Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

Showtime747
post Nov 5 2013, 05:40 PM

4,258 posts

I see many migrate because of kids' education. Do you guys realise there are quite a few Australian university campuses in malaysia ? You can get Australian degree in malaysia. Course fees are roughly the same in amount, just that it is in RM. And living expenses in malaysia is way cheaper. So in total, you will spend 3-4 times less for the same degree from a same Australian university
Showtime747
post Nov 6 2013, 07:58 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Nov 6 2013, 09:16 AM)
You're missing the point. The reason getting PR for children education is the fees is very much lower. If you're citizens here, children will enjoy very low uni fees. If you're studying in malaysia in Ozzie uni, they still charge you on foreign fees but at cheaper rate in RM.
Don't forget, once your children having the degree, is he/she still serving the BN gomen managed country? Is he/she still submit tax to the mismanagement BN administration? Are they able to payback all the uni fees or still in debts before start work? How bout pension?

Yes I know I was missing the main point of this thread. I was commenting because I saw some people considering migrating to Australia solely because of children's future education. The parents will be missing their career in Malaysia. They may be giving up >RM20k per month salary (both husband + wife working) or maybe more, and heads to some foreign countries with a lot of uncertainty. The tuition fees for eg. Monash business course is "only" RM32k

How much lower is the fees for PR's children in Australia high school and university ? Does it really worth to migrate just for the RM32k ?

Migrating to a great country like Australia is a good choice. For the life style, for the true democracy, for the 1st world country status, for many other reasons else etc. I was just pointing out migrating solely for the reason of children's education is a lot of sacrifice. With their career in tact in Malaysia, they may still be able to provide their children with Australian tertiary education without migrating
Showtime747
post Nov 8 2013, 11:56 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 8 2013, 10:28 AM)
My parents have careers in Malaysia, but not to the extent of RM 20k per month.

My mum works quite high up the rank with the government, but only like RM 6-7k per month only.  cry.gif

The only person I know earns RM 20k per month is like the General Manager of an organisation with 600+ employee. The rest ... senior manager.. maybe only RM 10k. The General manager is like 50+, while the senior manager is like late 30s.

That means my whole family should migrate since we're not so successful in Malaysia?  sad.gif
If by good money means RM 20k per month, then I really should migrate.  sad.gif
Perhaps you should google some Malaysian salary survey. If you are not successful in Malaysia, chances are you will also lose out in the even more fierce competition in australia. BTW, the RM20k per month I was talking about is household income from both the husband and wife. So, if each person earns RM10k+, then they can afford their children for australian education conducted in malaysia

Don't get me wrong bro. Australia is a great country. It is way better than malaysia in many areas. I was just saying if a person migrate for the sole reason of his children future education, then he is making a big sacrifice

If the parents "think" their children's future is in australia, then let them decides themselves when they grow up. Just like you now. You can decide your future yourself. What if when the children grow up in 10 years time, malaysian government is changed to PR government and everything suddenly brights up ?
Showtime747
post Nov 8 2013, 01:13 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 8 2013, 12:12 PM)
I know... but both my parents' salary still does not exceed RM 20k per month!!

and by successful, I'm taking your definition, more than RM 20k per month. That's why I said my family is not successful.  sad.gif

The children can decide their future, but they cannot decide their childhood.  icon_idea.gif
Where they want to go after 18yo, it's up to them. But before that, you kinda have to decide for them. Yes, I can decide for my future now, but it's limited and constrained to what I had in my childhood. ..... (wanted to say something but I forgot liao.. doh.gif )

and btw, even if the government changes, there's still a long way to go for Malaysia. Mindset, education, economy... it's just not there.
It's alright, your parents have given you enough education to be in the position to migrate to another country. I am sure you are thankful to them. You can now decide for your children thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Nov 8 2013, 06:26 PM

4,258 posts

Oooppss.....I better shut the fxxx up.... tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Nov 30 2013, 12:09 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(frega @ Nov 30 2013, 01:27 AM)
This is getting me down. I was planning to resume my studies in Aus (I have maybe a year left) next year. Then try to stay there and find work. Is that not advisable? I already have some working experience locally in programming, which I hoped will aid me as Software Dev is in the SoL list.

