QUOTE(Canopies @ Sep 5 2011, 08:06 AM)
Adam is injured?Any source? =<
English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Liverpool 2 -1 Wolves : LS7 scored again
Sep 5 2011, 10:15 AM
8 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Sep 5 2011, 10:19 AM
565 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Damansara |
Sep 5 2011, 10:32 AM
8 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Sep 5 2011, 10:48 AM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
QUOTE(markblurberry @ Sep 4 2011, 09:03 PM) Saw FA classic match between Liv VS Fulham, can't help but notice Didi Hamann's contribution throughout the match, he was superb...which explain why he was signed by GH and still utilize by RB. Breaking up opponents play, he did it with aggression and doesnt give face, I think Alonso learned quite a lot from him. His passing is also good, and my, how we miss his thunderbolt freekicks and long range shot..Gerard was DM but Didi covers most of the ground to allow Stevie to maraud upfield...would say Didi the unsung hero....just hope that Lucas can achieve this, not at this moment tho....even Masch is not as complete as Didi.... Hamann had the reputation of being a journeyman before we signed him and made him an adopted scouser. He ranked no. 44 on the list of "Players Which Shook the Kop" and you'll be hard pressed to find any Liverpool fan who doesn't have a nice thing to say about him. Aside from Sami Hyypia, he has to rank high up on the list of brilliant acquisitions by Houllier."Brilliant acquisitions by Houllier???", you may ask. Well yes. If you look at it, Jari Litmanen was at the time one of the best creative forwards in the game and I was stoked that we signed him only to be brought back down to earth when Houllier kept him on the bench in preference of the lumbering Emile Heskey, and when he did play Jari, we kept punting the ball up the park for him to chase. Anyway, I digress. Hamann was impeccable when it came to reading the game. It says a lot that his introduction during the half-time at Istanbul effectively changed the game as he nullified Serginho, forcing Milan to play out wide instead through the likes of Serginho. Prior to that, 2 of the 3 goals we conceded came right through the middle. The first was of course from a free-kick given away by one Djimi Traore. |
Sep 5 2011, 10:58 AM
110 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
long time ago i mention hamann will always > than macherano in my heart.
but some of the forumer here juz tease me by telling me : so are u saying hamann is better than the argentina captain? |
Sep 5 2011, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(keong24 @ Sep 5 2011, 10:58 AM) long time ago i mention hamann will always > than macherano in my heart. Never be afraid to stand by your opinion mate. People often remember what's most recent and honestly, how many have followed Hamann's Liverpool career from start to finish? Unless someone can justify why they disagree with you, it's an empty argument. In my opinion, yes, Hamann's reading of the game, ensuring he's in the right place at the right time to cut out attacks trumps Masherano's all action approach to defending. Don't get me wrong, I love them both. In fact I've never stopped being fan of Mascherano and have always only had good things to say about him even when he left for Barca when I defended his decision to the end. However, I preferred Didi's calm, calculated approach to the game over Masch's volatile temperament and over exuberance.but some of the forumer here juz tease me by telling me : so are u saying hamann is better than the argentina captain? Added on September 5, 2011, 11:46 amSpeaking of defensive midfielders, here is an interesting write-up on Lucas. No denying the fact that he is no longer the attacking minded midfielder we signed from Gremio. http://www.liverpool-kop.com/2011/09/tragi...ucas-leiva.html This post has been edited by Duke Red: Sep 5 2011, 11:46 AM |
Sep 5 2011, 12:16 PM
1,658 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Spion Kop |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Sep 5 2011, 11:11 AM) Never be afraid to stand by your opinion mate. People often remember what's most recent and honestly, how many have followed Hamann's Liverpool career from start to finish? Unless someone can justify why they disagree with you, it's an empty argument. In my opinion, yes, Hamann's reading of the game, ensuring he's in the right place at the right time to cut out attacks trumps Masherano's all action approach to defending. Don't get me wrong, I love them both. In fact I've never stopped being fan of Mascherano and have always only had good things to say about him even when he left for Barca when I defended his decision to the end. However, I preferred Didi's calm, calculated approach to the game over Masch's volatile temperament and over exuberance. The article seems flawed as I rmb read a more insightful article thats posted by hyperpower_youth IIRC. That article which I'm more agree with is that Lucas is never a AM. He's what a Brazilian called a 1st shipwright (or something like that) whose main duty is never attacking but provide an outlet of support to the Brazilian attacking quarter with spraying balls ard to his more attacking colleagues. This in turn make the teams more balance between defence & attacks in typical Brazilian teams.Added on September 5, 2011, 11:46 amSpeaking of defensive midfielders, here is an interesting write-up on Lucas. No denying the fact that he is no longer the attacking minded midfielder we signed from Gremio. http://www.liverpool-kop.com/2011/09/tragi...ucas-leiva.html I think Hamann brought a more steady & calming approach in contrast to Masch reckless & all action approach which is obviously more pleasant to eyes & often interpreted as more committed. I like both but the simple facts that Masch practically forced a move by sitting out of match with reasons like Modric just made me rethink about his "commitment" |
