243 Pages « < 132 133 134 135 136 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

KVReninem
post Feb 21 2014, 04:17 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 21 2014, 07:01 AM)
Australia will not issue you a PR unless you can prove that you have been released from any bonding with the government.

But if you can get the proper documentation, easy as.
2 weeks on, 2 weeks off, 30 days annual, all expenses paid with a generous 6 digit salary.

It's good, but could be better. I'm aiming to use this as a springboard to move towards an FCS, management or more specialized role.
good for you man! damn 6 digit sweat.gif , do u hav to pay 5 digit tax too? wink.gif
empire23
post Feb 21 2014, 04:40 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 21 2014, 04:17 PM)
good for you man! damn 6 digit sweat.gif , do u hav to pay 5 digit tax too? wink.gif
I generally pay around 35 to 40 grand a year in income taxes.

But my main source of income is being a cheap bastid. My rent is 400 a month, makan is around 300, for 2 weeks a month I live on the company.

I guess one of the perks of being bujang.
hihihehe
post Feb 21 2014, 04:48 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 21 2014, 04:40 PM)
I generally pay around 35 to 40 grand a year in income taxes.

But my main source of income is being a cheap bastid. My rent is 400 a month, makan is around 300, for 2 weeks a month I live on the company.

I guess one of the perks of being bujang.
ini mesti banyak property ni brows.gif
Kwang Hui
post Feb 22 2014, 07:34 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 21 2014, 12:15 PM)
well, u could try to apply. how many years u nd to serve to settle the bond?
or getting transferred to the branch office there. might be a chance
I need to serve 6 years bond.

However, the gov didn't contact me for interview for the government position in order to legalize my bond.

I have been working in the private companies for 1 year now.

I can't wait to migrate to Australia.
Propernormal
post Feb 23 2014, 08:39 PM

127 posts

Anyone here has used agent from AUSASIA Migration?
jin06
post Feb 23 2014, 10:27 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Kwang Hui @ Feb 22 2014, 07:34 PM)
I need to serve 6 years bond.

However, the gov didn't contact me for interview for the government position in order to legalize my bond.

I have been working in the private companies for 1 year now.

I can't wait to migrate to Australia.
i thought you have to work in Malaysia to serve the bond no matter what? Regardless whether you work with private or gov as long as you work in Malaysia?
LightningFist
post Feb 24 2014, 06:30 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Hi guys, I read about migrants and interested potential migrants here so I'd love to hear about some of your experiences (if relatively recent) or advice.

I'm a student on 573 now, graduating in July (3 year Bachelor's in Australia). Student visa expires September. The desired occupation is on SOL (Actuary) but fresh grads are more like analysts, so I'm not sure how that works.

I'm under pressure right now as most positions will not consider non-PRs. Further the market is not particular good in Malaysia at the moment.

With my education I am ready to work in any area in banking and risk management, but of course none of those are on SOL.

I read about some visas, 485, 457, 189, 190.

I realise 457 is for those who have found work with a willing employer - a scenario that is highly unlikely.

189/190 are similar except for the state agency nomination - what does that really mean and who is that aimed for?

Now 485 might allow me to stay back for a short while but I'm not going to find long-term work solely on this. Does anyone know how long it takes to get a 485?

Any comments would be super appreciated. Thanks.
kathlynn
post Feb 24 2014, 06:30 PM

264 posts

Hi all,

I have an Aus PR that will expire in 2 years time. I've tried applying for jobs via job alerts on seek the past year or so and seem to be getting rejections after rejections. Was just wondering if my chances would be better if I am physically in Aus to apply for these jobs, or it wouldn't really make a difference anyway?

Am a chartered accountant (only need to top up 2 papers to get the Aus chartered) working in an O&G co in Malaysia. In terms of intergrating to Aus workwise from a technical aspect, it shouldn't be a problem because we are already using the international accounting standard here in Malaysia.

Aside from the usual headhunters and applying for jobs advertised on seek, what other ways could I try?

Am contemplating leaving my job (cushy and decent-paying) to give a try in Aus (for a period of say, 6 mths), but am quite scared as well.

Any advise?
empire23
post Feb 24 2014, 07:15 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Feb 24 2014, 06:30 PM)
Hi guys, I read about migrants and interested potential migrants here so I'd love to hear about some of your experiences (if relatively recent) or advice.

I'm a student on 573 now, graduating in July (3 year Bachelor's in Australia). Student visa expires September. The desired occupation is on SOL (Actuary) but fresh grads are more like analysts, so I'm not sure how that works.