I can't say I identify myself like an Aussie, more American? It was my dream to migrate there but I think it might not out of reach / impossible. Aus was always the 2nd / viable option.

I did not integrate well back then during my younger years studying there, I was a dumbass teenager. But I was planning to make an effort to mix with locals this time around. But Aussie footie? Eww, I'm a nerd. And the accent, I am able to pull up a pseudo American accent, aussie is a bit tough.

Max, do you think I should give up? I haven't been more excited to return to Aus. Maybe I shouldn't expect so much...
Buy this book tongue.gif

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ralia-good-meh/
Showtime747
post Dec 2 2013, 02:05 PM

4,258 posts

Very informative arguments there about Sg vs Aussie work and life.

Was just wondering did you guys (hihihehe, robertchoo and nemesis) have experience living and working in both Singapore and Australia ? How long in both countries ? Or just lived in 1 country and hearsay about the other country ?

Showtime747
post Dec 2 2013, 05:22 PM

4,258 posts

Thanks nemesis and hihihehe, I can relate your comments more now thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Mar 11 2014, 05:11 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(manickam123 @ Mar 11 2014, 03:08 PM)
now i feeling like my pay has been downgraded because i am from the older generation. The young gen Ys now can command 5k a month with just 2 years experience, in 5 years earn 8k. I am falling far from behind no thanks to me being loyal to my employer, stick to long term, every year increment like crap.

i am thinking of going to Oz, switch career. Dunno see what comes...

accountancy doesn't seem to pay well for me anymore...only for the younger gens.

sure thing there are lots of accountancy jobs here in msia...but retirement up to 60..(pathetic), low exchange, high cost and gen Ys earning more than me...i feeling like changing fields in a foreign land.
You should try switch company in malaysia first since your employer appreciate those Gen-Y more than you. If other companies also treat you the same, then you conclude for yourself whether it is the employer's problem or your own problem.

If you are not competitive in malaysia, do you think you will be more competitive against those Gen-Y in australia ?
Showtime747
post Mar 11 2014, 09:57 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(manickam123 @ Mar 11 2014, 05:43 PM)
i dun think it has anything to do wif employer problem wif me...when i first join..my pay was the same with the older generations who born in 1960.

so it is the same thing happening to me.

HR usually try to skim ur pay one..when you change job, they don't allow more than 20% hike...

they pay the youngsters high while they try to keep the older staff pay from going up, i think this is how companies particularly china ma ones, control their cost.
You must be from the 70s or 80s tongue.gif There are many big companies in malaysia which appreciate talents. Nowadays, loyalty doesn't pay. Are you afraid to switch job ? If you are afraid, where do you get the courage to migrate to another country thousands of km away and switch job there ? The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence ? If you purpose of migration is based on this, you better think twice

Showtime747
post Mar 12 2014, 07:48 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(manickam123 @ Mar 12 2014, 05:07 PM)
only few companies in msia appreciate talents..the big ones. but for those co i join, increment every year only rm100 a month.

i wanted to migrate thinking that things would be much different:
1) build career (sick n tired of low pay in msia)
2) earn $$$
3) buy a nice home n start a family
4) escape from political rubbish in msia

but:
1) no career in Aust, they only offer entry level jobs...jobs for accountants only reserve for aussies, even so, not many available because Aussie industry is not big...anyway because of high cost..most finance jobs shipped to shared services n call centres ironically back to msia.
2) $$$ is really good...but some of my frens who migrated took up entry level jobs that earn $50k a year, hardly enough to survive in Aust
3) homes r getting more expensive in Aust..one can only hope for a two room studio
4) Aussies dun exactly like asians. back 8 years when i studied there...they were nice..there was a time an aussie would just come by you as u r waiting at a bus/tram stop, just to have a chat with u about the weather, politics n family. Now...only Aussie neo nazi kids want to have a chat with u, so they can mug u on the spot.
Bro, you have my sincere well wishes. Choose the path which you think is best for you thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post May 8 2014, 08:01 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 8 2014, 01:54 PM)

