243 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

Nemesis1980
post Nov 8 2013, 12:08 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 8 2013, 12:03 PM)
The restriction is purely politics.

No, you don't understand. Japan government is offering scholarships for teaching assistants for those with a bachelor's degree regardless of the subject. It doesn't matter what you study.
Even if you studied English, their immigration policy for this visa category is such that, non anglophone country = NO ENTRY.

If it comes to that, I'll definitely give up Malaysian citizenship in the blink of an eye. I've vast interests and I don't want to make my life tougher due to my citizenship.
You're the 1 who don't understand!
It's becoz too many illegal overstay! That's why they don't want us to be there!
I always oppose people work illegally in some other country. Working like a dog!
Get proper way, get respect, not cutting shortcut
TSOM
post Nov 8 2013, 12:12 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 8 2013, 11:56 AM)
Perhaps you should google some Malaysian salary survey. If you are not successful in Malaysia, chances are you will also lose out in the even more fierce competition in australia. BTW, the RM20k per month I was talking about is household income from both the husband and wife. So, if each person earns RM10k+, then they can afford their children for australian education conducted in malaysia

If the parents "think" their children's future is in australia, then let them decides themselves when they grow up. Just like you now. You can decide your future yourself. What if when the children grow up in 10 years time, malaysian government is changed to PR government and everything suddenly brights up ?
I know... but both my parents' salary still does not exceed RM 20k per month!!

and by successful, I'm taking your definition, more than RM 20k per month. That's why I said my family is not successful. sad.gif

The children can decide their future, but they cannot decide their childhood. icon_idea.gif
Where they want to go after 18yo, it's up to them. But before that, you kinda have to decide for them. Yes, I can decide for my future now, but it's limited and constrained to what I had in my childhood. ..... (wanted to say something but I forgot liao.. doh.gif )

and btw, even if the government changes, there's still a long way to go for Malaysia. Mindset, education, economy... it's just not there.
TSOM
post Nov 8 2013, 12:17 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Nov 8 2013, 12:08 PM)
You're the 1 who don't understand!
It's becoz too many illegal overstay! That's why they don't want us to be there!
I always oppose people work illegally in some other country. Working like a dog!
Get proper way, get respect, not cutting shortcut
Yo.... why you ah?? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

1/ I didn't say I want to work/stay illegally!! I always do things the legal way!! Where on earth did you read anything about doing illegal things????????????? doh.gif

2/ I said you don't understand about the government policy to recruit ppl to teach English... and NOTHING ELSE!!

3/ and whatever work restrictions countries have, it's called immigration politics/policy!! It's a terminology!!
Showtime747
post Nov 8 2013, 01:13 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 8 2013, 12:12 PM)

and by successful, I'm taking your definition, more than RM 20k per month. That's why I said my family is not successful.  sad.gif

The children can decide their future, but they cannot decide their childhood.  icon_idea.gif
Where they want to go after 18yo, it's up to them. But before that, you kinda have to decide for them. Yes, I can decide for my future now, but it's limited and constrained to what I had in my childhood. ..... (wanted to say something but I forgot liao.. doh.gif )

and btw, even if the government changes, there's still a long way to go for Malaysia. Mindset, education, economy... it's just not there.
It's alright, your parents have given you enough education to be in the position to migrate to another country. I am sure you are thankful to them. You can now decide for your children thumbup.gif
Nemesis1980
post Nov 8 2013, 02:06 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 8 2013, 12:17 PM)
Yo.... why you ah??  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

1/ I didn't say I want to work/stay illegally!! I always do things the legal way!! Where on earth did you read anything about doing illegal things?????????????  doh.gif

2/ I said you don't understand about the government policy to recruit ppl to teach English... and NOTHING ELSE!!

3/ and whatever work restrictions countries have, it's called immigration politics/policy!! It's a terminology!!
Ok, just try to make sure only. No hard feelings, relax.
I just try to make sure no 1 walking into a trap. End up miserable life.
Japan is a self-protected country, hardly get a job there as their own ppl facing hard time getting jobs. I have construction project over there before building a hotel.

empire23
post Nov 8 2013, 03:18 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Wah got argument until mother father salary geez tongue.gif

The reality is often more complex than most people figure I feel. Not everyone has the right set of skills, resources or personal circumstance to move and start anew. And I say, when in doubt, think hard.
Nemesis1980
post Nov 8 2013, 03:41 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 8 2013, 03:18 PM)
Wah got argument until mother father salary geez tongue.gif

The reality is often more complex than most people figure I feel. Not everyone has the right set of skills, resources or personal circumstance to move and start anew. And I say, when in doubt, think hard.
Haha....father mother salary.... notworthy.gif

SUSrobertchoo
post Nov 8 2013, 05:37 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 8 2013, 11:18 AM)
Nothing ...