I'm under pressure right now as most positions will not consider non-PRs. Further the market is not particular good in Malaysia at the moment.

With my education I am ready to work in any area in banking and risk management, but of course none of those are on SOL.

I read about some visas, 485, 457, 189, 190.

I realise 457 is for those who have found work with a willing employer - a scenario that is highly unlikely.

189/190 are similar except for the state agency nomination - what does that really mean and who is that aimed for?

Now 485 might allow me to stay back for a short while but I'm not going to find long-term work solely on this. Does anyone know how long it takes to get a 485?

Any comments would be super appreciated. Thanks.
Actuary is being removed from the SOL list this July. ASCO code 224111 will be removed from the SOL list.

State nomination generally means you're nominated by the state with a caveat (usually regional here in QLD, but it differs from state to state), or if you're at the level of PhD, the regional clause does not apply. Depends on state again.

485 visas are processed as they go with a usual return time of 6 months but in the mean time you will be issued a Bridging Visa type A with a no-travel clause/No return. So even if your normal student visa lapses, it's ok.

QUOTE(kathlynn @ Feb 24 2014, 06:30 PM)
Hi all,

I have an Aus PR that will expire in 2 years time. I've tried applying for jobs via job alerts on seek the past year or so and seem to be getting rejections after rejections. Was just wondering if my chances would be better if I am physically in Aus to apply for these jobs, or it wouldn't really make a difference anyway?

Am a chartered accountant (only need to top up 2 papers to get the Aus chartered) working in an O&G co in Malaysia. In terms of intergrating to Aus workwise from a technical aspect, it shouldn't be a problem because we are already using the international accounting standard here in Malaysia.

Aside from the usual headhunters and applying for jobs advertised on seek, what other ways could I try?

Am contemplating leaving my job (cushy and decent-paying) to give a try in Aus (for a period of say, 6 mths), but am quite scared as well.

Any advise?
Yes. Just lie and say you live in Australia. Give a relative or friend's address. That usually works. Schedule an interview and then buy tickets when you have to leave. Easy as.

LightningFist
post Feb 24 2014, 07:20 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 24 2014, 07:15 PM)
Actuary is being removed from the SOL list this July. ASCO code 224111 will be removed from the SOL list.

State nomination generally means you're nominated by the state with a caveat (usually regional here in QLD, but it differs from state to state), or if you're at the level of PhD, the regional clause does not apply. Depends on state again.

485 visas are processed as they go with a usual return time of 6 months but in the mean time you will be issued a Bridging Visa type A with a no-travel clause/No return. So even if your normal student visa lapses, it's ok.
Wow, so that means it's really bad news.

With the bridging visa it means you have to remain in Australia the whole time, correct? Or are you allowed to be overseas? I know there's a B which may allow for travel.
empire23
post Feb 24 2014, 07:26 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Feb 24 2014, 07:20 PM)

With the bridging visa it means you have to remain in Australia the whole time, correct? Or are you allowed to be overseas? I know there's a B which may allow for travel.
Well, I'd try asking around for a sponsored visa.

Yes. You can apply for a B version but it must be for a very good reason. (It also delays the processing of any visas you might have as they cannot issue your new visa till they know you're on Australian soil, so they push it to the back of the pile)
LightningFist
post Feb 24 2014, 07:38 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 24 2014, 07:26 PM)

Yes. You can apply for a B version but it must be for a very good reason. (It also delays the processing of any visas you might have as they cannot issue your new visa till they know you're on Australian soil, so they push it to the back of the pile)
Thanks for your replies.

Yeah, it's a pretty desperate cycle of no work no visa, but no visa no work. Well, the ones that sponsor are one in 10,000 or something ridiculous like that.

How are you going? In Australia?
kathlynn
post Feb 24 2014, 07:40 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 24 2014, 07:15 PM)
Yes. Just lie and say you live in Australia. Give a relative or friend's address. That usually works. Schedule an interview and then buy tickets when you have to leave. Easy as.
The address I can bluff, but the contact number? How do I go around that?
Yodatan
post Feb 24 2014, 07:47 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(kathlynn @ Feb 24 2014, 07:40 PM)
i know of someone who did soemthing similar, after he graduated he returned and claimed he was on holiday and would be returning to Aus soon. eventually he did get hired after flying back and forth a couple of times (hail Airasia) but eventually it comes down to your persistence and suitability for the jobs u apply to.... i know you cant use this to bluff and yours is different situation as you are experienced, but its up to your creativity to come up with something else i guess biggrin.gif

anyway, most people will tell u the same thing - the easiest way is to dive head in and go there without a job - be there in person and start applying. the only thing is giving up your comfortable life and job back home, i guess that is personal and up to you. good luck!
empire23
post Feb 24 2014, 07:50 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Feb 24 2014, 07:38 PM)
Thanks for your replies.