Oz might not be the best or paradise but will be far better to live from MAS. Not saying MAS is bad like shit. Just look at the clowns and monkeys running the country.  I had enough with it and 12yrs working in KL like hell. Economy is shit.  Imagine I paid 5k fix expenses to loans & insurance & food on table. If couple add up cannot earn total 10k per month better move out from city.
In perth, my groceries cost me 150-200 weekly including baby food. Insurance 200 monthly all in for whole family. I'm bread winner here. Wife not working and bought 2 cars. Aiming to get a house this yr. If not next yr.
Think about it
Depends on individual lah. Some like it here, some like it in australia

The feeling I got reading this thread for the past few days :

"有人漏夜赶科场, 有人辞官归故里" literally means "there is people who rush his journey during midnight so that he can make it to the exam hall (in ancient china if you are the top student, you will be offered a government ministerial job from the emperor). On the other hand, there is minister who resigns from his job and returns to his village"

Showtime747
post May 9 2014, 08:47 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 8 2014, 09:59 PM)

Glad that you have found a country of your choice to live in thumbup.gif

Like the above chinese proverb says, it is a matter of personal choice to find one's life path. Heck, there are people who are happy to migrate to Africa to help those really poor fella too. Not to mention there are loads of people who choose UK, US, Canada, NZ, EU or some other countries. And of course there are people who migrated but chose to return to their kampung after 20 years. No single identical case that would work for everybody

I have lived and worked in australia, singapore, china and malaysia. For me, where you live is not the most important criteria. The most important criteria is you can earn enough money. If you are rich enough, you will solve most of your problem, and everywhere is heaven. Opportunities are everywhere. If a person has a career that pays US$300k pa in India, India is not too bad a place to stay either.

Not saying australia is a bad place. In fact, it is a great place to live in. If everything else is the same, Australia is one of the top countries I will choose to live in. Too bad everything else is not the same.
Showtime747
post May 9 2014, 04:18 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 9 2014, 02:15 PM)
every country have their pros and cons but for me the ease of technology is the most important. almost everything is online in australia especially in government sector. something to do with the application form can be done via online compare to malaysia. online payment can save my hassle too. too bad still a long way to go for malaysia sad.gif
What are the stuff you still do physically in malaysia ?
Showtime747
post May 9 2014, 04:55 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 9 2014, 04:28 PM)
income tax(have to get something from lhdn first before can do it online)
epf(can't do it online for new applicant)
open bank account or credit card(only at the front counter or by post)
Income tax - i remember they send the details to me when the e filing was introduced a few years ago. Dont need to go to their office.

Epf - last time my company got it for me in my first job. I remember going to epf only to withdraw amount in a/c 2 to buy house. Which is a good thing they verify our thumb print by inserting our IC as security measures

Open bank account - ya still need to go physically to verify IC, which i think is good security measure. I feel more secured because no one can fake my identity in banking system. I will trade convenience for piece of mind security as it is only 1 time trouble. Can open a totally new bank account in australia without going to branch physically now ? No documents required ?

Credit card - physical credit cards of course they will post to us. If you are talking about virtual credit card for online use, i have 1 which i seldom use

I do most of my stuff online nowadays even government dapartment epayments or ecomplaints. Maybe those non recurring stuff like open bank account, first time registration still need to go and do physically. But that is only on rare occasion
Showtime747
post May 9 2014, 07:04 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 9 2014, 05:14 PM)
income tax - first time taxpayer have to get some sort of ticket first, no?

epf - as in open a new account. talking about security, i don't think the post method is reliable too right?

bank account - if you are pr/citizen then, you can verify your identity online or choose to go any of the post office for verification if you feel insecure

credit card - is not about posting of the physical card. it is an application for a physical credit card. you can go to the bank website, provide your details(income,driver license,etc) and you will know the status shortly(depends on bank).

security could be an issue but you always have another choice which is to do it physically.for me, i just like to be convenient only
Income tax and EPF - I can't remember I visited their office to get my tax file number and EPF account. I think my company did it for me.

