fingers crossed and hope it supports sgs2 notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by destEX: Sep 3 2011, 12:15 AM
SUSdestEX
post Sep 3 2011, 12:51 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Sep 3 2011, 12:44 PM)
Doesnt make much difference if u r playing a movie but alot of difference if u r recording video on the highest resolution .... Tried with class 4 , video playback abit jerky compared to class 10 but then , it might be just me
its just you tongue.gif
SUSdestEX
post Sep 3 2011, 11:57 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

Zenus carbon prestige!
SUSdestEX
post Sep 4 2011, 01:29 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(sabre23t @ Sep 4 2011, 01:28 PM)
Hi All,
I've just got my SGS2 for two days. Will be retiring my CSL MI300 soon. ;-)
I wanted to monitor/optimize battery usage, read page 1 and other info.
I finally figured out that I needed these two apps/widget ...
(1) Battery Monitor Widget (free with ads, RM13 for Pro version without ads) --> this provides battery percentage, current mA usage with graphs.
(2) BetterBatteryStats XDA version (free for XDA registered user, RM9 on Android Market to support developer) --> this provides further tools to find apps consuming power
... did I get that right?
yep those 2 are my main monitors too. You can also try android assistant
SUSdestEX
post Sep 4 2011, 11:35 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(cpc_cs @ Sep 4 2011, 02:17 PM)
Got my SGSII on one week ago. Newbie to smartphones and android.

I noticed in the Settings - About Phone - Kernel Version it says
2.6.35.7-I9100DXKH2-CL483911
root@DELL138 # 2

My question is what does "root@DELL138 # 2" represents?

Got the phone from Celcom Blue Cube, Pavilion

Can someone clarify. Thanks
represents your kernal, just because there's a ROOT it doesnt mean its rooted.

QUOTE(megadisc @ Sep 4 2011, 11:15 PM)
if using 3g battery life only less than half day on my sgs2
using LR 6.1 and netampaie kernel..

pls advise what u use?
use some of those battery saving apps, juice defender/green power/2x battery etc etc.
use betterbatterystats see if any apps is causing wakelocks, just incase.

change your kernal
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1229633
based on this benchmark, you see see la which kernal better, this is ppl's benchmark but you can try and test.
SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 12:35 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 5 2011, 12:30 AM)
Basically I just want it charge faster like 30%? hahaha..If the battery suppose to be can use for 3 years..I don't mind it shorten it to 1 year if charging fast..
Eiraku, you using the Samsung Travel charger?  hmm.gif
agree, bloody thing drains like nobody's business, but charge like snail doh.gif
SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 01:29 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(o2grexg @ Sep 5 2011, 12:56 AM)
I wonder how many "naked" SGS2 user here! i love the slimness of the SGS2 so i decided to leave it naked!
not to offend you but seriously one day ur gonna regret it whistling.gif

This post has been edited by destEX: Sep 5 2011, 01:30 AM
SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 03:34 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Sep 5 2011, 03:03 AM)
Hi guys,
something to ask:
this is my setup-
baseband version:  I9100KG6
KERNAL VERSION: 19100XXKH3-CL479037 se.infra@SEI-15 #2

What is the different between modem and kernal? WHICH one is my modem and what i my kernal?

also where could i get Ninphetamine 2.0.2 and SpeedMod s2 k1 T27? and between this two if i flashed them, could i still use with KH3 modem?
ur setup has baseband and kernal, so kernal is kernal la, so modem must be baseband la, common sense la bro laugh.gif your kernal is stock kernal KH3 by infratech i think, difference ah, heard of bios? guess not, i think you better read page 1, got one link explain in detail about kernal and modem is ur drivers for your modem chip in ur phone.

how to get them? did u try google? make sure you add sgs2 in your search term laugh.gif and yes you can use.

I'd like to make it clear to everyone thats here that you can flash any set of combinations as you want, your phone will not spoil, its all compatible, you can have any modem with any kernal using any cs or a rom then u put in your own csc kernal modem also can, there is no compatiblity problem with android.
SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 11:56 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Pogostik @ Sep 5 2011, 11:54 AM)
I'm new to this android-thingy and some things did confused me. For an example, if I disabled Use packet data in Mobile networks, does it mean that I won't be able to get on 3G? Coming from Windows Mobile, this is really confusing. I mean, I was able to be on 3G and disable data connection at the same time. Could I do the same thing in Android?

As far as i know, disable 3G you can still use 3G calls but you cannot get mms
SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 12:00 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 5 2011, 11:59 AM)
On stock rom if disable you won't get 3g or mms. not sure for custom rom.

Added on September 5, 2011, 12:00 pm
Not really cos some user got it first time.
hmm.gif ya ah, i myself dont use 3g calls, just remember someone mentioning 3g calls still can be use rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 02:02 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Sep 5 2011, 12:05 PM)
In your opinions, which ROM is better? The Lite'ning or the Speeedmod?

Tempted to flash with the Lite'ning ROM
doh.gif doh.gif speedmod is a kernal

QUOTE(DarkAsura @ Sep 5 2011, 12:21 PM)
does sgs2 really have second flash counter? if that case buying usb jig would be useless coz usb jig only reset first counter and triggered another counter
the main purpose of a jig is to revive your bricked sgs2, erasing the counter is just a bonus, and yea got second counter
SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 02:36 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Sep 5 2011, 02:34 PM)
Page 1 so long.. cry.gif

Mind to tell which part? Which post?  notworthy.gif  tq
page one first post has a table of contents, go to the part which says roms flashing etc.
SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 05:15 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Sep 5 2011, 05:05 PM)
The way i look at it the android OS is the highest cos your screen was off all the time. Normally, the display will have the highest percentage pushing android OS down.

And plus your batt didn't drop much. It may turn out to be nothing at all. But just check as benny said to be sure.
what i'm curious is why yours dont have a bar for display? using custom rom? or you never on your screen after u finished charging?
SUSdestEX
post Sep 5 2011, 07:08 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Sep 5 2011, 07:06 PM)
The app is called 'compass' from touch.com. Just search for compass in the market, it is the first one with the blue open compass.

I ended the app thru the task manager....and when i checked on it under battery usage, the percentage was increasing...and then i clicked on it and clicked force close, then my battery life was margnally better,

The next day, I checked and found it was still running.

I have a feeling it could be my battery which is crappy, cos even surfing drains it very quickly. Can I send it to samsung to be replaced?
yes, you are right! that app blue coloured compass, i also notice it's draining battery and runs in the background even after closed. just uninstall it la, there's tons of better compass app out there.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0445sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:17 AM