I just want to live sufficiently long in each desired country and apply for their citizenship. It's a dream anyway .. the easiest is you get married multiple times.  tongue.gif
Then its just not going to happen.

Showtime747
post Nov 8 2013, 06:26 PM

4,258 posts

Oooppss.....I better shut the fxxx up.... tongue.gif
TSOM
post Nov 8 2013, 10:33 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Nov 8 2013, 02:06 PM)
Japan is a self-protected country, hardly get a job there as their own ppl facing hard time getting jobs.
No lah .. I don't plan to settle in Japan. I just want to experience the lifestyle & culture of Japan. Won't be staying longer than 1 year. I'd never get used with their excessive formality. That's why I'm looking for a simple job that roughly enough for me to travel & experience Japan. Japan government has exchange program to cater for this need, so that ppl from other countries can come to experience their country, sadly it is restricted by nationality.

As for Australia/Canada, just want to work/live to experience it. Max I'll stay is 5 or 6 years. Getting their citizenship(s) is like a "to-do-list" or "bucket list". Nothing more!!

I'm definitely settling down here in Europe. That's for sure!!
TSOM
post Nov 8 2013, 10:38 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 8 2013, 01:13 PM)
It's alright, your parents have given you enough education to be in the position to migrate to another country. I am sure you are thankful to them. You can now decide for your children  thumbup.gif
True..

But my family wants me to stay lah... I've a big family.
When ppl move, they think about their parents; that means my children will also think about me if they want to move. hmm.gif
So I don't leave, the decision will be up to my children, they'll be facing the same dilemma. sad.gif
Might as well I leave first, to a country where "the reasons to move again" are lesser? icon_idea.gif
SUSrobertchoo
post Nov 9 2013, 01:41 AM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 8 2013, 10:33 PM)
No lah .. I don't plan to settle in Japan. I just want to experience the lifestyle & culture of Japan. Won't be staying longer than 1 year. I'd never get used with their excessive formality. That's why I'm looking for a simple job that roughly enough for me to travel & experience Japan. Japan government has exchange program to cater for this need, so that ppl from other countries can come to experience their country, sadly it is restricted by nationality.

As for Australia/Canada, just want to work/live to experience it. Max I'll stay is 5 or 6 years. Getting their citizenship(s) is like a "to-do-list" or "bucket list". Nothing more!!

I'm definitely settling down here in Europe. That's for sure!!
Are you sure?
Even if you get in - its a big IF (coz no european country today is stupid enough to give out PRs/Citizenship to others when they can't even feed their own)
You want to join the mass herd of unemployed?
You want to feel what it's like sleeping on streets? or depending on other's charity to survive?
In fact many europeans are flooding Asia to look for a job.
You wanting to go the opposite way seems a little...weird.
Its no longer a nice place to be. The good easy life in Europe in over.
TSOM
post Nov 9 2013, 01:45 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Nov 9 2013, 01:41 AM)
Are you sure?
Even if you get in - its a big IF (coz no european country today is stupid enough to give out PRs/Citizenship to others when they can't even feed their own)
You want to join the mass herd of unemployed?
You want to feel what it's like sleeping on streets? or depending on other's charity to survive?
In fact many europeans are flooding Asia to look for a job.
You wanting to go the opposite way seems a little...weird.
Its no longer a nice place to be. The good easy life in Europe in over.
Too late.. I'm already in love with this place. cry.gif Just like how some ppl are in love with Malaysia..

I understand and I agree with all that you mentioned. And the tax is also higher than Australia, Canada & US.
But I like this place, this is my home - for eternity!! sad.gif
ladyhat
post Nov 10 2013, 12:16 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 8 2013, 10:31 AM)
IMHO I would have more choices, freedom and opportunities if I had an Australian citizenship. Let me tell you what I face:
- I want to teach English in Japan, just for an short-term experience ----> Cannot!! Because I do not a citizenship from an English speaking country;
- I want to apply for a working holiday visa in Canada, to experience/travel in North America ----> Cannot!! Because I'm not a citizen of Australia, NZ, Nordic countries or Japan.