Yeah, it's a pretty desperate cycle of no work no visa, but no visa no work. Well, the ones that sponsor are one in 10,000 or something ridiculous like that.

How are you going? In Australia?
Can't help you with much advice as I know jack shit about actuaries and the insurance/finance industry. I can only comment on mining/ong. They're pretty generous with the sponsorships actually.

As for me, I work an equal roster where I spend 14 days doing nearly f***all and then spend another 14 days doing f***all. Pay is good but I really would have rather joined the ADF to fly an attack helicopter. Sadly money is a prime motivator for me.

QUOTE(kathlynn @ Feb 24 2014, 07:40 PM)
Buy a skype number.
LightningFist
post Feb 24 2014, 08:38 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 24 2014, 07:50 PM)
Can't help you with much advice as I know jack shit about actuaries and the insurance/finance industry. I can only comment on mining/ong. They're pretty generous with the sponsorships actually.

As for me, I work an equal roster where I spend 14 days doing nearly f***all and then spend another 14 days doing f***all. Pay is good but I really would have rather joined the ADF to fly an attack helicopter. Sadly money is a prime motivator for me.
Buy a skype number.
if I'm lucky maybe I can find something in Singapore

it's not suspended off the SOL list yet but it's not open for nomination in VIC or NSW, which is pretty much a dead end
hihihehe
post Feb 24 2014, 08:45 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Feb 24 2014, 07:20 PM)

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 24 2014, 07:26 PM)

I heard from ym friend that bridging visa b is kinda stricter than before which mean you must have a strong and genuine reason. i guess visiting family is still somehow acceptable. also, they now need to decide how many days to give you to travel out of australia. they might give you 30 days,3 months, 6 months and the most 1 year to travel outside with bridging visa b

previously, they just give out 1 year of bridging visa b and you can go in and out within that 1 year without applying for another visa b
kathlynn
post Feb 24 2014, 09:36 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(Yodatan @ Feb 24 2014, 07:47 PM)
i know of someone who did soemthing similar, after he graduated he returned and claimed he was on holiday and would be returning to Aus soon. eventually he did get hired after flying back and forth a couple of times (hail Airasia) but eventually it comes down to your persistence and suitability for the jobs u apply to.... i know you cant use this to bluff and yours is different situation as you are experienced, but its up to your creativity to come up with something else i guess  biggrin.gif

anyway, most people will tell u the same thing - the easiest way is to dive head in and go there without a job - be there in person and start applying. the only thing is giving up your comfortable life and job back home, i guess that is personal and up to you. good luck!
Thanks! wink.gif
snoopdog17
post Feb 25 2014, 07:52 AM

93 posts

Got an offer today for an intermediate auditor position. Firm is top 10 locally and stll growing. Is AUD56,000 per annum a good offer?
empire23
post Feb 25 2014, 02:32 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Feb 24 2014, 08:38 PM)
if I'm lucky maybe I can find something in Singapore

it's not suspended off the SOL list yet but it's not open for nomination in VIC or NSW, which is pretty much a dead end
Since you're in that sector it may be the way to go. I've got a lot of Singaporean buddies here, ex-WFT, Halli, Schlum and Exxon working here at QGC and they always say that if you're into banking, go SG.

Whatever the case I suggest 485 visa. Use your 1.5 years to find someone that will sponsor you.....or knock up a local....I mean I've had friends do it and they're pretty happy biggrin.gif

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 24 2014, 08:45 PM)
I heard from ym friend that bridging visa b is kinda stricter than before which mean you must have a strong and genuine reason. i guess visiting family is still somehow acceptable. also, they now need to decide how many days to give you to travel out of australia. they might give you 30 days,3 months, 6 months and the most 1 year to travel outside with bridging visa b

previously, they just give out 1 year of bridging visa b and you can go in and out within that 1 year without applying for another visa b
Not sure about nowadays, so it might be stricter. Either way the government has been on the warpath since 2009 to reduce migration numbers but increase temp visa numbers.

QUOTE(snoopdog17 @ Feb 25 2014, 07:52 AM)
Got an offer today for an intermediate auditor position. Firm is top 10 locally and stll growing. Is AUD56,000 per annum a good offer?
56000 AUD per annum is lower than average graduate salary man....

243 Pages « < 132 133 134 135 136 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:17 AM