124 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Liverpool 2 -1 Wolves : LS7 scored again

hyperyouth_firepower
post Aug 30 2011, 10:25 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

How about Glen Johnson? Yes, yes, we do know that Glenny is definitely the 'stereotypical' attacking-wingback, not the role of a winger; but here's how I look at it.

Glen Johnson had already played BOTH flanks, even when he 'lost' his 'position' to a newcomer to the first team squad when it comes to selection on the right back. However, he has proven that he can definitely play as a flanker, and I should say that he does very well at that.

Maybe a certain game where our boss employed a 5-4-1 formation post January that yielded us a very optimistic result in regards to our wingbacks (I still remember we had very good praises for our young ones, including a certain 'Flanno' which have been getting flak in our recent game(s) in this new season of 2011-2012 BPL) and I believe that if there's a need for a conversion then Glen Johnson comes up to mind.

The reason I put it is that if my memory serves me right, under 3 managers thus far (although injuries do persist with him, almost like the other 'glass legs' player we have) Glen Johnson has managed to fulfil his tactical role (albeit the defending part is a suspect, that probably we can agree?) as one that can hold and bring the ball forward, and is not afraid of the touchline.

The only issue, based on how games have revealed is that if we play Glenny we'll need to have a winger or AM that can backtrack (although in most cases its always Carragher and Lucas getting into defensive position on zonal marking before either one smacks the opposition with a tackle) and our Glenny would just be trotting up to pick up the ball and pass it (in the event that he loses possession)

Still, I would think that he's probably one of those wingbacks that can be converted into wingers.
normeck
post Aug 30 2011, 10:52 PM

3,158 posts

Glen Johnson from his 1st club West Ham>Chelsea>Portsmouth was a right back. At Chelsea his a favor until Abraham like to play Geremi instead of Glen.

It also a good idea to let Glen play as a winger. He has ability in attacking, but a little bit lose when tracking ball ball (we have discuss this) This should get into consideration, since Kuyt or Gerrard do get back to win the ball. Well its not we cant put him on right wing, just his weakness should be an extra job for Lucas and Kelly.

How's glen crosses? is it good? forgot already cause long time no see him.

Why i brings up this traditional winger is, when i watch Man Utd game. Since Beckham they have a good winger. And after one gone, they still have a player that almost up to the par as Sir Alex want to be. And new one Ashley Young. What a great goal ....bola curve tuuu..
dfadzli
post Aug 30 2011, 10:58 PM

24 posts

neilashton_ Neil Ashton by Richard__Buxton

Sebastian Coates sails through work permit, now officially a Liverpool player. Uruguayan defender has Scottish father

Kopsource
‎#LFC understood to have completed the signing of Sebastian Coates after the player came through a work permit hearing.

Duke Red
post Aug 30 2011, 10:58 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Aug 30 2011, 10:17 PM)
ahh Emily Heskey...the famous long ball from GH era...and you mention Caroll. This guy from Leicester City has a pace compare to Caroll. But still the game not really bad when GH as a manager. We still win FA and League Cup. But we have to go more from just winning a cup. We have to get back where we belong.
We did have good times under GH. When was the last time we won 5 cups in a single season? Problem was we became very one dimensional and predictable.

Added on August 30, 2011, 11:01 pmMmm Ashley Young isn't a conventional winger though is he? I mean his stronger foot is his right one but he plays on the left, much like our Joe Cole.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Aug 30 2011, 11:01 PM
dfadzli
post Aug 30 2011, 11:07 PM

24 posts

Waiting for announcement...

liam_tomkins Liam Tomkins
Sebastian Coates to #LFC DONE!

Fourth_Official Fourth Official
Sebastian Coates confirmation of his signing from Liverpool imminent #LFC
hyperyouth_firepower
post Aug 30 2011, 11:07 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

hmm, i'm still pondering that we ought to have one more striker? how do you guys think? or are we good with 4, Kuyt, Ngog, Suarez and Caroll?
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Aug 30 2011, 11:08 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Aug 30 2011, 11:07 PM)
hmm, i'm still pondering that we ought to have one more striker? how do you guys think? or are we good with 4, Kuyt, Ngog, Suarez and Caroll?
Ngog would be sealing Bolton's deal no?
SquaLL_JB
post Aug 30 2011, 11:17 PM

37 posts

i think it is sufficient to have 4 strikers...in case of injury, we can opt to play with lone striker and 5 midfielders..
hyperyouth_firepower
post Aug 30 2011, 11:17 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

that's highly speculative. You know our gaffer leaves no hints. But I'll say we're doing the 'sell only if we can buy' mode instead of 'buy only if we can sell' mode that we went through during Rafa's era.
zenix
post Aug 31 2011, 12:36 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Aug 30 2011, 09:41 AM)
definitely biased. no surprise.

but i agree

Reina > De Gea

Lucas > Carrick

others i think man u players have the edge.