It's undeniable that holding an Australian citizenship has a better reputation than a Malaysian citizenship. Being educated (primary & secondary) in Australia is also better in terms of reputation than educated in Malaysia. Primary & secondary education in some advance countries also include music, like piano or violin in class, something that I never had. Australia also offers foreign languages class like French, Spanish, Italian, German ... something that I ... unfortunately also never had.  cry.gif
edit: meanwhile in Malaysia, must score A1 in pendidikan moral just to secure a scholarship!!

My dream is to hold multiple citizenships, so that I can have more freedom!! tongue.gif
PR is not sufficient because I don't plan to stay in Australia for a long term, and it cannot be renewed if I do not stay in Australia for enough days.
It is true that it is sad Malaysia's overall international image is going backward over the past decade or more, and our govt continues to also wanting to promote the country towards an Islamic nation so much and seems can't wait to get rid of our commonwealth history, which I personally think is a total wrong move. We have rich heritage with multi ethnicity and our unique culture born under the British colony, why not celebrate that than to glorify only one majority culture? It didn't do us any good at all, economically nor diplomatically, more and more country now requires Msian to enter with Visa, and our driving license is also not recognised although we basically have the same rules as Singapore, but why Spore passport is much recognised and driver license as well and ours aren't? No doubt the people jumping plane is giving us a bad names but I think more than that it is also how much our govt is doing, if our authority is able to give confidence to the international neighbours that we as a nation is safe and good I think we would not be so far off compared to Spore. I can truly relate to what you said here (except the multi citizenship tho) because I've seen many examples, sometimes we feel under privileged not because of we are poorer or anything, but just simple life experience like this, yet when we look back we know we deserve better.

ladyhat
post Nov 10 2013, 12:24 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 8 2013, 12:12 PM)

and by successful, I'm taking your definition, more than RM 20k per month. That's why I said my family is not successful.  sad.gif

The children can decide their future, but they cannot decide their childhood.  icon_idea.gif

I think if you think you need to make a change to open up other opportunity to the family, just do it. Yes perhaps initial 20 years of our lives are not within our control, but the following years definitely we do. So examine all opportunities wisely and decide.
ladyhat
post Nov 10 2013, 12:34 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Nov 8 2013, 12:01 PM)
Australia is a competitive country. If you wanna get a well-paid job, u hv to work extra hard. Not extra hour but extra brainstorming. Have to think your performance to be efficient and productive.
If your competition is bad in Malaysia, you'll getting a zero here coz there's other immigrants who's far better than you like China or India.
They're very efficient in their work.
As i said, doesn't mean you come to australia no need to work. You still need to work extra hard and make sure food and education on the table
The mainland chinese and indian are really aggressive, not simply hard working. This we really need to improve ourselves. I think its almost like how we see the migrants in Msia today, there are myanmarese, indon, bangla, nepalese, etc, of course the local would also prefer their own people in the office. I talked to a few people today, I think tax should be the biggest concern if one ever gets to land a well paid job there. Tax tax tax! It's really a cons.
ladyhat
post Nov 10 2013, 12:35 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Nov 8 2013, 12:02 PM)
Went to site visit on refurbishment on local schools here. So many angmoh competitiors wanna win the project.
Well, have to squeeze my brain on stand out and work extra hard to win the project
Wish you good luck!
hihihehe
post Nov 10 2013, 10:35 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(ladyhat @ Nov 10 2013, 02:34 AM)
The mainland chinese and indian are really aggressive, not simply hard working. This we really need to improve ourselves. I think its almost like how we see the migrants in Msia today, there are myanmarese, indon, bangla, nepalese, etc, of course the local would also prefer their own people in the office. I talked to a few people today, I think tax should be the biggest concern if one ever gets to land a well paid job there. Tax tax tax! It's really a cons.
Or you rather pay lower tax with lots of crime?
Nemesis1980
post Nov 11 2013, 11:40 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(ladyhat @ Nov 10 2013, 12:34 AM)
Well, i prefer pay higher tax with low crime rate, good living quality and education. If money can resolve, why not?

wayne.chin
post Nov 11 2013, 12:38 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Nov 11 2013, 11:40 AM)
Well, i prefer pay higher tax with low crime rate, good living quality and education. If money can resolve, why not?
same as here... now i pay high tax for GST, high RPGT, no sugar subsidy, lower oil subsidy, less non-bumi uni quota, less chinese school, high electricity bill...

This post has been edited by wayne.chin: Nov 11 2013, 12:39 PM

243 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0206sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:22 PM