FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?
MGM
Aug 6 2011, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 6 2011, 02:55 PM) for a quick question coz I dunno where to ask this question. I have RM 500 worth of coins (5 cents coins to 50 cents coins) which I saved for quite some time and I would like to bank in to my account. Is it possible to do so where I need to bring the two big containers to bank or is there any other way? thanks  Some kopitiam will gladly accepts them and probably give you extra.
ken_zie
Aug 6 2011, 11:02 PM
Currently, Hong Leong is having a promotion rate for Junior and Senior FD.
For Junior FD, it's 3.9% for 12 months and 4.5% for 24 and 36 months. Minimum placement is RM1000. The interest will be credited into savings account monthly. The promotion is currently ongoing until November 2011.
For Senior FD, it's 3.8% for 12 months. Senior FD promotion will only start this Monday (8th August).
insaint708
Aug 7 2011, 12:12 AM

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 6 2011, 01:13 AM) forgot to mention UOB 9 mth is 3.6% UOB minimum 25k RHB minimum 30k If 10k where should i deposit?
doinkz_gaara
Aug 7 2011, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(ken_zie @ Aug 6 2011, 11:02 PM) Currently, Hong Leong is having a promotion rate for Junior and Senior FD. For Junior FD, it's 3.9% for 12 months and 4.5% for 24 and 36 months. Minimum placement is RM1000. The interest will be credited into savings account monthly. The promotion is currently ongoing until November 2011. For Senior FD, it's 3.8% for 12 months. Senior FD promotion will only start this Monday (8th August). I'm 22, not applicable for both right?
gsc
Aug 7 2011, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 6 2011, 02:55 PM) for a quick question coz I dunno where to ask this question. I have RM 500 worth of coins (5 cents coins to 50 cents coins) which I saved for quite some time and I would like to bank in to my account. Is it possible to do so where I need to bring the two big containers to bank or is there any other way? thanks  Dont worry any bank will take it. CIMB charge you if you want coin from them, I think for RM300, you have to pay RM3-RM5. It seems there is no standard rate of charging customer for exchanging paper notes with coin.
ronnie
Aug 7 2011, 09:06 AM
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 6 2011, 02:55 PM) for a quick question coz I dunno where to ask this question. I have RM 500 worth of coins (5 cents coins to 50 cents coins) which I saved for quite some time and I would like to bank in to my account. Is it possible to do so where I need to bring the two big containers to bank or is there any other way? thanks  Minimum for FD is RM1000... and you are in the wrong thread lah. Added on August 7, 2011, 9:09 amQUOTE(ken_zie @ Aug 6 2011, 11:02 PM) Currently, Hong Leong is having a promotion rate for Junior and Senior FD. For Junior FD, it's 3.9% for 12 months and 4.5% for 24 and 36 months. Minimum placement is RM1000. The interest will be credited into savings account monthly. The promotion is currently ongoing until November 2011. For Senior FD, it's 3.8% for 12 months. Senior FD promotion will only start this Monday (8th August). Where is the details on HLB website ?? Can we use the existing Junior Savings Account ? This post has been edited by ronnie: Aug 7 2011, 09:09 AM
SUSdestiny6
Aug 7 2011, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 7 2011, 09:06 AM) Minimum for FD is RM1000... and you are in the wrong thread lah. Added on August 7, 2011, 9:09 amWhere is the details on HLB website ?? Can we use the existing Junior Savings Account ? got la...alliance bank u can deposit min 500 for 2months and above http://www.alliancebank.com.my/fixeddeposits_more.html
SUSDavid83
Aug 7 2011, 01:07 PM
General FD placement:
RM 5k min for 1-month tenure and RM 1k for 2-month and above
Some banks want to be more competitive and offer various package from above general convention.
soonlee33
Aug 7 2011, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Aug 7 2011, 12:17 AM) I'm 22, not applicable for both right? below 18 only eligible
mdportrait
Aug 7 2011, 09:00 PM
from my point of view. the best is to open FD/both to sign/ with your 55 yr parent (if you have one). these fd are better. but window shopping is always a good deal for money. BTW DO NOT BRING YOUR FUND IN CASH. Ask your bank to make Bankers Chq.
BboyDora
Aug 7 2011, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 6 2011, 06:57 PM) Some kopitiam will gladly accepts them and probably give you extra. haha thanks
margarita90
Aug 8 2011, 08:12 AM

QUOTE(mdportrait @ Aug 7 2011, 09:00 PM) from my point of view. the best is to open FD/both to sign/ with your 55 yr parent (if you have one). these fd are better. but window shopping is always a good deal for money. BTW DO NOT BRING YOUR FUND IN CASH. Ask your bank to make Bankers Chq. can bring cheque instead? why need bankers cheque? yes please provide the hongleong promotion link, thanks.
alvinfks78
Aug 8 2011, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 7 2011, 10:36 PM) haha thanks  I want the coins
gsc
Aug 8 2011, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(insaint708 @ Aug 7 2011, 12:12 AM) UOB minimum 25k RHB minimum 30k If 10k where should i deposit? BSN 12 mths 3.35% Added on August 8, 2011, 1:03 pmQUOTE(ken_zie @ Aug 6 2011, 11:02 PM) Currently, Hong Leong is having a promotion rate for Junior and Senior FD. For Junior FD, it's 3.9% for 12 months and 4.5% for 24 and 36 months. Minimum placement is RM1000. The interest will be credited into savings account monthly. The promotion is currently ongoing until November 2011. For Senior FD, it's 3.8% for 12 months. Senior FD promotion will only start this Monday (8th August). was told by HL fren, this promotion starts 12 Aug This post has been edited by gsc: Aug 8 2011, 01:03 PM
kunlooi
Aug 8 2011, 04:16 PM
If to put RM10k into FD, is it better to put month by month, let it renew automatically or is it better to tie contract up to one year?
boo82
Aug 8 2011, 05:43 PM

kunlooi, i suggest to put month by month. at least in case if you need money, you will only lose that month's interest.
fahrur_07
Aug 10 2011, 09:56 PM
the interest eg: 3.25% is per month or per year? eg: if put RM10k, do i get RM325 per month or RM325 per year?
jtleon
Aug 10 2011, 10:05 PM

QUOTE(fahrur_07 @ Aug 10 2011, 09:56 PM) the interest eg: 3.25% is per month or per year? eg: if put RM10k, do i get RM325 per month or RM325 per year? RM325/12 per month Added on August 10, 2011, 10:49 pmcurrently is there any promotion that is for FD 20k for 6 months that is higher than 3.1% ? This post has been edited by jtleon: Aug 10 2011, 10:49 PM
fahrur_07
Aug 10 2011, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(jtleon @ Aug 10 2011, 10:05 PM) RM325/12 per month Added on August 10, 2011, 10:49 pmcurrently is there any promotion that is for FD 20k for 6 months that is higher than 3.1% ? hurm.. better i put my money in gold
jtleon
Aug 11 2011, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(fahrur_07 @ Aug 10 2011, 11:29 PM) hurm.. better i put my money in gold  but i need it in 6 months my view is that physical gold is to hedge the inflation rate (only buy it with your extra money) paper gold, in malaysia both Maybank and PB bank's spread is too wide, it is for long term investment (with your money that you won't use it for long time)