Close call

Young > Downing

Suarez > Berba

and because im biased:

Carragher 1000000+ > Ferdinand
LOL.....at least some people here have a sense of humor smile.gif
rhoyo
post Aug 31 2011, 12:55 AM

-
2,800 posts

QUOTE(dfadzli @ Aug 30 2011, 10:58 PM)
neilashton_ Neil Ashton by Richard__Buxton

Sebastian Coates sails through work permit, now officially a Liverpool player. Uruguayan defender has Scottish father

Kopsource
‎#LFC understood to have completed the signing of Sebastian Coates after the player came through a work permit hearing.
he will be playing center rite . or switch with kelly hmm.gif
REDShaun
post Aug 31 2011, 01:29 AM

115 posts

sigh, my irritation knows no bounds when there is no game for us over this long week of holiday i am having.

I AM FRIGGIN PISSED!!! ...sigh :S

Added on August 31, 2011, 1:40 amoh and to the previous bunch of fella's (see i am being respectful) asking for a comparison between players? well, here is an honest reply:

1. Don't expect a fair comparison as there is nothing to compare in the first place - we don't know your players too well, neither do wee really look into it too much, so we don't know therefore hard to come out with a "fair comparison

2. Even if there are comparisons, please don't expect it to be non-bias, as we would definitely rate most of our players higher, just like you would too in your thread. so don't be stupid to expect anything less.

3. If you see a comparison leaning heavily to a club supported in this thread, please do not be butthurt (is this even a word, wateva) as you would be "stupid and naive" if you think otherwise. a bunch of hypocritical comments coming from your thread tells me you would do the same in a comparison. So in short feck off if you don't like what you are reading.

4. I love my club and the fans that are with our club and as much as we respect any club in the premier league, as rival fans you need to earn that respect and for a start "stop being hypocritical. so yeah, go fap if you have so much time in your hands smile.gif

This post has been edited by REDShaun: Aug 31 2011, 01:40 AM
ahmar
post Aug 31 2011, 02:01 AM

93 posts

where is Coates? i'm getting nervous
where is Coates? i keep refreshing the liverpool home page
where is Coates? i keep asking where is Coates?
>.<
hercules3110
post Aug 31 2011, 03:11 AM

374 posts

Coates in rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
see this post on suarez fb..

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Luis-Suarez/167866666571743
ahmar
post Aug 31 2011, 03:18 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(hercules3110 @ Aug 31 2011, 03:11 AM)
Coates in  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
see this post on suarez fb..

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Luis-Suarez/167866666571743
wow! shocking.gif is that seriously suarez? like his original, official page? haha..
but still waiting for news on lfc.tv though..
jimbet1337
post Aug 31 2011, 03:23 AM

meh
2,672 posts

He announced it first ahead of the club. lol.

https://twitter.com/#!/luis16suarez

https://twitter.com/#!/luis16suarez/sta...617103053033472
hercules3110
post Aug 31 2011, 03:24 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(ahmar @ Aug 31 2011, 03:18 AM)
wow! shocking.gif is that seriously suarez? like his original, official page? haha..
but still waiting for news on lfc.tv though..
yes..its suarez official fb..
confirmed rclxms.gif
xMika
post Aug 31 2011, 03:43 AM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

poulsen going to Evian Thonon Gaillard .. french league ..
ahmar
post Aug 31 2011, 03:50 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Aug 31 2011, 03:23 AM)
rclxms.gif suarez is a joker la rclxms.gif
haha

another good news.. rclxm9.gif
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/latest-news...oulsen-transfer
xMika
post Aug 31 2011, 03:52 AM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

wonder why I liked Poulsen .. is he really that lousy ?

124 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:53 AM