Sep 5 2011, 12:47 PM
222 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: KL |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Sep 5 2011, 12:11 PM) Never be afraid to stand by your opinion mate. People often remember what's most recent and honestly, how many have followed Hamann's Liverpool career from start to finish? Unless someone can justify why they disagree with you, it's an empty argument. In my opinion, yes, Hamann's reading of the game, ensuring he's in the right place at the right time to cut out attacks trumps Masherano's all action approach to defending. Don't get me wrong, I love them both. In fact I've never stopped being fan of Mascherano and have always only had good things to say about him even when he left for Barca when I defended his decision to the end. However, I preferred Didi's calm, calculated approach to the game over Masch's volatile temperament and over exuberance. both have excellent reading of the games for behind. pace wasnt hamann's forte esp when we had succession of games. i remember in GH era, where against the likes of traditional english mid-lower clubs using long balls we were often caught out of position. in those games, their swift counter attacks almost made hamann non existent. I use to curse "oh no, not again" when under GH we have not been known to be a club which scores a handful of goals. in this respect sissoko covered more ground defensively (except sissoko's ball control / reading of the game was not in hamann's class). Masherano was almost as good as hamann's reading but had better energy/pace in entire game. |
Sep 5 2011, 12:52 PM
6 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Sep 5 2011, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(vreis @ Sep 5 2011, 12:16 PM) The article seems flawed as I rmb read a more insightful article thats posted by hyperpower_youth IIRC. That article which I'm more agree with is that Lucas is never a AM. He's what a Brazilian called a 1st shipwright (or something like that) whose main duty is never attacking but provide an outlet of support to the Brazilian attacking quarter with spraying balls ard to his more attacking colleagues. This in turn make the teams more balance between defence & attacks in typical Brazilian teams. I think it's a matter of technicality. In my opinion, he played in a more advanced role than he does since having joined the club. Also, what little youtube vids I've managed to dig up of him prior show him making forward runs hence my rather lose deduction that he was indeed a more attacking player than he is now. Whether that makes him more of an AM, DM, CM, GM, CEO, etc is subject to interpretation because from what I can tell, players these days interchange positions throughout and match and hence I tend to refrain from using Football Manager positional terms because if you ask me, players these days are so flexible, they can play in at least 2 positions. The article posted is more of a fan's opinion but he does to me, have a point. I used to hear talk about us having signed this box-to-box, Steven Gerrard type myfielder from Brazil, and I've yet to see him till this day. What I have seen is a kid who has matured and adapted because he wasn't given a choice, to a different role. Now what we have is a solid defensive lynch pin who anchors our midfield much in the same way Masch and Didi did. |
Sep 5 2011, 01:37 PM
222 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: KL |
i think in brazil its "what defense?"
the beautiful football game is always attack, attack!! hense the AM in lucas role is to support their attacking forwards This post has been edited by koolspyda: Sep 5 2011, 01:39 PM |
Sep 5 2011, 01:39 PM
44 posts Joined: Sep 2011 From: Your 80's Toy Shop |
last season i hate to watch liverpool play, this season i can't wait to see pool play!!! Long Live the King!!!
QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Sep 3 2011, 08:41 PM) This is probably the best squad we've had for a long time, thanks to the money and focus of the new owners, the keen eye for talent of Comoli, the proven coaching of Clarke and the determination and charisma of Kenny Dalglish. It will give me more pleasure and pride to watch the Reds play, whatever the outcomes be at the end of the season. At least when I say I wish the Reds will win this or that this season, it will not be wishful thinking like previous seasons. So here goes : I wish Liverpool FC will win all 3 domestic trophies this season! |
Sep 5 2011, 02:40 PM
3,158 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Sep 5 2011, 03:39 PM
44 posts Joined: Sep 2011 From: Your 80's Toy Shop |
sian adam injured now we really need stevie g back fast.
Sep 5 2011, 03:46 PM
91 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: United States |
adam injured,damn
spearing or shelvey will replace him? |
Sep 5 2011, 03:48 PM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
no adam, no meireles.
great! |
Sep 5 2011, 03:49 PM
suddenly cm area becomes thin
Recall Aqua This post has been edited by vreis: Sep 5 2011, 03:50 PM |
Sep 5 2011, 04:03 PM
160 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
no adam? we still got spearing or shelvey. and hopefully gerrard.
Sep 5 2011, 04:10 PM
Lest we forget, Henderson can play a more central role with Kuyt out right.
Sep 5 2011, 04:21 PM
| Change to: | 0.0297sec