Credit card - All my credit card is offered to me by my current bank. Don't even need to apply. They send the card to me. If I accept it, I just need to call or sms them to activate

Anyway, online convenience can't be the main reason you move to australia right ? tongue.gif
Showtime747
post May 9 2014, 07:48 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 9 2014, 07:27 PM)
of course no but in fact i kinda miss that convenience after i back to malaysia
i am so comfortable over there compare to malaysia
Did you come back by choice, or you haven't get the PR ? If it is the latter, don't give up man. 1 day you will manage to get there
Showtime747
post May 11 2014, 10:01 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(thecontrails @ May 11 2014, 01:48 PM)
Agree on the first bold text, money is crucial everywhere in the world.

on the 2nd part, what you mean by "IF everything else is the same..." & "Too bad everything else is not the same" mind to elaborate a little more?
Things that are not the same if I live in australia (relate to me personally)

1. My family, friends and relatives
2. My business and government contact
3. Low tax rate
4. Food (and its operating hours)
5. Good shopping centres (and its operating hours)
6. Better geographical location to travel to other countries like Europe and Asia

Things that I miss out if I don't live in australia

1. Cheap and good education
2. Good political environment
3. Weather (I like country with 4 seasons)
4. Nice people
5. Cheap cars
6. Great memories of the days I lived in australia
7. and Red Rooster tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Showtime747: May 11 2014, 10:21 PM
Showtime747
post May 11 2014, 11:52 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ May 11 2014, 10:48 PM)
taxes paid to the Australian government pay dividends in the form of superior public transport systems, certain medical/pharmaceutical benefits, higher education, etc. not to mention incomes are relatively higher in Australia so income net of tax is in most cases still higher (most people don't make enough to go over the 40%+ tax rate)

Malaysian tax rates are by no means low... check out Hong Kong and Singapore. Australia's high tax rate is typical of a mature and developed Western country. No matter how little or much tax you pay in Malaysia it still seems wasted.

shopping centre and supermarket operating hours vary by location and operator... you can still go out late at night and get food in many places, but certainly won't find things like those 24-7 mamaks everywhere - try to live in a busier place

geographically, Australia is only a few hours further from Europe than Malaysia is. this is a poor argument. Malaysia would be considered quite far from Europe already. ASEAN sure, but even that is highly accessible from Australia.

any education would be "good" when compared to a shit one, but let me tell you Australia is not known for cheap or good education... great country but education is generally expensive and quality is highly debatable
Tax - I am comparing the max rate for both country (for my case)

Travel time - from KL to Sydney is 8 hours. So anywhere in Asia and Europe, Australia is 8 hours further (except Indonesia)

Education - I paid RM500k upward for each of my children's degree in australia. I would have saved that amount by a fair bit if I chose to go through the process

Anyway, australia is a great place to live. I plan to spend a fair bit of time in australia after I decide to retire

Showtime747
post Jun 26 2014, 08:09 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 24 2014, 12:41 PM)

That one is the easiest.  Rm1.5mil a year turnover is not much.
There are more requirement for business innovation stream than this if you want a permanent residency eventually

First of all, if you are migrating because of children's education, I think subclass 188 is just a provisional visa for you to establish your business in australia. It does not allow working or education until you are upgraded to the permanent visa 888.

In order for you to get visa 888, you need to establish a business with turnover of >$300k in australia for 2 years (with visa 188) before you apply to upgrade to PR. Also some requirement of net business value and personal value like A$200k and A$600k, employ at least 2 full time aussie employees etc

Here got all the info http://www.immi.gov.au/Visas/Pages/188.aspx

0.0970sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:10 PM